St. Joseph, MN 
Millstream Park Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #6 (Taken 7/2012)
-- / 265ft.   -- / 295ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Basket



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Beginner/Intermediate

1    7/22/2012   8/22/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 417  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a multi-use park that has a lot of other stuff going on. There is a campground, a baseball field, a fishing hole, seems like it could be overrun with families and stuff. Only an issue on a few holes in the open, and those by the pond.
- There are a few different sections of the park here; the course begins and ends in the more open area. #1 is pretty open to the short pin, with the long deep within a thicket of trees. #2 is a pretty straightforward hyzer out of the trees, #3 is an open hyzer, #5 is another hyzer around some trees, and #18 is another hyzer with a row of trees by the basket. Pretty straightforward.
- Other holes have more trees to worry about, like #4, the 'tunnel of love'. A double mando thru two rows of pine trees, with a long pin over a road in some more trees. #10 has forest on both sides of the fairway, with the pin tucked up into some trees. #11 is a big downhill shot over some big trees or through a gap straight ahead, #14 is a RHBH hyzer over some nasty swamp on the right, #16 is a RHFH flex with some forest on both sides, and #17 is an elevated tee through a tree gap. While lines here are all straight ahead, there are a lot of different hazards to deal with, with trees, rough, swamp, elevation changes, etc.
- The rest of the holes are a lot trickier. #6 is a short, blind downhill shot with water looming long. #7 is a downhill hyzer over the pond, and #8 is a RHFH shot with the water to the right of the basket. #9 is a tighter wooded RHBH hyzer, #12 is a dogleg right with the second half in the forest, #13 is either a longer RHBH anny or a straight shot up to a plateau. #15 is another tough one, either a hyzer through trees onto a hill, or a longer anny over a winding creek onto a peninsular green. Definitely line shaping needed here with major punishment.
- Some noticeable elevation changes, with some downhill shots (#3, #6, #7, #11, #17), and uphill shots (#13 and #15 to short pins, #18). Definitely adds fun and challenge respectively.
- Decent amount of water, there is a true chance of going in long on #6 and #8, and #7 forces a water carry over the pond. #14 has swamp to the right, and #15 has a small creek winding through the right side of the fairway.
- Practice basket, and lots of multiple pin positions with almost two full sets of baskets present (Innovas are the shorts). Good concrete tees, very good signage, navigation signs, easy to get around.
Cons: - A lot of the holes here are pretty straightforward. Holes #2, #3, and #5 require almost no thought at all. And even holes that have a lot of action going on off the fairways, are a pretty straight shot or hyzer from either side. Definitely more of a fun factor in many spots.
- Course plays very close to, and on top of, various roads and parking lots. #10 has a road parallel right on the fairway, and #4 long pin crosses right over the entrance road.
Other Thoughts: - Definitely not the toughest course, but there is a good variety of different types of holes to keep things interesting. Some longer open shots, a few elevated teepads, a shot over and in front of water, tighter wooded holes, a little bit of everything. Pretty beginner friendly with the exception of the water hole, well suited for an intermediate player.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/14/2011   9/28/2011
Review By: ElectricBoogaloo
Played: 55  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: --Dual baskets on holes 1-5. New Innova targets with chastity belts for the shorts, older Mach baskets for the longs.

--Nice Teepads on all the holes.

--Great use of the water features. The small pond and the winding creek were used on many holes, and I enjoyed all of them.

--Hole 11 is a blast. Standing from the tee, it doesn't look like much, but once you get down to the green area, you see the pin is in a cool location with the creek winding right behind it. 20' right, left or too far will leave you in the crystal clear stream. I actually played this hole multiple times before moving on to 12.

--15 isn't too shabby either. You shoot over the winding creek twice to a basket nestled right against the water's edge. Definitely risk/reward on this fun hole.

--Great use of trees here. They provide some obstacles, but at no point did I find the amount of trees unfair.

--The first 5 and the other 14 have a good contrast of open and wooded holes.

--'Next tee' signs were nice.
Cons: --The manure pile isn't my favorite course feature. You can only smell it for two holes though.

--Navigation is a real issue here. The first five open holes, all with dual baskets, led to a clusterf--k trying to guess which basket you are shooting at. The walk from 5 to 6 is a confusing time--I wandered around for a while before some locals pointed me the right way. From 6 on, it's pretty logical though.

--The hole signage is useless. The typical white plastic signs, complete with the typical vandalism and destruction. An update of signs would definitely be welcome.
Other Thoughts: Make sure you know that there are dual baskets for only 5 holes. When I came to hole 6, I shot across the pond, only to find I was parked next to 8's basket. Oops.

Study a map if you're a first timer like I was. Would've saved me probably a half an hour of wandering around.

If you have time, unwind by the stream and have a drink in the sun. Super relaxing place.

All in all, I really enjoyed this course on my whirlwind tour of St. Cloud disc golf. One of my favorites in the area. 11 and 15 are memorable holes, and the beautiful day I had helped as well.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A progressive harder course

2-4    7/28/2011   7/30/2011
Review By: Double Helix
Played: 105  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 25.4 Years
Pros: Concrete tee pads. Awesome layout. Variety of shot selection. Water and bathrooms on course. Good pins. Signs point to next pin (and sometimes help to see current pin).
Cons: Double pins on the front 9 confusing to first timers (but probably cool w/locals as it adds another 9 to the course). Muddy as heck after a rain - floods easily. A couple blind shots. It would be nice to have a course map on site.
Other Thoughts: A personal favorite. I love the layout, even with a couple blind shots. Well manicured park setting on the front side with technical woods style on the back. Course gets more challenging as you go along. Worth playing if in town or a day trip if not. This course is fun for all from the beginner to the pro.

 

1    10/15/2010   10/15/2010
Review By: Johnson
Played: 36  Reviewed: 12
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good variety, you kinda feel like you're playing in some unknown hardcore underground tournament. Very fun and challenging, merciless water hazards test your courage. Very technical.
Cons: First few holes are across a big field, kinda boring. Water hazards run rampant.
Other Thoughts: Worth playing if you have the balls. Watch out for the first hole on the other side of the parking lot, there is a huge water hazard that you can't see from the tee box.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fairway driver or Mid?

5+    5/23/2009   5/26/2009
Review By: Guurn
Played: 82  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 28.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/29/2009
Pros: Like many St Cloud courses this one is a mixed bag. The water obstacles and interesting design on a few holes make it a good intermediate to advanced intermediate course. It is my favorite course in the area.

It starts very easy in an mostly open field using the trees where they are to good effect for the first 5 holes, nothing particularly long or tough. After that you have to jog over across the parking lot to the start of the better part of the course.

Hole 6 is an easy throw, but the water hazard just to the right of the pin makes it much harder. This shorter but fun design is the main thing you see on the course. I don't get to air is out much here but I still have fun every time I play. This course uses the water to very good effect on several holes. It has multiple pin placements and good parking. The teeboxes were all poured and in reasonably good shape. There is a campground abutting the course on holes 1,2 and 18.

The course is well enough designed not to favor Rhbh or Lhbh throwers. If you are a rhbh thrower and you have that disc, you know the one. The fairway driver that turns over ever so slowly but it doesn't come out of the bag much, it will on this course.
Cons: Some holes can get standing water if it has been rainy. Signage is there but is pretty worn and only minimally useful. It would be nice to have a course map in the parking lot. It does get pretty busy at times but what course doesn't these days.
Other Thoughts: I actually go a bit out of my way to play this course a few times a year. It is one of those courses that if I am staying someplace within about 25 miles I will actually make an effort to play.


 Prepare to get dirty

5+    5/4/2009   5/6/2009
Review By: d4nk
Played: 15  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good half and half course, half field, half trees/challenge. Cement tees. The water holes are fun, not too risky.
Cons: Gets way too crowded starting to turn into another riverside/calvary...
Some of the baskets could use some "reseating" they are sitting at weird angles and one of them was vandalized last time I was there, it was just laying on its side (hole 10 or 11 where you throw from the dirst hill down to the stream)

Beware the water :)
Other Thoughts: We need more 18 hole courses in central MN come on parks department get your shit together.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Millstream

4/23/2008   4/23/2008
Review By: seanzy454
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well kept with lots of different shots to challenge most players while still having those open holes to give you a break once and a while. This course also has different pin placements depending on when you go so its not always the same thing for 12 months. It also has a lot of elevation changes some where you bomb down a huge hill and others where you are forced to go up hill.
Cons: While some players may like water I am not one of those and for those of you who don't like swimming for discs this corse can be pretty rough. On holes 5, 6, & 7, there is a pond and don't be surprised if it roles in on 5, fades right and right into the pond, or seven where you may just get unlucky. It also has a stream running through most of the holes and if the current is running that day you better run to catch that disc, otherwise it gets kinda deep. Other than the water there are a few wooded holes and a swamp so your still not in the clear after the water.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a really good course not up to Excellent but close.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.