Gatlinburg, TN 
Mills Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: tamahawk Hole #6 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 195ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Mills Park

1    6/25/2013   8/25/2013
Review By: blando3281
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Closest park to Gatlinburg TN for tourists in the area.
Cons: Only a 9 hole course and a football field separates holes 1 & 2 from the rest of the course.
Other Thoughts: The 9th hole is a treat for a steep down hill throw but there are no built in steps to help get down from the tee.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

On my wedding day!

2-4    7/13/2013   7/31/2013
Review By: Travisglenn1
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I went and played this course on my wedding day while my wife got her hair done. The course has a good mix. I really like the hole layout of number 2 because it reminds me of Glenn Hilton. Good tee pads and quite area.
Cons: Long walk from 2 to 3. Hole 9 is unsafe to walk down.
Other Thoughts: The course was a great way to spend a quite morning. I meet a friend on the course that knew the course so that helped. I shot a 3 over. Could break even if played enough for any rec golfer.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Hills and trees

1    7/9/2013   7/21/2013
Review By: KimD
Played: 29  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 1.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: a couple wide open, mostly elevation changes and trees.
Nice little course for a quick game.
Cons: LONG walk from 2 to 3, it's across the football field.
LONG walk back to parking lot, the course doesn't circle back.
Other Thoughts: It was fun to play a game before heading into the Smoky Mountains for some hiking.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

fun short hilly course

2-4    12/25/2012   12/26/2012
Review By: asp002
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's close to town, which is great for a tourists jonesin to play like myself. It has a unique design with great use of elevation. 2 8 and 9 were by far my favorite. 9 I literally said " wow " and emptied my whole bag.
Cons: It's very short. Going from basket of 2 to the t pad of 3 is annoying to navigate. Plus the fact that 9 ends so far from tpad 1 is rather frustrating. Some upkeep is needed. A tree had fallen on top of 7 tpad the week I was in Gatlinburg and wasn't removed the entire time I was there.
Other Thoughts: Overall a great course if you are in Gatlinburg.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/24/2012   7/31/2012
Review By: jtblount2
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great variety of shots
Several birdie opportunities
Nice tee pads, baskets, and course map
Course map and scorecards available
Cons: Long walks
Gnats/mosquitos
No long throws
Other Thoughts: Overall this was a fun course and since it is the only course near Gatlinburg, it makes it a little more attractive. Most holes require a pretty well placed throw in order to birdie. Holes 2 and 8 have way too many trees and are almost impossible to do well on. Hole 5 is directly behind a tree and unless you get it to the other side of that tree on throw 1 or 2 you have no chance at par.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good fun

1    5/25/2012   5/25/2012
Review By: ToneRay
Played: 22  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - varied shot selection - good practice
- ace & birdie opp's
- ready facilities, comfortable to play
- 1st day of vacation and beat the croud. Fantastic views of the Smokies
Cons: - They make it pretty easy for you to have a good time, so who can complain
Other Thoughts: Pretty sure #6 will be my first ace - missed by 5 feet both first times. Check in with you later...

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Mini-golf's competition in Gatlinburg

1    6/28/2011   7/3/2011
Review By: Old Swampy
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 23.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/7/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good course map at hole one and good signs at every hole. Pleasant park environment with a variety of holes. Level, clean tees and good baskets. Elevation changes throughout and some demanding shots. Ample parking, public restrooms.
Cons: Course layout can be hard to follow on first visit. Course ends far from parking.
Other Thoughts: I looked forward to playing this course while visiting Gatlinburg on a family vacation, and it did not disappoint. I played two rounds the morning after my arrival and enjoyed the experience, though finding my way around the course was a bit tricky despite the helpful maps. When I first arrived I took a digital photo of the course map with my camera which I ended up consulting twice during the round.

The trickiest spot was after hole two, where there's a fairly significant walk to the tee for number three, which is on the other side of the track (fenced). Once you've finished hole two, face the track; you want to head to your left (i.e. towards the road you drove in on) to go around the track and reach three. Go the other way and you'll end up bushwhacking and/or wading.

Hole two was the most difficult for me, requiring a curving shot through the woods; it was a wake-up after the relatively benign opening hole. A couple of shots are good ace opportunities, including six, despite the fact that it's a blind shot -- quite nice. And several people have commented on number nine; it is a short, steep downhill that's a real treat. Just be careful going down after your disc, as the slope can be quite slick.

It's great to have this disc golf course near the amazing assortment of other attractions in Gatlinburg and nearby, not least of which are the multitude of mini-golf courses. It's in a park near the downtown hustle, but provides a quiet getaway. Now if only Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge had as many disc golf courses as mini-golf courses....

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A better type of tourist trap, for sure!

2-4    6/17/2011   6/21/2011
Review By: bettsjc
Played: 38  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 5.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mills Park DGC was a nice relief to the touristy hustle and bustle of Gatlinburg. Located a few miles from center city, its an easy trip over here to enjoy this one.

Course is equipped with Mach 5 baskets, two layers of chains. Baskets catch very well. Tee pads are concrete, of sufficient size for most holes. Ground behind tee pads are level and flush with the pad, making an extended runup easy. Wooden tee pad with griptape on #9 is quite small, but when you get there you'll realize that you won't need anything more. Tee signs depict hole, map, par and distance. Map and distances are accurate. Large map of the course displayed at hole 1(located just off the parking lot), along with scorecards/maps available at the kiosk, a nice little extra.

Layout of the course is fairly technical. A few wooded holes force precise lines, open holes utilize change in elevation to add a challange. (Optional)OB can make this course even toughter. Course is balanced when it comes to uphill/downhill shots and left/right/straight shots. A great mix with no repitition. Most baskets are visible from tee pad, #2 and #8 play blind, but the map on tee signs are accurate.

Practice basket located next to the pavilion in an open, unused area. CLEANer bathrooms than I've seen at other courses, located under the pavilion by first tee. Some places to sit along the way include picnic tables by the start, more tables by hole 4.

Course is well manicured, and the park as a hole is well kept. There were no obvious problems here in the way of litter, deterioration or vandalism.
Cons: Above all else, the gnats were a problem(at least in the spring/summer months). Bugs in the eyes sure doesn't help your accuracy.

Walk between holes 2 and 3 could be a problem if you aren't carrying a map. After hole 2 take a walk along the far side of the track, enter gate onto track and walk to the opening on the opposite side where you will find tee pad for hole 3. Walk from hole 9 to hole 1/parking lot is a slight hike, and the map could also help.

9 holes, and appears that there is no room to expand.
Other Thoughts: This is a tough course for me to give an accurate rating, but I've done my best. I bounced back and forth with this one. Equipment in great shape, holes short and some uneventful. Great use of OB and obsticles, paths along fairways. Rough walking towards the end, but treated to the best <200' holes I've ever played(hole 9).

For me, Mills Park comes in a little over a 3, but not quite 3.5. Garbage cans, lack of flow in a few areas, and length of holes keeps this one from anything higher. Holes range from 165'-300', but change in elevation adds a great challange.

There are no trash cans within the course, so at least pack your trash to the end. Cans near pavilion at start.

Difficulty - Not a bad course to introduce players to the game, with some short holes to boost confidence, but a few tight lines which can show newbies the importance of throwing a disc where you mean to. Intermediates will enjoy some unique lines and the use of elevation to add a bit of difficulty. Pros will use this as pitch and putt practice, and will cure the itch if a round is greatly desired, but no long bombs and only one super tight line here. All levels will appreciate the beauty and creativity of hole 9.

I wouldn't venture out of the way to play here, maybe if you're just passing through or visiting the area. The closest course is almost an hour away, so its worth playing if you're trip doesn't venture away from Gatlinburg for sure. But for a 9-holer, definately not bad.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Easy and fun

1    5/15/2011   5/15/2011
Review By: freep
Played: 28  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well marked holes, long tee boxes. Good variety of short throws. Maps of course availae on hole 1, and they also have a practice basket for warm up.
Cons: No driver holes, 9 isn't enough! Careful walking down 9, it's extremely steep.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 fun

2-4    5/5/2011   5/12/2011
Review By: JohnnyWang
Played: 43  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/1/2011
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: course is very close to town which allows quick and easy access, plenty of parking, and very well defined holes... signs are pretty nice, and the score cards at the bulletin board were great, had a very good description of how to play, allowing the inevitable tourist to give it a try as my brother did(which he enjoied as expected) a few of the holes were absolutely a blast! even for someone like myself who love long tight holes. this was defiantly a fun course and I will return
Cons: is short, not really much to complain about......exactly what youd expect out of a 9 hole in a tourist town
Other Thoughts: had a blast showing my brother the sport...great signage..... 9th hole is crazy, dont let it get the best of you, and throw straight at it. drove with my putter and it bounced off the chains dead center! I think cause of the re-dic-ulous angle you throw at it. very fun hole!!!.........only one 9 hole with in range of gatlinburg? really? I was very surprised with all the tourist in the area that there is only the one short course

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.