Tyler, TX 
Lindsey Park - Blue Course Share
Uploaded By: Goat Boy Hole #6 (Taken 3/2010)
3 / 217ft.   -- / --   3 / 318ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Texas-size Fun and Variety

1    4/25/2014   5/8/2014
Review By: Qikly
Played: 65  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 2.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lindsey Park's Blue course is the antithesis of its Gold 18: whereas the latter takes you to task with one tight wooded shot after the next, the former playfully mixes it up, throwing a diversity of shots, terrain, and obstacles at you. The array of variety goes well beyond that of your standard park course, and keeps you on your toes and reaching into your bag. There are a few heavily wooded holes on the front 9, a big downhill bomb that weaves around pines (13), a large uphill anny playing along a treacherous slope (12), some challenging mandos (including 9's fun tunnel shot between two trees), and some opportunities to really open up (17 weaves downhill and around some large trees at over 900' from the longs!). The variety gives you a lot to like, and engages your game without being overly challenging to the casual player. I really enjoyed how Lindsey Blue continually mixes it up. The back 9, which makes good use of a sizable hill, has some especially nice holes (12, 13, 17).

There's definitely more of a park course feel here than on the wooded Lindsey Gold, but that's not necessarily a bad thing. It provides a nice reprieve to Gold's brutal challenges. The relative openness will appeal to casual players, while the big hill, long distances, and occasional technicality will keep more advanced players interested. Lindsey Blue caters to a wide range of golfers, especially with its two sets of tees. Every player will find something they like. Throw in two other 18s on site and Lindsey Park makes for a home course that many golfers would envy.

Concrete tees are well made and level. Park seems well groomed. Parking is plentiful, bathrooms are accessible and clean, and water fountains are on hand. Course layout reduces conflict with non-disc golfers, save for occasionally running along the road.
Cons: While present in fits and starts, Lindsey Blue's technical challenge is ultimately limited: though there are the occasional wooded holes, tight windows, and threatening elevation, the course is for the most part open enough to allow you to recover from your mistakes fairly easily. The front half in particular has some dull stretches with minimal obstacles that could have you throwing on automatic. This openness is likely intentional, a foil to Lindsey Gold as mentioned above, but it still caps Lindsey Blue's ceiling. Were the course to integrate some more of the challenging wooded holes from Gold course with the high points from Lindsey Blue, it'd have the makings of a great 18. As it stands, Blue offers a bit more of a reprieve from Gold's woods and challenges than I'd like, but it does make for an effective complement. There are still a lot of worthwhile shots here; they just often register more as fun than challenging or memorable (not completely a bad thing by any means). The city park feel helps to further curb the wow factor.

Navigation can get a bit dodgy in places; course flow can be hard to follow. The course seems to have undergone numerous redesigns; there are even decaying remnants of past tee signs no longer in use. While we found our way around, the proximity and openness of many baskets on the front 9 had us guessing and often playing out of order. The map on DGCR seems to be out of date (not that we were smart enough to try and use it anyway), as the long hole labeled 1 on there was 17 when I visited. If memory serves me correctly and I'm reading it right, the holes may have just been renumbered. It's not bad enough to be a deterrent; just brace yourself for moments of confusion. The course seems well-trafficked enough that you can always ask a local.
Other Thoughts: I came away from my visit to Lindsey feeling like it wasn't quite the set of destination courses I'd hoped to find. However, it makes for an enjoyable stop on your way to one of Texas' more significant gems, with Selah an hour and a half to the north and Shawshank a couple hours south. The three destinations combine for one heck of a road trip; take it from me!

The course starts off a bit slowly, with the front 9 playing more pedestrian and being harder to navigation. Stick it out; things pick up on the back 9. The course definitely ends on a high note.

Bathrooms, water, and parking are somewhat accessible after 9, but the back 9 play an inconvenient distance away from them. Just keep that in mind if you're playing in the heat that you need to keep adequate refreshments on hand. Those hills'll get you in the Texas sun.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Offers Great Variety to Gold Course's Challenge

1    4/25/2014   5/7/2014
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 62  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lindsey Park offers three disc golf courses that are conveniently located near each other. Lindsey - Blue is right in the middle of the three courses in terms of difficulty and is probably the most enjoyable for the average disc golfer to play with its extensive variety and lack of insanely tough holes.

The park has the necessary amenities including a large parking area, bathrooms, and water fountains. The course also features very large concrete tee pads and new(er) tees signs.

The strength of the Blue course is found in its wide variety of the types of holes and shots offered, and it actually has much better variety than the Gold course. I would probably play this course more often with the amount of variety that it has. There is a pretty even spread of open, moderately wooded, and very tight holes. It has holes that challenge you to throw open bombs (1, 2, 10, 15, 16, 18), play through patches of trees (5, 6, 9, 11-14, 17) and hit some very tight lanes in the woods (3, 4, 7, 8). Muliple tees and pin positions, as well as a wide spectrum in lengths, also add to the variety.

My favorite part of the course was holes 11-17, which are found in a separate section of the park. The holes aren't far away from the rest of the course, but this section was strikingly different with many more trees that allowed for more lane choices and some pretty massive elevation changes. I was pleasantly surprised to see such extreme elevation on 12-14, as well as the long downhill bomb on 17. My hats off to the course designers for doing a great job of using the elevation to make interesting holes. I also enjoyed the use of the creek on some of the tight woods holes and the tight mando on 9 to add some risk/reward play.
Cons: -Navigation isn't the best, as the course winds back, forth, and around different parts of the park. The most confusing section to navigate is the front 9 which plays in a relatively open field and through the nearby woods. I didn't see any signs pointing you in the right direction and this part of the course does not flow well at all. At any given time in the field, you can see multiple tee signs, pads, and baskets.
-To add on to the confusion, some of the baskets for this course are Mach 3 and some are DISCatcher. Having two other courses nearby also confused us because the Red course had holes that played very close to the front half of the Blue course. There were also some old tee signs still standing that had different hole numbers on them.
-Some of the open holes were a little too bland. Luckily, they were well spread throughout the course to avoid feeling too repetitive.
Other Thoughts: The pictures aren't completely accurate on the site. Most - if not all - of the holes are still in the course, but a bunch of them have been renumbered.

Play the Gold course if you want to stay in the woods for most of the round and be severely challenged. Play this course if you want a more laid-back round that offers plenty of varied shots and more room for error, but still challenges you on multiple holes. Better yet, play all three courses on site! Lindsey Park is great in that it offers you a full day of golf, or allows you to choose between courses with distinctly different levels in difficulty in you only have time for one round.

My favorite holes:
3-Tight S-curve in the woods with some elevation in play
5-Downhill right to left shot from the open into the woods
6-Long, downhill shot with two lines to play through
13-Long extreme uphill left to right shot with the basket on a steep slope. The most intimidating hole on the course
14-Steep downhill bomb
17-Very long downhill shot that plays around many trees

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    4/19/2013   4/19/2013
Review By: hph04a
Played: 12  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Multiple tees and varied lengths of holes make the course great for all different skill levels. Concrete tee pads are nice. Good mix of open and wooded holes
Cons: Navigation can get a little confusing at times, its not well marked. Hole maps are needed on the uphill holes where its impossible to see the pin and the holes where multiple pins are visible
Other Thoughts: Several long holes to start off certainly gets you warmed up. A couple different times you will find yourself walking across the teepad you think you're supposed to be at to find the you are supposed to be at. All in all though, a very fun course to play. If you take a full day and play all three courses, this is the one I'd start with

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

The Lindsey Park trifecta!

1    11/21/2012   11/21/2012
Review By: hookem41
Played: 36  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 13.2 Years
Pros: This is referred to as the Hickory course locally, and has awesome use of elevation, as well as trees to make a great variety of open and wooded holes. Great stone tee signs on every hole here. Good use of OB with fence lines on 1 & 2, tight double mando on 1, and park road on hole 3. Also some good mando's on 15 and 18 to avoid the softball fields. Excellent trimming and tree removal before the last tournament here to make getting off the tee much more fair on every hole now. Again, great short and long tee pads on every hole except 6, 7, 8, and 10 and multiple pins on 6, 7, 10, 11, & 15. Great variety of reachable holes and grip and rip holes. Again, benches and trash cans abundant throughout the course.
Cons: Again, very little. The flow is a little goofy at some points, it crosses the park road twice, but there's 3 courses in one park so that'll happen. Hole 1 starts off from a different parking lot, along with where18 finishes, from the other 2 courses. This is now the easiest of the 3 courses in my opinion, regardless of the distance on 1 & 2.
Other Thoughts: Hickory is another cart friendly course, it will also play significantly more difficult if the wind is blowing. Not much chance to pass back by your vehicle on this course either, so take what you need with you. Extra water in the summer, not a whole lot of shade except on about 4 holes. Lindsey park is an amazing place to play disc golf, you can take a whole day and not play the same hole twice if you wanted. Do yourself a favor and check it out!

Another Great Lindsey Park Course

1    10/25/2012   10/25/2012
Review By: dbx820
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: An overall nice course that appears to be getting a little long in the tooth. Definately bring your long-distance arm. Lots of elevation changes and a little tree work, too.
Cons: This course could use a little TLC--improved signage, benches and trash cans. It's also a little overgrown but not to the point of obstruction.
Other Thoughts: This is a good-not-great course. Given the outstanding Gold and Red courses nearby this one is a little disappointing.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Interesting mix

1    4/21/2012   4/22/2012
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 46  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 3.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
- Multiple concrete tee pads for each hole
- Quite a variety of holes - long, short, uphill, downhill, wooded, open
- Good shade in the summer
- Requires some creative shot selection
- Very fun overall course, surprisingly not crowded
Cons:
- 799 feet on hole 2 is a little over the top
- Some of the wooded holes (7, 10) were so narrow that it seemed to take more luck than skill to get through them
Other Thoughts:
- After spending a perfect sunny, 75 degree day at Lindsey park and seeing only a few other disc golfers, I couldn't help but wonder why these courses are so under-utilized by the citizens of Tyler. If this were park were in the Dallas metroplex, it would be completely packed on a day like today.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/20/2011   2/24/2011
Review By: coolpooky7
Played: 32  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 3.8 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Another great Lindsey course. A lot of tough uphill shots but there are just as many fun downhill shots to show off the arm. My favorite holes are 6 through 12. A good mix of trees and elevation. 12 is a really good ace hole. Many different pin placements as well. Never know where the basket is.
Cons: Some of the cages are the old cages. They seem to be smaller to me and don't really catch the discs as well. But some people may like the smaller baskets to improve their putting. Its just an opinion.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course That Needs Signs

1    10/3/2010   10/4/2010
Review By: goodolrebel
Played: 30  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I like the Tee boxes being labeled Long and short Tee's and Tee boxes markes with the distaneces. Good use of the elevation changes specially the first 2 holes and 14,15, 16 and 17( I like throwing up and down that hill). The middle holes play in out of the woods, with a couple ace able holes (# 8 comes to mind) Holes 9 - 12 play through the wood with some good Tunnel shots (got lucky and made it across the creekgully on 12).
Cons: Signs, Signs, Signs showing where the next Tee box is . The one thing I hate is walking around looking look for the next hole. A overall layout map would be nice showing where the first hole for each course is located.
With the sandy soil around the Tyler area it is prime soil for Goat Head Stickers.(Wear Tall Sox)
Other Thoughts: Having 3 courses in one location is pretty cool. I liked playing in the tall pine trees of East Texas. The one thing I did notice was all of the Red Harvester ants and no Fire Ants. I'll take the Red ants any day.

Lindsey Blue Course over all I had a good time playing it. Just wished there was better signs showing the location of the next Tee Box.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/23/2010   9/23/2010
Review By: DeadEye
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Long distances allow for more difficult holes. A varied terrain of long open fields and tight wooded holes. Most difficult course I've played.
Cons: Ants, Poison Ivy, bad navigation. Wear tall socks and bring a map.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Where is it?!

1    8/22/2010   8/22/2010
Review By: Trevor151
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Cons: Hard to navigate. Need a map or guide to help find holes and tees if you are new to this course.
Other Thoughts: My friends and I traveled from Louisiana to play the courses in Tyler and we came to this course and could not find any of the front 9 holes or tees. We also couldnt find a map anywhere nor other players to guide us. If you are traveling and are not familiar with this course I recommend playing the other great courses Tyler has to offer.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.