Mukwonago, WI 
Miniwaukan Park Share
Uploaded By: gabe32 Hole #5
3 / 280ft.   3 / 320ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 Next >
 Trees-a-Plenty

5+    4/11/2010   4/11/2010
Review By: Tree LOVE
Played: 38  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - There is a Port-a-John next to parking lot, a covered picnic area with tables, and a playground nearby for kids who aren't disc golfing yet.
- Multiple pin placements on the majority of holes. The baskets are moved quite often so the replay value of the course is very nice.
- Multiple tee pads on every hole (red- short tees, blue- long tees).
- Lots of large oak trees that make for a very technical course (can be very frustrating for beginners!)
- Technical course design makes you use a lot of different shot types.
- The course is outlined by wooded areas, so on very windy days, the wind isn't as noticeable as other wide open courses.
- A lot of tight lines that encourage accuracy over distance.
Cons: - This course is VERY difficult to navigate if you or everyone you are with has not played it before.
- No concrete tee pads, most of the red "tee pads" are mud pits
- The tee pads are small, flat, round stones that are mostly buried in the ground. It makes it even more difficult to find the next hole's tee pad. There are thin metal poles (most without signs) that are next to every red tee pad.
- FLAT!! There is NO elevation change throughout the entire course.
- There are a few longer walks to get from the basket to the next tee pad.
- There are no permanent water hazards on the course (might be a pro for beginners). BUT, there is usually standing water on about half of the holes...bring extra shoes and socks!
- Very short course, especially from the red tees. Hole number 9 is the only hole over 400' (from red). Most advanced players will feel like this is a putt and approach course with very few opportunities to rip a long drive.
- There is a bike path that weaves through the entire course so there are times that you have to wait for people to pass by before you can throw.
Other Thoughts: - ("Directions" to red tees, from previous basket) If you are standing in the parking lot, or by the "news board" looking at the course, hole #1's tee pad is about 100' directly to the left of the open, covered shelter. Look for the green park bench and blue trashcan. The hole plays in the same direction you would walk if you came from the shelter.
- #2 is basically right behind basket #1, slightly to the right. Plays same direction as hole #1.
- #3 is down behind basket #2, slightly to the right. Plays same direction as holes 1 and 2.
- #4, take a 90 degree RIGHT turn (if you were looking @ basket 3 from it's tee) and walk down the thick tree-line. Hole plays straight down the tree line.
- #5, turn about 160 degrees back to your RIGHT and cross back over the bike path. Hole plays directly back toward the covered shelter. (longer walk)
- #6, turn about 130 degrees back to your LEFT. The hole plays toward the thick tree line. (Around the area of basket #4.) (longer walk)
- #7, is about a 130 degree turn back to your RIGHT, and the hole plays toward the back left corner of the thick tree line. (longer walk)
- #8 is about a 100 degree RIGHT turn. Hole plays down the tree line, slightly to the right, back across the bike path.
- #9 is straight behind basket #8. Look for a large tree with a green bench underneath. The hole plays back toward the playground/parking lot. Long, 400+ footer.
- #10 is about a 110 degree turn back LEFT from the basket. (If you are looking from the parking lot, #10's tee pad is directly behind the covered shelter.)
- #11 is about a 140 degree turn back LEFT. Plays in between 2 tall trees in the direction of hole #9's tee pad.
- #12 is about a 100 degree turn RIGHT. Plays straight down the tree line.
- #13 is a 90 degree RIGHT turn. Hole plays back toward parking lot. (the bike path basically serves as the fairway)
- #14 is about a 140 degree turn back LEFT. Hole plays directly away from the parking lot.
- #15 is about a 90 degree turn RIGHT. Hole plays toward the parking lot.
- #16 is directly behind basket #15. Hole plays directly away from shelter.
- #17, turn about 150 degrees back RIGHT. Hole plays toward the shelter.
- #18 is about a 70 degree turn LEFT behind basket #17. The basket is to the right of the shelter and is usually directly behind the row of trees.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 I like it

5+    7/3/2009   7/4/2009
Review By: feavelan
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Not too easy, not to tough. There are a good amount of large trees that can cause things to get difficult. Very hidden and peaceful course. I have played it many time without seeing anyone else out there.
Cons: Grass tees are bad on most holes due to flooding and just plain old lack of maintenance. This course is a breading ground for bugs. Make sure you bring your bug spray. It's also hard to navigate the course if you have never been there.
Other Thoughts: I love this course because it offers a little bit of a challenge to those who are not pros but like to get out and have fun. Being as quiet as it is you can throw multiple discs if you want.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 C = Too much of too little

1    6/23/2009   6/24/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 374  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 21.3 Years
8 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == D+ (Almost no punishment anywhere for missing your line. No decision making imposed by the course design.)
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == C (Most are too short to be rewarding - I gave up trying to find the longs....maybe those are better if they even exist.)
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == C- (On only 3-4 holes are the trees used to force a certain shape shot. Missed potential in my mind.)
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == B (The huge oaks are very beautiful and you feel quite secluded on a lot of the course. This is the best part of the park. If it was not for the highway noise, it would be an amazingly peaceful sanctuary.)
5) Bonus points for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == N/A
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (125 18-hole, 64 9-hole as of mid 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me....that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

8 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 needs care

1    6/20/2009   6/23/2009
Review By: duain
Played: 67  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 13.6 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: alt pin locations, various types of shots, duel tees.
Cons: the map is not very good says hole one is by the practice basket: there is no practice basket, most tee signs are gone, hard to navigate at 1st.
Other Thoughts: DO NOT PLAY AFTER IT RAINS LOTS AND LOTS OF STANDING WATER SOME SPOTS ALMOST KNEE HIGH!

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/23/2009   5/23/2009
Review By: MLatzke
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very peaceful. I went on a Saturday and was alone for most of the course. Lots of varied hole lengths.
Cons: Lots and lots of mosquitos, not very well maintained, sometimes it's hard to find the next hole.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Home course

5+    5/10/2009   5/10/2009
Review By: Seananagins
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.4 Years
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Plenty of obsticales(oak trees) to avoid.
Nice and long. Each hole has pro and beginner teas and the holes can be switched to other locations throughout the season.
Cons: Make sure you have knee high boots or go bare foot like me in the spring time. Heavy rain and snow melting can ensure lakes throughout the cousre untill mid june.
Other Thoughts: This is the first cousr i ever played when I began frolfing in 2006. I love it and it will always be my favorite course. One feture that can't be put in the pros or cons is the cement path that carelessly winds it's way through the course. I causes the occassional hault for a group of marching M.I.L.Fs and dog walkers. But when used properly, it can get you those extra needed feet closer to the hole.

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Old mature Oak Trees make this course great.

5+    7/13/2011   3/15/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 858  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 1/7/2012
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nicely spread out course on large property, so holes are not ont op of others.

2) Mature Oak trees make shot making on this course interesting. Lots of low hanging horizontal branches. than can grab your discs if you don't keep them low.

3) Multiple baskets and multiple tees make this course play differently from different spots and distance.

4) Placement of baskets behind and around trees makes optional routes to almost every hole. This is a positive because it lets all caliber and all throwing types of players play their game.

5) Definitely beginner friendly because there is literally almost nowhere to lose your disc. So what if it takes you 5 to get to the long baskets, you won't lose your discs and get frustrated.

6) Good variety in hole length. Using Back tees and back baskets course plays over 6000', but there are holes just inder 200' up to 525' I enjoy having a few to just rip on, even with obstacles.
Cons: 1) No terrain change on this course. But its obvious the key feature of this course is the Oak Trees.

2) Wet areas look like they stay wet for a long time after rain or snow melt.

3) Tee pads could use some help.

4) Tee signs are half missing from vandalism, and some fo the alternate basket locations aren't usable because of vandalism.

5) Without the appropriate signage it would have been tough to find the next holes because there is no obvious path between holes.
Other Thoughts: I got to play with the man in charge of moving baskets and it was apparent he enjoyed this course. He showed me all the alternate tees and basket locations so that if I can back I could find where I wanted to go. Thanks Mike

This course has had almost no change on it since 3 years ago when i first played it . . . tees are still rutted because the parks people won't let Mike do anything to them.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Simplistic but kind of fun!

2-4    11/16/2008   11/16/2008
Review By: tomjulio
Played: 69  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/14/2009
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -such beautiful old majestic oak trees
-long, short shots
-well maintained grass
-beautiful both in summer and fall
-pro and am tee markers
Cons: -poor signage
-lack of maintenance
-zero elevation change
-difficult to figure out next tees
-dirt and grass tees
Other Thoughts: Played this course today during the fall with a friend who played it in the summer. This course is ALL about the old "majestic" oak trees that make up the ENTIRE course. During the summer it is a very green and maintained course. During the fall a different feel but altogether beautiful.

The lack of elevation makes the trees the main obstacles. One hole even hides behind a fallen giant oak, making it the most technical hole.

You can tell at one past point this course had nice signage, but over half the tee signs are gone, and locating the next tee takes a bit of guessing and looking for the red/blue small arrows on the trees.

Long holes, short holes with just a little variety make this a decent course. Beginner friendly, and advanced friendly. May have to wait on dog walkers and suburban neighbors to get out of the way.

Definitely worth a play.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad if you're in the area

5+    7/8/2010   7/8/2008
Review By: Iceman
Played: 33  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 14.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/30/2012
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice wide open course, very forgiving on most holes if you can keep it low and flat. Good beginer holes. Pro tees add some challange if you can find them as most are overgrown with grass due to lack of play; however I have found most of them and marked them with orange spray paint so they stick out a little better, even still the sun fades the paint and they are still hard to see.
Cons: No elevation change, nothing very technical. Just focusing on missing the two or three trees per hole is the only challange offered. Its worth playing once and thats about it. The tees are all dirt and most of them are worn pretty far into the ground so you need to tee off on either side of the hole in the ground.
Other Thoughts: This course has not been crowed any time I have been there. The pins are in year round and its good for a winter round. Spring can be a fun time to play because everything floods and there are water hazards on a few of the holes.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Big Trees

8/13/2007   4/15/2008
Review By: FoleyT
Played: 86  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 10.3 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Good beginner course. Big majestic trees come into play on almost every hole, but the fairways are fairly open if you keep it low and straight. Scenic park setting, well maintained.
Cons: not much variety, a lot of the holes are similar in length. some of the rough around the 'outer edge' of the park can be a bit dense and unforgiving.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.