Gatlinburg, TN 
Mills Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: tamahawk Hole #5 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 175ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Mills Park DGC

1    7/10/2010   5/31/2011
Review By: 3OrangeWhips
Played: 96  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/2/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Long, level concrete tee pads on every hole.
Terrific, accurate signage on every hole.
Very clean, well maintained, safe local neighborhood park.
Good use of limited space available.
Mostly open holes with lots of trees for obstacles, plus a few tighter wooded holes.
Decent variety of shots and great use of elevation.
Beginner/family/kid friendly.
Cons:
Course layout is hard to follow; course is in three different sections of the park.
Course plays adjacent to walking trails so beware other park users.
Walking down the steep #9 fairway can be dangerous--be careful, we slipped numerous times!
Some areas were very squishy even a few days after the latest rainfall.
We were swarmed by gnats and mosquitoes when we played; so many that I had to shake them off of my sunglasses.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun little course right in the middle of Gatlinburg. While I would not travel out of the wy just to play here, it is definitely a good place for an enjoyable round of DG while visiting the area or passing through. Most holes are carefully laid out although not too challenging. I really liked #2 (long, gently right turn through tight woods) and #9 is a sharp downhill ace run even with your putter. The designers of this course did a great job with the available real estate. That said, the layout of the course is hard to follow without the map; with the map you will have no problems at all.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Easy and fun

1    5/15/2011   5/15/2011
Review By: freep
Played: 28  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well marked holes, long tee boxes. Good variety of short throws. Maps of course availae on hole 1, and they also have a practice basket for warm up.
Cons: No driver holes, 9 isn't enough! Careful walking down 9, it's extremely steep.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 fun

2-4    5/5/2011   5/12/2011
Review By: JohnnyWang
Played: 43  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/1/2011
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: course is very close to town which allows quick and easy access, plenty of parking, and very well defined holes... signs are pretty nice, and the score cards at the bulletin board were great, had a very good description of how to play, allowing the inevitable tourist to give it a try as my brother did(which he enjoied as expected) a few of the holes were absolutely a blast! even for someone like myself who love long tight holes. this was defiantly a fun course and I will return
Cons: is short, not really much to complain about......exactly what youd expect out of a 9 hole in a tourist town
Other Thoughts: had a blast showing my brother the sport...great signage..... 9th hole is crazy, dont let it get the best of you, and throw straight at it. drove with my putter and it bounced off the chains dead center! I think cause of the re-dic-ulous angle you throw at it. very fun hole!!!.........only one 9 hole with in range of gatlinburg? really? I was very surprised with all the tourist in the area that there is only the one short course

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

1    10/27/2010   5/2/2011
Review By: InTheGroove
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course is close to the beautiful town of Gatlinburg. I am from Michigan and was vacationing there with my family. The course offers a good variety of play with some great scenery.
Cons: Watch #9. The hill is very steep.
Other Thoughts: Definitely glad I took the time to play a round at this course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Same designer for Raone Co and Athens?

5+    10/16/2010   10/18/2010
Review By: dwellman
Played: 23  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 17.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/3/2011
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: In Gatlinburg.
Real baskets (i.e. not Innova)
Cons: Navigation is a bit tricky.
Descent from tee to pin on 9. . . I don't know about you but I don't like the fear for injury risk on this hole. Is there another way down I should know about?
Other Thoughts: I really didn't intend to review this course. Just wanted to mention my take on #2 and #8:

#2 - I've managed to consistently make 3 on #2 by ignoring any semblance of OB or mando by (accidentally) driving out of the woods to between the horseshoe pits and the tree line. I haven't tried driving over the cemetery, though.

#8-- There's some railroad ties you can see straight in off the tee. try to lay up right in front of those and it's an easy up to the pin.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Thank God a DGC in Gatlinburg

1    8/15/2010   9/11/2010
Review By: bigronbowski
Played: 39  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very nice course map with scorecard pamphlets! Variety of shots. Clean park. Near Gatlinburg.
Cons: long walks from 2-3 and 9-1.
Other Thoughts: Vacationed in Gatlinburg and finding and playing this course was one best things I did there.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good Challange

1    6/12/2010   8/25/2010
Review By: ohiostatefan38
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.7 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice large map of course at start. I took a pic of it with my phone and used it throughout the round to easier navigate the course. great challenging holes almost aced number 9.
Cons: Only 9 holes and too close to the tourist trap that is Gatlinburg
Other Thoughts: Will def make a point to play the course again next time im in TN

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 In Hiking Distance

1    7/20/2010   7/20/2010
Review By: jarnson
Played: 26  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - A unique design on every hole
- The holes can be completed without the need of a driver; great for mid-beginners to pros
- Forces you to utilize skills like the Tommy and better control (average to heavy foliage)
- Bathrooms! (Bring lots of water!)
- Great concrete tees
- Very detailed signs of each hole (very helpful, and also needed for holes 2, 3, and 6.

Cons: - A bit of a walk between holes two and three
- Complicated holes, can get lost if it's your first time or unfamiliar
- Even though holes offer up a challenge to players, the heavy foliage plus weird angles of the terrain can be a let down for players
Other Thoughts: Not from around the area, but from other players it's a great course for being the only one near the city excluding the ones 30 miles away. Beautiful landscaping, a perfect park for you to bring your family and an unforgettable ending at the ninth hole, a 45 degree drop from the tee!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 if you're in gatlinburg

1    7/7/2010   7/11/2010
Review By: vinmoe73
Played: 21  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.7 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -short drive from gatlinburg
-on the trolley line
-fun elevation changes
-clean facilities
-nice family picnic area with large playground for kids
-horseshoe pits -- just sayin'
Cons: -very short course
-long/confusing distance from holes 2 - 3 (TAKE MAP)
-course doesn't finish remotely close to where it starts.
-although a fun hole, number 9 is a very steep drop to get to the basket.
Other Thoughts: -It's the perfect place to get away from the sensory overload that is Gatlinburg.
-I played early evening during a July heat wave. tons of pesky gnats buzzing around.
-My family and I were the only people in the park.





1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Picnicers Beware!

2-4    4/7/2010   4/7/2010
Review By: swatso
Played: 370  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Nice concrete tees and good tee signs. Elevation changes on each hole. Bathroom on site.
Cons:
Like most courses squeezed into the unused bits of a small park with a variety of sports fields, this course suffers from lots of potential to negatively interact with non-players. Picnic tables and/or walking paths are quite close to more than half the holes - #6 is particularly hazardous as the basket/table is blind from the tee, a downhill left-turner. Bit of a walk from basket #2 to tee #3, basket #9 to tee #1 - make sure you have a map beforehand.
Other Thoughts:
Four holes are up-slope, not too steeply, four are down-slope, with #9 being practically straight down (be careful walking down the hill), and one is across an open valley to a wooded slope. Five holes require left turns, three require right turns, no turns being very sharp, and #9, as mentioned before, STRAIGHT down. Woods come into play nearly the entire length of #2 and the last half of #8, #1 is wide-open, the remainder have some trees to avoid. Your mid-ranges should get a lot of work, as several holes are short.

Ignoring the potential of conflict with non-players, I'd rate this course about 2.5, but with picnic tables/walking paths so close to over half the holes, the score has to be lowered.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.