Gatlinburg, TN 
Mills Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: tamahawk Hole #9 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 165ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Family Trip!

2-4    4/22/2012   10/22/2012
Review By: HarrMarc
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It was close to town and clean.
Baskets were in good shape.
tees were nice and longer than normal
a great course for children or begginers.
Cons: Very short, no real opportunities to rip a drive (unless you play down the practice football field beside #9 to #6's basket)
No cell service....
Other Thoughts: Good for Family or learning. Or just a nice realxing day out to practise

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/24/2012   7/31/2012
Review By: jtblount2
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great variety of shots
Several birdie opportunities
Nice tee pads, baskets, and course map
Course map and scorecards available
Cons: Long walks
Gnats/mosquitos
No long throws
Other Thoughts: Overall this was a fun course and since it is the only course near Gatlinburg, it makes it a little more attractive. Most holes require a pretty well placed throw in order to birdie. Holes 2 and 8 have way too many trees and are almost impossible to do well on. Hole 5 is directly behind a tree and unless you get it to the other side of that tree on throw 1 or 2 you have no chance at par.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 a few LONG walks

1    6/30/2012   7/5/2012
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 294  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 13.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Great use of Natural and Man-Made Features. There were several holes that utilized steep hillsides with thick vegetation as punishment for errant shots. Elevation was used quite effectively, with: uphill, downhill, and sidehill danger. Several holes had a walking path that created island/peninsula type fairways and greens. The combination of the steep hillsides, use of elevation, thick rough, fairway shaping via the cement walking paths and pin placements in relation to the potential for punishment made for a few really fun golf holes that required you to throw shots - or else… get a bogey or two and struggle to recover in time to finish better than even Par.
- That it's There. My girlfriend and I were going on a "non-disc golf date" (whitewater rafting, touristy shit in Gatlinburg: shopping, the micro-brewery, the moonshine distillery, etc.). And, somehow I was able to work this 9-holer into our plans. I love when everything works out. (she sat in the car because there were too many bugs).
Cons:
- Long Walks. There were a few long walks out there that were somewhat unavoidable (park layout and land availability wise) and unforgiveable (are you freaking kidding me?) at the same time. There is a near ¼ mile walk between holes 2 and 3, and an even further walk from Hole 9 back to the car/Hole 1.
- Hole 2. Hole 2 is a 300'+ severe anhyzer without any particular fairway to speak of. They call it a Par 4, but it's still a crappy hole.
Note: Holes 1 and 2 might not even be worth playing because Hole 2 is so bad. Besides, not playing them would prevent you from having to take the long walk from 2 to 3 and the extremely long walk back to the car from 9. If I lived in Gatlinburg, or if I played this course again, I would park in the street parking area between Hole 3 and 9 and opt not to play Holes 1 and 2.
Other Thoughts:
- Overall. I'm glad this little course in Gatlinburg is here… it's a great thing for the local community and a great little course for tourists to check out while visiting the region. The course is as fun as a city park style 9-hole course can be, but has one really quirky hole and a few long walks. It should be pointed out that I never did find Hole 6?? I somehow found myself on Hole 7's tee-pad without having played Hole 6 and didn't really spend too much time looking for it as beer drinking, moonshine drinking (albeit the legal stuff) and rafting were the priorities for the day. If you're on a vacation here, Mills Park would be a fun little course to bag… but, probably not a good course to bag if you had no other reason to be in the area.
- Gatlinburg… was like a little miniature Las Vegas strip combined with Hollywood Blvd and a little bit of Disneyland. There were TONS of things to do: Great Smoky Mountain National Park, Dollywood, shopping on the main drag, the Smoky Mountain micro-brewery, the Ole Smoky Moonshine distillery, and more…
- Rafting. We went down the Pigeon River with NOC's (Nantahala Outdoor Center) Pigeon River crew. We went on the evening run (4-6:30pm) which saved us $20 each and gave us plenty of time to golf and visit Gatlinburg. The rapids were awesome… somewhat simple class 3, maybe-baby class 4 rapids. Lots of fun, warm-ish water, great outfitter… I wouldn't go rafting with any of the other companies!
- My Score: even (unfortunately)

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good fun

1    5/25/2012   5/25/2012
Review By: ToneRay
Played: 22  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - varied shot selection - good practice
- ace & birdie opp's
- ready facilities, comfortable to play
- 1st day of vacation and beat the croud. Fantastic views of the Smokies
Cons: - They make it pretty easy for you to have a good time, so who can complain
Other Thoughts: Pretty sure #6 will be my first ace - missed by 5 feet both first times. Check in with you later...

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Little Course, Up and Down

5+    3/17/2012   4/6/2012
Review By: maynes35
Played: 25  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.1 Years
Pros: This is a fun little course to play. Once you know your way around its really enjoyable to play.
- Concrete tee pads, even though a little on the short side, are better than not concrete tee pads
- Baskets are in good condition
- Big course map at the start and it always has scorecards available
#6 has a really wonderful view of the mountains as you throw a nice high hyzer down to the basket.
Cons: - Only 9 holes so not much variation over 18 holes
- Tee pads could be longer but at least they are concrete
- #9 is flat out dangerous to go down, especially when its somewhat wet
- the really nice signs they show in the media section are mostly not there anymore, which sucks because they look nice
Other Thoughts: After finishing #2 walk around the track by the road and up past the softball field to find #3. After that, navigation is really easy. If you are in Gatlinburg and looking to play some disc golf, it is a worth while course to play. I think my friends and I played 63 holes on a birthday weekend.

 Putter Course

1    3/5/2012   3/5/2012
Review By: sdervan
Played: 41  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It was close to town and clean.
Baskets were in good shape.
tees were nice and longer than normal
a great course for children or begginers.
Cons: Very short course
not a good flow
signage wasn't very good
Other Thoughts: It's not a bad course just probably the best that could have been done with the amount of land they were given. I'm not sure i'd play it again.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Only if you're desperate for some Disc Golf.

1    12/22/2011   12/25/2011
Review By: benestro
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice, scenic location. Well kept facilities.
Cons: Hard to navigate.
Inaccurate map/signage.
Danger of hitting park users.
Other Thoughts: It was confusing finding the tees even with the map. 2 and 3 were inordinately far apart, and 9 is a long way from the main parking lot.
1 & 2 are adjacent to a graveyard. the day I played there was a fresh grave dug which I greatly feared losing a disc in.
Some of the signs on the tees where loose and seemed to be in the wrong places.
I did not find hole 9 amusing at all, especially since it was wet and muddy.

All the holes were too short and easy considering the punishment I went thru to play 'em.

Possibly the course is being worked on, hopefully it gets better.


1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun pitch and putt...

2-4    8/27/2011   8/28/2011
Review By: RichMeade
Played: 34  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete pads, interesting holes, very well maintained. Great use of available land.
No cell service
Cons: Long walk from #2 to #3
Very short, no real opportunities to rip a drive (unless you play down the practice football field beside #9 to #6's basket)
No cell service....

Other Thoughts: This was a fun little course...
no real tough holes except #2...and #9 is just a classic shot that you rarely have in DG.

It is very short, but the holes are designed well enough that you have to have some technique to get into birdie position.
Very well maintained park this is a MUST play if in G'burg...but still hard to justify a trip to the middle of the smokeys for just a 9 hole PnP but I can guarantee that you'll have fun with the course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Mini-golf's competition in Gatlinburg

1    6/28/2011   7/3/2011
Review By: Old Swampy
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 23.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/7/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good course map at hole one and good signs at every hole. Pleasant park environment with a variety of holes. Level, clean tees and good baskets. Elevation changes throughout and some demanding shots. Ample parking, public restrooms.
Cons: Course layout can be hard to follow on first visit. Course ends far from parking.
Other Thoughts: I looked forward to playing this course while visiting Gatlinburg on a family vacation, and it did not disappoint. I played two rounds the morning after my arrival and enjoyed the experience, though finding my way around the course was a bit tricky despite the helpful maps. When I first arrived I took a digital photo of the course map with my camera which I ended up consulting twice during the round.

The trickiest spot was after hole two, where there's a fairly significant walk to the tee for number three, which is on the other side of the track (fenced). Once you've finished hole two, face the track; you want to head to your left (i.e. towards the road you drove in on) to go around the track and reach three. Go the other way and you'll end up bushwhacking and/or wading.

Hole two was the most difficult for me, requiring a curving shot through the woods; it was a wake-up after the relatively benign opening hole. A couple of shots are good ace opportunities, including six, despite the fact that it's a blind shot -- quite nice. And several people have commented on number nine; it is a short, steep downhill that's a real treat. Just be careful going down after your disc, as the slope can be quite slick.

It's great to have this disc golf course near the amazing assortment of other attractions in Gatlinburg and nearby, not least of which are the multitude of mini-golf courses. It's in a park near the downtown hustle, but provides a quiet getaway. Now if only Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge had as many disc golf courses as mini-golf courses....

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A better type of tourist trap, for sure!

2-4    6/17/2011   6/21/2011
Review By: bettsjc
Played: 38  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 5.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mills Park DGC was a nice relief to the touristy hustle and bustle of Gatlinburg. Located a few miles from center city, its an easy trip over here to enjoy this one.

Course is equipped with Mach 5 baskets, two layers of chains. Baskets catch very well. Tee pads are concrete, of sufficient size for most holes. Ground behind tee pads are level and flush with the pad, making an extended runup easy. Wooden tee pad with griptape on #9 is quite small, but when you get there you'll realize that you won't need anything more. Tee signs depict hole, map, par and distance. Map and distances are accurate. Large map of the course displayed at hole 1(located just off the parking lot), along with scorecards/maps available at the kiosk, a nice little extra.

Layout of the course is fairly technical. A few wooded holes force precise lines, open holes utilize change in elevation to add a challange. (Optional)OB can make this course even toughter. Course is balanced when it comes to uphill/downhill shots and left/right/straight shots. A great mix with no repitition. Most baskets are visible from tee pad, #2 and #8 play blind, but the map on tee signs are accurate.

Practice basket located next to the pavilion in an open, unused area. CLEANer bathrooms than I've seen at other courses, located under the pavilion by first tee. Some places to sit along the way include picnic tables by the start, more tables by hole 4.

Course is well manicured, and the park as a hole is well kept. There were no obvious problems here in the way of litter, deterioration or vandalism.
Cons: Above all else, the gnats were a problem(at least in the spring/summer months). Bugs in the eyes sure doesn't help your accuracy.

Walk between holes 2 and 3 could be a problem if you aren't carrying a map. After hole 2 take a walk along the far side of the track, enter gate onto track and walk to the opening on the opposite side where you will find tee pad for hole 3. Walk from hole 9 to hole 1/parking lot is a slight hike, and the map could also help.

9 holes, and appears that there is no room to expand.
Other Thoughts: This is a tough course for me to give an accurate rating, but I've done my best. I bounced back and forth with this one. Equipment in great shape, holes short and some uneventful. Great use of OB and obsticles, paths along fairways. Rough walking towards the end, but treated to the best <200' holes I've ever played(hole 9).

For me, Mills Park comes in a little over a 3, but not quite 3.5. Garbage cans, lack of flow in a few areas, and length of holes keeps this one from anything higher. Holes range from 165'-300', but change in elevation adds a great challange.

There are no trash cans within the course, so at least pack your trash to the end. Cans near pavilion at start.

Difficulty - Not a bad course to introduce players to the game, with some short holes to boost confidence, but a few tight lines which can show newbies the importance of throwing a disc where you mean to. Intermediates will enjoy some unique lines and the use of elevation to add a bit of difficulty. Pros will use this as pitch and putt practice, and will cure the itch if a round is greatly desired, but no long bombs and only one super tight line here. All levels will appreciate the beauty and creativity of hole 9.

I wouldn't venture out of the way to play here, maybe if you're just passing through or visiting the area. The closest course is almost an hour away, so its worth playing if you're trip doesn't venture away from Gatlinburg for sure. But for a 9-holer, definately not bad.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.