Gatlinburg, TN 
Mills Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg  
Course map and view of surrounding hills

Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Mini-golf's competition in Gatlinburg

1    6/28/2011   7/3/2011
Review By: Old Swampy
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 24.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/7/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good course map at hole one and good signs at every hole. Pleasant park environment with a variety of holes. Level, clean tees and good baskets. Elevation changes throughout and some demanding shots. Ample parking, public restrooms.
Cons: Course layout can be hard to follow on first visit. Course ends far from parking.
Other Thoughts: I looked forward to playing this course while visiting Gatlinburg on a family vacation, and it did not disappoint. I played two rounds the morning after my arrival and enjoyed the experience, though finding my way around the course was a bit tricky despite the helpful maps. When I first arrived I took a digital photo of the course map with my camera which I ended up consulting twice during the round.

The trickiest spot was after hole two, where there's a fairly significant walk to the tee for number three, which is on the other side of the track (fenced). Once you've finished hole two, face the track; you want to head to your left (i.e. towards the road you drove in on) to go around the track and reach three. Go the other way and you'll end up bushwhacking and/or wading.

Hole two was the most difficult for me, requiring a curving shot through the woods; it was a wake-up after the relatively benign opening hole. A couple of shots are good ace opportunities, including six, despite the fact that it's a blind shot -- quite nice. And several people have commented on number nine; it is a short, steep downhill that's a real treat. Just be careful going down after your disc, as the slope can be quite slick.

It's great to have this disc golf course near the amazing assortment of other attractions in Gatlinburg and nearby, not least of which are the multitude of mini-golf courses. It's in a park near the downtown hustle, but provides a quiet getaway. Now if only Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge had as many disc golf courses as mini-golf courses....

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A better type of tourist trap, for sure!

2-4    6/17/2011   6/21/2011
Review By: bettsjc
Played: 38  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 6.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mills Park DGC was a nice relief to the touristy hustle and bustle of Gatlinburg. Located a few miles from center city, its an easy trip over here to enjoy this one.

Course is equipped with Mach 5 baskets, two layers of chains. Baskets catch very well. Tee pads are concrete, of sufficient size for most holes. Ground behind tee pads are level and flush with the pad, making an extended runup easy. Wooden tee pad with griptape on #9 is quite small, but when you get there you'll realize that you won't need anything more. Tee signs depict hole, map, par and distance. Map and distances are accurate. Large map of the course displayed at hole 1(located just off the parking lot), along with scorecards/maps available at the kiosk, a nice little extra.

Layout of the course is fairly technical. A few wooded holes force precise lines, open holes utilize change in elevation to add a challange. (Optional)OB can make this course even toughter. Course is balanced when it comes to uphill/downhill shots and left/right/straight shots. A great mix with no repitition. Most baskets are visible from tee pad, #2 and #8 play blind, but the map on tee signs are accurate.

Practice basket located next to the pavilion in an open, unused area. CLEANer bathrooms than I've seen at other courses, located under the pavilion by first tee. Some places to sit along the way include picnic tables by the start, more tables by hole 4.

Course is well manicured, and the park as a hole is well kept. There were no obvious problems here in the way of litter, deterioration or vandalism.
Cons: Above all else, the gnats were a problem(at least in the spring/summer months). Bugs in the eyes sure doesn't help your accuracy.

Walk between holes 2 and 3 could be a problem if you aren't carrying a map. After hole 2 take a walk along the far side of the track, enter gate onto track and walk to the opening on the opposite side where you will find tee pad for hole 3. Walk from hole 9 to hole 1/parking lot is a slight hike, and the map could also help.

9 holes, and appears that there is no room to expand.
Other Thoughts: This is a tough course for me to give an accurate rating, but I've done my best. I bounced back and forth with this one. Equipment in great shape, holes short and some uneventful. Great use of OB and obsticles, paths along fairways. Rough walking towards the end, but treated to the best <200' holes I've ever played(hole 9).

For me, Mills Park comes in a little over a 3, but not quite 3.5. Garbage cans, lack of flow in a few areas, and length of holes keeps this one from anything higher. Holes range from 165'-300', but change in elevation adds a great challange.

There are no trash cans within the course, so at least pack your trash to the end. Cans near pavilion at start.

Difficulty - Not a bad course to introduce players to the game, with some short holes to boost confidence, but a few tight lines which can show newbies the importance of throwing a disc where you mean to. Intermediates will enjoy some unique lines and the use of elevation to add a bit of difficulty. Pros will use this as pitch and putt practice, and will cure the itch if a round is greatly desired, but no long bombs and only one super tight line here. All levels will appreciate the beauty and creativity of hole 9.

I wouldn't venture out of the way to play here, maybe if you're just passing through or visiting the area. The closest course is almost an hour away, so its worth playing if you're trip doesn't venture away from Gatlinburg for sure. But for a 9-holer, definately not bad.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Mills Park DGC

1    7/10/2010   5/31/2011
Review By: 3OrangeWhips
Played: 96  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/2/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Long, level concrete tee pads on every hole.
Terrific, accurate signage on every hole.
Very clean, well maintained, safe local neighborhood park.
Good use of limited space available.
Mostly open holes with lots of trees for obstacles, plus a few tighter wooded holes.
Decent variety of shots and great use of elevation.
Beginner/family/kid friendly.
Course layout is hard to follow; course is in three different sections of the park.
Course plays adjacent to walking trails so beware other park users.
Walking down the steep #9 fairway can be dangerous--be careful, we slipped numerous times!
Some areas were very squishy even a few days after the latest rainfall.
We were swarmed by gnats and mosquitoes when we played; so many that I had to shake them off of my sunglasses.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun little course right in the middle of Gatlinburg. While I would not travel out of the wy just to play here, it is definitely a good place for an enjoyable round of DG while visiting the area or passing through. Most holes are carefully laid out although not too challenging. I really liked #2 (long, gently right turn through tight woods) and #9 is a sharp downhill ace run even with your putter. The designers of this course did a great job with the available real estate. That said, the layout of the course is hard to follow without the map; with the map you will have no problems at all.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Easy and fun

1    5/15/2011   5/15/2011
Review By: freep
Played: 34  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well marked holes, long tee boxes. Good variety of short throws. Maps of course availae on hole 1, and they also have a practice basket for warm up.
Cons: No driver holes, 9 isn't enough! Careful walking down 9, it's extremely steep.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


2-4    5/5/2011   5/12/2011
Review By: JohnnyWang
Played: 45  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/1/2011
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: course is very close to town which allows quick and easy access, plenty of parking, and very well defined holes... signs are pretty nice, and the score cards at the bulletin board were great, had a very good description of how to play, allowing the inevitable tourist to give it a try as my brother did(which he enjoied as expected) a few of the holes were absolutely a blast! even for someone like myself who love long tight holes. this was defiantly a fun course and I will return
Cons: is short, not really much to complain about......exactly what youd expect out of a 9 hole in a tourist town
Other Thoughts: had a blast showing my brother the sport...great signage..... 9th hole is crazy, dont let it get the best of you, and throw straight at it. drove with my putter and it bounced off the chains dead center! I think cause of the re-dic-ulous angle you throw at it. very fun hole!!!.........only one 9 hole with in range of gatlinburg? really? I was very surprised with all the tourist in the area that there is only the one short course

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

1    10/27/2010   5/2/2011
Review By: InTheGroove
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course is close to the beautiful town of Gatlinburg. I am from Michigan and was vacationing there with my family. The course offers a good variety of play with some great scenery.
Cons: Watch #9. The hill is very steep.
Other Thoughts: Definitely glad I took the time to play a round at this course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Same designer for Raone Co and Athens?

5+    10/16/2010   10/18/2010
Review By: dwellman
Played: 27  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 18.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/3/2011
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: In Gatlinburg.
Real baskets (i.e. not Innova)
Cons: Navigation is a bit tricky.
Descent from tee to pin on 9. . . I don't know about you but I don't like the fear for injury risk on this hole. Is there another way down I should know about?
Other Thoughts: I really didn't intend to review this course. Just wanted to mention my take on #2 and #8:

#2 - I've managed to consistently make 3 on #2 by ignoring any semblance of OB or mando by (accidentally) driving out of the woods to between the horseshoe pits and the tree line. I haven't tried driving over the cemetery, though.

#8-- There's some railroad ties you can see straight in off the tee. try to lay up right in front of those and it's an easy up to the pin.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Thank God a DGC in Gatlinburg

1    8/15/2010   9/11/2010
Review By: bigronbowski
Played: 39  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very nice course map with scorecard pamphlets! Variety of shots. Clean park. Near Gatlinburg.
Cons: long walks from 2-3 and 9-1.
Other Thoughts: Vacationed in Gatlinburg and finding and playing this course was one best things I did there.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good Challange

1    6/12/2010   8/25/2010
Review By: ohiostatefan38
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.5 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice large map of course at start. I took a pic of it with my phone and used it throughout the round to easier navigate the course. great challenging holes almost aced number 9.
Cons: Only 9 holes and too close to the tourist trap that is Gatlinburg
Other Thoughts: Will def make a point to play the course again next time im in TN

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 In Hiking Distance

1    7/20/2010   7/20/2010
Review By: jarnson
Played: 27  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - A unique design on every hole
- The holes can be completed without the need of a driver; great for mid-beginners to pros
- Forces you to utilize skills like the Tommy and better control (average to heavy foliage)
- Bathrooms! (Bring lots of water!)
- Great concrete tees
- Very detailed signs of each hole (very helpful, and also needed for holes 2, 3, and 6.

Cons: - A bit of a walk between holes two and three
- Complicated holes, can get lost if it's your first time or unfamiliar
- Even though holes offer up a challenge to players, the heavy foliage plus weird angles of the terrain can be a let down for players
Other Thoughts: Not from around the area, but from other players it's a great course for being the only one near the city excluding the ones 30 miles away. Beautiful landscaping, a perfect park for you to bring your family and an unforgettable ending at the ninth hole, a 45 degree drop from the tee!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.