Layout Extinct

Knoxville, TN 
Morningside Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #12
3 / 332ft.   3 / 351ft.   3 / 409ft.   -- / 475ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee: Long downhill with OB path at left, deep shule on right



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Holes good, all else bad

1    7/23/2009   2/6/2011
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18 Years
This review was updated on 3/16/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This 18 hole course is fairly spread out in a city park that is pretty much just a disc golf course and paved walking trail. The design from hole to hole is the strength here offering a lot of variety- with varying degrees of open to wooded, moderate elevation including baskets on side hills, as well as many other unique challenges using the features of the park, both natural and man-made. I enjoyed the fact that each hole was unique.

The course supposedly offers four sets of tees per hole, and if you played here often and knew where to find them this would keep the course interesting for many rounds. A lot of the different tees drastically change the look of the hole.
Cons: This course is older and shows its age. It has been neglected and many of the baskets are in rough shape. Navigation is difficult and can be frustrating. (We had trouble finding several holes and spent a lot of time searching for any tee and we had to ask other players a couple of times if they knew, but they were just as lost as us!) There are 4 sets of tees per hole, but good luck finding them. We were doing good to find one tee and we ended up just playing each hole from the first tee we could find. The tees are inconsistent- combination of concrete, sidewalks, dirt, carpet, etc. adding to the difficulty of finding tees because you don't know what to look for.

The park itself is located in a not-so-nice looking part of town. You have to park on the street which made me a little uncomfortable to leave my car. The course was littered with trash everywhere, large boxes, carpet, and a lot of clothes giving the appearance that many other "activities" happen here after dark.
Other Thoughts: A couple of tips: 1) print a map and/or get a local DGer to show you around 2) spotters are recommended on holes #2 and #4 for sure 3) the last few holes are actually across the street.

This could be an excellent course, as the holes themselves are pretty good, but it needs some major work (some of the other reviews say that improvements are in the works, and I hope so.) The area looked shady and so did some of the people we met, but everyone we saw kept to themselves and those we talked to were nice and we did not have any problems.

Knoxville as a whole for disc golf would rank in TN below the Nashville, Memphis, and Bristol areas in my opinion. OK if you are passing through, but don't make it a priority destination.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Fun Short Course full of Birdies

1    5/19/2010   5/24/2010
Review By: DGAggie
Played: 108  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Fun course with several short tight ally shots. A good mix of flicks and back hands. Two tees a red and a blue. There are numerous birdie opportunities on this precision course. Given the space the course was designed well.
Cons: Poor tee signs; the reds are difficult to find on each hole. Also no concrete or well marked tee pads. The course is very short and does not allow for any real bomb shots.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course to practice your precision mid-range shots.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Could be great

1    5/9/2009   1/30/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 761  Exp: 12.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is on a piece of property that seems mostly devoted to disc golf, with great hills and a nice mix of open areas with scattered trees, and more densely wooded areas. The course takes advantage of this variety with lots of hill shots, with some great basket placements on hillsides or among boulders to add some fun risk factor to putting. There is a really nice mix of holes where you can rip it a little, and ones where you really need to hit a line to stay out of brush or keep from ending up way down a hill.

There is a nice variety of hole shapes, with multiple lines required to score well, especially from the tougher tees. It felt pretty balanced between right and left turning holes, with a few straight shots thrown in too.

There are (supposedly) four tees on every hole, and the ones we found added another level of variety to the course. Many offered totally different looks at the hole from different tees, so you wouldn't get bored playing here often. The couple local players we met were really quite nice and helpful, and were more than happy to help us navigate the course. Despite other reviews, we felt entirely safe in the neighborhood and on the course, and when we had trouble finding the beginning of the course there were some neighborhood kids who pointed us in the right direction.
Cons: The navigation on this course is nearly impossible without local guides or a map (or both). We had a hard time finding tees at all on many holes, and ended up playing a mix of red, white and blue tees for time's sake. It's also often difficult to find the next hole often, especially when the course crosses the street into another part of the park.

The course is poorly maintained, with rusty baskets, run down tees, and no real signage. On top of this, the park is a complete mess, with trash everywhere including broken glass around many baskets and tees.

The holes across the street didn't flow well with the rest of the course, and had a totally different feel. They weren't bad holes, but they were in a more heavily used park with lots of foot traffic on the walking path that came into play on nearly every hole.
Other Thoughts: This course has a huge amount of potential. The design is solid, with some really nice holes. If some work was put into cleaning up the park and marking the course so that the tee pads were visible, this would easily be a 4 disc course. As it stands, this course is still worth playing if you have a map, or preferably a guide, and if you don't mind doing some exploring to figure out the course.

Beginners will find this course a little tough, though there are short tees that help with that. More experienced players will have a lot of fun negotiating the various challenges this course presents.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 What could have been.

5+    8/4/2009   9/11/2009
Review By: glax
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 19.1 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Like everyone has said, this course is well layed out and alot of fun to play. Back in the late 90's the back nine was destroyed to make way for road construction. It has never been the same.
Cons: Very shady area of town, this place has been a crime zone for years. Don't hang around after dark!
Other Thoughts: Worth playing but, I can't help and think back to the good old days.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.