Morristown, TN
Morristown Kiwanis DGC Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18   (Taken 12/2008)
Next tee direction signs (only on one hole)



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Very Fun

1    4/6/2014   4/6/2014
Review By: lammersk
Played: 11  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 0.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course takes some technical skill to play, but it isn't ridiculously hard. It's just a lot of fun. You're going to hit some trees, but generally there isn't a lot of underbrush, so you won't be searching forever or climbing through brambles to get your disc. You'll vary which disc you use. Some pins you'll use the one which flies straight, on others there's enough room to use your distance disc, and then you'll need the one which you can get to break at just the right distance to match a hook in the fairway (the Buzzz for me). While this course isn't hard enough to scare beginners away it is definitely one that you need to play a few times to really get a handle on.
Cons: Minor: The Pits: A number of pins played around big pits in the ground. It would have taken a very bad throw to have a disc land in there, but I've made plenty of very bad throws before. While I'm pretty sure I could have gotten down there to retrieve the disc, I'm not sure I'd make it back up. Consider it the equivalent of a water hazard.

Minor: A number of the pins felt short. This didn't bother me terribly since the short ones always seemed to have some skill required to play.
Other Thoughts: I made a trip to Morristown to play Cherokee Park, the Rotary course, and the Kiwanis course. This was the best of the three, hands down. If I lived closer to it I would work it into my regularly played courses with Winged Deer and Warrior's Path, although it's not quite at their level.

I suspect that I will every so often be making the trip to Morristown to play Kiwanis and Cherokee Park in tandem. Playing the two of them will make the hour+ trip worth it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nice short wooded course

1    7/28/2012   8/1/2012
Review By: byebyebirdie
Played: 27  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice short 18 hole course on an neat landscape. Beautiful rock formations and sink holes bordered by a mix of cedar and old oak forest. Most of the fairways are well defined unlike some comparable technical/wooded courses. Has a nice mix of pin placements that require a variety of shots. Amateurs will love this course because you don't need a strong arm to have fun. More advanced players will appreciate the challenge of the technical shots required.
Cons: Not many cons to mention. If you're the player that enjoys a course with long open fairways ('grip & rip'), this is probably not the course for you. Even though there is good signage some of the holes require you to walk a good ways down the fairway to locate the basket (this is to be expected). Restrooms on site but were locked when we played (not sure if this is the case every weekend)
Other Thoughts: Overall a nice course designed by H.B. Clark. The landscape of the course really is something to appreciate. If you're the player that enjoys the challenge of a short wooded course then you can't miss this one. If you like longer more open fairways make sure to visit H.B.'s other course: Cherokee Park--which is not too far away.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Morristown: home of the white rocks

1    5/20/2012   5/29/2012
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 148  Reviewed: 144  Exp: 9.9 Years
This review was updated on 11/1/2013
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Morristown Kiwanis is a unique course to say the least. The course can be summed up by three things: trees, valleys and rocks. If you avoid those, you'll be in good shape.
- Very interesting piece of land. Looking at the online pictures, I always envisioned this course to be in a hilly, more mountainous region. Nope. You pull into the parking lot, and it looks like a regular, run-of-the-mill park with no visible elevation. You walk to hole #1, and you feel like you've crossed over into somewhere else.
- Due in part to the terrain, there are some very interesting hole layouts here. There aren't any overly difficult or long holes on the course, rather a bunch of solid to above average holes.
- This course belongs to the dog(legs). On the front nine alone, #2, 3, 4, 6, 7 & 8 are doglegs. On one hand it gives you plenty of practice, on the other, it can get old pretty quickly.
- The other major obstacle the course uses is heavy tree coverage. The four hole stretch of #9 - 12 are on the extreme end of being challenging, teetering on the edge of being unfair. #11, especially might have too much luck factor in it. At least it's a short hole, so If you hit a tree, you should still have a good chance to salvage par.
- The course places all of its emphasis on accuracy. Only six holes are longer than 300 feet, the longest is the downhill 333 foot #8, so if you can control your shots, you will be seeing a lot of birdie putts. The front nine generally is a little more open with wider fairways than the back nine. So, you better get your birdies early because they're a lot harder to get on the back nine.
- Very good tee signs and tee pads. Course also has a great flow to it, with short walks between holes. As a first-time player, I had printed out a map, but never needed it. The only slightly confusing part would be the quagmire where the tees for #8 & 13 are right next to each other, so if you can't/don't read the signs, you could easily go from #7 to 13 without noticing it. Also, the front nine and back nine both wind up back at the parking lot, so you can start on either #1 or 10, or only play nine holes if desired.
- The rock formations are pretty cool. On some holes they take up a big chunk of the fairway, so be careful about scraping up your discs. Also, a couple of the valleys are pretty cool. There's a huge hole on the right side of #7, which might be 20 feet deep. My tee shot landed on a rock ledge in this hole, which is about 50 - 75 feet from the basket, and I was below ground throwing my second shot.
Cons: The biggest issue I noticed here is that the course is very repetitive. The trees, valleys and rocks can be a good thing, but it also gets very redundant by the time you're on the back nine.
- The lack of variety goes beyond the terrain. The hole lengths are all between 200 and 333 feet, with an average length of 270. Throw in the amount of doglegs, and yes, you do feel like you're throwing the same shot the whole time.
- There could be some safety concerns with all the rocks. The walk downhill on #9 is kind of steep and rock-laden, and the only aid you have is a rope. It doesn't seem like that's enough of a precaution to prevent injuries. All, the rocks appear like they could be very slick when the course is wet. There should be better signage in some of the valleys/holes, especially the deep hole I mentioned above on #7.
- On the Sunday afternoon I played this course, there were three groups of people using the course as a walking trail. There is also a walking path that comes into play on some holes on the back nine, so be alert to that.
Other Thoughts: Seeing this piece of land, one thought came to my mind. I could just see the Parks & Rec department trying to decide what to do with this piece of land, seeing the potential safety concerns (we can't have walkers/kids on here, they'll get hurt), and deciding to put a disc golf on the land (DGers don't care, they'll play anywhere). So, yes, even though you're right in the middle of the park, you're almost isolated from everyone else.
- The repetitiveness of the course is a definite love/hate aspect of the course. A little more variety would have made the course even better. By hole #15, I was wishing for something different. At least you end with a tight, rock-free hole on #18.
- I could see this course appealing to beginners to experienced players. Newcomers and regular players will like the challenge. Pros, on the other hand, will probably have a field day.
- Unique courses always are appealing to me. It's part of the draw that will bring players back for more.
- This is a solid course within the Knoxville area. If you've only got time for one or two courses in the area, there are better ones to play. If you live in the area, or have the time, you'll like the variety this course has to offer.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/17/2010   2/11/2011
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 228  Reviewed: 224  Exp: 17.7 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is a very well-designed 18-hole course. The holes are mostly wooded with rocky terrain that will test the technical aspects of your game. There is also elevation incorporated on several holes, as well as a couple of large sink holes you have to avoid. The nice concrete tee pads, informative color signs, and baskets are all in excellent shape. All the holes are interesting, non-repetitive, and flow well from one to the next with easy navigation. There are a couple of very memorable holes here- #5 over the large brush-filled sink hole and #9 straight across a steep rocky ravine.
Cons: Many parts of the course are on ugly land, but this is not the courses fault, that is just what was given. There are power lines running through a clearing in the middle of it. There is a lot of red clay here, which is a special kind of mud if you play here when it is wet- very thick, hard to get off your shoes, and gets on everything else like your pants, socks, car seats, etc.
Other Thoughts: Overall the average hole length is 270', not real long, but not a pitch and putt either. Long distance throwers may get bored, but this a great place to work on the technical side of your game. It is also a fantastic course for players of all skill levels as it will challenge, but not destroy you. There are many birdie opportunities here for everyone, but there are plenty of trees on most holes that can deflect your disc into a bogey as well.

I have played here a couple of times and really enjoy it. It is nice for a fun, leisurely round whenever I am here. It is close to scenic Cherokee Lake if you are looking for something else to do while here like swimming, fishing, boating, camping, etc. It is also not too far from the I-81 and the only good 18-hole course for miles.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 unique course

5+    4/2/2010   2/2/2011
Review By: stitt32009
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.9 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: good mix of holes left and right. like that the course demands accuracy and different types of shots to get close to basket. love the tee pads
Cons: can get muddy. course doesn't offer much distance or any grip it and rip it holes, but well built with the amount of land available
Other Thoughts: funny story...on hole 6 or 7 i think (dogleg right) some how i hit a tree off to the right and ended up at the bottom of the entrace to a cave

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.