St. Joseph, MN 
Millstream Park Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #12 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 245ft.   4 / 370ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
A well designed course!

1    5/29/2014   5/29/2014
Review By: bensiren
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.1 Years
Pros: The first few holes are very easy going which is a great warm up for the more challenging holes starting at 6.

The course is never too busy so you can play through at your own comfortable pace.

It's a great course to play to get out of the St. Cloud area without going to far.

the design is well thought out and I find myself having to decide which disc to throw on most holes.
Cons: the back 9 aren't very clearly marked and can be difficult to find for people who are new to the course.

windy days can make the open field holes almost unbearable.

The pond by holes 6,7, and 8 is easy to get a disc stuck in.

some holes have two baskets and some don't, which seem inconsistent.
Other Thoughts: This course is a mix of beginner and challenging, the first few holes can give a wrong impression of the later holes which you can lose a disc to the pond or a vast swamp with weeds that tower over your head.

Beginner/Intermediate

1    7/22/2012   8/22/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 414  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 11 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a multi-use park that has a lot of other stuff going on. There is a campground, a baseball field, a fishing hole, seems like it could be overrun with families and stuff. Only an issue on a few holes in the open, and those by the pond.
- There are a few different sections of the park here; the course begins and ends in the more open area. #1 is pretty open to the short pin, with the long deep within a thicket of trees. #2 is a pretty straightforward hyzer out of the trees, #3 is an open hyzer, #5 is another hyzer around some trees, and #18 is another hyzer with a row of trees by the basket. Pretty straightforward.
- Other holes have more trees to worry about, like #4, the 'tunnel of love'. A double mando thru two rows of pine trees, with a long pin over a road in some more trees. #10 has forest on both sides of the fairway, with the pin tucked up into some trees. #11 is a big downhill shot over some big trees or through a gap straight ahead, #14 is a RHBH hyzer over some nasty swamp on the right, #16 is a RHFH flex with some forest on both sides, and #17 is an elevated tee through a tree gap. While lines here are all straight ahead, there are a lot of different hazards to deal with, with trees, rough, swamp, elevation changes, etc.
- The rest of the holes are a lot trickier. #6 is a short, blind downhill shot with water looming long. #7 is a downhill hyzer over the pond, and #8 is a RHFH shot with the water to the right of the basket. #9 is a tighter wooded RHBH hyzer, #12 is a dogleg right with the second half in the forest, #13 is either a longer RHBH anny or a straight shot up to a plateau. #15 is another tough one, either a hyzer through trees onto a hill, or a longer anny over a winding creek onto a peninsular green. Definitely line shaping needed here with major punishment.
- Some noticeable elevation changes, with some downhill shots (#3, #6, #7, #11, #17), and uphill shots (#13 and #15 to short pins, #18). Definitely adds fun and challenge respectively.
- Decent amount of water, there is a true chance of going in long on #6 and #8, and #7 forces a water carry over the pond. #14 has swamp to the right, and #15 has a small creek winding through the right side of the fairway.
- Practice basket, and lots of multiple pin positions with almost two full sets of baskets present (Innovas are the shorts). Good concrete tees, very good signage, navigation signs, easy to get around.
Cons: - A lot of the holes here are pretty straightforward. Holes #2, #3, and #5 require almost no thought at all. And even holes that have a lot of action going on off the fairways, are a pretty straight shot or hyzer from either side. Definitely more of a fun factor in many spots.
- Course plays very close to, and on top of, various roads and parking lots. #10 has a road parallel right on the fairway, and #4 long pin crosses right over the entrance road.
Other Thoughts: - Definitely not the toughest course, but there is a good variety of different types of holes to keep things interesting. Some longer open shots, a few elevated teepads, a shot over and in front of water, tighter wooded holes, a little bit of everything. Pretty beginner friendly with the exception of the water hole, well suited for an intermediate player.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Well Worth The Stop

5+    5/21/2012   8/19/2012
Review By: Money_Shot
Played: 46  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 10.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/1/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Well maintained course.
-Water! There are a couple holes that require you throw over the water. Some holes throwing beside or in front of the water. The great part is….if you like the disc you threw in the water it is likely retrievable as long as you're willing to kick off your shoes and socks and hike the pants up.
-Elevation - A few holes require you to throw from the top of a hill down towards water or even over the water.
-In general, great hole variety. Some holes are open grassland allowing you to rip a drive; others are in an area requiring more technical skill.
-Bathrooms right on the grounds
-There is a practice pin.
-Right off the highway.
-Definitely holes with ace opportunity, a few holes make it a tough par, but in general the course on a decent day should allow for a par-ish round playing all par 3's.
-Although this gem lies close to St. Cloud, it doesn't seem to get much traffic. On an average day you would likely be playing with 2-3 other groups on the course.
Cons: -Likely a tough course for beginners or those who just aren't that good.
-Some swampy areas in which the mosquitos get quite thick at the right time of year.
-Wind isn't a huge factor when you get into the course, but the first few holes definitely seem to be affected with even light winds. The pin for hole 5 seems to always have a tornado surrounding it when wind is present. This, however, is just being picky and trying to find flaws in a great course.
Other Thoughts: In general this course is well worth anyone's time to come and play. Its playability is as good as any course and you will want to play multiple rounds. The signature hole (15) of the course is beautiful, throwing over the stream at multiple bends on your drive, just to walk over the bridge to the green. If you are an avid disc golfer I would travel at least an hour and a half to come and play this course on a semi-regular basis. The course is no more than 10 minutes from St. Cloud, making it all the more attractive for travel considering there are plenty of other noteworthy courses in the area. I lived in St. Cloud for 5 years and have played many course around the state but still travel an hour to play Millstream.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    8/9/2012   8/10/2012
Review By: Animal_Muther
Played: 26  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course, lots of technical shots and beautiful scenery. There are at least 2 pin settings for each hole and some have double pins in to let you chose which basket you would rather go after. Free camping, tons of grills built in to each campsite. Only minutes form the Wobegon Trail and within distance of dozens of other courses in the area. These pins remain in year round and the area Disc Golf Club hold an Ice Bowl every January in the snow. So bring out your white discs lol.
Cons: It can become a little crowded once SJU and CSB schools are in session. Also during the summer watch out on holes 6 and 7 for people fishing in the pod for sunfish. Yep there is traffic to the compost site but it was there first and since the course is run by the city and is free, you'll just have to wait 10 seconds for the car to pass the road if you meet it on hole 10.
Other Thoughts: There is no manure along the course. There is a compost area which can smell a bit funky, but only while you tee off on hole 12. If you can't stand nature then you may want to stick to the Wii disc golf.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Mill Stream

2-4    4/14/2012   4/16/2012
Review By: bbavier
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2
Pros: Got my first ace here! Very fun and technical course especially on the back 9. some nice water holes with the stream flowing through. multiple pin location on a few holes.
Cons: Somewhat of a challenge to navigate the course on the first time out.
Other Thoughts: Overall a awesome public course that will be fun for all skill levels!

 

1    9/14/2011   9/28/2011
Review By: ElectricBoogaloo
Played: 55  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: --Dual baskets on holes 1-5. New Innova targets with chastity belts for the shorts, older Mach baskets for the longs.

--Nice Teepads on all the holes.

--Great use of the water features. The small pond and the winding creek were used on many holes, and I enjoyed all of them.

--Hole 11 is a blast. Standing from the tee, it doesn't look like much, but once you get down to the green area, you see the pin is in a cool location with the creek winding right behind it. 20' right, left or too far will leave you in the crystal clear stream. I actually played this hole multiple times before moving on to 12.

--15 isn't too shabby either. You shoot over the winding creek twice to a basket nestled right against the water's edge. Definitely risk/reward on this fun hole.

--Great use of trees here. They provide some obstacles, but at no point did I find the amount of trees unfair.

--The first 5 and the other 14 have a good contrast of open and wooded holes.

--'Next tee' signs were nice.
Cons: --The manure pile isn't my favorite course feature. You can only smell it for two holes though.

--Navigation is a real issue here. The first five open holes, all with dual baskets, led to a clusterf--k trying to guess which basket you are shooting at. The walk from 5 to 6 is a confusing time--I wandered around for a while before some locals pointed me the right way. From 6 on, it's pretty logical though.

--The hole signage is useless. The typical white plastic signs, complete with the typical vandalism and destruction. An update of signs would definitely be welcome.
Other Thoughts: Make sure you know that there are dual baskets for only 5 holes. When I came to hole 6, I shot across the pond, only to find I was parked next to 8's basket. Oops.

Study a map if you're a first timer like I was. Would've saved me probably a half an hour of wandering around.

If you have time, unwind by the stream and have a drink in the sun. Super relaxing place.

All in all, I really enjoyed this course on my whirlwind tour of St. Cloud disc golf. One of my favorites in the area. 11 and 15 are memorable holes, and the beautiful day I had helped as well.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Course But Lost Me At The End!

1    7/20/2011   8/24/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 662  Reviewed: 606  Exp: 36.2 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I played on a very wet day and thus left the on-line map in the car. Could've used it. The first five holes played out in the large open area of the park. # 1 has a nice starting area with a bench, garbage can, and a nice block monument with the course map. The course changes after the long walk to # 6 when you get to the first of the water hazards. The next few holes were technical in nature. Navigation was a constant challenge through this section thanks to damage of the teesigns. I had to spend quite a bit of time walking a up ahead to the next basket and then back tracking. And this was with the fairly helpful next tee signs present.
Cons: Multiple pads and baskets in the open area combined with poor/damaged signs makes for confusion for us first timers to this course. These traditional opague tee signs are just so inviting for the local teen populations to grafitti up or vandalize. I see them destroyed at courses all over the country.
I'm never a fan of playing up and down park roads and maintenaince areas. That's always an ugly unattractive way to design a course and this was no exception. Luckily, as this was a wet day, there was no smell wafting through the air. There is a great risk of lost discs on this course. This is not a course to play alone. I never did find the # 17 basket and without finding it had no chance of finding # 18. In the rain, I just called it a day.
Other Thoughts: Had I the chance to play this course on a nice sunny day, my thoughts on it might reflect brighter reflections in general. Somehow, sloshing through rain soaked lawns and hunting for discs in soaked bushes doesn't always give one the brightest overall picture of a course. But after writing over 300 of these reviews, I'm like a professional disc golf course reviewer. I'm truly capable of not letting cloudy skies, or a little rain, or lightning, or thunder or water soaked fairways or moonsoons or being carried away by flash floods, affect my reviews one iota. I'm beyond reproach. I'm totally unbiased. I'm as honest as the day is long. I'm practically Abe Lincoln.

And if you think I've underrated your course, I'll be glad to add an extra .5 to your course's rating for each $5 check received.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 HOLY MANURE PILE!!

1    7/14/2011   8/7/2011
Review By: Vetiver1978
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 15.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: looked to be a nice enough park for out door activities other than disc golf
bathrooms on site
another 18 holer to play in the St. Cloud area
Cons: the front 9 holes were clustered together. did not know at first which was which because of all the dual pins and poor signage (signs apeared to have been vandalized - idiots)

unnecessary water hazzards. I can apreciate a water hazzard here and there but come on, it gets a little excessive on this course

there was a giant manure pile that we encountered early on in the back 9. wow! what a bad idea having a massive crap pile spewwing horrible stink into the hot humid summer air in a public park. wouldnt reccomend stopping for a snack on that hole

although it hadnt rained in a week or so the course was pretty wet and muddy. this was especially true on the back section of the course. got a feeling its a common problem given the amount of water that exists there to begin with
Other Thoughts: I really wanted to like this course but a handful of little things kept me from it. then when we came upon the manure pile already annoyed from having wet and muddy shoes, it proved to be to much.......I'd say to pick a dryer year to play it and maybe sign some kind of petition to get that manure pile removed. only then would I go out of my way to play it again

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A progressive harder course

2-4    7/28/2011   7/30/2011
Review By: Double Helix
Played: 99  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 25.2 Years
Pros: Concrete tee pads. Awesome layout. Variety of shot selection. Water and bathrooms on course. Good pins. Signs point to next pin (and sometimes help to see current pin).
Cons: Double pins on the front 9 confusing to first timers (but probably cool w/locals as it adds another 9 to the course). Muddy as heck after a rain - floods easily. A couple blind shots. It would be nice to have a course map on site.
Other Thoughts: A personal favorite. I love the layout, even with a couple blind shots. Well manicured park setting on the front side with technical woods style on the back. Course gets more challenging as you go along. Worth playing if in town or a day trip if not. This course is fun for all from the beginner to the pro.

 Local favorite

5+    6/1/2011   6/2/2011
Review By: Sargentgeneral
Played: 85  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/1/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Variety of holes and shots
- Multiple pin positions
- Fun water hazards
- Practice basket
- Great tee boxes
- Brand New Signs are wonderful! (Update)
- Frequent pin changes throughout the season
Cons: - Tons of poison Ivy
- Course retains water after rain and early spring
- Manure pile is a pain
- Walk from 5-6 could be confusing for some non-locals.
Other Thoughts: If you play it in the late fall this course is simply wonderful. The bugs have gone away, the standing water has subsided, and the changing trees make this a truly amazing course. As a local who plays the course a lot, I recommend all to play this course in the fall.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.