St. Joseph, MO
Missouri Western Share
Uploaded By: lammogn Hole #1 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 217ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

5+    5/22/2013   5/22/2013
Review By: dylanagibson
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun course. The front 9 is a good mix of technical shots and the back 9 is where you can show off your arm.
Hole 1, 2, 3, 12, and 16 are all fun holes to me. 1 and 3 are good holes to try your forehand throw because the right bend at each. 12 and 16 are downhill and if you get a good drive you can shoot under par.
Cons: Grass tee pads, especially for hole 11 because it's on a small, steep hill below a tree. You have to throw really low to avoid it and you have to watch your footing or you're falling down the hill.
Hole 17 is up hill and always seems to be against the wind could have been moved up 100-200 feet and it would still be the most difficult hole on the course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Needs better signage

5+    1/1/2013   1/13/2013
Review By: a.sorensen
Played: 13  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 1.7 Years
This review was updated on 3/15/2013
Pros: - good variety of long/short & wooded/open holes
- 18 unique holes
Cons: - difficult to navigate (signage on holes displays hole # only)
- only one set of tees
- no tee pads, just a small concrete marker
Other Thoughts: Hole 17 is really tough when the wind is in your face. It is long and uphill.

Missouri Western

5+    7/24/2012   7/24/2012
Review By: Rastaman
Played: 47  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2 Years
This review was updated on 9/4/2012
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The course is now an 18 hole course!
-Two sides of the course with each helping a different style of player ex. technical then big arm
-The back 9 baskets are brand new dga's
-All 18 baskets have bright red number markers
-I love holes 12 and 16 both medium to long rhbh with both baskets being under trees makes a long drive have to be accurate instead of grip and rip.
-No baskets are really in the wide open except 13 and 18, each has the basket guarded... I like!
Cons: -The teepads are natural and they need work. Some are not level and have tree roots growing through them. The back nine tees are not worn in yet
-11 and 18's tees dont make sense... behind trees
-The gravel on top of 8's hill is disc destroying territory.
-Lack of signage and visible tee markers
-Not one trashcan
-Single chained baskets sometimes spit the discs out, not the case on the back
Other Thoughts: The course is on a dry campus so becareful drinking on the course. If the teepads were concrete and it had signage this would be a really good course.With the new 9 hopefully the University will add the little things to improve the course ex. trashcans and signs, maybe even just level the old natural pads. Watch your discs to the right of holes 1-4, it is a huge ditch with a creek at the bottom but to get to the creek you must pass through a jungle. Also to the left of 10-12 is really thick so watch rhbh.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Simple...too simple

1    9/21/2010   9/21/2010
Review By: Hamilton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 6.1 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Tees are marked even if a little difficult to find. Baskets are all there, although not marked per hole. The kiosk at the beginning of the course has faded ink that, if you can read it, gives a decent idea of the layout of the course. There is decent use of existing trees to force some non-straight routes.

There is parking near the course, although it says it is permit parking, and playing it at 5pm on a Tuesday probably gave little risk of getting in trouble.

There is also a port-o-john near the kiosk.

The layout is average, and very short. Hole 3 plays around a right turn and down a hill and was a decent challenge, although I overdrove it with my wizard. The others are somewhat bland, with the exception of Hole 8, at almost 500 feet, up over a hill, and you have to watch out for construction equipment on the right.

Fun to play for a quick round, but sadly, there are no "memorable" holes for me.
Cons: VERY basic. The layout is mostly flat with a couple holes utilizing some elevation change. I was able to drive all but 3 holes with my putter, it was so short.

Baskets are passable, and look to be DGA, but are single chain, and the tops seemed a little loose. They were kind of sketchy at catching a putt that had any zip on it.

There basically NO tees. There are numbered stones in the ground for a tee marker, but are not exactly easy to find. There are NO next tee signs, none of the baskets have hole numbers on them. The map on the kiosk requires a CSI magic light to be able to read, although I was able to gather enough off of it to play the course.
Other Thoughts: My rating of a 1.5 is a reflection on the course being there an complete, but otherwise of no challenge or more than basic fun to play. Length plays a great role in this as I don't like to be able to drive a putter to the pin on 2/3 of the holes.

If you are in the area, stop by, but by no means should you go out of your way, unless you have a beginner to introduce to the sport like I did.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Easter Fun

1    4/12/2009   4/13/2009
Review By: upa14er
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It was in a nice, wooded hilly portion of the campus. It had some nice navigating through the trees. A few interesting holes and the ability to switch up and play different tee to hole combinations, although I found the creek bed that way.
Cons: In one spot where a long drive was needed, you had to go around a fence for the football field. Any errant throw, and you have no way of retrieving your disc. Also, there were concrete benches near each basket, creating yet another obstacle to getting to the hole. The length is nowhere near 4200ft. I would guess no more than 2400, and that's a stretch.
Other Thoughts: If you live or have relatives in St Joe, it's worth a visit, but not worth the drive for out-of-towners.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.