Tyler, TX 
Lindsey Park - Blue Course Share
Uploaded By: Goat Boy Hole #9 (Taken 3/2010)
3 / 150ft.   3 / 170ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 Next >
 Blue Is Best

1    11/14/2008   11/18/2008
Review By: Stan
Played: 18  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 8.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This has everything except for water. A great balance of variety. Long holes (800 ft) and Short holes (150 ft). The most elevation changes in Tyler. Wooded holes and open holes. The ability to bend your shots is a must in order to reach par. Numerous blind shots.

One very fun hole was relatively short...throwing down a hill to a basket in a small clearing. Several holes have unique obstacles that force you to think.

Dual tees offer longer distances.
Cons: I would like to see more signage...telling you where the next tee box is and where the baskets are.

I basically walked the course twice. With so many blind shots, you had to walk 150 ft to find the basket, walk back, and then throw. If it were a busy day, I would have frustrated those playing behind me. It wouldn't be such an issue if this was your regular course.
Other Thoughts: I've played all 4 courses in Tyler and this one is the best. I look forward to playing it again. It's a nice, well kept course.

Make a day of it and play the Red as well.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Black and Blue

1    11/14/2008   11/16/2008
Review By: onjejank
Played: 35  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 21.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Long and lots of elevation here. You'll get some extreme chances at shooting uphill and downhill here. A third of the holes will test your distance and allow you to rip it. Very well kept course except... (see cons)
Cons: through the middle holes of this course there are a few holes which have no clear line at all. Too many thin trees and no clear-cut path to shoot. Ideally there's a clear path (even if its very small) here, there's just throw and hope. Most of these holes you have to walk to find before you throw. Also, these holes need directions to the next tee badly. These cons keep the Blue from being great.
Other Thoughts: I loved this course - probably a second playing would be more fun as I wouldn't have to wander around most holes looking for where to shoot. Still, it's well worth your time and will test every part of your game (including patience).

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 can't see how this course got anything higher than 2 stars

1    9/17/2008   9/17/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 227  Reviewed: 180  Exp: 18.3 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Long AND tight mix, fair for all skill levels. Well balanced, grueling. Well maintained, dual cement tees and has signs.
Cons: I wonder if there's room for the cons to fit in this box...
- Really, really, really, really hard to navigate. I mean seriously, it's like it was designed to BE hard to navigate. (There were no maps in the box). If playing the long tees, you have to walk up to the short to find out what hole you are on (which is important due to the bad layout) and the length. The tee signs don't inform you where the basket is, with many long blind holes. One hole is 900' long and can't be seen until you walk up more than half the way, then it's an uphill walk back to the tee. The hole next to #2 is not #3, it's #14, #3 is actually far away, across the park road and hard to spot. #5 backtracks from #4. #6 is not in the direction that a sign points, and the hole is hard to even find when walking down the fairway. GOOD LUCK!
- Way too much poison ivy, so much I cannot play some of the holes. Hole #10 has too much around the green, you can't walk to the pin from any angle and not get it up to your knees. A few other holes had it carpeting the fairway. Therefore, holes #6-12 are not playable to those severely allergic.
- A few holes were just not well thought out, close to being good but needed the tee pad moved over.
- Many (about 1 in 3) tee pads were buried in thick sand, up to 8 inches deep.
Other Thoughts: When there's that much ivy, and it's that hard to navigate, it does not matter how good the holes are, it's a bad course because I, and some others, cannot enjoy it.
Skip holes #6-12, bring a guide.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course, Nice Challenge

6/20/2008   6/20/2008
Review By: DctrJ
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course is well taken care of. There are certainly long shots and some tough wooded shots. You get to use a range of skills so come prepared. Lots of fun!
Cons: No cons, a must play.
Other Thoughts: They are planning a third course in Lindsey Park!

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 tyler rocks..

12/24/2007   12/24/2007
Review By: overstable
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: This course is one of the first real good courses I played ...besides ellison pk in ny....i live near this course for 4 years and I loved it and ,yes we did cater to the long arm...but everything is bigger in tx!....LZM
Cons: concrete tees for all holes... no cons but your game..!!...LZM
Other Thoughts: LZM

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Long and challenging course

1/20/2007   7/23/2007
Review By: NIBSTOOLS
Played: 35  Reviewed: 35
This review was updated on 11/26/2007
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Long well maintained course or you can play the other "red course"!
Cons: May be frustrating if you don't have a long shot!
Other Thoughts: Played in the "ice bowl" Ice bowl in texas!? Ha Ha! Played our ice bowl in Syracuse two weeks later in two feet of snow!

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.