Franklin, WI 
Milwaukee County Sports Complex Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5
3 / 228ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Short, but fun 9 holer

1    9/13/2014   9/22/2014
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 94  Reviewed: 65  Exp: 3.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 9 hole course at the Milwaukee County Sports Complex.

Natural tee pads with crushed gravel, but they were all relatively long and level, and very easy to play off. We were there after some rain the night before, and none of them were in bad shape.

Good use of elevation. Holes play along, up, and down some rolling hills in the park. Some tricky pin placement can lead to rollaways, but nothing too severe.

Baskets were all solid and in good repair, and caught well.

Navigation was pretty simple, with tee pads relatively close to all pins. Tee signs with distance and intended route.
Cons: It's pretty short. Most of the holes are 200' or under (don't let hole 2's sign fool you...it's more 200' than 354'...somebody must have though they were pretty funny on that one).

Not a lot in the way of obstacles, save for some trees on hole 3 and 7. Every other hole is pretty open.

Other Thoughts: Aces runs abound here, some with a bit of risk. If you worked/lived close, this is the kind of place you could easily spin a round (or two) during a lunch break. Nice place for beginners as well, with hole 2's pond being the only real danger on the course.

The rest of the park has walking/biking trails, soccer fields, baseball diamonds, etc. We saw a rugby match forming when we left. I can't imagine there's ever much traffic on the course itself, which is nice.

There are far worse ways to burn a half hour...stop by and check it out!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

No Real Challenge

2-4    4/30/2013   5/1/2013
Review By: fritothedog
Played: 39  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 12.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It is a fun short course. Great for putting practice since your distance drivers won't get a workout here. The elevation changes near the holes led me to shoot uphill on some holes and downhill on others with elevation between me and the pin varying by several feet in some places.
Cons: Elavation changes are the only real obstacle on this course. A few trees in play on a few holes but for the most part they are not a factor.

There is good signage but i don't think it is terribly accurate. Hole 2 has a sign that says it is 354 ft. I hammered my Banshee with ease and I can't get more than 250 to 300 ft out of that if I throw my arm out. That said the signs do accurately show the layout, even if the distance is off.
Other Thoughts: I would say this is a fantastic course for beginners to learn on since it can teach them to throw straight and they don't need much distance.

This course is close to my apartment and I will definitely play it again. My wife would proabably like this course a lot and playing it will probably help her game a lot.

I would like to see some more space used, my friend and I noticed two spots where there could be some nice holes added and if they put holes that went completely around the water feature near hole 2 that could make it a great course.

As it stands, this course is certainly worth playing if you are nearby but there is a lot of potential for improvement.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 My original home course

5+    6/25/2012   9/8/2012
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 153  Reviewed: 114  Exp: 10.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Never busy. A pond off to the left on hole 2 offers a water hazard. Navigation not a problem. Good mix off shots. Four holes play up, down and along a big hill. Hole 8, a blind uphill shot is pretty fun. Hole 9 is a downhill wide open bomber, A nice way to close the round. Pretty hard to lose a disc here though it is possible in a few spots, Like hole 7's long grass. A fun place to play with not to much real close by besides oak creeks 18 holer.
Cons: Last time i was there, the basket for hole 5 i believe was gone. The bugs can be awful at times with the root river being right by hole 1. Other than that not much, just bring bug spray.
Other Thoughts: I may be a little biased since i grew up about half a mile away but it is a decent course with a good mix of varied shots. Definately worth a look if in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Links style course

5+    1/6/2012   1/10/2012
Review By: misterg
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good use of land including elevation changes. Mixes up left and right approaches.
2/3 blind holes could be listed as pros and cons but I enjoy them.
Cons: Just like links style golf courses the rough here is very rough. Its easy to lose discs here and have to hunt.
The blind holes (especially 2 and 7) can add to this problem.
The gravel tees are sometimes slippery.
Only nine holes (but you can always play it twice).
Other Thoughts: This was the first course that I ever played so I didn't know how to judge it. Now that I have played 10 or so different courses I still think that it's a sweet little course. It does have its quirks for sure but it has character that many city courses lack. If you are beginning you may want to make sure that someone is spotting for you on 2, 6 and 7.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner/Intermediate

1    6/26/2011   9/8/2011
Review By: notapro
Played: 420  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a hilly portion of a park with some gnarly rough. A bike path winds around some of the holes, so there might be some waiting needed here and there. Not too bad though.
- Pretty good hole variety here, mostly due to the large hill that this plays on and around. There are some steep upshots, including one with a sloping green and a large mound in the way of a RHBH hyzer. A steep downhill shot to end the round, and a blind dowhnill anny on #7, a good mix of more or less open elevation changes.
- Other notable holes include a blind shot on #2, which can be a safe hyzer or an over-the-water straight shot. Really tricky since the tee sign says 354', don't trust it!! I threw my disc and must have sailed waaaaaay past it, it is definitely not 354'. Check it out before throwing! #6 is tricky, too, a short little downhill with some extremely nasty rough to swallow errant shots.
- Great signage (minus #2's hole length), and good baskets. Tee pads were soft gravel that gave a lot, but were serviceable.
Cons: - Biggest con here is the short length of the course. No holes over 300' (again, don't believe #2), and many play very very short. The uphill shots need a little mustard, but it's still a pitch-n-putt course throughout. Many holes are very brainless, too, more practice than actual discing.
Other Thoughts: - For a little 9-holer, this one provides some cool shots and some decent challenge in spots. Fun downhill elevation changes, and some rough uphill changes that can be tough. A few tricky holes due to blind baskets or punishing rough; not too shabby at all. A good place to learn the ins and outs of the games, though there are very few obstacles to contend with.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  A decent disapponitment

1    8/2/2010   8/3/2010
Review By: Cannabyss
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: not too far of a drive, some holes are decent length
Cons: mosquitoes, skinny and short holes that are just lawnmowed sections of field, and medium or tall grass on the edges of most holes make losing a disc pretty easy....
Other Thoughts: i went with a few friends and they gave up on the course quicker than i did ... it might be worth a try if youre at all interested

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Open fields, without the elevation it would be laughable

2-4    7/24/2010   7/26/2010
Review By: superberry
Played: 170  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 16.7 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Some decent elevation comes into play on quite a few of the nine holes, but then it really isn't much of a factor because it is not huge or drastic elevation, and there is no distance involved on the course.
Hole #2 is great - the pond, wind, and elevation come into play (still needs distance though with a second LONG tee!).
Hole 8 is a blind pin uphill.
Cons: Open, as in no trees in play for anyone who can control a disc even slightly. I suppose there are some trees, but they don't come into play for anyone with a range of shots in their ability.
Throwaway holes, most of them. Despite the illusion of fun/challenge of elevation, there really isn't any challenge brought into play except when it is windy. Even the holes that have elevation are just wide open and short. Holes 1, 3, 4, 5 are essentially just a waste. Holes 6 and 7 offer an illusion of risk by playing around and near a clump of trees, but they only come into play when you overdive your putter.
Only one tee here, and they are short (red skill level). Two sets of tees could really bring distance, wind, and elevation into a challenging round.
There is only one pin placement. None of the greens are risky at all, rather than install a second pin sleeve, just dig these up and install the permanent sleeves on risky parts of the terrain so that you have to consider rollaways and blowby when putting at a precarious pin placement.
Only 9 holes.
Walking paths don't really add any OB risk.
No wide open rippers.
No downhill bombers.
Busy and loud area eliminated the ability to lose yourself in a round.
The pond and woods aren't utilized!
Other Thoughts: Oh man! If the pond and the woods to the left of the pond could be utilized here, then Milwaukee county could really have something! Of course hole 1 just needs to be dumped altogether, and the existing holes all need a second set of tees installed at blue/gold level to make the open fields any sort of a challenge. But alas, this is simply a lackluster 9 holer with more than majority of throwaway holes. Play it if you must, check it off your list, and quickly move on. The only problem is - nothing else in the area. Although now Fox River Park I hear is high above average. Because half or more of the 9 hole course is throwaway, I can't rate higher than - passable.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  fun 9 hole course

1    6/7/2010   6/10/2010
Review By: Bob Chavez
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: lots of open space makes you feel as though you are out in the country. hole #2 is quite challenging with trees right in front of you and a pond on your left to deal with. also liked hole #4 where placement is the key or you can shimmy around the side of a hill looking for your disc. hole #7 is a fun hole to play with its dog leg right and lots of trees on the right side to make a right hander have to go anhyzer.(my shortcoming). hole #9 is a straight shot down hill, but if its windy like it was when i played it, you will need to decide on how to approach it.
Cons: none that i can think of.
Other Thoughts: overall a fun little 9 hole course to play which was made more fun by being able to play it with my son.(whos 26)

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Some fun holes, and some really boring ones

1    5/8/2010   5/25/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 817  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 12.8 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a small part of a large sports complex. Half of the holes are flat with mowed fairways and tall grass rough. The other half play up and down a small but steep hill with some great elevation shots, and a fun finishing hole that's a fun downhill ace run off the top of the hill. There are some scattered small trees in play on a few holes, and a couple have some larger stands of trees with thick brush to stay out of. Hole 2 brings the pond into play, with a bail out route way out to the right and a risky route over the edge of the water with lots of trees to knock an errant shot down into the water.

There are basic but good tee signs with hole distance and the layout to each of two pin placements. The alternates looked like they would change up the course some, and keep it a little more interesting. The baskets seemed pretty new still, and caught well. The flow of the course was easy to follow, and there was a course map at the first tee to help with navigation.
Cons: There definitely are some fun holes here, but the other half of the course is pretty boring. A few holes are basically flat and wide open, with no punishment for an errant drive other than having to search in tall prairie grass for your disc. There is no real length or shot variety here, so you won't have to use many different skills here.

The tees are natural, and weren't in the best shape. Most had some gravel on them, but they were spread out and some were rutted, leaving less than ideal tee surfaces to throw from. The tee signs did not mark which position the pins were in on the holes that showed alternate pin placements, not a big deal but I like to see that information on tee signs.
Other Thoughts: This course has some really fun holes with some cool elevation, and some really boring holes. If the whole course was like holes 2,3,4,8,9, it would get a higher rating from me, but as it stands the design just doesn't have enough going for it. Beginners will find the distances reasonable, but may be frustrated by the tall grass waiting to hide inaccurate shots. More experienced players won't find much challenge here, but there are a couple holes that are just plain fun to throw. If you're in the area, make a quick stop, but don't go out of your way for this one.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice 9-hole course that's always empty!

5+    11/8/2009   2/16/2010
Review By: esjaygee
Played: 131  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.7 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Nice use of the available land. The mix of holes is very good for a nine hole course. Uphill, downhill, left to right and right to left. Hole two has nice risk reward with the left edge on the pond and I love eight's uphill blind shot and nine's big downhill for a finishing hole.
- There's hardly ever anybody here so you can play at your own pace and take lots of extra shots.
- Ample parking day or night, just make sure to park in the lot and not along side of the DG course or you'll get a ticket.
- A couple of big fields behind hole two and three if you want to practice. I've never seen them in use, they must be soccer or practice fields.
- Great signage and an easy to follow course.
- Holes are nicely wood chipped.
Cons: - Only nine holes, not terribly long and only open late spring to late fall.
- Like many courses in the area, it can be buggy in summer, especially on hole one which plays along side a forest.
- Natural tees with gravel aren't bad, but they aren't cement.
- The thick grass, shule and brush can be quite annoying at times. I've spent 20 minutes looking for a disc and I had a pretty good idea where I thought it was and it wasn't too far from where I thought as well. I chucked my yellow wraith into a huge patch of yellow weeds on number five near dusk and I was lucky to find my disc.
Other Thoughts: While it's only nine holes, I usually play it twice when I go. The fact that it's usually empty is a great plus for me. I can warm up on hole one and then play a few rounds. Hole nine ends near the tee for hole two so it's only a short walk back to start the next round. I enjoyed playing this course after work a lot in fall when the brush wasn't nearly as high.

Walkthrough
Hole one pretty much a straight forward hole with trees lining the left side and back of the hole with a ditch in the middle and a path on the right side. Hole two has a large pond on the left and a patch of trees in line with the basket on a big hill. I usually throw along the right side as there is a fairway there that you can't see when teeing off. Hole three plays up moderately uphill and to the right, a nice birdie op if you can park it on the hill. Hole four plays a bit more uphill with a large steep tree lined hill in front of the basket and plenty of shule off to the left. Probably the toughest hole on the course. Five is straight ahead with large shule on the left and more on the right. The hole sits slightly up hill. Hole six gives you another easier birdie op, but it's shrouded by trees on both sides and behind with the ever apparent shule if you miss left or right. Hole seven presents a blind tee shot on a left to right dogleg that's protected by trees. There's a big crater ditch in front of the hole on the right which my wife lands in every single time we play. Hole eight is up a hill and off to the left, my natural hyzer throw. In summer, there's so much thicket around, you might want to send a spotter ahead as it's a blind tee shot with a steep up hill that goes back down a bit to the green. Hole nine is my favorite hole on the course as it's a big downhill hole. Don't miss too far left or you might never see your disc again. Miss a little left and you'll be shooting a blind shot over a big mound.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center