Disc Golf Store

Layout Extinct

Knoxville, TN 
Morningside Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #17
3 / 203ft.   3 / 239ft.   3 / 307ft.   -- / 519ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee: Long alley shot with mando trees along the edge & OB path to right



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Playin' the 'side

5+    11/29/2008   1/28/2009
Review By: DiscChainBasket18
Played: 78  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 10.3 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great variety of shots. Good mixture of up & downhill, lefts, rights & some straight shots. Nice park setting, green grass & mature trees. Multiple tee placements. Moderate elevation changes.
Cons: It's not on the best side of town. Trash scattered about. Some tee pads hard to find. Minimal tee signs & next-T markers. No bathrooms.
Other Thoughts: Being one of the older courses in the country this place has a lot of charm. Funds are in place for upgrades to the park in the very near future.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Ho-hum

1    12/27/2008   1/23/2009
Review By: Cerealman
Played: 44  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.1 Years
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Several challenging holes and a decent variety.

Cons: Very difficult to locate tees even with map.

"Tees" are barely marked, sometimes with a colored stick or paint stripe on the sidewalk.

Disc baskets are ancient.

Tons of mud on several holes (#2, #12) due to recent weather.
Other Thoughts: While the course might be set in a questionable neighborhood, the people seemed friendly.

The course layout is decent and offers a hearty walk. But there was little about this course that makes me want to visit it again.

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  old scool gem

5+    11/29/2008   11/29/2008
Review By: knoxfrzb
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: mulitple tees, huge variety , old trees, elevation changes, close to downtown
Cons: locals course with no signage, old baskets
Other Thoughts: if you only like to crush it , then go to Victor Ashe park instead...but if you want to play a course that embodies the game, find a local and play this one

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Morningside

2-4    11/28/2008   11/28/2008
Review By: warren1086
Played: 19  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/19/2011
9 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Some good elevation changes and this course will make you use all the discs in your bag and all the shots you know. Good variety of wooded and open holes. I think the elevation changes made this course pretty challenging, hole 12 was probably the best hole in my opinion. Locals were nice and showed me and friends where to go.
Cons: This park is pretty old so the baskets and tee pads were pretty worn. A map is definitely need to navigate through this course, with no map or local good luck cause there is no way to know where to go. My friends and I played a couple of the wrong holes on accident due to no maps or signs. Some trash cans but people didn't seem to like to use them. As there was everything from bum beds to shoes to sweat shirts throughout the course. Not located in a good neighborhood so be careful.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad course but could definitely use some refurbishing due to the years or wear and tear. I would much rather play at Victor Ashe Park which is only 5 or so miles down the road.

9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

7/4/2008   7/11/2008
Review By: Shank
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Pretty good design on all of the holes.

Good mix of distance via multiple tee pads.

Plenty of elevation changes and trees.

Some trash cans.

They do some double tournaments on wed.

Not that busy of a park most of the time. You can get in a peaceful game here. Good place to hit if you want to practice.

Just fun to play.

Cons: Hard if not impossible to find all the tees without a guide or map.

Mixed tees: some concrete, some grass, some asphault...etc..

No signs or distance markers.

No bathrooms. (Some what understandable considering the area)

Trash and beer cans scattered throughout.

Not a great neighborhood. Never feared for my safety but play it safe. Lock doors, leave cash in car....etc...just don't ask for trouble.
Other Thoughts: Hole 2# is a disc eater. Have a spotter. I have a collection of over 15 disc I have found on this hole.

Get a map if you are a fist timer. You can print them off of Knoxville disc golf website.


7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  

7/7/2008   7/7/2008
Review By: TheOrcMan
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great mix of holes. Lots of aceable and non-aceable holes. You will use many of the disc in your bag. Some holes are in the forest; some have little to no trees. The course is quite hilly, which makes for a unique challenge.
Cons: It's in a strange neighborhood, but all the people who live around the course are actually really nice. The course could also use clear tee pads and a map, but I think they're working on it.
Other Thoughts: I can't believe I'm the first to review this course. It's by far the best course in the Knoxville area.

4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.