Evansville, IN 
Mesker Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #10
3 / 417ft.   3 / 417ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee Sign



Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Trees

2-4    2/20/2016   2/20/2016
Review By: Jdefur
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 0.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Clean
Labeled
You have trees, hills and small creek plus next to a zoo. Nice area.
Baskets in great shape.
You start and end by the parking lot.
A practice goal at the start.
I like the sign in station along with the rules board. Me being a newbee
The coarse is easy to follow and would recommend.
Cons: Bathrooms were locked up, not sure if always?
Really no other cons

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Solid Course

1    4/18/2015   8/25/2015
Review By: SirDreward
Played: 26  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 6.8 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1 - Elevation changes galore!
2 - Mostly shaded.
3 - Logical layout and well marked.
4 - Overall clean of litter.
Cons: 1 - Roadway comes into play a quite a few times.
2 - A bad shot can send your disc into some pretty thick undergrowth.
Other Thoughts: The course seems to strike a balance and make both the distance players and the technical players happy.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Mesker the Impresser

1    8/3/2015   8/14/2015
Review By: Jiggy202
Played: 44  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 5.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Great park for disc golf
-Elevation is showcased really well here.
-Variety of hole types is excellent and multiple tee pads on most holes
-Pretty good tee signs and a bench at all tee pads.
Cons:
-The main park road comes into play quite a bit, with lots of cars driving through the park
-A few tee pads are sloped making run-up's frustrating at times
-Noticed a few shady people hanging out in their cars all over the park.
Other Thoughts:
I was very impressed with this course. For a first timer navigation was not too bad. The next tee was labeled on every tee sign referenced to the basket. The tee pads were perfect condition and length, but the non level ones were occasionally a problem for driving. The road come into play way too much for how busy it can get. I truly enjoyed all the variety here and there were 2-3 holes that I felt were just awesome. Over all I just loved the playability of this course. I will definitely play this course again if I am in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Mesker Park

5+    7/3/2015   7/6/2015
Review By: spcrosbie
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *A clean and Beautiful park!
Mature trees, stone bridges, & easy parking. Benches and trash cans sprinkled throughout.
*Great elevation changes throughout the course that add to the challenge of almost every hole.
*practice putting basket with distance markers on the ground
*Great tee signs and easy navigation, some alternate tee pads on several holes as well
* Good combination of short, long, right, left..you are required to throw a wide variety of shots
*Baskets seem a bit old, but absolutely work as they should and catch well
* A few solid ace opportunities with the shorter holes, but can still punish a bad drive.
*Requires some decision making and risk/ reward type shots with sloping greens, thick woods, and OB


Cons: *There are a few park roads that run throughout the course and help to define OB lines. you occasional have to wait for a car to pass, but this large beautiful park is used primarily for disc golf, so I'm not going to complain to much about that.
* The biggest issue with me is a few of the tee pads are not level. They are in excellent shape and great size, but in my opinion you shouldn't have to run up hill or down on a developed tee pad.
*the woods can be very thick on several holes and will punish bad shots. I think that's ok, but its never fun to stop playing and search for a disc in poison ivy.
Other Thoughts: Overall the Pros greatly outnumber the Cons and I highly recommend playing Mesker Park. Its design is a bit "old school" with the fact that you can reach almost every hole with a great drive. With that said, its a very fun and challenging course that rewards accurate throws. One of my favorites in Indiana and the tri-state area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Must play course if visiting or living in Evansville

5+    10/26/2014   6/23/2015
Review By: knivile1
Played: 19  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5 Years
Pros: Beautiful park with good mix of open-ish and wooded lines. Great use of elevation changes and distance.
Multiple tee pads on several holes.
Good signage and well maintained course.
Extremely fun and challenging course.
Cons: Be careful when playing rounds in the fall because you may still lose a disc in the middle of a typically open fairway simply because of the multitude of leaves covering the ground.

Be careful of the OB over the fence into the zoo, have had a couple shots skip off a tree or grip-locked that bounced off the top of the fence and stayed in bounds but gave me heart-failure every time it happened.
Other Thoughts: Definitely one of my all time favorite courses for the scenery and challenging layout.

First course I ever played.

5+    6/8/2014   6/30/2014
Review By: GMcAtee
Played: 308  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 12/26/2014
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great design.
Alternate pads on a few holes.
The old stone bridges look phenomenal!
Cool noises from the zoo.
Located on the old German side of town.
Good mix of holes from ace runs to longer challenging holes.
Plenty of elevation.
Several "fast greens".
Island hole 14 created by park roads.
Cons: Tons of OB!!!!
The rough is really rough.
Hole 8 is getting too easy with all the extra clearing.
Other Thoughts: This course rewards the smart accurate players. Bring your long bomber friend to this course to demoralize him.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

2-4    11/5/2013   11/6/2013
Review By: wake911
Played: 58  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 14.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Wide Variety of shots (FH,BH, Tunnel, Open, Skip-shots)
- Tricky OB on many holes causing increased inmportance of accuracy, even on the long ones
- Fair rough. You lose a shot getting out of the woods, but you can still save a 4, which is how I think woods, not OB, should be.
- Good course flow. Aside from 2 holes I found everything without a map very easily.
- The tee signs show the next tee location as well as most baskets had an arrow to the next tee.
- Tee pads were plenty long for the hole.
- Multiple trashcans and benches throughout the park.
- There was a line for deuce on every hole but the long right turn into the trees. It may have been a tough line, but it was evident even my first time playing.
Cons: - Road, while helping increase difficulty by being OB, is also a bit of a hindrance. I had to wait quite a few times for cars to go by due to playing around lunch time.
- A few Tee Pads weren't level, and my run-up was uphill. Always throws me off.
Other Thoughts: I don't really see how the Zoo fence comes into play, without throwing a realyl bad shot. Throw a RHFH and it's not in play on 16. It'd take a pretty bad overthrow on 18 to have it in play as well.

Very fun course. Felt like an old-school course due to layout, which I like, but had some length which I also like. The long hole with the hard right turn (#8) is a bit of a crapshoot to get a deuce, but there is a nice path for an easy 3.

It was a quick play, which i enjoy as well. I could definitely see opportunities for low scores with great drives.

I would highly recommend playing this course if you are in Evansville. I will be trying to play here every time i'm in town for business from now on.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Get It Early... It gets you late!

1    7/26/2013   7/26/2013
Review By: dad_of_dg_junkies
Played: 44  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 3.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. The Park the course is located in is very nice
2. Long Concrete tee Pads
3. Multiple Tee on some of the more difficult holes
4. Excellent signs with great hole maps
5. Great mix of distance and elevation on the course. There are some short par 3 holes where putter can be thrown while some par 3's require you to throw the disc 360 feet.
6. There is a very good mix of shots as well. You will need all the shots to get around here. Turns, Fades, Backhand, Forehands, and any other specialty shot you can come up with. This place will TEST your game.
7. Hole 9 is a thing of beauty.
8. The course had great flow to it. Not many long walks and it just seemed to make sense.
9 Bench/Stumps to sit on are available on most tee boxes.
10. The course has at least 2 or 3 memorable holes.
11. You will hear the animals from the zoo.

Cons: 1. The roads came into play several times during the round.
2, Hole 8 from the back in general. I just don't understand how anyone can consistently make par on this hole from the back. During the summer, the gap to fit it in is very tight for a 465 ft par 3.
3. Your discs can be very difficult to find off the beaten path. We didn't lose any, but we searched for awhile a couple of times.
4. This course is NOT for beginners.
Other Thoughts: As I stated in the title of this review, you need to get this course early. The first 2-3 holes are the easier holes on the course. After that, It will take some really quality disc golf to make a birdie. I really enjoyed the challenge of this course. There was nothing ordinary about it. You won't set any personal scoring records on this course, but it will give you plenty of chances to throw shots that can be talked about for quite some time. I drove 90 miles one way to play it, and I will do it again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Messy Mesker

1    7/26/2013   7/26/2013
Review By: DG addict24
Played: 28  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/6/2013
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Long tee pads, places to sit at every hole, signs to help with navigation, and good tee signs. A lot of elevation changes that really change your shots a lot. A lot of nice technical shots, but also has enough length (from the long tees) to bring your big arm. Need backhands, forehands, and to be able to get out of trouble. Very tough course where you better bring your A game to score.
Cons: My main problem with this course is the "rough". Especially on the back nine, you could hit a tree and kick into the woods, or just hyzer/turn into the woods and then you were in trouble. The underbrush on the holes were terrible, and I probably spent as much time looking for discs as I did playing disc golf. I'm all for punishing bad shots, but that shouldn't be done on the ground, there should be trees and leaves up high to punish you, not all the stuff on the ground. That doesn't effect your shot, it just makes it harder to find your disc so it shouldn't be there. Also a few of the holes felt gimmicky, especially 8, If they had put the basket down at the bottom of the hill, say on the other side of the trees, near the bridge, it would have been one of my favorite holes of all time. But instead they stuck it 100 ft back in the woods to the right, with a random gap that still has trees in the middle of it that you have to slide through. To me it takes away all shot at the basket, even if thrown perfectly. The road (which seemed pretty busy) was also in the way on too many of the holes.
Other Thoughts: While I was playing, I could see the course had the potential to be great, and most of the holes were 4.0 holes. But a 2 or 3 of them made me wonder what the designer was expecting me to do when he made it. There were also too many struggles that didn't necessarily deal with the hole layout. Update: Much better course in the fall/winter had a much more enjoyable time then. Moving my rating up .5

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Definitely worth a play

2-4    7/4/2013   7/5/2013
Review By: upfromtheashes
Played: 42  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 11.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- The available land is quite hilly, and the course design makes good use of the topography.
- Good variety of holes. Longer, shorter, left, right, uphill, downhill. Hole design didn't feel repetitive.
- Large concrete teepads were in good shape.
- High quality baskets.
- Good signs which include distance and topographical map of hole.
- Flow from hole to hole was very good, we had no trouble navigating the course as first timers.
- Practice putting basket.
- Course loops back around to the parking lot after hole 11.
- Some holes had benches and/or stumps to take a load off.
- The park it's located in was attractive and looked to be well maintained.
- Has some memorable holes, most notably hole 9.
Cons:
-While you can practice putting, there's really nowhere to warm up your arm or practice driving before your round.
-On many holes there exists the possibility of hitting a car or person on the road or walking path. Be aware of your surroundings.
-I am not a fan of manufacturing more difficulty by adding artificial obstacles like mandos and OB areas. If I need to stay on a fairway, then I infinitely prefer some trees/bushes/obstacles that force me to stay on that fairway. There is lots of OB on this course.
Other Thoughts:
- This course is good enough to drive a few hours to play. There are some other solid courses in the surrounding area to pair it with and make a very enjoyable day trip.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.