Evansville, IN 
Mesker Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #8 (Taken 3/2008)
3 / 465ft.   3 / 205ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Alt. Tee



Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

1    4/2/2010   4/15/2010
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mesker is a very nice 18-hole course set on an area of land dedicated solely for disc golf. It has concrete tees, excellent tee signs, and solid baskets. Excellent use of the land makes for a good mix of hole length, up/down, left/straight/right, and various degrees of open/wooded. I enjoyed every hole and there are several fantastic memorable holes that are a lot of fun. The hole playing over the cobblestone bridge was unique as well as the basket placed in the "road island" near the entrance of the park. I also enjoyed many of the elevated tees throwing downhill, and at the same time, the uphill holes did not destroy my arms and legs!

This is a really good course for all skill levels. Not too hard for casual players, but it will challenge even advanced players as this course requires a variety of excellent shot making in order the score low. There are plenty of birdie opportunities, but you have to be accurate and able to shape your tee shots appropriately.
Cons: Many have mentioned the road which could be a con for two reasons 1) cars and 2) disc scuffing, but this was not a problem for me. There are a couple of places on the course where the holes are pretty close together, so be careful and alert for other players and incoming discs. No water or restrooms are available. Also, maybe a con for some (or possibly even a pro), but the course is right next to Mesker Zoo, and you can hear and smell the animals on certain holes!
Other Thoughts: This a solid, well-designed, and perfectly seasoned disc golf course that Evansville should be proud of. I really enjoyed playing Mesker and I know several other people of varying skill levels that enjoy playing it as well. I would recommend this course to just about anybody, and I would enjoy playing it again.

I do feel that the 4.5-5.0 ratings for this course are a little high for me when I consider the 120+ courses I have played all over the Eastern U.S. I would compare this course to other solid courses like Hobson Grove or Lovers Lane in Bowling Green, KY or Seven Oaks in Nashville, TN. This course may not blow you away or be your disc golf paradise, but you definitely won't leave disappointed.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Amazing Course!!!!

5+    1/29/2010   1/29/2010
Review By: mkern41598
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.6 Years
0 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: This course is amazing lots of different styles. Many different shots from the tee pad uphill, downhill, trees, out of bounds, and island shots. Not one hole on this course is a breeze everytime. That is what makes this course so sweet. There are alot of friendly people out there so if you don't know the course. Most likely someone can and will help you out. Over all this course was made perfect and is kept up very nice by the club members.
Cons: The only con that frustrates me is the cars parking or driving thru the course!! However not the fault of the builders they did a sweet job. Oh and a Bathroom and a water fountain would be nice but hey we can't have it all!!!!

0 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent Course that Doesnt Exhaust your arm

5+    12/5/2009   12/11/2009
Review By: gkeberhart
Played: 36  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 6.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a lot of mature trees and elevation. It makes for a challenging course that is very fun to play with a group of friends. Stairs from 9 to 10 which is nice and lots of benches for resting. The practice basket is in a great area and has markers for distance in thr ground. The local players are always willing to help people out. you dont feel like you are throwing the same shot off of every tee. they have an awesome island hole which offers a new perspective to the game.
Cons: walking from 6's basket to 7's tee pad you have to be careful of people teeing off on 5 as you walk in front of it. the hills can get a little tiring at times and in the fall the leaves make it a challenge (not something they can really fix...not a con against the group there)
Other Thoughts: The Ace Eagles do a lot of work and they really keep the park clean, it really is one of the cleanes i have seen. after every major storm they make it a point to have work days to removed fallen limbs. scenery is awesome there all times of the year and the sounds from the zoo always make it a little interesting, if you are in Southern Indinaa it is a place to stop and play a few rounds at.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/5/2009   10/7/2009
Review By: AdamE
Played: 225  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/1/2010
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mesker Park is an excellent course that will challenge you on so many levels. There are elevation changes on nearly every hole and failing to take them into consideration can cost you strokes. A lot of the greens also have elevation in play which makes your putts more challenging. Roads come into play as OB on some holes. There are mature trees to navigate which make some of the holes fairly technical. There are some tough anhyzer shots and an island green on one hole. The course design here is top notch!

Navigating the course is pretty easy and there are small wooden signs with bright red paint pointing to the next hole if you aren't sure.

This is definitely one of the courses I could play all day long and not get bored with it.
Cons: Just a few minor things. You have to throw a drive over the road on a few holes so watch for cars. Cars sometimes park on the side of the road and get in the way, but that happens everywhere.

When you're driving on hole 3, watch out for other golfers. Shots that hyzer out go right towards hole 4's teepad.

On the way from hole 6 to 7, you have to walk in front of the long pad on hole 5.
Other Thoughts: I think this is a great course for less experienced players because it will turn you into a better player, and there isn't a whole lot of underbrush to deal with. There are also short pads on some holes to make the course more beginner friendly. This course presents a good challenge for more advanced players and that will keep them coming back for more.

I highly recommend checking out this top notch course!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Simply Beautiful

5+    11/15/2008   1/19/2009
Review By: LStephens
Played: 78  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 7.6 Years
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It is really difficult trying to explain why a fairly short par 54 course is worthy of a 4.5 rating. I guess you simply have to go play it for yourself. Two years ago there were just two of us that made the drive from Cincinnati all the way to Evansville, IN....later in the fall we had 7 people make the trip. Each time we go we bring more and more people and everyones opinion is the same. It is a beautiful course that has been chiseled out of the landscape...it is almost the perfect course for the land that was available. This is one of the few courses I've played where the average local can play this course every day and it will work on all aspects of their game. Hole #14 was a unique island shot when I first played it...now I see more and more courses using this design for fun holes of their own. It has saved me many strokes when I show up for a tournament and I see the same shot copied 600 miles from Evansville.

Oh...the locals are some of the best...most down to earth people I've ever met. The local scene is very enthusiastic and the people there will literally give you the shirt off their backs.
Cons: It takes me about 3.5 hours to drive there....but worth it every time. I simply wished it was sitting besides Idlewild and I could play this course every third day between Idlewild and Banklick.
Other Thoughts: No one should miss either the spring or fall tournaments at Mesker Park. The fall tournament with the leaves changing showcases this great park.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Never gets old

5+    6/12/2008   12/21/2008
Review By: discgolphinmafaukner
Played: 28  Reviewed: 13
This review was updated on 10/13/2009
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of mature trees and lots of OB. Hole 14 is an island shot that is a special treat. Course will give you a workout! There are many elevation changes that shoot both up and down hill. Some hills have a little of both. Some of the holes have actual benches and some have more rustic benches fashioned out of whatever is available. All serve their purpose though. Some holes have a trash can as well. Hyzers, anhyzers, and straight shots are all required to score well here.
Cons: A road winds through the course so sometimes you have to wait on traffic. Some people also like to park alongside the road...of course why would you park along a golf course anyway?
Other Thoughts: I could play this course over and over again. It's always fun to play this course and USI on a day trip (with a special lunch stop at for wings and beer of course). The noises coming from the zoo also make the course one of a kind!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Evilles best.

1    11/30/2008   11/30/2008
Review By: MulliganStew
Played: 26  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 25.8 Years
This review was updated on 1/19/2009
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice long cement t pads. Well marked new signage. Very challenging course with hyzers and anhyzers. good use of trees, not too many and mostly not too close to the tee pads. Great use of elevation changes, lots of ups and downs. Multiple T pads on several holes, very well maintained course. This course has some of the toughest anhyzer shots I have ever played, some short some long. Lots of benches and trash cans.
Cons: Not too many, as one poster stated one hole you have to walk in front of another T pad. If your disc goes into a creek bed be careful there were a large number of sink holes right around the creek that were very deep, easy yo get hurt. Keep it on the fairway and you will be fine. A couple of pads are not very level. Not really a problem, but a road runs right down the middle of the course and you may have to wait for traffic to pass every now and then.
Other Thoughts: Great course can't wait to play it in the spring...

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 One of my favorites

5+    9/7/2008   11/18/2008
Review By: CStaples
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 14.6 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is one of the best par 54 courses I have ever seen. Every hole offers shot choices different from the last. Distances are varied and intelligently designed to give every hole the possibility of birdie, par and bogey. There are even a couple of ace runs and chances for worse than bogey on a few holes. Beginners and pros alike can all find something to enjoy about this course.
Cons: Bathrooms and water would be nice
Other Thoughts: If we have to be stuck with mostly par 54 courses instead of par 72 for now I wish they could all be this fun and challenging.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

1    11/17/2008   11/17/2008
Review By: jgentry
Played: 47  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 6.6 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a truely great disc golf course. The hole park is set on a hillside and you are either throwing up a hill or back down it for most of the holes. There are nice teepads with several holes having alternate pads and nice tee signs. There are some shorter holes a lot of holes in the 300-450 range. Some of the longer holes are down hill so you still have a good chance to reach them for a 2. There is a lot of risk and reward as well, several holes you can risk going OB for more distance and a birdie chance. The course is set in mature woods that are never very thick but never completely open either. It has some left turning holes and some right turning holes. Most of the holes have OB. This is a tough course but you can still score in the low 50's if you play well without much trouble. If you play poorly you could easily be in the 60's.
Cons: Not too many. The only thing I can think of is on one hole you have to cross in from of another teepad to get to the next hole. This is generally not a good design so you might have to wait for people to throw if you might have to wait to throw. There are also a lot of roads in play so you have to be very careful with traffic.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course if you are in the area. Challenging, fairly long and tons of fun to play.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 What a Beauty!

1    7/26/2008   8/9/2008
Review By: buzzinb
Played: 19  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 2/10/2010
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Awesome course with lots of challenges that will both inspire and humble the average player. Lots of moderate length holes that favor control over power. An excellent mix of different hole layouts that make this course a pleasure to play again and again.
Cons: Very thick vegetation lining many of the fairways...an errant throw will have you wishing you had brought a machete! The road that winds through the park brings in some traffic that might delay/alter some shots.
Other Thoughts: I am definately spoiled living in Bowling Green, KY. I can be at any number of sweet courses within minutes. However, I find myself really wanting to go back and play Mesker again. Yeah, its that good.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.