Tyler, TX
Lindsey Park - Blue Course Share
Uploaded By: Goat Boy Hole #4 (Taken 3/2010)
3 / 308ft.   -- / --   4 / 478ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3

1    4/19/2013   4/19/2013
Review By: hph04a
Played: 12  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Multiple tees and varied lengths of holes make the course great for all different skill levels. Concrete tee pads are nice. Good mix of open and wooded holes
Cons: Navigation can get a little confusing at times, its not well marked. Hole maps are needed on the uphill holes where its impossible to see the pin and the holes where multiple pins are visible
Other Thoughts: Several long holes to start off certainly gets you warmed up. A couple different times you will find yourself walking across the teepad you think you're supposed to be at to find the you are supposed to be at. All in all though, a very fun course to play. If you take a full day and play all three courses, this is the one I'd start with

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

The Lindsey Park trifecta!

1    11/21/2012   11/21/2012
Review By: hookem41
Played: 36  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.9 Years
Pros: This is referred to as the Hickory course locally, and has awesome use of elevation, as well as trees to make a great variety of open and wooded holes. Great stone tee signs on every hole here. Good use of OB with fence lines on 1 & 2, tight double mando on 1, and park road on hole 3. Also some good mando's on 15 and 18 to avoid the softball fields. Excellent trimming and tree removal before the last tournament here to make getting off the tee much more fair on every hole now. Again, great short and long tee pads on every hole except 6, 7, 8, and 10 and multiple pins on 6, 7, 10, 11, & 15. Great variety of reachable holes and grip and rip holes. Again, benches and trash cans abundant throughout the course.
Cons: Again, very little. The flow is a little goofy at some points, it crosses the park road twice, but there's 3 courses in one park so that'll happen. Hole 1 starts off from a different parking lot, along with where18 finishes, from the other 2 courses. This is now the easiest of the 3 courses in my opinion, regardless of the distance on 1 & 2.
Other Thoughts: Hickory is another cart friendly course, it will also play significantly more difficult if the wind is blowing. Not much chance to pass back by your vehicle on this course either, so take what you need with you. Extra water in the summer, not a whole lot of shade except on about 4 holes. Lindsey park is an amazing place to play disc golf, you can take a whole day and not play the same hole twice if you wanted. Do yourself a favor and check it out!

Another Great Lindsey Park Course

1    10/25/2012   10/25/2012
Review By: dbx820
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: An overall nice course that appears to be getting a little long in the tooth. Definately bring your long-distance arm. Lots of elevation changes and a little tree work, too.
Cons: This course could use a little TLC--improved signage, benches and trash cans. It's also a little overgrown but not to the point of obstruction.
Other Thoughts: This is a good-not-great course. Given the outstanding Gold and Red courses nearby this one is a little disappointing.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Interesting mix

1    4/21/2012   4/22/2012
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 38  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 3.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
- Multiple concrete tee pads for each hole
- Quite a variety of holes - long, short, uphill, downhill, wooded, open
- Good shade in the summer
- Requires some creative shot selection
- Very fun overall course, surprisingly not crowded
Cons:
- 799 feet on hole 2 is a little over the top
- Some of the wooded holes (7, 10) were so narrow that it seemed to take more luck than skill to get through them
Other Thoughts:
- After spending a perfect sunny, 75 degree day at Lindsey park and seeing only a few other disc golfers, I couldn't help but wonder why these courses are so under-utilized by the citizens of Tyler. If this were park were in the Dallas metroplex, it would be completely packed on a day like today.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/20/2011   2/24/2011
Review By: coolpooky7
Played: 32  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 3.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Another great Lindsey course. A lot of tough uphill shots but there are just as many fun downhill shots to show off the arm. My favorite holes are 6 through 12. A good mix of trees and elevation. 12 is a really good ace hole. Many different pin placements as well. Never know where the basket is.
Cons: Some of the cages are the old cages. They seem to be smaller to me and don't really catch the discs as well. But some people may like the smaller baskets to improve their putting. Its just an opinion.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course That Needs Signs

1    10/3/2010   10/4/2010
Review By: goodolrebel
Played: 29  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 4.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I like the Tee boxes being labeled Long and short Tee's and Tee boxes markes with the distaneces. Good use of the elevation changes specially the first 2 holes and 14,15, 16 and 17( I like throwing up and down that hill). The middle holes play in out of the woods, with a couple ace able holes (# 8 comes to mind) Holes 9 - 12 play through the wood with some good Tunnel shots (got lucky and made it across the creekgully on 12).
Cons: Signs, Signs, Signs showing where the next Tee box is . The one thing I hate is walking around looking look for the next hole. A overall layout map would be nice showing where the first hole for each course is located.
With the sandy soil around the Tyler area it is prime soil for Goat Head Stickers.(Wear Tall Sox)
Other Thoughts: Having 3 courses in one location is pretty cool. I liked playing in the tall pine trees of East Texas. The one thing I did notice was all of the Red Harvester ants and no Fire Ants. I'll take the Red ants any day.

Lindsey Blue Course over all I had a good time playing it. Just wished there was better signs showing the location of the next Tee Box.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/23/2010   9/23/2010
Review By: DeadEye
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Long distances allow for more difficult holes. A varied terrain of long open fields and tight wooded holes. Most difficult course I've played.
Cons: Ants, Poison Ivy, bad navigation. Wear tall socks and bring a map.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Where is it?!

1    8/22/2010   8/22/2010
Review By: Trevor151
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.8 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Cons: Hard to navigate. Need a map or guide to help find holes and tees if you are new to this course.
Other Thoughts: My friends and I traveled from Louisiana to play the courses in Tyler and we came to this course and could not find any of the front 9 holes or tees. We also couldnt find a map anywhere nor other players to guide us. If you are traveling and are not familiar with this course I recommend playing the other great courses Tyler has to offer.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Play Nice With The Hungry Angry Trees!

1    6/2/2010   6/10/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 205  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 27.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is another great course at Lindsey Park. This course has elevation, wooded, wide-open, variable lengths, tunnel shots, great pin placements, and lots of good tree use. I loved that the wooded holes happen a couple of different times during the round instead of being bunched together like most courses. In the heat, it is nice to duck into the woods. The course has some elevation in couple of spots, but the latter few holes are the best of these. The protected pins here are great. One pin is guarded by a hungry and angry tree. But if you beat the branches enough, it just might give you your disc back. ;) I love the hole lengths here. Some long bombs, some ace runs, and everything in between. You have to love the fact that this also keeps things fresh and non-repetitive. The concrete tee and baskets are in a good shape here. This is a big course and they know it. There are bathrooms at the main parking area and one by hole 15 or 16 (I think). There were trashcans along the way also.
Cons: Navigation is messy, so take the map or get a guide. For first time players or people who travel to play courses, this is a huge negative. The tee signs are of the tombstone style with only hole number and footage on them. They are cool looking and I am sure a Lindsey Park aesthetic, but a hole layout or next tee marker would be very useful. There are poisonous plants in the woods, so be careful. That is all I could think of.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor her was really good. I loved the course and thought it was really fun. The variety of hole styles and lengths made me actually wish it did not end at 18 holes even though I know many people find this course really long. I will most certainly come play here again and this town is worth of a road trip.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Long

1    9/25/2009   10/6/2009
Review By: chalos13
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 6.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Bring your long arm. This course has lost more length than the red course across the park. this course will stretch your game.
Cons: This course will frustrate new players, there are quite a few "tunnel" holes where shots get very tough
Other Thoughts: I enjoy playing this course, but it always hurts my self esteem a little. It's fun, but it's tough.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.