Layout Extinct

Knoxville, TN 
Morningside Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #6
3 / 223ft.   3 / 259ft.   3 / 320ft.   -- / 360ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Basket



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 A Round at Morningside

1    3/12/2011   3/12/2011
Review By: rpitt08
Played: 95  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 15.7 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A nice enough park not too far frowm downtown Knoxville. A few holes were difficult to find including the tee for hole 2. Many of the tees are indicated by spray paint (red or white) on the asphalt paths. Most of the blue tees have clearly marked tee boxes. Nice varied of shots and is fairly beginner friendly. Longer tees are more challenging. Nice elevation changes.
Cons: Tees need to be clearly marked.
Other Thoughts: Overall a nice play. A little on the boring side but try to find the long tees to challenge yourself.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Quick round in a city park

1    12/31/2010   1/2/2011
Review By: johnnyfoodstamp
Played: 25  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 4.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Creative use of the land provided. I especially liked the rock soldiers guarding the basket on Hole 7. Multiple tee pads on every hole (easy)white/blue/red/orange(hard). Friendly local disc golfers. Very effective use of mandos and OB to increase the variety of shots required to score well. Mixture of concrete/natural tee pads. Every single piece of elevation was used effectively. Not many amenities but I did see a nice playground for the kids around the Hole 17/18 area.
Cons: Navigation was hard in spots. Some of the baskets were very old and single chained. Anyone in the park not playing disc golf looked very seedy. Some holes had no tee pad, just a marker in the ground or a line on some sidewalk, which did make mud an issue.
Other Thoughts: A short walk down the trail from 9 to 10 was hard to spot through the leaves. Crossing the street for Hole 14 would have had me scratching my head as well without the help of a local. We followed a couple the whole time so navigation really wasn't an issue. Also, a twitchy dude with a big scrape over his eye asked asked me what the fastest way out of the park was on Hole 6. He told me a long winded story about getting in a fight at the apartment complex nearby. He seemed nice enough... Anyways, I enjoyed playing through the blue tees. They were just enough to be challenging for the mid-level player. I look forward to coming back to play the orange tees, which in most cases drastically changed the way each hole played.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good course, if you'll work for it.

1    4/25/2010   5/1/2010
Review By: AlexAuB
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Interesting terrain with some truly memorable holes (almost all on the front nine).

Insane variety in tee placements - there are four tees on almost every hole, provided you can find them. White is a must-deuce on every hole, Blue is manageable, Red is very difficult but fair, and Orange is just plain crazy.

Secluded and used almost exclusively for disc golf. That said, this course is CROWDED if you play at a peak time.
Cons: Almost impossible to navigate without the help of a map or, better yet, a local. Some tees are extremely difficult to find.

Only one poured concrete tee. The rest are either natural or lines spray-painted on sidewalks.

The only parking is on Hazen St. which, in addition to putting your car at some risk from drives on #1 and #14, leaves your car in a fairly suspect area of town.

Zero signage, trash cans, bathrooms...any sort of amenities.

Baskets haven't been changed since the course was installed in the early 80's. Gives the course some character, but they can spit out some questionable putts.
Other Thoughts: It seems like the cons heavily outweigh the pros when reading reviews, but they tend to leave out the most important part - this course is just plain fun to play, mostly because of its personality. Winding through steep elevation changes and some impressive trees, throwing to ancient and weathered baskets, it's a different breed of disc golf than what you'll get at a course like Victor Ashe.

I live roughly equal distances between this course and Victor Ashe, and although the latter is better-maintained, stocked with amenities, and in all respects a pro-caliber course, I'll play here instead 9 times out of 10. It's just more fun.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Could be a great course

1    7/10/2009   7/15/2009
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 108  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/20/2009
28 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Great variety in distances, good mix of left, right, and straight shots, very creative basket placements (trees, rocks, etc around basket adding challenge, multiple tee pads on each hole
Cons: street parking only, very dirty, no tee signs, very hard to navigate, no trash cans on course(have to go off the course and use the ones in the park), no bathrooms, tee pads vary and are very hard to find all of them
Other Thoughts: First I want to say that this course has all the makings of a great course 3.5 - 4 discs. The layout and obstacles on the course are amazing. Hole #7, for instance, the basket is surrounded by huge boulders, adding a lot of character and challenge to this course. The tee pads leave a lot to be desired, but if it weren't for all of the other cons this wouldn't be an issue at all, I have definitely seen and played on worse. The real issue with this course is the maintenance. I don't think I have ever seen a dirtier and down right disgusting course out of the 45 that I have now played. There was broken glass surrounding almost every basket, as if people had been using them as bottle catchers instead of using them to catch discs. The amount of other trash was also amazing to me. Beer bottles, diapers, and used contraceptives were the abundance of the trash. We also found about six shotguns shells laying around the basket for #10. All of this was a real shame because the course itself is amazing and if taken care of properly could be amazing.

When you come into the park you will pass the park sign on the right, and continue just past it, you will see the sign for the course, and the tee for #1 on your right. You can park along the street hear the tee for one.

The course has four tees for each hole, but they can be very hard to locate. We played from the blue tees, some of which are nice concrete tees, others were spray painted lines on blacktop walkways throughout the park. The best advice I have is to print the map if you are a first timer. There is not one at the course, and its almost impossible to find all of the tees without it, many of them as I said before are painted lines on blacktop, so you can't see them from any distance.

The shots on this course are amazing, there is a very good mix of left to right as well as wooded and open holes. They also did an amazing job of using the elevation changes that they had to add more challenge to the course.

I would want everyone to get out and play this course at least once, but there are some things I would be prepared for and some things that I just wouldn't do. If you are going to get out and play this one, I would leave the kids at home, with all of the trash and broken glass its not a great place for them. I had my dog with me and was worried for him because of the amount of broken glass that was around, we just tried to keep him in the grass, and away from the baskets, it seems the blacktop and baskets were the main targets for the bottles. I would also recommend playing with someone or a couple people you know. Like I said the course itself plays great, if you can deal with the cons, we did and it wasn't horrible, than get out and give this one a try.

Update: After some discussion in the forums and some thinking I decided to change my rating a bit. Someone had asked me were the litter problems really enough to give it a two disc rating? After some thinking I decided that while the litter was bad, the course itself played really well, probably a 4 disc course without the litter and other maintenance issues. There were some navigation issues, but there is map online, so I guess I should have printed it out and it would have been a lot easier. So anyway what I did was take my original score, 2 discs which was based more on the upkeep, and the score of 4 discs which the course play gets and used the average. Sorry for the rant, but I do think this course deserves to get played a my original rating might deter some people from giving it a chance.

28 of 35 people found this review helpful.

 Playin' the 'side

5+    11/29/2008   1/28/2009
Review By: DiscChainBasket18
Played: 78  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 10.2 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great variety of shots. Good mixture of up & downhill, lefts, rights & some straight shots. Nice park setting, green grass & mature trees. Multiple tee placements. Moderate elevation changes.
Cons: It's not on the best side of town. Trash scattered about. Some tee pads hard to find. Minimal tee signs & next-T markers. No bathrooms.
Other Thoughts: Being one of the older courses in the country this place has a lot of charm. Funds are in place for upgrades to the park in the very near future.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Morningside

2-4    11/28/2008   11/28/2008
Review By: warren1086
Played: 19  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/19/2011
9 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Some good elevation changes and this course will make you use all the discs in your bag and all the shots you know. Good variety of wooded and open holes. I think the elevation changes made this course pretty challenging, hole 12 was probably the best hole in my opinion. Locals were nice and showed me and friends where to go.
Cons: This park is pretty old so the baskets and tee pads were pretty worn. A map is definitely need to navigate through this course, with no map or local good luck cause there is no way to know where to go. My friends and I played a couple of the wrong holes on accident due to no maps or signs. Some trash cans but people didn't seem to like to use them. As there was everything from bum beds to shoes to sweat shirts throughout the course. Not located in a good neighborhood so be careful.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad course but could definitely use some refurbishing due to the years or wear and tear. I would much rather play at Victor Ashe Park which is only 5 or so miles down the road.

9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

7/4/2008   7/11/2008
Review By: Shank
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Pretty good design on all of the holes.

Good mix of distance via multiple tee pads.

Plenty of elevation changes and trees.

Some trash cans.

They do some double tournaments on wed.

Not that busy of a park most of the time. You can get in a peaceful game here. Good place to hit if you want to practice.

Just fun to play.

Cons: Hard if not impossible to find all the tees without a guide or map.

Mixed tees: some concrete, some grass, some asphault...etc..

No signs or distance markers.

No bathrooms. (Some what understandable considering the area)

Trash and beer cans scattered throughout.

Not a great neighborhood. Never feared for my safety but play it safe. Lock doors, leave cash in car....etc...just don't ask for trouble.
Other Thoughts: Hole 2# is a disc eater. Have a spotter. I have a collection of over 15 disc I have found on this hole.

Get a map if you are a fist timer. You can print them off of Knoxville disc golf website.


7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.