Evansville, IN 
Mesker Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6 (Taken 10/2008)
3 / 369ft.   3 / 150ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Alt. Tee



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
A Solid Course

1    4/18/2015   8/25/2015
Review By: SirDreward
Played: 21  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1 - Elevation changes galore!
2 - Mostly shaded.
3 - Logical layout and well marked.
4 - Overall clean of litter.
Cons: 1 - Roadway comes into play a quite a few times.
2 - A bad shot can send your disc into some pretty thick undergrowth.
Other Thoughts: The course seems to strike a balance and make both the distance players and the technical players happy.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Mesker the Impresser

1    8/3/2015   8/14/2015
Review By: Jiggy202
Played: 26  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Great park for disc golf
-Elevation is showcased really well here.
-Variety of hole types is excellent and multiple tee pads on most holes
-Pretty good tee signs and a bench at all tee pads.
Cons:
-The main park road comes into play quite a bit, with lots of cars driving through the park
-A few tee pads are sloped making run-up's frustrating at times
-Noticed a few shady people hanging out in their cars all over the park.
Other Thoughts:
I was very impressed with this course. For a first timer navigation was not too bad. The next tee was labeled on every tee sign referenced to the basket. The tee pads were perfect condition and length, but the non level ones were occasionally a problem for driving. The road come into play way too much for how busy it can get. I truly enjoyed all the variety here and there were 2-3 holes that I felt were just awesome. Over all I just loved the playability of this course. I will definitely play this course again if I am in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Mesker Park

5+    7/3/2015   7/6/2015
Review By: spcrosbie
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *A clean and Beautiful park!
Mature trees, stone bridges, & easy parking. Benches and trash cans sprinkled throughout.
*Great elevation changes throughout the course that add to the challenge of almost every hole.
*practice putting basket with distance markers on the ground
*Great tee signs and easy navigation, some alternate tee pads on several holes as well
* Good combination of short, long, right, left..you are required to throw a wide variety of shots
*Baskets seem a bit old, but absolutely work as they should and catch well
* A few solid ace opportunities with the shorter holes, but can still punish a bad drive.
*Requires some decision making and risk/ reward type shots with sloping greens, thick woods, and OB


Cons: *There are a few park roads that run throughout the course and help to define OB lines. you occasional have to wait for a car to pass, but this large beautiful park is used primarily for disc golf, so I'm not going to complain to much about that.
* The biggest issue with me is a few of the tee pads are not level. They are in excellent shape and great size, but in my opinion you shouldn't have to run up hill or down on a developed tee pad.
*the woods can be very thick on several holes and will punish bad shots. I think that's ok, but its never fun to stop playing and search for a disc in poison ivy.
Other Thoughts: Overall the Pros greatly outnumber the Cons and I highly recommend playing Mesker Park. Its design is a bit "old school" with the fact that you can reach almost every hole with a great drive. With that said, its a very fun and challenging course that rewards accurate throws. One of my favorites in Indiana and the tri-state area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Must play course if visiting or living in Evansville

5+    10/26/2014   6/23/2015
Review By: knivile1
Played: 14  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.3 Years
Pros: Beautiful park with good mix of open-ish and wooded lines. Great use of elevation changes and distance.
Multiple tee pads on several holes.
Good signage and well maintained course.
Extremely fun and challenging course.
Cons: Be careful when playing rounds in the fall because you may still lose a disc in the middle of a typically open fairway simply because of the multitude of leaves covering the ground.

Be careful of the OB over the fence into the zoo, have had a couple shots skip off a tree or grip-locked that bounced off the top of the fence and stayed in bounds but gave me heart-failure every time it happened.
Other Thoughts: Definitely one of my all time favorite courses for the scenery and challenging layout.

Nice Course

2-4    11/5/2013   11/6/2013
Review By: wake911
Played: 52  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 14.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Wide Variety of shots (FH,BH, Tunnel, Open, Skip-shots)
- Tricky OB on many holes causing increased inmportance of accuracy, even on the long ones
- Fair rough. You lose a shot getting out of the woods, but you can still save a 4, which is how I think woods, not OB, should be.
- Good course flow. Aside from 2 holes I found everything without a map very easily.
- The tee signs show the next tee location as well as most baskets had an arrow to the next tee.
- Tee pads were plenty long for the hole.
- Multiple trashcans and benches throughout the park.
- There was a line for deuce on every hole but the long right turn into the trees. It may have been a tough line, but it was evident even my first time playing.
Cons: - Road, while helping increase difficulty by being OB, is also a bit of a hindrance. I had to wait quite a few times for cars to go by due to playing around lunch time.
- A few Tee Pads weren't level, and my run-up was uphill. Always throws me off.
Other Thoughts: I don't really see how the Zoo fence comes into play, without throwing a realyl bad shot. Throw a RHFH and it's not in play on 16. It'd take a pretty bad overthrow on 18 to have it in play as well.

Very fun course. Felt like an old-school course due to layout, which I like, but had some length which I also like. The long hole with the hard right turn (#8) is a bit of a crapshoot to get a deuce, but there is a nice path for an easy 3.

It was a quick play, which i enjoy as well. I could definitely see opportunities for low scores with great drives.

I would highly recommend playing this course if you are in Evansville. I will be trying to play here every time i'm in town for business from now on.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Get It Early... It gets you late!

1    7/26/2013   7/26/2013
Review By: dad_of_dg_junkies
Played: 40  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. The Park the course is located in is very nice
2. Long Concrete tee Pads
3. Multiple Tee on some of the more difficult holes
4. Excellent signs with great hole maps
5. Great mix of distance and elevation on the course. There are some short par 3 holes where putter can be thrown while some par 3's require you to throw the disc 360 feet.
6. There is a very good mix of shots as well. You will need all the shots to get around here. Turns, Fades, Backhand, Forehands, and any other specialty shot you can come up with. This place will TEST your game.
7. Hole 9 is a thing of beauty.
8. The course had great flow to it. Not many long walks and it just seemed to make sense.
9 Bench/Stumps to sit on are available on most tee boxes.
10. The course has at least 2 or 3 memorable holes.
11. You will hear the animals from the zoo.

Cons: 1. The roads came into play several times during the round.
2, Hole 8 from the back in general. I just don't understand how anyone can consistently make par on this hole from the back. During the summer, the gap to fit it in is very tight for a 465 ft par 3.
3. Your discs can be very difficult to find off the beaten path. We didn't lose any, but we searched for awhile a couple of times.
4. This course is NOT for beginners.
Other Thoughts: As I stated in the title of this review, you need to get this course early. The first 2-3 holes are the easier holes on the course. After that, It will take some really quality disc golf to make a birdie. I really enjoyed the challenge of this course. There was nothing ordinary about it. You won't set any personal scoring records on this course, but it will give you plenty of chances to throw shots that can be talked about for quite some time. I drove 90 miles one way to play it, and I will do it again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Definitely worth a play

2-4    7/4/2013   7/5/2013
Review By: upfromtheashes
Played: 42  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 11 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- The available land is quite hilly, and the course design makes good use of the topography.
- Good variety of holes. Longer, shorter, left, right, uphill, downhill. Hole design didn't feel repetitive.
- Large concrete teepads were in good shape.
- High quality baskets.
- Good signs which include distance and topographical map of hole.
- Flow from hole to hole was very good, we had no trouble navigating the course as first timers.
- Practice putting basket.
- Course loops back around to the parking lot after hole 11.
- Some holes had benches and/or stumps to take a load off.
- The park it's located in was attractive and looked to be well maintained.
- Has some memorable holes, most notably hole 9.
Cons:
-While you can practice putting, there's really nowhere to warm up your arm or practice driving before your round.
-On many holes there exists the possibility of hitting a car or person on the road or walking path. Be aware of your surroundings.
-I am not a fan of manufacturing more difficulty by adding artificial obstacles like mandos and OB areas. If I need to stay on a fairway, then I infinitely prefer some trees/bushes/obstacles that force me to stay on that fairway. There is lots of OB on this course.
Other Thoughts:
- This course is good enough to drive a few hours to play. There are some other solid courses in the surrounding area to pair it with and make a very enjoyable day trip.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A solid design and fun course

1    1/17/2013   2/19/2013
Review By: harr0140
Played: 858  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Dual tees allow for a different challenge and layout.
2) Concrete tees are always appreciated.
3) Signs have Hole #, Par, Distance, Next Tee location, and a map of the hole.
4) There are plenty of benches and garbage cans available on this course.
5) I love seeing old concrete and stone structures from whatever the land used to be used for. They give a lot of charm to courses and are simply attractive. The stone bridge on #9 was a nice feature.
6) I kept hearing zoo animals throughout the entire round. I am not sure what animals they were, but it was enjoyable soundtrack to my round. I felt like at any time and animal might come crawling out of the woods after me. I laughed aloud when I heard one of the animals MEOWING.
7) Island green is a unique idea, something I have seen from time to time.
8) Elevation changes on this course were great and very enjoyable. It is a lot of fun to throw down the slopes and see how the disc acts differently. Throwing uphill is equally the opposite. It is not fun to throw uphill because you cannot really enjoy the flight.
9) Mulch was used in a few locations to help cover up the bare soil. It could be used in more places, but at least they are addressing the worst of the areas. It looks like a pile of mulch at the bottom of the hill may be used by the local club.
10) Excellent distance variation on this course with 200's, 300's, and 400's. There is a big variety of how they play also because of the elevation changes.
11) Shot selection is huge. You need everything here so be prepared.
12) Directionals were located under the basket to help move you from hole to hole.
13) Awesome variety of foliage density. There were some fairly open holes, some with key trees to force specific shots, some with multiple lines, and then some tighter more dense woods too. There is nothing super tight, but it doesn't feel like that because the elevation alters your throws too. You need to be very precise.
14) Practice basket is available along with some picnic tables near the parking lot. There is a kiosk available for disc golf posting also.
Cons: 1) While the island green was unique, I didn't like how close the basket was to the roads. There were 2 roads in play with this basket location. I have said it before . . . I prefer sustainability and safety to cool and unique ideas. I have no idea how many vehicles pass through here, but it could be an issue and that is why this is a con. There is a potential problem and that is all that matters.
2) The wooded holes are very messy. Lots of leaves and broken branches on the ground make for a messy appearance. The turf obviously suffers from the shade that these trees create as well as the cover the leaves provide in the off-season.
3) This course is a tough walk because of the combination of slick spots, bare soil, and the extreme elevation change that happens on some of the holes.
4) Because of the elevation change, there are a few places where you might be in danger of a poorly thrown disc. The roads are also in play on half a dozen holes.
5) I would say this course is far from beginner friendly. Although there are shorter teepads available some of the time, there also is a lot of challenge just because of the way the holes play. I guess it would be a good exposure to someone who is not a first timers to show exactly what this sport can be all about.
Other Thoughts: I had a great time on this course. There are plenty of great throws and a great variety of shots and hole types. I would not bring a beginner here, but someone who has been playing for a little while wanting to be truly challenged might enjoy the new exposures this course can provide. The elevation changes, the shot shaping required, the way elevation changes disc flights. All in all this would be a good experience for those who are hooked on the sport, just not for first timers or those who do not play a lot already. I am sure the club works hard on this course, but leaf removal would go a long way to making the turf on this course better. Aside from that, an all around great experience, I am glad I stopped in Evansville.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Must Play In Evansville

1    4/1/2012   4/12/2012
Review By: asjzn6
Played: 118  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 10 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A lot of things. This course was fun. You start off and there is a nice literature rack at Hole 1 tee. The signage is good enough you got the idea where the hole was. Great Teepads. Design was phenomenal. Lanscape use was very intelligent. Great use of elevation. Dual Teepads on some holes always a bonus to have dual teepads. Really Neat bridges. Hole 9 is top two picturesque (hole 18 Oak park in witchita). course flow was easy to follow except to find 8 long teepad
Cons: OB and sidewalks at first no biggie but towards the end you cross a lot of roads and walking paths. one of the pins is really close to warm up area. Hole 8 is very illogical hole from teepad no real route to hole really cool green though.
Other Thoughts: This course was so much fun, we posed for putting pictures on 9's green you have to a cobblestone bridge to the green is beautiful.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Park with a Challenge

1    8/22/2011   8/22/2011
Review By: CincyRocs
Played: 46  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Located in a beautiful, manicured park
- Practice Basket
- Map/Board of Information near Practice Basket
- Tee Signs are informative and colorful
- Big, clean Teepads
- 2 cobblestone bridges through the park
- Alternate Tee pads on a handful of holes
- Signs pointing the way to the next hole
- Benches/Something to sit upon on EVERY hole
- Various elevation changes across the course (uphill, downhill, ravines)
- Mature trees with limited underbrush
- Lots of OB because of a winding park road, and therefore making some holes more challenging
- Distances allow for some ace runs and deuce opportunities
- Also a few holes where a player can rip a driver
Cons:
- Possibly more trashcans around the course
- Some walks between holes force players to trackback/cross part of another hole
- A number of shots require players to shoot across/along the park road (dangerous)
- Limited parking may be a problem for a tournament
- The Zoo Fence around 15 & 16 can pose a problem if you happen to throw over it
Other Thoughts:
Overall, this course is an excellent play because of the various elevation changes and OB. The mature trees really give some of the holes multiple lanes because there is no underbrush. With the mix of distance and wooded holes, this course is moderately challenging but not killer.

Some Memorable Holes:
#2 is a 258 foot shot over a small ravine and up a steep hill
#5 is a 429 foot shot down a moderately sloping hill with beautiful scenery.
#9 is only a 225 foot shot but it is across a rock/cobblestone bridge.
#14 is a 294 foot shot into a triangle shaped landing zone with OB on all sides.

Final Verdict:
This course is a must play for people in the area and those traveling through. This course has everything you want: ace runs, deuces, and some longer holes to rip it on. So stop on by and enjoy a memorable round at a great park.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.