Peru, IN 
Mississinewa State Park Share
Uploaded By: kingjames1014 Hole #4 (Taken 9/2012)
4 / 251ft.   3 / 251ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
A true destination course in the middle of the nowhere

1    6/21/2014   6/23/2014
Review By: numbernine
Played: 46  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: You know, it's been so long since I have done a review that I was gun shy to get this one out there. I mean, when someone wants to rate something as a great course, they really need to go into detail. The good news is, there are lots of details to highlight about this amazing course -

Tee Pads - Long and wide and present on every hole. These are all concrete pads. Every pad is nice and level and grippy. None of this gravel business. Concrete pads of get out, please.

Tee Signs - Are there. Not super detailed, but they are present and provide a good map of the current hole. though I would like to see better signs, the ones they currently have will do. Not a great pro, but it's not a con either. It has signs. Which, you know, is better than a swift kick in the face.

Course Design - Some of the most fun I have had experiencing a golf course. Great use of the elevation changes, water, woods, open spaces and other things. Shots range from long, sweeping hyzers, giant turn over shots, super technical dinkers and long tunnel shots. Indeed, there is something for everyone here.
Except for cotton candy. I wanted some and could find it nowhere on the course.

Foliage Maintenance - Perfect. There are so many trees and what not on this course and none of them feel out of place or in the way "just because". There are times, especially on the lettered holes, where getting off of the fairway is death via thorns. But you know what the answer to that is? Don't get off of the fairway.

Trash Cans - on pretty much most of the course. I don't recall there being one ounce of trash on the course, which is great. Hate me a litter bug.

Epic Holes - Indeed, there are several. The shot over the pond is going to scare some people off and probably cause some people to skip that hole. I think it's around 290 to carry the water. And that's ok. It really is an epic, signature hole. There are a couple of other great holes as well. I REALLY like the first 6 holes a lot. The entire course is great, but those first 6 might be the best starting holes in the entire state of indiana.

As far as other things go, you can camp on site. As in, there is camping within walking distance of the course itself. And because it's a state park, everything in the camping area is well maintained and taken care of.
Couple that with all of the other amenities in the park, and you're looking at having a great time. But be careful out there.

Finally, for pros anyway, this is probably the prettiest, most scenic course that I have ever played. The trees are perfectly manicured, the shot over the pond is beautiful and intimidating, the fairways are carefully manicured and looked after perfectly. I love walking out on a course where you can tell that someone loves it. This is one of those courses.
Cons: A couple of cons. Nothing much to worry about, but every course has down sides -

Baskets - The old baskets on this course need a lot of help. They are currently in the process of replacing these baskets, so this con might not be relevant for long. I hope so. Because honestly, some of those baskets catch like a blind man with no hands.

Casual players/backup - because it does sit on a campground, there are a LOT of casual folks out there playing in groups of six or more. And this not an easy course, so people are getting backed up. Minor inconvenience, but just be mindful of this when you go out there. Plan for a round with this in mind. Or plan on joining a group of people and playing disc golf like the jets and sharks.

pay to play - for residents, I think it's like 5 bucks a car load for the day. Which really is not that bad, but it is something to again be aware of. The good news is that you can stay there all day and play as much as you like for that 5 clams.

Like I said, not a lot in the way of cons.
Other Thoughts: Peru, also known as Circus City USA, sits smack in the middle of nowhere. if you plan on making a trip to play this course, make a day or weekend of it and play the other courses in the area. Or plan on playing this course several times and camping out or something. Personally, I don't camp. Man invented hotels and beds for a reason. Sleeping outdoors sounds like a nightmare to me. Plus, I need a boxfan when I sleep. And where do you put one of those in a tent?

Anyway, go play this course, please. It's a super challenging course for good players and a beginner friendly course as well. I wish I lived closer so I could play it more often. I literally can't wait to go play this brilliant course again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice clean course

1    5/28/2012   5/28/2012
Review By: cmchavis
Played: 25  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 32.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good concrete pads
- Clear signage and trashcans around the course.
- Course was clean, which is unusual for the courses I have played.
- Well laid out, we didn't have any issues with finding the next tees.

Like how the course starts tight and 'technical' and then opens up to longer holes then mixes them up afterwards.
Cons: Not sure I like how holes A-F are tucked into a different section off hole 9. It's like a mini 6 hole round in the middle of a 18 hole round.
Other Thoughts: We have a state park pass for Indiana, so this is essentially free to play and even if we didn't, would pay to play this course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner/Intermediate

1    9/4/2011   9/9/2011
Review By: notapro
Played: 420  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a large portion of this campground, with plenty of space for a big course. Well separated from the rest of the activities onsite.
- Awesome mix of holes in the woods, and others out in the open with mature trees and bordering forest. The course starts off with some shorter, trickier holes in the woods that have pretty significant hyzers and anhyzers to hit, with some FH coming in handy too. A fun way to kick it off, with lots of blind, but reachable pins. The letter holes add some more woodsy looks, with tigher fairways carved out of dense forest. Two different kinds of forested holes, which split up the course nicely. Hole D is a highlight; a 365' shot (total) over a body of water onto a defined fairway.
- Fantastic mix of holes out in the "open" areas. There are some straightforward, more or less open ones, but these usually have some sort of up or downslope, and considerable length. Drivers are a plus on a lot of these holes, with distance trumping accuracy. Other holes are of more average length, but have some tricky obstacles to avoid. A RHFH-friendly shot on #16 goes way around or over a patch of forest, #14 is a blind downhill hyzer, these and others are pretty tricky.
- As mentioned above, the slight elevation changes are pretty noticable on some of the holes, especially on the longer ones. This adds a lot of fun with some downhill bombers, and some additional challenge on a few uphill ones.
- Great variety in hole length, and a good mix of difficulty as well. There are easy and hard short holes, and easy and hard long holes. Makes each hole stand out in its own way, all 24 holes are pretty different.
- Good signage, baskets, and teepads. Navigation is fairly easy, with signs pointing to the letter holes and the tee signs in plain sight usually. Water pump in one spot to help on those hot days, too.
Cons: - A fair amount of the holes here are out in the open, with only a few obstacles to avoid. It is fun to rip the drives out there, for all but the biggest arms, but the challenge is just in throwing it far. On the other hand, some of the hole lengths are very short, around the 200' mark. The lines are fun, but accuracy trumps distance big time.
- Slight elevation changes are cool, but there's nothing too extreme here. Apart from a few holes, it plays mostly flat.
Other Thoughts: - Really not many cons here in my book! Extremely fun discing to be had here, both in and out of the forest. Not super challenging, but execution is still important to score well. Again, nothing too too crazy to contend with (except maybe D), perfect for a relaxing round that covers nearly all the bases. Great for beginners and experienced players, but more advanced players might be a little bored some short lengths and open spaces.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/5/2011   8/5/2011
Review By: DiscGolfFreak
Played: 25  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very enjoyable, clean and secluded course, that uses the terrain very well, taking advantage of the natural beauty of the park. There are benches and trash cans on most holes. I really like the additional A-F holes. I believe it is hole "D" that is about a 200' throw over a very marshy green pond. This could very well be the signature hole of the course. It is definitely the most memorable hole for me. Tee Pads are in excellent condition, with a very easy to follow course lay out. Course is kept clean of debris, limbs and such. Well maintained.
Cons: Not much opportunity to air-out any bombs (more of a preference than a con). After the first few holes, there is not a lot of shaping, mainly just about hitting openings between trees. Many of the holes are very similar type holes (straight tight shots). As mentioned by others the cages are old, but still very usable. Some of the benches need repaired or replaced.
Other Thoughts: A very fun course. Worth the $5 to get into the park to play. It is hard to believe that you are right next to a camp ground. Most of the time it feels like you are very isolated. Signs were basic but adequate. Well worth the drive, wish it was closer to me.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/5/2011   8/5/2011
Review By: J-MAN-57
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Trash cans and benches at most holes
-Trees are used well
-Good tee pads
-Fun to play
-Some holes were very scenic
Cons: -Not much variety to the holes, Straight shots with some shaped shots
-Baskets were in bad shape
Other Thoughts: Course could have been laid out differently to put more different skill shots into the course. Signature hole for this course I believe is the hole where you shoot over the pond.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Classic Course Needs a Facelift

1    6/11/2011   6/15/2011
Review By: swatso
Played: 370  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
"Classic" course, with good tightness-to-length ratios.
Cons:
Tired, tired signs and baskets, although the tees were in good shape.
Other Thoughts:
Other than the few wooded holes at the beginning, the bulk of the course plays in very gently rolling, grassy glades, defined by thick bands of forest, and containing a smattering of trees of various sizes - you very quickly forget you're in a very large public park, and are surprised when you finish number-18 how close to the parking lot you actually are!.

After the initial wooded holes, which are on the short side but require very specific lines to be hit, or find shule, the course begins to open and lengthen. While the remaining holes are definitely on the open side, the strategically-located scattered trees so consistently remove the obvious grip-and-rip/single-turn lines that it appeared as if the landscape was specifically designed for disc golf. When a straight initial flight was available, subtle rises in elevation combined with well-placed tree limbs stretching towards the fairway would add challenge to a seemingly straightforward shot. Finally, often the basket location would take advantage of a nearby hillock or the odd tree to complicate the approach.

With holes ranging in distance from just over 200' to just under 500', with an average of ~310', and a fair blend of (mostly) subtle left/right/S/no-turning shots, you'll likely have the opportunity to use many of the discs in your bag.

Who'd have ever thought that Peru, Indiana, would have four ( Honey Bear, Maconaquah, Mississinewa, Pieradise) good, differing courses within 7.5 of the town centre? Find an excuse to be in central Indiana, and spend a day playing these four courses!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Don't Miss Mississinew!

2-4    6/4/2011   6/5/2011
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 193  Reviewed: 153  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/3/2012
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Mississinewa is a vast state park with a multitude of activities. The DG course is located in the Miami SRA part of the park, and is well separated from other park activities. The course has a fairly secluded peaceful vibe while playing through the woods. The course starts with a few wooded holes before moving into a area of the woods where wide grassy fairways (with mature trees interespersed throughout) are lined by thick patches of schule. Staying on the fairway should make par reachable for most players, with many opportunities for birdies; however, if a wayward shot lands in the thick rough, expect to be punished accordingly.
- Decent variety between the shorter technical wooded holes and the more open, slightly longer holes playing through the "lawn" area of the course. Good balance between left, right, straight, etc.
- Some good risk/ reward. Water comes into play in a couple of places. Several pin placements optimize the risk on approach shots due to their close placement to the dense thickets lining the fairways. Instead of having the general 30' radius around the basket, many are nestled a few feet away from thicket on blind doglegs, encouraging a cautious approach.
- Six lettered holes (A-F) appear after hole 9...keep your eyes peeled as it's easy to just walk to 10 and miss the additional holes. These are shorter technical holes with one requiring a water carry over a pond.
- Huge, level, well-brushed concrete pads. These things are double wide launch pads, and amongst the best I've seen. Decent signs show basic hole shape and distance, but some holes still need to be walked in order to find the exact basket location. Benches and trashcans at most tees.
- Beautiful scenery with some stunning views and incredible wild-life (a tiny fawn was sleeping at the base of a tree on one hole...#14, I think).
- Next tee arrows spray-painted in orange on the ground by baskets.
Cons: - Mostly flat, although the designers did a good job of incorporating every scrap of minimal elevation.
- Not really any "wow" holes to make this a destination course, but solid enough fo' sho' if you're in the area visiting or a local.
- Some baskets are pretty rusty, but seem to catch better than it appears they would.
- Some holes seem to hold water, and a few places were a bit muddy despite recently dry weather.
Other Thoughts: - Overall, Mississinewa provides a great disc golf option for those on vacation in the state park, and another above-average option to Peru area discing. Camping is right across the street, making this a good option for glow rounds.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Fun mix

1    9/26/2010   10/6/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 816  Reviewed: 773  Exp: 12.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large area in a state park that is disc golf exclusive. We didn't see any non disc golf people anywhere around the course. Some holes play through tight wooded areas with dense rough waiting to punish an errant drive. The rest of the holes play in rolling grassy areas with scattered mature trees and areas of brush to avoid. This makes for a nice mix of holes where you have to hit a specific line and holes where you can get a little creative. A couple of holes bring water into play for some nice risk/reward decisions.

I enjoyed the mix of left and right turning holes, and felt like I had to shape a lot of different lines. Many of the wooded holes were shorter and called for a putter, but the more open holes had several longer shots where you get to pull out a driver. Many baskets were creatively placed, tucked into trees or brush in a way that makes you really think on your upshot. There are good concrete tees on all the holes, and basic signage with distance and hole layout. The layout is easy to follow, and there is clear signage on where to play the added 6 holes.
Cons: The baskets are old and in pretty rough shape. Many are bent and most are quite rusty. They don't catch as well any more. The tee signs are really basic, and don't always have enough info to keep you from having to walk ahead and check out the hole anyway. Many are vandalized and a few are broken or missing.

I like brushy rough that makes you pay for missing the fairway, but the thorns hiding in the rough here are pretty brutal, I guess that's even more motivation to hit your lines. The hole across the swampy pond doesn't really have a bailout option for newer players, I like to see a way for everyone to play the hole rather than having to skip it. Some areas of the course get a little repetitive with several of the same kind of shot in a row.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course and definitely worth a stop if you're in the area. I enjoyed the mix of park style and wooded holes, and would stop here again if I were passing through. Beginners might find the rough a little punishing, but the wooded holes aren't too long and the open holes won't get you in trouble for most errant drives. More experienced players won't really be tested here, but there are some fun shots and you have to be pretty accurate to score well.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Raccoon Ambush

2-4    7/25/2010   9/11/2010
Review By: bigronbowski
Played: 39  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.5 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Easy to follow. Scenic. Great campground.
Cons: You can definitely lose disks here.
Other Thoughts: Great course and campground. Visit my facebook page for more pics: Ronald C. Horton, bigronbowski@hotmail.com. Very friendly raccoons will approach you on course. It happened both times I played here.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  fun course

1    6/10/2010   6/13/2010
Review By: rogermoto
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Every hole is unique, and fairly forgiving for beginners. There is not too much distance between holes and they are easy to find. Every hole has a paved T pad. When you play this course you will use a variety of drive styles.
Cons: Played the course after some rain and it was incredibly muddy. Seemed to hold a lot of water throughout the course. The basket's are in pretty bad shape and some of the maps on the signs were misleading.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a great course. Cost five bucks a car to get into the park but was well worth it. I will definitely travel the 20 minutes to play this course again.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.