Gatlinburg, TN 
Mills Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: tamahawk Hole #9 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 165ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket to Tee: Roughly a 45ft. elevation drop



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 52
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
Fun little course

2-4    6/21/2016   6/21/2016
Review By: bilborph
Played: 22  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some fun reachable holes for a rec player. Most tee pads are concrete, in good condition.
Cons: Some rough, steep slopes on a few holes. Layout is a little disjointed around the track and ball fields.
Other Thoughts: Glad to have a course to play in the area while on vacation.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Little High School DGC

1    6/20/2016   6/20/2016
Review By: jaredbrumbelow
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 0.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It was just a short, average 9 hole course. The baskets were in good shape and there was some signage.

I really enjoyed the last hole which is definitely the steepest elevation change I've ever seen. It's a straight down throw that I out drove the basket with my putter, but it is definitely a unique hole that I have only played similarly at one other locale (White Oak Park).

Offers a little bit of scenery if you climb the stairs at tee 7. Literally a picture perfect shot of the mountains there if the school wasn't in ther way.

Concrete tee pads on all but one hole. Nice course map at first tee.
Cons: Not quite what it sounds like. There were 2 other nearby courses for tourists to tryout for a quick round, but I specifically chose this one because it was called "Park DGC" and the others had school and church in the titles. This one is literally fashioned around Gatlinburg High Schools athletic facilities. There's not a problem with school DGC's, but it usually means the course design isn't the best as it has to be designed around existing facilities. That's mostly how this is. It starts at the park but only 2 holes are off the school campus. Most are generic holes, straight or an occasional dog leg.

The course isn't terrible. Just bland in a locale that would thinkably have excellent geographic potential. Other than hole 9, it was very bland.

Also missing signage on hole 2 so just look for the tee pad.

It's opposite for hole 7 as there is a sign but no tee pad so you just throw from the sidewalk.
Other Thoughts: If you are just craving a quick round on your vacation, then you can get a quick 30-45 round in. But, this course isn't anything spectacular and a little out of the way for simply average especially if you're staying in Pigeon Forge (About 20-30 minutes depending on traffic). Will be trying other area courses soon.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Decent course. Beautiful scenery

1    3/10/2016   3/30/2016
Review By: JDS3105
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
Pros: Fairly easy to play
Not too crowded
Beautiful view of the mountains
Practice baskets
Cons: A bit confusing to navigate
Very long walk from hole 2-3
Tee sign missing on 2
Holes interfere with park goers
Other Thoughts: This isn't a bad little course by any means but I thought it looked better in the pictures. Holes 2-3 are probably the most difficult and the only holes where a forehand or anhyzer shot would be beneficial. You can easily play this course in 45 minutes. I'd avoid playing between 2-3 because it's located near a school and lots of kids walk and can get in the way. Most likely I will play next time we are in the area. I'd love to see more courses in the area.

What the What?

1    7/10/2015   1/7/2016
Review By: whitefedora
Played: 237  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Some real gem holes mixed in with some very doable holes.
-Great course for a quick round or for people that live here and need to satisfy the itch of playing.
-Nice use of elevation
-Good concrete teepads
-Decent signage
-map/kiosk at the parking lot
Cons: The flow of the course is pretty bad. Long walks with basically walking 9 out and then having to walk all the way back to the parking lot.
-it's a multiuse park where I could definitely see not being able to play holes due to other people using the park on some holes.
- hole 9 could be pretty gnarly after rain. Already a tricky slope when dry.
Other Thoughts: Hole 2, 8, and 9 were quite nice holes and while 9 is quite short it's definitely unique in how much it drops down quick.

This course is fun. It's great for people visiting the Smokey mountains/Gatlinburg and great for the people that live close by. I wouldn't go out of my way to play it, but definitely worth the stop if near by.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice short course

1    11/4/2015   11/4/2015
Review By: Gradperk
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.3 Years
Pros: Nice short course with a few interesting shots. I found myself throwing a lot of anhyzers. Hole nine is neat but the trek down the hill is a little touch and go. Hole eight was my favorite one. An elevated tee pad across a valley to an basket that was tucked behind some trees.
Cons: Missing sign on number two. Long walk between two and three and then again after nine

Great Short Smokey Mountains Course

1    9/23/2015   9/23/2015
Review By: Harpo1989
Played: 25  Reviewed: 8
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is one of the nicest 9 hole courses that I've played. Great place to go if you're traveling to Pidgeon Forge and/or Gatlinburg. It is located in a well maintained community park. I felt it had a happy medium as it wasn't too difficult for a beginning player yet added a little bit of spice for a more advanced player.

Hole #2, which is to the left of the first hole (we had a bit of trouble finding it) is by far the most difficult. It did not have a well defined path to shoot for but is the only par 4 on the course and definitely attainable.

Don't go right on three as it is a steep hill and could be difficult to get to your disc. The remaining holes are a nice mix of open and wooded with a very unique finishing hole that basically plays straight down hill. A flick of the wrist is all that is needed. An absolutely fun hole to play!
Cons: Navigation is the biggest con. There are maps near the first tee and I suggest you take one as the tees for 2, especially 4, and 7 were a little tricky and took us a bit to find.

Also, there is no tee sign for hole #2.
Other Thoughts: We had a lot of fun. We had 2 first timers with us and this course did not disappoint.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

SO. SPREAD. OUT.

1    8/10/2015   8/10/2015
Review By: davetherocketguy
Played: 57  Reviewed: 47  Exp: 12.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Excellent use of land available within a nice and tidy multiuse park.
- Each hole on its own is well thought out design.
- Very clean and mowed fairways.
- Senic. Cannot stress this enough just how pretty the views are all around the course.
- Well constructed tee pads. #9 is teeny tiny but good grief if you need a run up on that hole you fail at disc golf.
- Baskets are all in great shape and properly installed.
- Some well thought out risk/reward here. #3 is a good example of this especially if you play the OB. To the left is a tight OB line and to the right some nightmare shule.
- I think #8 is the signature hole on this course. Finding the right line to get up to the basket was really tough and I liked the challenge. #9 could arguably be the signature hole as well with its stupid short length and HUGE elevation change from tee to basket.
- The tee signs are beautiful. Some of the best I've ever seen. Unfortunately, the #2 sign is gone. I really like the clear indication of OB.
Cons: - No benches. Seriously needed here.
- Not all the distances looked correct to me. #4 says it's ~220 and I think it's closer to 280.
- #9 is a fantastic hole but that walk down the fairway is dicey at best. Either some steps need to be installed or something of that nature. If someone takes a header here that could be a nasty fall.
- #2 is a serious 'poke-n-hope' fairway with no real defined line. Also didn't care for how close this hole played to the cemetary.
- I haven't seen walks this long between holes since I played Andrews U in Berrien Springs, MI. #2 to #3 isn't terrible but goes around a football field. The real kicker is going from #9 to #1. This is the second longest walk I've ever seen between holes behind #13 to #14 at Andrews. Is there anything the course designer could have done differently? Nope. Is it still going to affect my score? Yep.
- I probably wouldn't mind the long walks so much had it been for better navigational aids. The tee signs did always indicate which way to walk to the next tee but that's not enough IMHO in a place like this. With that said, bring a map or bring a smart phone with this map loaded up or you will get lost. I don't care how well that map at tee one is memorized it just isn't going to help until you're out on the course.
- Not a real big fan of playing so close to walkways. Just isn't safe and #3 is a little too close to the football field for my comfort.
Other Thoughts: Don't let my review discourage you from playing this course. It's pretty good in it's own right. In a vacuum, I'd say that every hole here is good in it's own right but when put together in this lay out it just isn't great.

I do see the course designer here working the land as best as possible and frankly I'm not sure what could be done differently to make it better. If you're in the area and are jones'in to play some DG hit this place up it will not be a waste of your time.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice Short Course in Smokies

1    11/23/2014   12/1/2014
Review By: indydiscgolfer
Played: 92  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 38.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent use has been made of the hills in this park. Nice signs, baskets, and tee pads are all present. This course provides an excellent challenge for recreational players and the technical nature of the holes offers enough to keep it interesting for more advanced players. Elevation is the key to the challenge here.
Cons: The course is separated into 3 different areas of the park and kind of breaks up the flow a little. Hole 1 and 2 are on the hill by the parking lot.The longest walk is between hole 2 and 3, around a soccer field. Holes 3,4,5, and 6 play through the next section before a shorter walk to hole 7. The tee pad for hole 7 is on a sidewalk. I wasn't sure where the official pad was until I noticed the concrete finished around the edges on one section of the sidewalk. I assume this indicated the tee pad. Holes 7, 8, and 9 play in this section of the park and finish a good walk from the parking lot. While there are a couple of long walks they are not enough to detract from the enjoyment of the course.
Other Thoughts: This course was very fun to play and presented enough of a challenge to keep things interesting. Hole 2 didn't seem to fit real well with the rest of the course as far as difficulty is concerned. It is the longest hole on the course at just over 300 feet but also has the tightest line by far. It is somewhat of a poke-and-hope shot with a hard to envision RHBH turnover line through the woods and down the hill. It is listed as a par 4 on the scorecard which is probably what it should be for a recreational course. If you are in the Gatlinburg area it is well worth the short drive to play this course. During football season this course/park could be very crowded so plan accordingly.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Wilderness Resort trip

1    11/24/2014   11/29/2014
Review By: manglin
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Concrete tees
-Nice Mach baskets
-Good hole signs with distance
-Good course map on the big board
-They had stocked the scorecards with map and distances
-Good layout and use of space and elevation
-Beautiful views and scenery
Cons: -Some holes are close to others and some holes are close to building. That could be an issue if it was busy or you have a shot go awry.
-Lacking a little on length and variety of distance.
-Not many benches that I noticed.
Other Thoughts: We were on vacation and took one morning to go play. It's was well worth it.

There are restrooms and a playground for the little kiddos. Macy and Luke enjoyed that.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great usage of land available

1    7/20/2014   7/28/2014
Review By: KNIGHT
Played: 23  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good tee pads, like said in another review I don't see where they could squeeze in another 9 holes but A second set of tees on each hole would make it a lot more fun to play.
-The flow was OK, it didn't just lead you around but was fairly easy to get from one tee to the other except from the 2 basket to the 3 tee was all the way around a football field.
-Good baskets, most holes could get another pin placement and give some alternate shots
-Elevation change
Cons: -Only 9 holes with no secondary tees is an obvious one.
-Somewhat noisy and in a fairly busy park, the day I played their was several parties going on where I played a few shots I normally would not have taken to stay very clear of non players.
- Also previously said, 2 seems a little unrealistic to have a shot at birdie consistently. It has no real "lines" to play its just flick or anny and see which tree puts you where.
-Walk from 9 back to the parking lot is a pretty good trek.
Other Thoughts: -Gnats were AWFUL the day I played, swarming my parties bags and us too. Im not sure of the reason but bring your bug spray.
-Only concrete tees in the area

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.