Mukwonago, WI 
Miniwaukan Park Share
Uploaded By: gabe32 Hole #5
3 / 280ft.   3 / 320ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Pretty Straightforward.

5+    6/25/2016   10/26/2016
Review By: schroof21
Played: 103  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fairly well manicured and large park. Holes do not seem crammed together.

Hole distances very pretty decently; hole 9 is possibly a double drive hole.

Course makes good use of the mature Oaks that spot the course. Most holes have a little bit of an obstacle aspect to them.

Bench at hole 9 and 14, and trashcans located periodically (along walking path that you occasionally pass over or are near).

Large pavilion with several picnic tables and trash cans underneath it; and it's well located.

Port-a-potty and course map near parking lot.

Pretty peaceful and typically not very over crowded.

Baskets are in good condition.
Cons: A fair amount of the tees are in pretty horrible shape. Several inch depressions that are not flat and could cause an ankle injury. I generally throw and expect others to throw from anywhere within 10 feet of the actual tee.

Signage is pretty lacking. There are large metal signs on the pins indicating the whole number, but they can really damage your disc if you hit the edges. The signs by the tees are missing on most holes.

I could see navigation being a little difficult here to a newcomer, take a picture of the map before you start, or bring a printed copy.

The walking path comes into play on a few holes; please keep patient and let walkers pass by.

It's almost completely flat and not many holes have a defined fairway or forced throw style.

No practice basket.

After it rains or as Spring begins there are a few large puddles or ponds to deal with. I keep boots in my car for this course like all Spring / early Summer.

Mesquites can get pretty bad here as the course is nestled up to a thin forest/marsh and then the Mukwonago River.

They do let the grass get fairly long between cuttings and if a tree or large branch falls it takes them months to clean it up.
Other Thoughts: It's really not a bad course and it's obviously not an awesome course. It has a little bit of variety and lets you stretch out on a couple holes.

Posts at tees (typically without hole number) are located near the short tees (red). There are long tees (blue) but they can be a little hard to find. They are located by a round blob of cement flush with the ground and painted blue on the top.

I wouldn't go to far out of your way to play this course but if you're within 15 minutes it's worth checking out. It could also be well paired with a round at Valley View (shorter, technical holes).

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Poor Excuse for a Course

5+    11/20/2015   1/20/2016
Review By: Spike Hyzer 23
Played: 85  Reviewed: 82  Exp: 23.4 Years
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: This is a disc golf course, complete with baskets, concrete tees and some semblance of a design.
Cons: The course is short, has virtually no obstacles, and poses no challenge to the serious Am level player (or even older players with little left in the tank for distance). It is not well kept. It is not well designed, nor does it take use of what little there is in this flat and desolate park.
Other Thoughts: The directions used to indicate taking a certain exit. It turns out there is both an exit and a Hwy 83, and if you are coming from Madison and the West on the interstate, don't take the first one. From there, you will get lost and go more than 20 miles out of your way trying to get back, the only consolation coming from seeing the Pabst Experimental Farms, a gleaming laboratory of evil research into making Frankenfoods.

At least that offers some educational information. The course offers nothing.

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Nice park, not great disc golf

1    6/20/2015   6/22/2015
Review By: Badger45
Played: 78  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 15.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Very nice park setting with a lot of old-growth oak trees.
- Quiet area without a lot of disc golf traffic
- Baskets in good condition
- Lawn well maintained
- Kid and beginner friendly
- Ace friendly, if your looking to pad your numbers or get that elusive first ace.
Cons: - Unsafe hole layout. You play across or along a walking path for 8 of the 18 holes. 13 can play directly along the path, with a blind corner for any oncoming person. 18 plays very close to a picnic pavilion and we had to skip it, due to people playing catch in the law near the basket.
- Natural teepads were unusable. They are a sandy-soil, which is slick when dry. Being somewhat wet, it was very slick, so we teed off from the grass next to it.
- Teesigns are vague and some were missing.
- Distances are incorrect (much shorter than posted) on signs and the map.
Other Thoughts: Miniwaukan Park is nestled back in a neighborhood and would be a treat to have in your back yard. It's full of old-growth trees, has a nice walking path, playground, and picnic shelter. The disc golf course adds a nice feature to the park, but it's execution is not ideal. The park is not one I'd go out of my way to play, unless you are just looking to mark it off your list.

Both my son and I had some great ace runs on a number of holes, but none stuck that day. You can play most holes on your choice of a hyzer or anhyzer line, due to the obstacles being large trees in a field. Some play straight up to the pin, in which case we threw a putter or mid range straight at it.

For the time being, I'm not going to do a hole-by-hole analyses. 1-3 have anny and hyzer lines with one or two trees between you and the basket. 4 is a staight approach with a low ceiling, or you could try a sky anny or hyzerbomb around the outside for more variety. 5-9 all play across or next to the walking path. Watch for pedestrians, dog-walkers, and bikes before you throw! 10-12 are fairly straight-up shots, but you play a somewhat low ceiling if you run at the basket. 13 is the hole you could run into trouble, playing along the path if your take the straight on approach or anny line. 14-18 are all pretty wide open, so take whatever shot you're most comfortable with and go with it.

Having driven out specifically to play this park, we were a bit disappointed. Even playing with a 9-year-old, he was not too impressed. We play a lot of courses and have found some real gems in small parks, but this one just didn't measure up. Not being able to finish #18 really left a bad feeling about the course. I could have thrown it safely, but it would have been too close to the birthday party going on for perceived safety.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice Casual Round

5+    5/16/2015   5/18/2015
Review By: RacerX2727
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Scenic, lots of old oak trees
- Not overly long
- Rarely busy
Cons: - Flat with few obstacles
- Walking paths cross some holes
- Few soggy spots that never seem to dry
- Dirt tee boxes (slippery mud if wet)
Other Thoughts: Due to easy holes, a scenic backdrop and sparse crowds, it's a great course for a nice casual round. If you're looking to challenge yourself and your skills, this isn't the course for that.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good practice course

1    8/29/2014   3/10/2015
Review By: RDisc12
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6
Pros: -Some trees for obstacles in this course
-Because this course is in a grass park there is no undergrowth or thorns to loose your disc in
-Very friendly course
-Good parking
-If these holes aren't long enough for your liking nothing stops you from backing up an extra 50 feet or more on most holes to throw longer drives
Cons: -Almost no elevation change
-Grassy fairways are open on either sides. If you have enough power you can bypass most obstacles with little challenge
-Tees are marked by limited signage. Some is missing/unreadable.
-Tees are dirt/mud and become unusable with rain
Other Thoughts: This course is fun but it is not worth driving from great distances to play a round. I enjoyed my round here and will be back now that I have a better understanding of the layout of holes. The first time through can be difficult because of missing and damaged signing. Elevation change would be nice but this course makes the best use of the land that it could. Overall, a good practice course but nothing I would bring my buddies to for a round.

 Short, flat, compact

1    7/26/2012   7/27/2012
Review By: omightytimm
Played: 19  Reviewed: 12
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Very old oaks spread throughout course
- Well-marked holes, with color coding for tee/pin and sharpie marks on pins pointing to next tees
- All in all they made good use of the compact terrain for the course, hiding pins behind/among trees or putting trees right in the middle of the fairway
- Easy to find from parking lot, and big sign with hole layout right at beginning (take a picture with your phone, though you'll probably not really need it)
Cons: - A very short course overall
- Since it was so compact, there wasn't much variety between the various holes, they were all in basically the same section of oak savanna (though a pretty one at that)
- Dirt and mud tees, many unusable right after a rain
- Distance markers on few if any tees
Other Thoughts: Not a waste of time, and good for practicing your birdie tee shots, but I've played prettier oak savanna courses (try Anna Page in Rockford, for example).

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    7/10/2012   7/11/2012
Review By: Wolvhunter
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is on a flat field with very very old oak trees that dot the entire course. I love that part of this course because there is very little under growth and thick to lose your disc in but the holes are still challenging with a few giant trees in the way. The pro tees are nice and make the course more interesting by much lengthening the course and adding more trees for difficulty. The course is well maintained and kept in decent shape.
Cons: When there is a lot of rain the course gets soggy and large puddles and even water hazards can form. Bugs can be a slight problem but usually never to bad. There is a walking path and often walkers and bikes can slow down your game. normal tees are dirt and worn out and pro tees can be challenging to find.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite courses and its the closest to me so I go very often.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Not too bad

5+    7/10/2011   8/11/2011
Review By: Dr.Hyzer
Played: 19  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 2/3/2012
Pros: The course is inviting as soon as you walk up to the first hole.
-There is quite a bit of holes that are right in your site and shouldn't give the average discer much trouble to grab some birds and save a bunch of pars.
- Two holes are over 400 ft and are basically the premier holes on the course.
Cons: The chunk of land it's built on is all flat, so don't plan on stopping out there if it's been raining the past few days, the course holds standing water for a few days, and the mosquito's will be ravages.
-It's a little bit too simple. A good amount of the holes are just a solid mid-range shot to get you parked easily.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course just about every time I played it. I wouldn't go out of my way to make plans to go play it. But for a change of pace, and to get a good round in. It's worth a round, maybe two.

 Great Trees

1    9/18/2010   9/20/2010
Review By: tistoude
Played: 179  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 8.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is populated with beautiful old growth hardwoods. All of the holes play in and around these trees.

Grass on the course is very well maintained.

Even though the park is not very large the course itself seems secluded from the other park activities. The day I played the park itself was packed with people. cars were parking up the entry street to the park since the lot was full and we only saw two discers and one dog walker on the course

A couple of the holes require some decent shot shaping around the large trees. And almost all of the holes can provide pretty good ace runs.
Cons: Navigation, we successfully navigated the course without a map but it was not real easy. Most of the tee signs are missing and you need to look on the basket for a sharpie arrow pointing in the direction of the next tee. This sounds helpful but the course is wide open with all the holes in view so an arrow pointing can lead you to a few different tees.

Tees, the tees are dirt and are mostly worn down into a pretty good groove which of course fill up with water if there is an even minor drizzle. These tees seem to hold the water for a while also.

Although they have made the most of the available land, this course is short, and very repetative. All of the holes have a tree or two sort of in the way but do not present much of a challenge to an experienced golfer. I used a putter on 11 of the holes.

The course is on the bank of a river and the skeeters can get overwhelming on the holes closest to the shore.
Other Thoughts: I had a good time on this course even though it was really easy. This would be a great course to bring a beginner to, practice your mid range/putter shots or to play a fast round. I happened to be staying at a hotel about 1 mile away from this course and I was happy to be able to walk over and get in a round. I would have no problem playing this course again if I am in the area but I would not travel out of my way to play it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Review

1    7/18/2010   7/18/2010
Review By: Sirjokes1
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Not crowded
Well maintained course
Good for reasonable players of the game
Very secluded
Cons: Extreamally hard to follow the course
Missing half if not more of the signs
Other Thoughts: Even though it was hard to follow it was a great cource that was easy enough for a newbie to come here and still shoot the pars that are given

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.