Evansville, IN 
Mesker Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #14 (Taken 10/2008)
3 / 294ft.   3 / 150ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
First course I ever played.

5+    6/8/2014   6/30/2014
Review By: GMcAtee
Played: 232  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.7 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great design.
Alternate pads on a few holes.
The old stone bridges look phenomenal!
Cool noises from the zoo.
Located on the old German side of town.
Good mix of holes from ace runs to longer challenging holes.
Plenty of elevation.
Cons: Tons of OB!!!!
The rough is really rough.
Other Thoughts: This course rewards the smart accurate players. Bring your long bomber friend to this course to demoralize him.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nice Course

2-4    11/5/2013   11/6/2013
Review By: wake911
Played: 44  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 13.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Wide Variety of shots (FH,BH, Tunnel, Open, Skip-shots)
- Tricky OB on many holes causing increased inmportance of accuracy, even on the long ones
- Fair rough. You lose a shot getting out of the woods, but you can still save a 4, which is how I think woods, not OB, should be.
- Good course flow. Aside from 2 holes I found everything without a map very easily.
- The tee signs show the next tee location as well as most baskets had an arrow to the next tee.
- Tee pads were plenty long for the hole.
- Multiple trashcans and benches throughout the park.
- There was a line for deuce on every hole but the long right turn into the trees. It may have been a tough line, but it was evident even my first time playing.
Cons: - Road, while helping increase difficulty by being OB, is also a bit of a hindrance. I had to wait quite a few times for cars to go by due to playing around lunch time.
- A few Tee Pads weren't level, and my run-up was uphill. Always throws me off.
Other Thoughts: I don't really see how the Zoo fence comes into play, without throwing a realyl bad shot. Throw a RHFH and it's not in play on 16. It'd take a pretty bad overthrow on 18 to have it in play as well.

Very fun course. Felt like an old-school course due to layout, which I like, but had some length which I also like. The long hole with the hard right turn (#8) is a bit of a crapshoot to get a deuce, but there is a nice path for an easy 3.

It was a quick play, which i enjoy as well. I could definitely see opportunities for low scores with great drives.

I would highly recommend playing this course if you are in Evansville. I will be trying to play here every time i'm in town for business from now on.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Get It Early... It gets you late!

1    7/26/2013   7/26/2013
Review By: dad_of_dg_junkies
Played: 31  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 2.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. The Park the course is located in is very nice
2. Long Concrete tee Pads
3. Multiple Tee on some of the more difficult holes
4. Excellent signs with great hole maps
5. Great mix of distance and elevation on the course. There are some short par 3 holes where putter can be thrown while some par 3's require you to throw the disc 360 feet.
6. There is a very good mix of shots as well. You will need all the shots to get around here. Turns, Fades, Backhand, Forehands, and any other specialty shot you can come up with. This place will TEST your game.
7. Hole 9 is a thing of beauty.
8. The course had great flow to it. Not many long walks and it just seemed to make sense.
9 Bench/Stumps to sit on are available on most tee boxes.
10. The course has at least 2 or 3 memorable holes.
11. You will hear the animals from the zoo.

Cons: 1. The roads came into play several times during the round.
2, Hole 8 from the back in general. I just don't understand how anyone can consistently make par on this hole from the back. During the summer, the gap to fit it in is very tight for a 465 ft par 3.
3. Your discs can be very difficult to find off the beaten path. We didn't lose any, but we searched for awhile a couple of times.
4. This course is NOT for beginners.
Other Thoughts: As I stated in the title of this review, you need to get this course early. The first 2-3 holes are the easier holes on the course. After that, It will take some really quality disc golf to make a birdie. I really enjoyed the challenge of this course. There was nothing ordinary about it. You won't set any personal scoring records on this course, but it will give you plenty of chances to throw shots that can be talked about for quite some time. I drove 90 miles one way to play it, and I will do it again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Messy Mesker

1    7/26/2013   7/26/2013
Review By: DG addict24
Played: 28  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 12/6/2013
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Long tee pads, places to sit at every hole, signs to help with navigation, and good tee signs. A lot of elevation changes that really change your shots a lot. A lot of nice technical shots, but also has enough length (from the long tees) to bring your big arm. Need backhands, forehands, and to be able to get out of trouble. Very tough course where you better bring your A game to score.
Cons: My main problem with this course is the "rough". Especially on the back nine, you could hit a tree and kick into the woods, or just hyzer/turn into the woods and then you were in trouble. The underbrush on the holes were terrible, and I probably spent as much time looking for discs as I did playing disc golf. I'm all for punishing bad shots, but that shouldn't be done on the ground, there should be trees and leaves up high to punish you, not all the stuff on the ground. That doesn't effect your shot, it just makes it harder to find your disc so it shouldn't be there. Also a few of the holes felt gimmicky, especially 8, If they had put the basket down at the bottom of the hill, say on the other side of the trees, near the bridge, it would have been one of my favorite holes of all time. But instead they stuck it 100 ft back in the woods to the right, with a random gap that still has trees in the middle of it that you have to slide through. To me it takes away all shot at the basket, even if thrown perfectly. The road (which seemed pretty busy) was also in the way on too many of the holes.
Other Thoughts: While I was playing, I could see the course had the potential to be great, and most of the holes were 4.0 holes. But a 2 or 3 of them made me wonder what the designer was expecting me to do when he made it. There were also too many struggles that didn't necessarily deal with the hole layout. Update: Much better course in the fall/winter had a much more enjoyable time then. Moving my rating up .5

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Definitely worth a play

2-4    7/4/2013   7/5/2013
Review By: upfromtheashes
Played: 42  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 10.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- The available land is quite hilly, and the course design makes good use of the topography.
- Good variety of holes. Longer, shorter, left, right, uphill, downhill. Hole design didn't feel repetitive.
- Large concrete teepads were in good shape.
- High quality baskets.
- Good signs which include distance and topographical map of hole.
- Flow from hole to hole was very good, we had no trouble navigating the course as first timers.
- Practice putting basket.
- Course loops back around to the parking lot after hole 11.
- Some holes had benches and/or stumps to take a load off.
- The park it's located in was attractive and looked to be well maintained.
- Has some memorable holes, most notably hole 9.
Cons:
-While you can practice putting, there's really nowhere to warm up your arm or practice driving before your round.
-On many holes there exists the possibility of hitting a car or person on the road or walking path. Be aware of your surroundings.
-I am not a fan of manufacturing more difficulty by adding artificial obstacles like mandos and OB areas. If I need to stay on a fairway, then I infinitely prefer some trees/bushes/obstacles that force me to stay on that fairway. There is lots of OB on this course.
Other Thoughts:
- This course is good enough to drive a few hours to play. There are some other solid courses in the surrounding area to pair it with and make a very enjoyable day trip.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A solid design and fun course

1    1/17/2013   2/19/2013
Review By: harr0140
Played: 740  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Dual tees allow for a different challenge and layout.
2) Concrete tees are always appreciated.
3) Signs have Hole #, Par, Distance, Next Tee location, and a map of the hole.
4) There are plenty of benches and garbage cans available on this course.
5) I love seeing old concrete and stone structures from whatever the land used to be used for. They give a lot of charm to courses and are simply attractive. The stone bridge on #9 was a nice feature.
6) I kept hearing zoo animals throughout the entire round. I am not sure what animals they were, but it was enjoyable soundtrack to my round. I felt like at any time and animal might come crawling out of the woods after me. I laughed aloud when I heard one of the animals MEOWING.
7) Island green is a unique idea, something I have seen from time to time.
8) Elevation changes on this course were great and very enjoyable. It is a lot of fun to throw down the slopes and see how the disc acts differently. Throwing uphill is equally the opposite. It is not fun to throw uphill because you cannot really enjoy the flight.
9) Mulch was used in a few locations to help cover up the bare soil. It could be used in more places, but at least they are addressing the worst of the areas. It looks like a pile of mulch at the bottom of the hill may be used by the local club.
10) Excellent distance variation on this course with 200's, 300's, and 400's. There is a big variety of how they play also because of the elevation changes.
11) Shot selection is huge. You need everything here so be prepared.
12) Directionals were located under the basket to help move you from hole to hole.
13) Awesome variety of foliage density. There were some fairly open holes, some with key trees to force specific shots, some with multiple lines, and then some tighter more dense woods too. There is nothing super tight, but it doesn't feel like that because the elevation alters your throws too. You need to be very precise.
14) Practice basket is available along with some picnic tables near the parking lot. There is a kiosk available for disc golf posting also.
Cons: 1) While the island green was unique, I didn't like how close the basket was to the roads. There were 2 roads in play with this basket location. I have said it before . . . I prefer sustainability and safety to cool and unique ideas. I have no idea how many vehicles pass through here, but it could be an issue and that is why this is a con. There is a potential problem and that is all that matters.
2) The wooded holes are very messy. Lots of leaves and broken branches on the ground make for a messy appearance. The turf obviously suffers from the shade that these trees create as well as the cover the leaves provide in the off-season.
3) This course is a tough walk because of the combination of slick spots, bare soil, and the extreme elevation change that happens on some of the holes.
4) Because of the elevation change, there are a few places where you might be in danger of a poorly thrown disc. The roads are also in play on half a dozen holes.
5) I would say this course is far from beginner friendly. Although there are shorter teepads available some of the time, there also is a lot of challenge just because of the way the holes play. I guess it would be a good exposure to someone who is not a first timers to show exactly what this sport can be all about.
Other Thoughts: I had a great time on this course. There are plenty of great throws and a great variety of shots and hole types. I would not bring a beginner here, but someone who has been playing for a little while wanting to be truly challenged might enjoy the new exposures this course can provide. The elevation changes, the shot shaping required, the way elevation changes disc flights. All in all this would be a good experience for those who are hooked on the sport, just not for first timers or those who do not play a lot already. I am sure the club works hard on this course, but leaf removal would go a long way to making the turf on this course better. Aside from that, an all around great experience, I am glad I stopped in Evansville.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/7/2012   8/15/2012
Review By: SMontgomery
Played: 46  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 4.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great variety of shots. Visually pleasing and technically difficult. Great parking and practice area.
Cons: OB right on hole 16 and 18 over fence is annoying. Nothing like clipping a tree and loosing a disc you can see on the otherside of the fence. Poison Ivy!
Other Thoughts: This course is the course I learned to play on so my opinion is going to be swayed but I love this course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Must Play In Evansville

1    4/1/2012   4/12/2012
Review By: asjzn6
Played: 113  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 9.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A lot of things. This course was fun. You start off and there is a nice literature rack at Hole 1 tee. The signage is good enough you got the idea where the hole was. Great Teepads. Design was phenomenal. Lanscape use was very intelligent. Great use of elevation. Dual Teepads on some holes always a bonus to have dual teepads. Really Neat bridges. Hole 9 is top two picturesque (hole 18 Oak park in witchita). course flow was easy to follow except to find 8 long teepad
Cons: OB and sidewalks at first no biggie but towards the end you cross a lot of roads and walking paths. one of the pins is really close to warm up area. Hole 8 is very illogical hole from teepad no real route to hole really cool green though.
Other Thoughts: This course was so much fun, we posed for putting pictures on 9's green you have to a cobblestone bridge to the green is beautiful.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Mesker Park Course

1    3/5/2012   3/10/2012
Review By: mmilam90
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/12/2013
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great layout.
A number of the shots have alternate pads. Didnt use them, but they were in good positions.
The holes varied enough to keep it interesting.
Cons: Cars parked along some of the holes had me pulling my shots.
Lots of traffic in and out.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Public park, maturing nicely

1    10/22/2011   10/23/2011
Review By: ruzz2112
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 14.5 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Set in public park, with lots of mature trees and canopy. Marked well with all concrete tee pads, very little vandelism to signs. Easy to follow and ends where it begins. Not extremely lenghtly or time consuming to find or play.
Cons: Why is it OOB to go over a road, when 2 holes later, you're asked to drive over the same road? Almost lost several discs in the unmowed, low areas.
Other Thoughts: The previously posted reviews are pretty accurate.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.