Tyler, TX 
Lindsey Park - Blue Course Share
Uploaded By: Goat Boy Hole #3 (Taken 3/2010)
3 / 334ft.   -- / --   3 / 334ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    4/19/2013   4/19/2013
Review By: hph04a
Played: 12  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Multiple tees and varied lengths of holes make the course great for all different skill levels. Concrete tee pads are nice. Good mix of open and wooded holes
Cons: Navigation can get a little confusing at times, its not well marked. Hole maps are needed on the uphill holes where its impossible to see the pin and the holes where multiple pins are visible
Other Thoughts: Several long holes to start off certainly gets you warmed up. A couple different times you will find yourself walking across the teepad you think you're supposed to be at to find the you are supposed to be at. All in all though, a very fun course to play. If you take a full day and play all three courses, this is the one I'd start with

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course That Needs Signs

1    10/3/2010   10/4/2010
Review By: goodolrebel
Played: 30  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I like the Tee boxes being labeled Long and short Tee's and Tee boxes markes with the distaneces. Good use of the elevation changes specially the first 2 holes and 14,15, 16 and 17( I like throwing up and down that hill). The middle holes play in out of the woods, with a couple ace able holes (# 8 comes to mind) Holes 9 - 12 play through the wood with some good Tunnel shots (got lucky and made it across the creekgully on 12).
Cons: Signs, Signs, Signs showing where the next Tee box is . The one thing I hate is walking around looking look for the next hole. A overall layout map would be nice showing where the first hole for each course is located.
With the sandy soil around the Tyler area it is prime soil for Goat Head Stickers.(Wear Tall Sox)
Other Thoughts: Having 3 courses in one location is pretty cool. I liked playing in the tall pine trees of East Texas. The one thing I did notice was all of the Red Harvester ants and no Fire Ants. I'll take the Red ants any day.

Lindsey Blue Course over all I had a good time playing it. Just wished there was better signs showing the location of the next Tee Box.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/23/2010   9/23/2010
Review By: DeadEye
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Long distances allow for more difficult holes. A varied terrain of long open fields and tight wooded holes. Most difficult course I've played.
Cons: Ants, Poison Ivy, bad navigation. Wear tall socks and bring a map.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Long

1    9/25/2009   10/6/2009
Review By: chalos13
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 7.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Bring your long arm. This course has lost more length than the red course across the park. this course will stretch your game.
Cons: This course will frustrate new players, there are quite a few "tunnel" holes where shots get very tough
Other Thoughts: I enjoy playing this course, but it always hurts my self esteem a little. It's fun, but it's tough.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Yeah

1    4/9/2009   4/9/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Best of the 2 in the park. Lots more shots then the red course, which challenges you more. The elevation is very cool here(15/16). The are some wooded holes that are tight with a good mix of boomers as well. Not to difficult which I think makes it fun for the newbie. (Red tees at least) Fun course which rewards you for good shots and gets you if you dont. Good baskets and tees. Clean once again and well taken care of excpet for a couple of holes noted in the cons.
Cons: Signage seems to be a big deal down here. Hard to navigate just like the red course. Holes 10 and 11 could use some manicuring as the poison ivy and underbrush has gotten almost out of control.
Other Thoughts: Great having 36 holes in one park. Will go back for sure.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Very challenging to play and navigate

1    3/31/2009   4/1/2009
Review By: NDABRUSH
Played: 55  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 2/18/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tight wooded holes, hole 7 especially. Elevation used to maximum in my opinion. I liked 16 so I threw a few just to watch them fly. Extra long tee pads. Good variety of shots are required. After hole 5, I met a local that said he helped design the courses. He whipped out a piece of paper and drew me a map of both courses from memory so I should mention friendly locals and plenty of them. If you are having problems navigating just let the group or guy play through and follow the locals. Thats what I did on the red course.
Cons: At times hard to navigate. For the most part a confusing course to play though fun once you do.
Other Thoughts: The first local I talked to said there is going to be a 3rd course here soon. Hopefully it will have elevation and will be densely wooded. Overall Lindsey Park definitely is a very good golf destination. With 3 18 hole courses in the same park that both have a great variety of shots, you will definitely have fun throwing every shot that you know.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 fair course

1    3/9/2009   3/9/2009
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/1/2010
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has much to offer: long open holes, short narrow fairways and difficult wooded areas. Fair mix of straight, left and right shots. There is one super long hole, something like 900 feet I believe that is tricky. Tee off on a long downhill and navigate around some trees. I really love the middle section of this course as it is heavily wooded with super tight fairways. More elevation changes then the Red course. Nice teepads. Signs are a little worn but do there job.
Cons: A big thing that I look for in a course is the flow and navigation. This had niether. Poor signage and a strange flow to it. A course should be designed so the first time thrower on the course won't have any problems. I got lost and had to walk several fairways just to know where to throw. I hate when they mix basket types, new and old on the same course, kind of tacky.
Other Thoughts: Once you know where to go and throw, not too bad of a course. I will definately play it several more times. Holes 10 and 11 are heavily wooded and have thick underbrush. Posion ivy abounds and a little creek runs through it. Can easily lose a disc in this area so watch your plastic closely. This is the less busy of the now three courses on the site. Definately a higher degree of difficulty on this one. Having three courses in one place is incredible!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/15/2008   2/1/2009
Review By: cdubya0407
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pretty open course with mix of a few lightly wooded holes. Terrific miz of lengths of holes.
Cons: Very difficult, often windy
Other Thoughts: great place to spend a day of disc golf with the red and blue course being in the same park.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Blue Is Best

1    11/14/2008   11/18/2008
Review By: Stan
Played: 18  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This has everything except for water. A great balance of variety. Long holes (800 ft) and Short holes (150 ft). The most elevation changes in Tyler. Wooded holes and open holes. The ability to bend your shots is a must in order to reach par. Numerous blind shots.

One very fun hole was relatively short...throwing down a hill to a basket in a small clearing. Several holes have unique obstacles that force you to think.

Dual tees offer longer distances.
Cons: I would like to see more signage...telling you where the next tee box is and where the baskets are.

I basically walked the course twice. With so many blind shots, you had to walk 150 ft to find the basket, walk back, and then throw. If it were a busy day, I would have frustrated those playing behind me. It wouldn't be such an issue if this was your regular course.
Other Thoughts: I've played all 4 courses in Tyler and this one is the best. I look forward to playing it again. It's a nice, well kept course.

Make a day of it and play the Red as well.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Black and Blue

1    11/14/2008   11/16/2008
Review By: onjejank
Played: 35  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 19.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Long and lots of elevation here. You'll get some extreme chances at shooting uphill and downhill here. A third of the holes will test your distance and allow you to rip it. Very well kept course except... (see cons)
Cons: through the middle holes of this course there are a few holes which have no clear line at all. Too many thin trees and no clear-cut path to shoot. Ideally there's a clear path (even if its very small) here, there's just throw and hope. Most of these holes you have to walk to find before you throw. Also, these holes need directions to the next tee badly. These cons keep the Blue from being great.
Other Thoughts: I loved this course - probably a second playing would be more fun as I wouldn't have to wander around most holes looking for where to shoot. Still, it's well worth your time and will test every part of your game (including patience).

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.