Gatlinburg, TN 
Mills Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: tamahawk Hole #3 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 260ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee Sign

Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers

1    8/10/2015   8/10/2015
Review By: davetherocketguy
Played: 45  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 11.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Excellent use of land available within a nice and tidy multiuse park.
- Each hole on its own is well thought out design.
- Very clean and mowed fairways.
- Senic. Cannot stress this enough just how pretty the views are all around the course.
- Well constructed tee pads. #9 is teeny tiny but good grief if you need a run up on that hole you fail at disc golf.
- Baskets are all in great shape and properly installed.
- Some well thought out risk/reward here. #3 is a good example of this especially if you play the OB. To the left is a tight OB line and to the right some nightmare shule.
- I think #8 is the signature hole on this course. Finding the right line to get up to the basket was really tough and I liked the challenge. #9 could arguably be the signature hole as well with its stupid short length and HUGE elevation change from tee to basket.
- The tee signs are beautiful. Some of the best I've ever seen. Unfortunately, the #2 sign is gone. I really like the clear indication of OB.
Cons: - No benches. Seriously needed here.
- Not all the distances looked correct to me. #4 says it's ~220 and I think it's closer to 280.
- #9 is a fantastic hole but that walk down the fairway is dicey at best. Either some steps need to be installed or something of that nature. If someone takes a header here that could be a nasty fall.
- #2 is a serious 'poke-n-hope' fairway with no real defined line. Also didn't care for how close this hole played to the cemetary.
- I haven't seen walks this long between holes since I played Andrews U in Berrien Springs, MI. #2 to #3 isn't terrible but goes around a football field. The real kicker is going from #9 to #1. This is the second longest walk I've ever seen between holes behind #13 to #14 at Andrews. Is there anything the course designer could have done differently? Nope. Is it still going to affect my score? Yep.
- I probably wouldn't mind the long walks so much had it been for better navigational aids. The tee signs did always indicate which way to walk to the next tee but that's not enough IMHO in a place like this. With that said, bring a map or bring a smart phone with this map loaded up or you will get lost. I don't care how well that map at tee one is memorized it just isn't going to help until you're out on the course.
- Not a real big fan of playing so close to walkways. Just isn't safe and #3 is a little too close to the football field for my comfort.
Other Thoughts: Don't let my review discourage you from playing this course. It's pretty good in it's own right. In a vacuum, I'd say that every hole here is good in it's own right but when put together in this lay out it just isn't great.

I do see the course designer here working the land as best as possible and frankly I'm not sure what could be done differently to make it better. If you're in the area and are jones'in to play some DG hit this place up it will not be a waste of your time.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Putter Course

1    3/5/2012   3/5/2012
Review By: sdervan
Played: 41  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It was close to town and clean.
Baskets were in good shape.
tees were nice and longer than normal
a great course for children or begginers.
Cons: Very short course
not a good flow
signage wasn't very good
Other Thoughts: It's not a bad course just probably the best that could have been done with the amount of land they were given. I'm not sure i'd play it again.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 if you're in gatlinburg

1    7/7/2010   7/11/2010
Review By: vinmoe73
Played: 21  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -short drive from gatlinburg
-on the trolley line
-fun elevation changes
-clean facilities
-nice family picnic area with large playground for kids
-horseshoe pits -- just sayin'
Cons: -very short course
-long/confusing distance from holes 2 - 3 (TAKE MAP)
-course doesn't finish remotely close to where it starts.
-although a fun hole, number 9 is a very steep drop to get to the basket.
Other Thoughts: -It's the perfect place to get away from the sensory overload that is Gatlinburg.
-I played early evening during a July heat wave. tons of pesky gnats buzzing around.
-My family and I were the only people in the park.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    6/8/2009   6/14/2009
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 245  Reviewed: 237  Exp: 19.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fun 9 hole course that is well maintained in a nice park about 5 miles outside of downtown Gatlinburg. There is a good a variety of holes- each hole is unique from the other eight holes. And hole #9 is an especially memorable finishing hole. There is some elevation involved, but it is well used and not noticeable when walking.

The teepads, baskets, and signs are all in excellent shape. There is a big course map on the kiosk by hole 1. There are nice restrooms and a picnic pavilion near hole #1.

This course would be excellent for beginners and/or families. Experienced players can enjoy working on the short game and should have several opportunities for birdies and aces.

The course is very scenic as it is located in the Smoky Mountains. Views of the mountains can be seen behind tee #1. It is nice to have a course nearby if you happen to be vacationing in Gatlinburg, Pigeon Forge, or in the Great Smoky Mountains National Park as the course is just a short drive from all these places.
Cons: The holes are spread throughout the park making a little extra walk between #2 and #3 and from #9 back to #1. This course is pretty short and not too challenging for experienced players.
Other Thoughts: Overall this a decent, fun little 9-hole course. The only water is a ditch on #9, not a disc eating hazard. Be sure to print off a copy of the map or really study the one on the kiosk to navigate the long walks between holes.

It is great to have a course nearby if you are vacationing in the area (which is a popular spot for people of ages to come all year round.) Definitely check it out if you are in the area. However, I would not drive out of the way to play it. It is a good ways off the interstate and the drive through all the traffic lights of Sevierville/Pigeon Forge/Gatlinburg can take a long time. (It will take you much longer to get here than it will to play it one time!)

Be sure to follow the directions on this site (my GPS took me to wrong spot.) The course is a few miles out of town past all the touristy stuff.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Only if your in the area

1    6/13/2009   6/13/2009
Review By: splatbaseball51
Played: 122  Reviewed: 52  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/1/2014
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Only disc course in the general area so its what you will have to play if you're near there.

The signs were well made and very clear. The park sign at the entrance contains the map of the course, which you'll need in order to find a few holes.

For what they had to work with, the park utilizes the available shots well. You won't have an awful time when you play.

The tee pads are concrete and were in great shape.

Hole number 9 is actually pretty cool, with a 45ft elevation drop down the hill and over a small creek. This is my only real takeaway from my round at Mills Park.
Cons: Only two wooded holes and most are wide open with a couple of trees around. All holes are pretty short (too short) however a couple of shots are pretty technical. You won't really be challenged to make shots.

Some navigation issues partly due to my lack of acknowledgement of the signs. Too much distance between holes 2 and 3. Be sure you have a map.
Other Thoughts: Don't get me wrong, the scenery is great and the park utilizes the space well, however it just felt lacking. Too many putter/midrange holes to be taken seriously.

I'd recommend playing it only as something to do while in the area (As if you needed anything else). Don't drive too far to play Mills Park.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.