Evansville, IN 
Mesker Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #16 (Taken 3/2008)
3 / 354ft.   3 / 354ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
First course I ever played.

5+    6/8/2014   6/30/2014
Review By: GMcAtee
Played: 229  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great design.
Alternate pads on a few holes.
The old stone bridges look phenomenal!
Cool noises from the zoo.
Located on the old German side of town.
Good mix of holes from ace runs to longer challenging holes.
Plenty of elevation.
Cons: Tons of OB!!!!
The rough is really rough.
Other Thoughts: This course rewards the smart accurate players. Bring your long bomber friend to this course to demoralize him.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/7/2012   8/15/2012
Review By: SMontgomery
Played: 43  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great variety of shots. Visually pleasing and technically difficult. Great parking and practice area.
Cons: OB right on hole 16 and 18 over fence is annoying. Nothing like clipping a tree and loosing a disc you can see on the otherside of the fence. Poison Ivy!
Other Thoughts: This course is the course I learned to play on so my opinion is going to be swayed but I love this course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/3/2011   7/21/2011
Review By: AceHole10000
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.5 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This course is amazing. Lots of elevation in every direction. Wicked greens, lots of OBs, great club, the list is endless.
Cons: Not much other than you can loss a disc in the zoo. the roads are not much of a problem.
Other Thoughts: If passing through evansville it is a must play.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Simply Beautiful

5+    11/15/2008   1/19/2009
Review By: LStephens
Played: 78  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 7.4 Years
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It is really difficult trying to explain why a fairly short par 54 course is worthy of a 4.5 rating. I guess you simply have to go play it for yourself. Two years ago there were just two of us that made the drive from Cincinnati all the way to Evansville, IN....later in the fall we had 7 people make the trip. Each time we go we bring more and more people and everyones opinion is the same. It is a beautiful course that has been chiseled out of the landscape...it is almost the perfect course for the land that was available. This is one of the few courses I've played where the average local can play this course every day and it will work on all aspects of their game. Hole #14 was a unique island shot when I first played it...now I see more and more courses using this design for fun holes of their own. It has saved me many strokes when I show up for a tournament and I see the same shot copied 600 miles from Evansville.

Oh...the locals are some of the best...most down to earth people I've ever met. The local scene is very enthusiastic and the people there will literally give you the shirt off their backs.
Cons: It takes me about 3.5 hours to drive there....but worth it every time. I simply wished it was sitting besides Idlewild and I could play this course every third day between Idlewild and Banklick.
Other Thoughts: No one should miss either the spring or fall tournaments at Mesker Park. The fall tournament with the leaves changing showcases this great park.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

1    11/17/2008   11/17/2008
Review By: jgentry
Played: 47  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 6.3 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a truely great disc golf course. The hole park is set on a hillside and you are either throwing up a hill or back down it for most of the holes. There are nice teepads with several holes having alternate pads and nice tee signs. There are some shorter holes a lot of holes in the 300-450 range. Some of the longer holes are down hill so you still have a good chance to reach them for a 2. There is a lot of risk and reward as well, several holes you can risk going OB for more distance and a birdie chance. The course is set in mature woods that are never very thick but never completely open either. It has some left turning holes and some right turning holes. Most of the holes have OB. This is a tough course but you can still score in the low 50's if you play well without much trouble. If you play poorly you could easily be in the 60's.
Cons: Not too many. The only thing I can think of is on one hole you have to cross in from of another teepad to get to the next hole. This is generally not a good design so you might have to wait for people to throw if you might have to wait to throw. There are also a lot of roads in play so you have to be very careful with traffic.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course if you are in the area. Challenging, fairly long and tons of fun to play.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent

4/5/2008   4/6/2008
Review By: WillA
Played: 28  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 4.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Alternate tees for holes 1,5,6,8 and 14. Lots of elevation change and good variety of shot shapes.
Cons: A couple of holes are kind of cramped. They just look like they were squeezed in.
Other Thoughts: This is a terrific course. There are a number of large trees but it is not a tunnel course and if your drive is errant you will still have a shot at the basket in most cases.

There are a few ace runs. And despite the fact that every hole is a par three there are some birdie opportunites.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.