Franklin, WI 
Milwaukee County Sports Complex Share
Uploaded By: FoleyT  

Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Nothing to write home about

5+    8/7/2015   8/7/2015
Review By: Horsman
Played: 100  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 9.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Nice catching baskets
- A really good use of the elevation. Its a pretty short course but the elevation that it has is used very nicely.
- The flow from hole to hole is pretty seemless.
- There is water on the course and a few of the holes that are by it take advantage of it. Easily some fun risk reward shots.
- Very short course with a lot of ace runs so if you are into that then this is your course.
Cons: - Loose gravel teepads are pretty terrible. Not much you can do but throw a stand still from them because of how loose they are.
- Not too many places to open up your arm and throw but for the land given it makes use of the land well.
- The course might be a bit tough to get too. The parking lot for the complex is pretty big and if you dont know where the course starts then finding it might take you a bit
- Threre are some soccer fields next to some of the holes. There have been a few times where kids have been playing on the course to a point where you cannot play certain holes because they are unaware that you are playing and dont care to move. I can also see some bad shots going really bad here and hitting some of the people just spectating soccer.
- The rough. This course has some very unkept and unforgiving rough. I dont think they ever cut it so if you are not in the fairway then your disc is most likely gone forever.
Other Thoughts: Overall. yes its another course to play but its just not my style. If you are in the area I would suggest driving to another course to play, but it is still worth playing since there are a few fun holes.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Short, but fun 9 holer

1    9/13/2014   9/22/2014
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 171  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 9 hole course at the Milwaukee County Sports Complex.

Natural tee pads with crushed gravel, but they were all relatively long and level, and very easy to play off. We were there after some rain the night before, and none of them were in bad shape.

Good use of elevation. Holes play along, up, and down some rolling hills in the park. Some tricky pin placement can lead to rollaways, but nothing too severe.

Baskets were all solid and in good repair, and caught well.

Navigation was pretty simple, with tee pads relatively close to all pins. Tee signs with distance and intended route.
Cons: It's pretty short. Most of the holes are 200' or under (don't let hole 2's sign fool's more 200' than 354'...somebody must have though they were pretty funny on that one).

Not a lot in the way of obstacles, save for some trees on hole 3 and 7. Every other hole is pretty open.

Other Thoughts: Aces runs abound here, some with a bit of risk. If you worked/lived close, this is the kind of place you could easily spin a round (or two) during a lunch break. Nice place for beginners as well, with hole 2's pond being the only real danger on the course.

The rest of the park has walking/biking trails, soccer fields, baseball diamonds, etc. We saw a rugby match forming when we left. I can't imagine there's ever much traffic on the course itself, which is nice.

There are far worse ways to burn a half hour...stop by and check it out!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 No Real Challenge

2-4    4/30/2013   5/1/2013
Review By: fritothedog
Played: 42  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 13.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It is a fun short course. Great for putting practice since your distance drivers won't get a workout here. The elevation changes near the holes led me to shoot uphill on some holes and downhill on others with elevation between me and the pin varying by several feet in some places.
Cons: Elavation changes are the only real obstacle on this course. A few trees in play on a few holes but for the most part they are not a factor.

There is good signage but i don't think it is terribly accurate. Hole 2 has a sign that says it is 354 ft. I hammered my Banshee with ease and I can't get more than 250 to 300 ft out of that if I throw my arm out. That said the signs do accurately show the layout, even if the distance is off.
Other Thoughts: I would say this is a fantastic course for beginners to learn on since it can teach them to throw straight and they don't need much distance.

This course is close to my apartment and I will definitely play it again. My wife would proabably like this course a lot and playing it will probably help her game a lot.

I would like to see some more space used, my friend and I noticed two spots where there could be some nice holes added and if they put holes that went completely around the water feature near hole 2 that could make it a great course.

As it stands, this course is certainly worth playing if you are nearby but there is a lot of potential for improvement.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 My original home course

5+    6/25/2012   9/8/2012
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 204  Reviewed: 144  Exp: 11.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Never busy. A pond off to the left on hole 2 offers a water hazard. Navigation not a problem. Good mix off shots. Four holes play up, down and along a big hill. Hole 8, a blind uphill shot is pretty fun. Hole 9 is a downhill wide open bomber, A nice way to close the round. Pretty hard to lose a disc here though it is possible in a few spots, Like hole 7's long grass. A fun place to play with not to much real close by besides oak creeks 18 holer.
Cons: Last time i was there, the basket for hole 5 i believe was gone. The bugs can be awful at times with the root river being right by hole 1. Other than that not much, just bring bug spray.
Other Thoughts: I may be a little biased since i grew up about half a mile away but it is a decent course with a good mix of varied shots. Definately worth a look if in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Links style course

5+    1/6/2012   1/10/2012
Review By: misterg
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good use of land including elevation changes. Mixes up left and right approaches.
2/3 blind holes could be listed as pros and cons but I enjoy them.
Cons: Just like links style golf courses the rough here is very rough. Its easy to lose discs here and have to hunt.
The blind holes (especially 2 and 7) can add to this problem.
The gravel tees are sometimes slippery.
Only nine holes (but you can always play it twice).
Other Thoughts: This was the first course that I ever played so I didn't know how to judge it. Now that I have played 10 or so different courses I still think that it's a sweet little course. It does have its quirks for sure but it has character that many city courses lack. If you are beginning you may want to make sure that someone is spotting for you on 2, 6 and 7.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    6/26/2011   9/8/2011
Review By: notapro
Played: 446  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 12.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a hilly portion of a park with some gnarly rough. A bike path winds around some of the holes, so there might be some waiting needed here and there. Not too bad though.
- Pretty good hole variety here, mostly due to the large hill that this plays on and around. There are some steep upshots, including one with a sloping green and a large mound in the way of a RHBH hyzer. A steep downhill shot to end the round, and a blind dowhnill anny on #7, a good mix of more or less open elevation changes.
- Other notable holes include a blind shot on #2, which can be a safe hyzer or an over-the-water straight shot. Really tricky since the tee sign says 354', don't trust it!! I threw my disc and must have sailed waaaaaay past it, it is definitely not 354'. Check it out before throwing! #6 is tricky, too, a short little downhill with some extremely nasty rough to swallow errant shots.
- Great signage (minus #2's hole length), and good baskets. Tee pads were soft gravel that gave a lot, but were serviceable.
Cons: - Biggest con here is the short length of the course. No holes over 300' (again, don't believe #2), and many play very very short. The uphill shots need a little mustard, but it's still a pitch-n-putt course throughout. Many holes are very brainless, too, more practice than actual discing.
Other Thoughts: - For a little 9-holer, this one provides some cool shots and some decent challenge in spots. Fun downhill elevation changes, and some rough uphill changes that can be tough. A few tricky holes due to blind baskets or punishing rough; not too shabby at all. A good place to learn the ins and outs of the games, though there are very few obstacles to contend with.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  A decent disapponitment

1    8/2/2010   8/3/2010
Review By: Cannabyss
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: not too far of a drive, some holes are decent length
Cons: mosquitoes, skinny and short holes that are just lawnmowed sections of field, and medium or tall grass on the edges of most holes make losing a disc pretty easy....
Other Thoughts: i went with a few friends and they gave up on the course quicker than i did ... it might be worth a try if youre at all interested

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Open fields, without the elevation it would be laughable

2-4    7/24/2010   7/26/2010
Review By: superberry
Played: 199  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 17.6 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Some decent elevation comes into play on quite a few of the nine holes, but then it really isn't much of a factor because it is not huge or drastic elevation, and there is no distance involved on the course.
Hole #2 is great - the pond, wind, and elevation come into play (still needs distance though with a second LONG tee!).
Hole 8 is a blind pin uphill.
Cons: Open, as in no trees in play for anyone who can control a disc even slightly. I suppose there are some trees, but they don't come into play for anyone with a range of shots in their ability.
Throwaway holes, most of them. Despite the illusion of fun/challenge of elevation, there really isn't any challenge brought into play except when it is windy. Even the holes that have elevation are just wide open and short. Holes 1, 3, 4, 5 are essentially just a waste. Holes 6 and 7 offer an illusion of risk by playing around and near a clump of trees, but they only come into play when you overdive your putter.
Only one tee here, and they are short (red skill level). Two sets of tees could really bring distance, wind, and elevation into a challenging round.
There is only one pin placement. None of the greens are risky at all, rather than install a second pin sleeve, just dig these up and install the permanent sleeves on risky parts of the terrain so that you have to consider rollaways and blowby when putting at a precarious pin placement.
Only 9 holes.
Walking paths don't really add any OB risk.
No wide open rippers.
No downhill bombers.
Busy and loud area eliminated the ability to lose yourself in a round.
The pond and woods aren't utilized!
Other Thoughts: Oh man! If the pond and the woods to the left of the pond could be utilized here, then Milwaukee county could really have something! Of course hole 1 just needs to be dumped altogether, and the existing holes all need a second set of tees installed at blue/gold level to make the open fields any sort of a challenge. But alas, this is simply a lackluster 9 holer with more than majority of throwaway holes. Play it if you must, check it off your list, and quickly move on. The only problem is - nothing else in the area. Although now Fox River Park I hear is high above average. Because half or more of the 9 hole course is throwaway, I can't rate higher than - passable.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  fun 9 hole course

1    6/7/2010   6/10/2010
Review By: Bob Chavez
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: lots of open space makes you feel as though you are out in the country. hole #2 is quite challenging with trees right in front of you and a pond on your left to deal with. also liked hole #4 where placement is the key or you can shimmy around the side of a hill looking for your disc. hole #7 is a fun hole to play with its dog leg right and lots of trees on the right side to make a right hander have to go anhyzer.(my shortcoming). hole #9 is a straight shot down hill, but if its windy like it was when i played it, you will need to decide on how to approach it.
Cons: none that i can think of.
Other Thoughts: overall a fun little 9 hole course to play which was made more fun by being able to play it with my son.(whos 26)

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Some fun holes, and some really boring ones

1    5/8/2010   5/25/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 13.8 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a small part of a large sports complex. Half of the holes are flat with mowed fairways and tall grass rough. The other half play up and down a small but steep hill with some great elevation shots, and a fun finishing hole that's a fun downhill ace run off the top of the hill. There are some scattered small trees in play on a few holes, and a couple have some larger stands of trees with thick brush to stay out of. Hole 2 brings the pond into play, with a bail out route way out to the right and a risky route over the edge of the water with lots of trees to knock an errant shot down into the water.

There are basic but good tee signs with hole distance and the layout to each of two pin placements. The alternates looked like they would change up the course some, and keep it a little more interesting. The baskets seemed pretty new still, and caught well. The flow of the course was easy to follow, and there was a course map at the first tee to help with navigation.
Cons: There definitely are some fun holes here, but the other half of the course is pretty boring. A few holes are basically flat and wide open, with no punishment for an errant drive other than having to search in tall prairie grass for your disc. There is no real length or shot variety here, so you won't have to use many different skills here.

The tees are natural, and weren't in the best shape. Most had some gravel on them, but they were spread out and some were rutted, leaving less than ideal tee surfaces to throw from. The tee signs did not mark which position the pins were in on the holes that showed alternate pin placements, not a big deal but I like to see that information on tee signs.
Other Thoughts: This course has some really fun holes with some cool elevation, and some really boring holes. If the whole course was like holes 2,3,4,8,9, it would get a higher rating from me, but as it stands the design just doesn't have enough going for it. Beginners will find the distances reasonable, but may be frustrated by the tall grass waiting to hide inaccurate shots. More experienced players won't find much challenge here, but there are a couple holes that are just plain fun to throw. If you're in the area, make a quick stop, but don't go out of your way for this one.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.