Coos Bay, OR 
Mingus Park Share
Uploaded By: gwillim Hole #3
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
The Hanging Disc Gardens of Coos Bay

1    10/23/2015   3/27/2016
Review By: ohtobediscing
Played: 207  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 36.7 Years
Pros: I found Mingus to be a fun little course, with a number of uncommon elements that make this a memorable round.
Its only a short jaunt off 101, but several turns and a narrow dirt road access, as well as a surrounding neighborhood elevated above the park, provide few clues to its location.
The vegetation is interior coastal forest--tall, extremely full firs, with bunched ferns, moss, and mushrooms, with very little open space. The narrow valley and steep hillsides are naturally terraced by the endless winter rains and the clumping of vegetation, giving it an exotic, Tolkienesque air, as if you were treading the stairs of giants.
Lightwise, its incredibly shaded, necessitating a sunny mid-day for a visually reasonable round. The ferns and other pockets of dense undergrowth might provide some disc-hunting time for the unwary.
I did see a few walkers/dogs, and the park seems too small and consistently wet for partiers/homeless. A honeybucket was at the parking lot, though a 5-minute walk SE through the park will bring you to a public restroom and drinking fountain near the small lake.
This is the most challenging course between Newport and Brookings, though I'd consider Buffington a worthy stop, too.
Cons: With only 9 baskets, and the 10-18 tees barely different from the first 9, its better played as a 9er.
If its overcast/raining, it'll be too dim to play effectively, and the walks up/down will be very slippery.
The signage was minimal and the baskets unnumbered, but the throws are short and easily scouted.
No benches, but with the eternal damp, you probably wouldn't want to sit anyways.
Other Thoughts: Closest stores/eateries are south on Hwy 101. Winsor DGC is just a mile or two north and is longer and less occluded, but with more confusing routing and slightly duller play.

 Mingus Can Be Treacherous!

1    5/24/2014   5/29/2014
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 870  Reviewed: 820  Exp: 38 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Mingus Park DGC is set on a steep, rugged hillside covered with large trees and lots of thick Oregon coastal rain forest type underbrush. Although short in distance, the elevation changes and tight fairways combined with the unforgiving undergrowth can make for a challenging day here.
The tee pads are small concrete ones. There are two pads for each hole essentially making this an 18 hole play. I didn't find the second pad changed the complexion of the hole all that much. The tee signs are simple, giving the hole #, distance and par. The double chain baskets are older but are in decent shape and catch well enough. They've been painted over in yellow once or twice.
A couple of holes stood out for me. # 6 has been mentioned before as being a sweet, little, very steep downhill. It's a touch shot. You'll be throwing a mid or your putter but the possibility of an ACE is right there waiting.
I thought # 4 was a pretty hole. It's a 220' flowing across the side pf the hillside. You don't want to hyzer left and be left trudging downhill to look for your disc.
Cons: There was no-one else on the course with me and I couldn't help but feel this course isn't played a lot. It just has that slightly uncomfortable feel to it.
I didn't see any evidence of any homeless activity.
The short distances here might put off some players while searching for discs might not please others.
Other Thoughts: At least, the stolen baskets have been replaced. There isn't much evidence that this course gets much love from the local disc community. It seems forgotten in this seemingly untouched corner of the park. If you're one who likes the feeling of being alone and one with nature, this just might be the perfect course for you.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Deep Pacific Rainforest

1    6/21/2011   7/16/2011
Review By: rootofthechord
Played: 41  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Lots of elevation changes. This course is built on the side of a hill, and at least half of the holes feature minor to massive elevation differences.
- The dense forest means that accuracy is at a premium. I get the feeling that playing this course repeatedly would be a great way to boost your accuracy.
- Very uncrowded. This park seems surprisingly under-utilized.
Cons: - Wayward discs are extremely difficult to recover. We had a disc shank about 75 feet across the fairway, and it took us nearly 45 minutes to bushwhack our way across a ravine and find the disc even though one of us saw exactly where it landed.
- Spotters are needed to avoid losing discs on drives.
- Maintenance is lacking. There are two poles, and one of the baskets was broken and hanging loose. Some hole signs still exist, but many are in poor shape.
Other Thoughts: I would describe Mingus Park as a rough gem. It is fun and challenging to play, although the terrain makes things difficult or just flat-out annoying sometimes. With new tee signs and working baskets on all the holes, this could develop into a respectable course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/14/2008   3/15/2009
Review By: EclipticOne
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It has a nice feel walking it. This is a secluded feeling with not very many people playing there. Really precise shots are requied as the poorly thrown ones will take a while to find. It takes a nice walk through nature.
Cons: Has two tone poles instead of baskets.

Can be kinda hard to find being in the middle of town and off the highway.

Disc eater.
Other Thoughts: Its a really fun walk to check out. The better course compared to Winsor. The feeling there will bring you to nature.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.