Gatlinburg, TN
Mills Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: tamahawk Hole #4 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 225ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 41
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Fun Little Course, Up and Down

5+    3/17/2012   4/6/2012
Review By: maynes35
Played: 25  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 4.4 Years
Pros: This is a fun little course to play. Once you know your way around its really enjoyable to play.
- Concrete tee pads, even though a little on the short side, are better than not concrete tee pads
- Baskets are in good condition
- Big course map at the start and it always has scorecards available
#6 has a really wonderful view of the mountains as you throw a nice high hyzer down to the basket.
Cons: - Only 9 holes so not much variation over 18 holes
- Tee pads could be longer but at least they are concrete
- #9 is flat out dangerous to go down, especially when its somewhat wet
- the really nice signs they show in the media section are mostly not there anymore, which sucks because they look nice
Other Thoughts: After finishing #2 walk around the track by the road and up past the softball field to find #3. After that, navigation is really easy. If you are in Gatlinburg and looking to play some disc golf, it is a worth while course to play. I think my friends and I played 63 holes on a birthday weekend.

 Putter Course

1    3/5/2012   3/5/2012
Review By: sdervan
Played: 41  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 4.8 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It was close to town and clean.
Baskets were in good shape.
tees were nice and longer than normal
a great course for children or begginers.
Cons: Very short course
not a good flow
signage wasn't very good
Other Thoughts: It's not a bad course just probably the best that could have been done with the amount of land they were given. I'm not sure i'd play it again.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Only if you're desperate for some Disc Golf.

1    12/22/2011   12/25/2011
Review By: benestro
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice, scenic location. Well kept facilities.
Cons: Hard to navigate.
Inaccurate map/signage.
Danger of hitting park users.
Other Thoughts: It was confusing finding the tees even with the map. 2 and 3 were inordinately far apart, and 9 is a long way from the main parking lot.
1 & 2 are adjacent to a graveyard. the day I played there was a fresh grave dug which I greatly feared losing a disc in.
Some of the signs on the tees where loose and seemed to be in the wrong places.
I did not find hole 9 amusing at all, especially since it was wet and muddy.

All the holes were too short and easy considering the punishment I went thru to play 'em.

Possibly the course is being worked on, hopefully it gets better.


1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun pitch and putt...

2-4    8/27/2011   8/28/2011
Review By: RichMeade
Played: 34  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete pads, interesting holes, very well maintained. Great use of available land.
No cell service
Cons: Long walk from #2 to #3
Very short, no real opportunities to rip a drive (unless you play down the practice football field beside #9 to #6's basket)
No cell service....

Other Thoughts: This was a fun little course...
no real tough holes except #2...and #9 is just a classic shot that you rarely have in DG.

It is very short, but the holes are designed well enough that you have to have some technique to get into birdie position.
Very well maintained park this is a MUST play if in G'burg...but still hard to justify a trip to the middle of the smokeys for just a 9 hole PnP but I can guarantee that you'll have fun with the course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Mini-golf's competition in Gatlinburg

1    6/28/2011   7/3/2011
Review By: Old Swampy
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 22.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/7/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good course map at hole one and good signs at every hole. Pleasant park environment with a variety of holes. Level, clean tees and good baskets. Elevation changes throughout and some demanding shots. Ample parking, public restrooms.
Cons: Course layout can be hard to follow on first visit. Course ends far from parking.
Other Thoughts: I looked forward to playing this course while visiting Gatlinburg on a family vacation, and it did not disappoint. I played two rounds the morning after my arrival and enjoyed the experience, though finding my way around the course was a bit tricky despite the helpful maps. When I first arrived I took a digital photo of the course map with my camera which I ended up consulting twice during the round.

The trickiest spot was after hole two, where there's a fairly significant walk to the tee for number three, which is on the other side of the track (fenced). Once you've finished hole two, face the track; you want to head to your left (i.e. towards the road you drove in on) to go around the track and reach three. Go the other way and you'll end up bushwhacking and/or wading.

Hole two was the most difficult for me, requiring a curving shot through the woods; it was a wake-up after the relatively benign opening hole. A couple of shots are good ace opportunities, including six, despite the fact that it's a blind shot -- quite nice. And several people have commented on number nine; it is a short, steep downhill that's a real treat. Just be careful going down after your disc, as the slope can be quite slick.

It's great to have this disc golf course near the amazing assortment of other attractions in Gatlinburg and nearby, not least of which are the multitude of mini-golf courses. It's in a park near the downtown hustle, but provides a quiet getaway. Now if only Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge had as many disc golf courses as mini-golf courses....

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A better type of tourist trap, for sure!

2-4    6/17/2011   6/21/2011
Review By: bettsjc
Played: 38  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 5.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mills Park DGC was a nice relief to the touristy hustle and bustle of Gatlinburg. Located a few miles from center city, its an easy trip over here to enjoy this one.

Course is equipped with Mach 5 baskets, two layers of chains. Baskets catch very well. Tee pads are concrete, of sufficient size for most holes. Ground behind tee pads are level and flush with the pad, making an extended runup easy. Wooden tee pad with griptape on #9 is quite small, but when you get there you'll realize that you won't need anything more. Tee signs depict hole, map, par and distance. Map and distances are accurate. Large map of the course displayed at hole 1(located just off the parking lot), along with scorecards/maps available at the kiosk, a nice little extra.

Layout of the course is fairly technical. A few wooded holes force precise lines, open holes utilize change in elevation to add a challange. (Optional)OB can make this course even toughter. Course is balanced when it comes to uphill/downhill shots and left/right/straight shots. A great mix with no repitition. Most baskets are visible from tee pad, #2 and #8 play blind, but the map on tee signs are accurate.

Practice basket located next to the pavilion in an open, unused area. CLEANer bathrooms than I've seen at other courses, located under the pavilion by first tee. Some places to sit along the way include picnic tables by the start, more tables by hole 4.

Course is well manicured, and the park as a hole is well kept. There were no obvious problems here in the way of litter, deterioration or vandalism.
Cons: Above all else, the gnats were a problem(at least in the spring/summer months). Bugs in the eyes sure doesn't help your accuracy.

Walk between holes 2 and 3 could be a problem if you aren't carrying a map. After hole 2 take a walk along the far side of the track, enter gate onto track and walk to the opening on the opposite side where you will find tee pad for hole 3. Walk from hole 9 to hole 1/parking lot is a slight hike, and the map could also help.

9 holes, and appears that there is no room to expand.
Other Thoughts: This is a tough course for me to give an accurate rating, but I've done my best. I bounced back and forth with this one. Equipment in great shape, holes short and some uneventful. Great use of OB and obsticles, paths along fairways. Rough walking towards the end, but treated to the best <200' holes I've ever played(hole 9).

For me, Mills Park comes in a little over a 3, but not quite 3.5. Garbage cans, lack of flow in a few areas, and length of holes keeps this one from anything higher. Holes range from 165'-300', but change in elevation adds a great challange.

There are no trash cans within the course, so at least pack your trash to the end. Cans near pavilion at start.

Difficulty - Not a bad course to introduce players to the game, with some short holes to boost confidence, but a few tight lines which can show newbies the importance of throwing a disc where you mean to. Intermediates will enjoy some unique lines and the use of elevation to add a bit of difficulty. Pros will use this as pitch and putt practice, and will cure the itch if a round is greatly desired, but no long bombs and only one super tight line here. All levels will appreciate the beauty and creativity of hole 9.

I wouldn't venture out of the way to play here, maybe if you're just passing through or visiting the area. The closest course is almost an hour away, so its worth playing if you're trip doesn't venture away from Gatlinburg for sure. But for a 9-holer, definately not bad.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Mills Park DGC

1    7/10/2010   5/31/2011
Review By: 3OrangeWhips
Played: 96  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/2/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Long, level concrete tee pads on every hole.
Terrific, accurate signage on every hole.
Very clean, well maintained, safe local neighborhood park.
Good use of limited space available.
Mostly open holes with lots of trees for obstacles, plus a few tighter wooded holes.
Decent variety of shots and great use of elevation.
Beginner/family/kid friendly.
Cons:
Course layout is hard to follow; course is in three different sections of the park.
Course plays adjacent to walking trails so beware other park users.
Walking down the steep #9 fairway can be dangerous--be careful, we slipped numerous times!
Some areas were very squishy even a few days after the latest rainfall.
We were swarmed by gnats and mosquitoes when we played; so many that I had to shake them off of my sunglasses.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun little course right in the middle of Gatlinburg. While I would not travel out of the wy just to play here, it is definitely a good place for an enjoyable round of DG while visiting the area or passing through. Most holes are carefully laid out although not too challenging. I really liked #2 (long, gently right turn through tight woods) and #9 is a sharp downhill ace run even with your putter. The designers of this course did a great job with the available real estate. That said, the layout of the course is hard to follow without the map; with the map you will have no problems at all.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Easy and fun

1    5/15/2011   5/15/2011
Review By: freep
Played: 23  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well marked holes, long tee boxes. Good variety of short throws. Maps of course availae on hole 1, and they also have a practice basket for warm up.
Cons: No driver holes, 9 isn't enough! Careful walking down 9, it's extremely steep.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 fun

2-4    5/5/2011   5/12/2011
Review By: JohnnyWang
Played: 43  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/1/2011
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: course is very close to town which allows quick and easy access, plenty of parking, and very well defined holes... signs are pretty nice, and the score cards at the bulletin board were great, had a very good description of how to play, allowing the inevitable tourist to give it a try as my brother did(which he enjoied as expected) a few of the holes were absolutely a blast! even for someone like myself who love long tight holes. this was defiantly a fun course and I will return
Cons: is short, not really much to complain about......exactly what youd expect out of a 9 hole in a tourist town
Other Thoughts: had a blast showing my brother the sport...great signage..... 9th hole is crazy, dont let it get the best of you, and throw straight at it. drove with my putter and it bounced off the chains dead center! I think cause of the re-dic-ulous angle you throw at it. very fun hole!!!.........only one 9 hole with in range of gatlinburg? really? I was very surprised with all the tourist in the area that there is only the one short course

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

1    10/27/2010   5/2/2011
Review By: InTheGroove
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course is close to the beautiful town of Gatlinburg. I am from Michigan and was vacationing there with my family. The course offers a good variety of play with some great scenery.
Cons: Watch #9. The hill is very steep.
Other Thoughts: Definitely glad I took the time to play a round at this course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.