Evansville, IN 
Mesker Park Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers   (Taken 3/2011)
Park Sign



Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Beautiful Park with a Challenge

1    8/22/2011   8/22/2011
Review By: CincyRocs
Played: 46  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Located in a beautiful, manicured park
- Practice Basket
- Map/Board of Information near Practice Basket
- Tee Signs are informative and colorful
- Big, clean Teepads
- 2 cobblestone bridges through the park
- Alternate Tee pads on a handful of holes
- Signs pointing the way to the next hole
- Benches/Something to sit upon on EVERY hole
- Various elevation changes across the course (uphill, downhill, ravines)
- Mature trees with limited underbrush
- Lots of OB because of a winding park road, and therefore making some holes more challenging
- Distances allow for some ace runs and deuce opportunities
- Also a few holes where a player can rip a driver
Cons:
- Possibly more trashcans around the course
- Some walks between holes force players to trackback/cross part of another hole
- A number of shots require players to shoot across/along the park road (dangerous)
- Limited parking may be a problem for a tournament
- The Zoo Fence around 15 & 16 can pose a problem if you happen to throw over it
Other Thoughts:
Overall, this course is an excellent play because of the various elevation changes and OB. The mature trees really give some of the holes multiple lanes because there is no underbrush. With the mix of distance and wooded holes, this course is moderately challenging but not killer.

Some Memorable Holes:
#2 is a 258 foot shot over a small ravine and up a steep hill
#5 is a 429 foot shot down a moderately sloping hill with beautiful scenery.
#9 is only a 225 foot shot but it is across a rock/cobblestone bridge.
#14 is a 294 foot shot into a triangle shaped landing zone with OB on all sides.

Final Verdict:
This course is a must play for people in the area and those traveling through. This course has everything you want: ace runs, deuces, and some longer holes to rip it on. So stop on by and enjoy a memorable round at a great park.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/3/2011   7/21/2011
Review By: AceHole10000
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This course is amazing. Lots of elevation in every direction. Wicked greens, lots of OBs, great club, the list is endless.
Cons: Not much other than you can loss a disc in the zoo. the roads are not much of a problem.
Other Thoughts: If passing through evansville it is a must play.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great Fun Time

1    6/2/2011   6/2/2011
Review By: rbnorris32
Played: 103  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 11.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is very fun to play. Mesker park is a very pretty course - rolling hills, mature trees, bridges, winding 'OB' road... Its not as woodsy as I prefer, but its definitely not open. There are well defined lanes surrounded by big trees. Lots of fun ace runs and possible birdies. And also a lot of very challenging holes. Great course!
Cons: Errant throws could possibly hit someone on another hole. There are few people driving through the park, but when they do, they drive too fast and could be easy to hit. Lots of poison ivy.
Other Thoughts: Great club that plays there! Thanks for showing me around!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/20/2011   5/30/2011
Review By: NKlassy
Played: 11  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Being that this is my home couse i dont really have anything bad to say about it. It is a very challenging course with many hills, and is very wooded. Being that it is so wooded and right next to the zoo lets you forget that your right in the middle of the city. No matter how many times you play Mesker it will always find some new challenge to throw at you.
Cons: The only cons here are that you have people parking on the side of the road right were you are throwing. Not really a problem just kind of an inconvience sometimes.
Other Thoughts: watch out on hole 15. Go over the barbed wire fence and youll lose your disc to the zoo.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great fun on a challenging course

5+    11/7/2010   11/8/2010
Review By: weeman
Played: 231  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 10.6 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mesker is a fine example of how to optimize the use of the land provided for a course. Constant elevation changes, shot variations for both lefty's and righty's, nice differences in hole length and the omni-present danger of out of bounds to keep you honest make this course a delight to play. Holes constantly change in elevation with many baskets placed for high risk-reward putting situations. The greens can be very fast due to these slopes as well. Solid mix of shots uphill, downhill and across grade. Several holes are deceiving in that all you need is a big arm but more accuracy will save you more strokes. There seems to be an unofficial formula at Mesker of the longer holes (potential par 4s to some people) being followed by a short hole. The use of the out of bounds road winding through the park adds a little more character to the affected holes and requires the thrower to concentrate more and execute on their drive. The rough isn't super thick but does carry the danger of adding a stroke to get out of it. The mature trees provide for nice shade on a sunny day and allow for some large gaps but can also seem impenetrable. Some luck can occasionally be required here.
Cons: There's not many that I can pinpoint but a few that stand out to me are that in a few spots the distance between the basket and next tee is still within an errant shot's range. This can be hazardous when the course is full of people or in tournaments. The only other negative I noticed is the lack of incorporation of the creek that navigates through the woods. If you think of the OB windy road as being an adequate substitute for water, then it could make up for it.
Other Thoughts: This course is a lot of fun to play. Its not that terribly far from where I live but I hardly ever play it. Number 1 is one of my favorite starting holes on any course I've played. Being as the course runs along a portion of the zoo, you can hear some of the animals. In the morning, its typically the monkeys and the birds in the afternoon. Glow rounds can be occasionally accompanied by music at the nearby amphitheatre.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 This Course Makes You Better

5+    9/5/2010   9/6/2010
Review By: bwilson217
Played: 33  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course works all kinds of shots. There are holes that force you to throw backhand, throw forehand, and even some overhead shots if you get in the rough. This course is well maintained by local players. A lot of fun holes that are fun to watch. Examples, Hole 5, 9, 10,14 and 18
Cons: There is no water in the park, or a restroom. Also there is a road that runs along a lot of the holes and sometimes there are cars on the sides just be careful its not usually a problem.
Other Thoughts: If you played this course everyday it would make you better. It works all aspects of you game. This course is the bomb, if you going through this area make sure you stop by and play it!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Evansville's best

1    8/8/2010   8/22/2010
Review By: Matthew boals
Played: 189  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 20.5 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice sized paved parking lot,shared with Zoo employees. Practice basket with picnic table and course map. Mach 5 baskets,my favorite. Concrete tees are correct size for hole distance. Plenty of trash cans and benches. Almost a loop design (#12 ends at parking lot). Course plays on the side of a hill with nice grass fairways. Has rolling mounds thoughtout. Holes play up & down along the side of the hill, both ways. All of this under mature trees with alot of shade. Also,it does have the low canopy shots. They are mixed in nicely, coming into play on either your tee,approach throws. Nice stairs from #9 to #10. Directional signs are at the base of the trees close to the played basket. Very nice break area on #10; picnic table,trash can.
Cons: No open "Let it Rip" holes or water holes. No Alt. Pin placements. It would be nice,atleast the holes where the baskets are close to the woods. All Am. tees should be placed in the same area of the basket (should not be throwing over the road,no matter how short the hole would be). This could be true already. But I'm writing this a few weeks after I played and I wrote in my notes this needed done. It did start feeling like I was played the same hole time and time again.
Other Thoughts: #2 ridge to ridge is only visually pleasing (Not just this course,any course that has a ridge to ridge shot). It's too open move the basket to the back side of the hill for a tougher hole. IMO. Underbrush is not bad,most have been tramped down in the correct areas from previous DGer's. I started late and by the time I was ready to go,to stay on schedule, the heat index was already 105 degrees. After looking back up the hill (#13) and the course map I decided to walk off the course. But, the only reason I did was the heat index. A "must play" if I the area.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Evansville has something good

5+    7/15/2010   7/27/2010
Review By: absolutdork
Played: 33  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 15.1 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Evansville finally has a course it can be proud of! Very hilly, and challenging shots that can make you pull almost all your discs out of your bag to have a good round. I especially like Hole #14 as it plays as an island shot. Also a couple holes around cobblestone bridges are very unique. Almost aced #9, still awaiting to break my ace cherry.
Cons: Plays over the road, so watch out for pedestrians. Some of the rough is very unforgiving, so keep an eye on the direction of your disc if an errant throw happens. No restrooms. Would love to see a disc golf shop go up around the course as Evansville still lacks horribly in the equipment purchasing category.
Other Thoughts: Moved back here to Evansville several years ago after spending my college days in a disc golf haven.. Bowling Green. At that time the only course Evansville had was USI, and that course is lackluster to say the least, especially since I cut my teeth on this game in Bowling Green. However, this course is almost perfect for the land bestowed upon it. If you are in this area, this is "the" course, so make sure you stop by!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Love this Course

1    7/16/2010   7/19/2010
Review By: jobwilson
Played: 72  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Elevation and lots of it! -
Wide variety of holes with lots of O.B. O.B. comes into play on 12 holes and can really wreck a solid round.
-It's also a beautiful walk.
-There are alternate tee pads on 6 holes, mando on 3 holes which is highlighted by a mandatory island shot on Hole #14.
-It can be a very challenging course for all players, but there are also many opportunities for birdies and a few aces.
Cons: -There is a road going through the course so there is the occasional car going through. This is really evident between 4-6 on weeknights.
-The undergrowth can become pretty thick in the summer.
-There could be more trash barrels and some kind of water source.
Other Thoughts: I love Mesker and because I love Mesker so much, I am not sure how objective my review is. I do honestly believe it is a 4* course. In fact, I could give it a 4.5 and feel OK about it. If you are coming through the area, it is *THE* must play course in the tri-state area. Also, there are two tournaments played at the course each year. The Evansville Open in the spring and the Pumpkin Shootout played in the fall. It is such a beautiful course when the leaves begin to fall, and I would advise anyone/everyone to play that time of year.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Mesker is "Very Good"

1    4/3/2010   6/3/2010
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 134  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 10.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: When playing Mesker Park, the first positive aspect that comes to mind is the elevation. Whether it is uphill or downhill, each hole tests this aspect of your game in some form. The holes were fairly balanced and mostly open. Baskets and Teepads were in good condition. Navigation was easy, even without a map. The woods provide a nice backdrop even though they rarely come into play.
Cons: My biggest con is the lack of variety. In my opinion many of the holes were very similar. It seems as though a hyzer that can avoid trouble from sparse trees will be the play from a majority of the tees. The course did seem to be somewhat congested. I cannot think of a single hole there in which aall other holes are out of view. I am big on the seclusion aspect. The road that winds through the course can pose problems with waiting for cars. I would expect that this is a pretty popular course since it is the best course in a pretty big town so waiting could be long.
Other Thoughts: Mesker park is "very good" course, and I feel totally justified in giving it the 3.5. It is a solid design and equipment, is well manicured, but it just doesn't have that "it" factor. There is no true signature hole. Again this is my opinion...but if you live in a disc golf haven (I am thinking Bowling Green, Cincinnati, Dallas, St. Louis, and yes I know there are many more) take away the top 3 holes at each course. Then pool all of the rest and choose a best 18...Mesker is about like that course would be. The course doesn't have a "bad" hole. It is a mixture of the slightly above average holes that you would find around the country. It is definitely worth stopping by if you are in Evansville, and is definitely worth a 25 mile detour if you're in the vicinity.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.