Layout Extinct

Knoxville, TN 
Morningside Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #2
3 / 160ft.   3 / 221ft.   3 / 260ft.   -- / 314ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee: Plays through thick woods to a very hidden basket



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 A good mix of things

5+    8/3/2011   8/3/2011
Review By: m34tba11
Played: 25  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great mix of hole types..you have tight narrow tunnels; wide open long shots; sweeping doglegs it's a good mix of stuff for someone who is driving in the high 200s. If you are more advanced or just can throw the heck of the disc throw Reds for more of a challenge.

#2 and #6 are great holes for finding discs :D

Cons: Trashy
The shady characters dont really bother you, (if you dont bother them/believe in stereotypes).

hole #7 blue tee pad SUCKS after a hard rain.
city needs to mow more often..throw a disc w/ razor blades on some holes to help mow the grass.

Some teepads could use some TLC
Other Thoughts: Great use of space. I really dislike Victor Ashe b/c the space is underutilized. They could easily expand to 27 (individual) holes in the existing space that's being used and still run double pins on a few. Morning side is nice and close to downtown and gives you a lot of different obstacles to contend with.

If you are from out of town hit up Pluto Sports #1(downtown) for good course maps and info

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Morningside Park

5+    11/22/2009   11/26/2009
Review By: b_rad44
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good mixture of long open shots and technical woody shots, fairly well kept, easy access, good elevation changes
Cons: poor take-offs, confusing hole lay-out for 1st timers, sketchy neighborhood (though most of the neighbors seem really nice)
Other Thoughts: This is my most visited and favorite disc golf course and I frequent it. It is in the early process of a redesign with parking and a more practical hole layout being the main changes. neighborhood kids from the surrounding low-income housing have caused trouble in late afternoons so I would recommend going with a friend, though it is usually throwing rocks and such at the worst.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Just Needs Some TLC

2-4    9/5/2009   9/5/2009
Review By: nicemeup
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a really fun course with a good mix of technical shots and opportunities to let it rip. With lots of elevation changes and a few mandos, no two holes are alike. There's a wide open meadow surrounded by 15-18 that makes a nice driving range for pregame warmups.
Cons: The layout is a little tricky and signage is bad to nonexistent. You have to look out for colored metal poles that designate the teeboxes on some holes, spraypainted rocks or lines on the sidewalk on others. As other reviews mention, there is a little bit of a litter issue, and sometimes you'll encounter some transients. They keep to themselves, but just be aware that they're there. Hole #2 is a pretty easy place to lose a disc in the woods.
Other Thoughts: Overall this course is a lot of fun. Your best bet is to play it with someone who's been there before so you can find your way around.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 B+ for Bery Bery Nice Urban Course

5+    10/23/2006   6/7/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.4 Years
4 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: This review is based on playing the red tees (not the longest ones since they were not defined when I last played it).

What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == B
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == A-
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == A-
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == C+
5) Bonus points for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == N/A
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (125 18-hole, 64 9-hole as of mid 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I can add anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

4 of 16 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.