St. Joseph, MN 
Millstream Park Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #1 (Taken 7/2012)
-- / 285ft.   -- / 414ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Walked off the course!

1    5/16/2011   5/17/2011
Review By: joe po
Played: 70  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 11.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Dual Pins - really appreciated that the course offers permanent dual pins. Short pin denoted by yellow Innova basket, long pins are Mach 3.

Course grounds were well maintained.

Park has a lot to offer (horseshoes, picnic shelters, etc.)

Scenic park.
Cons: Design of this course is a major problem.
The first 5 holes bored me to death. Plus, they are laid out so poorly. There so many baskets in this open area that it was confusing as to which hole had which pin.

Did not like the mando on 5, way to close to a busy highway.

The pond/river on 6,7, and 8 should not have been incorporated into the layout. Having to throw over that three times is retarded. In ball golf if you hit your ball into the water you lose a buck or two. I'm not risking my $14 disc on a stupid mud pond. Water is fine if its for asthetic purposes, but should never be used as a hazard in disc golf. Unless you can easily fish out your disc without getting soaked and muddy, waster is just dumb.

The fairways from 9 on were muddy and terribly difficult to play.

Walked off the course on #11

Signage - most signs were busted or missing information. Can't blame this on the course too much, it's the chumbalones out there who destroy courses, leave their trash everywhere, and make a bad name for those of us who take frolf seriously. However, if they are asking for a donation at the beginning of the course, they better upkeep the course so that it warrants a donation WHEN YOU FINISH THE ROUND.
Other Thoughts: Walked of the course because of its condition and overall poor design, Maybe it,s better in the late sumer once it dries out, or winter when all the damn water freezes.

Regardless, I wasn't impressed by this course at all.

Tried to go over to Calvary from here, but that course was ridculously packed with chumbalones.

If you are up in the Cloud area, go play Augusta/Hidden Lake. Championship caliber course with great features!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A Beauty - A Challenge

5+    8/29/2010   1/6/2011
Review By: Martin Dewgarita
Played: 1149  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Amenities. Bathrooms, A shelter, Ample parking, Free(?) Camping on site.

Practice Basket.

Concrete Tees are all in good shape.

Multiple Pins. Each hole has alternate pin positions, significantly more difficult if they're in the long position, making for a very difficult course if they're all long.

Variety of Holes. 1-3 are relatively open allowing for some bombs, 4 is a tight fairway with a mando to protect the highway, 5 is a nice ace run, as is 6 and 7 with the significant challenge of the pond (friendly local kids may jump in the water for a few $), from there the course winds its way along a stream that often comes into play through a variety of doglegs (good balance of left and right) and some interesting elevation changes. Many holes have multiple lines to take, but require good technical accuracy to hit them.

Elevation. Nothing huge, but the course works well with what is there with some elevated pins and tees.

Navigation. Relatively intuitive, pay attention from 5 to 6, walk back past the parking lot to the opposite corner, makes for a good opportunity to pick up anything you may have forgotten in the car, or to grab your water discs, because you're going to need them.

Water. I've mentioned it a few times already, but specifically related to the water, it is used well, with some holes requiring you to throw over it, some pins just in front of it, and some holes play right along it. The water can be intimidating, but mostly is easy to retrieve discs from.

Clean and Not Crowded. I didn't have to contend with the crowds of the courses in the city, and it has always been relatively tidy and well kept.
Cons: Not beginner friendly. Long frustrating wooded holes and water to eat up plastic would have definitely been discouraging for me as a beginner.

Wet. In the spring and after a rain much of the low areas are swampy, my shoes often end up soaked by the end of the round, all of the water also results in thick bugs in the summer.
Other Thoughts: Just off the freeway I feel this is one of the better courses in the area, definitely make a stop here, makes a great compliment to the other St. Cloud area courses.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/15/2010   10/15/2010
Review By: Johnson
Played: 36  Reviewed: 12
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good variety, you kinda feel like you're playing in some unknown hardcore underground tournament. Very fun and challenging, merciless water hazards test your courage. Very technical.
Cons: First few holes are across a big field, kinda boring. Water hazards run rampant.
Other Thoughts: Worth playing if you have the balls. Watch out for the first hole on the other side of the parking lot, there is a huge water hazard that you can't see from the tee box.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Love the layout

2-4    6/19/2009   11/19/2009
Review By: sportsheros90
Played: 11  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 31.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great layout, lots of variety. Very pretty course to play. Well maintained, water in play, fairly easy to get around.
Cons: Signage sucks, confusing to start the round.
Other Thoughts: I love to play this course. Again, another one I wish was closer to my home.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/24/2011   9/5/2009
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 348  Reviewed: 342  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/26/2012
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Rotating pin placements make it different and interesting all the time.
-Nice concrete tees on all holes.
-Signs on most holes which are mostly accurate (see cons)
-Some good blind tees on 6, 11 and 17 I can remember.
-Water is used well on holes 6-8 and later the stream is used a little bit.
-15 is a cool hole with the basket on a hill in the woods.
-Good risk/reward shots in the woods and with water.
-Solid 18 holes with little repetition.
-Challenging overall, not better for righty or lefty.
-Practice basket by the parking lot.
-Hole 4 is cool with the rows of trees and the mando that makes you throw down the row.
-Good bathrooms and parking at start.
-Camping on the course.

Cons: -Signs are made of weak plastic and some are broken completely or just enough to leave off some info.
-The sign for 10 is not updated. Holes with multiple pin locations only show one on the map so if the other one is up it can be confusing.
-The walk between 5 and 6 is ridiculous if you haven't played. I got lucky and stumbled upon the 6th tee across the parking lot. So after 5 walk past the practice basket and keep going til you see a tee which is 6.
-Lots of college students and other disc golfers here, could definitely get busy.
-Could lose discs kind of easy in water and woods. Tall grass off the fairways of non wooded holes.
Other Thoughts: Fun tourneys and leagues held here and at all the st cloud area courses. St. Cloud Disc Golf Association. Course asks for donation at beginning, it would be welcome for course improvements, particularly to the signs.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Millstream

5+    6/4/2009   6/8/2009
Review By: slash87
Played: 140  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 6.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is the best course in the St Cloud Area right now. It starts with some open holes which lets you warm up. Then comes the water. If your not accurate yet be prepared to lay up short or risk losing a disc. The water is fairly clear but the bottom of the pond is mucky. The rest of the holes trees, elevation changes, dog legs, streams and distance.
Cons: Some players here are very rude by not letting smaller groups play through. It can be busy and whole one is hard to find without clear directions.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fairway driver or Mid?

5+    5/23/2009   5/26/2009
Review By: Guurn
Played: 82  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 28.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/29/2009
Pros: Like many St Cloud courses this one is a mixed bag. The water obstacles and interesting design on a few holes make it a good intermediate to advanced intermediate course. It is my favorite course in the area.

It starts very easy in an mostly open field using the trees where they are to good effect for the first 5 holes, nothing particularly long or tough. After that you have to jog over across the parking lot to the start of the better part of the course.

Hole 6 is an easy throw, but the water hazard just to the right of the pin makes it much harder. This shorter but fun design is the main thing you see on the course. I don't get to air is out much here but I still have fun every time I play. This course uses the water to very good effect on several holes. It has multiple pin placements and good parking. The teeboxes were all poured and in reasonably good shape. There is a campground abutting the course on holes 1,2 and 18.

The course is well enough designed not to favor Rhbh or Lhbh throwers. If you are a rhbh thrower and you have that disc, you know the one. The fairway driver that turns over ever so slowly but it doesn't come out of the bag much, it will on this course.
Cons: Some holes can get standing water if it has been rainy. Signage is there but is pretty worn and only minimally useful. It would be nice to have a course map in the parking lot. It does get pretty busy at times but what course doesn't these days.
Other Thoughts: I actually go a bit out of my way to play this course a few times a year. It is one of those courses that if I am staying someplace within about 25 miles I will actually make an effort to play.


 Prepare to get dirty

5+    5/4/2009   5/6/2009
Review By: d4nk
Played: 15  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good half and half course, half field, half trees/challenge. Cement tees. The water holes are fun, not too risky.
Cons: Gets way too crowded starting to turn into another riverside/calvary...
Some of the baskets could use some "reseating" they are sitting at weird angles and one of them was vandalized last time I was there, it was just laying on its side (hole 10 or 11 where you throw from the dirst hill down to the stream)

Beware the water :)
Other Thoughts: We need more 18 hole courses in central MN come on parks department get your shit together.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/2/2009   4/16/2009
Review By: Cradical
Played: 107  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/16/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are multiple pin placements for a lot of the holes at this course, which is good. There is a stream running through a lot of the holes and when it floods, the baskets are all moved in order to keep your feet dry.
When the baskets are set up so that you do'nt have to deal with the water, the course becomes very easy. The longer set up is much better.
There is a good mix of long and short shots as well as good risk/reward oppertunities. One drive throws over a medium size pond with a stream coming out of it. Another throw is on a pennisula where the creek doubles back on itself, and your drive will go over the creek 3 times before it gets to the hole.
The course doesn't really favor righties or lefties. There are a few ridiculous holes, like the really long hole set up for 12 and the long hole for 4. Both are pretty hard shots.
Cons: For some reason, hole 11 is missing. There's a tee and a sign but there is no hole. If this hole was put it, it would make the course much better.
Navigation is pretty tough if it's your first time playing here, especially with the hole out of the ground. A few times you have to play to baskets you can't see. A guide would be a very good idea.
Other Thoughts: In the spring, it gets beyond flooded. I would stay away if the snow is thawing.

Last time I drove by it, I saw that there are two baskets in on each hole now. I have yet to confirm this for the whole course, but I will update my review again if this is the case.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Millstream

4/23/2008   4/23/2008
Review By: seanzy454
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well kept with lots of different shots to challenge most players while still having those open holes to give you a break once and a while. This course also has different pin placements depending on when you go so its not always the same thing for 12 months. It also has a lot of elevation changes some where you bomb down a huge hill and others where you are forced to go up hill.
Cons: While some players may like water I am not one of those and for those of you who don't like swimming for discs this corse can be pretty rough. On holes 5, 6, & 7, there is a pond and don't be surprised if it roles in on 5, fades right and right into the pond, or seven where you may just get unlucky. It also has a stream running through most of the holes and if the current is running that day you better run to catch that disc, otherwise it gets kinda deep. Other than the water there are a few wooded holes and a swamp so your still not in the clear after the water.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a really good course not up to Excellent but close.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.