Morristown, TN 
Morristown Kiwanis DGC Share
Uploaded By: Baysinger Hole #6 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 270ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee Sign



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Love is little course

1    4/10/2010   4/11/2010
Review By: DGphanatic
Played: 15  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.9 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Tight technical holes that really test your accuracy. I really like that I can play the 18 in under an hour b/c of the great course design. I dont have a BFG arm so its nice to be able to have multiple ace chances. Elevation change is real nice. My wife liked it too, so if you have a girlfriend or wife that plays, this might be the course for the two of you.
Cons: I can say that it does not have a lot of grip and rip shots but I dont have a big gun arm so... I didnt mind.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 It will keep you honest

1    3/16/2010   3/16/2010
Review By: slmcdonald21
Played: 22  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good Technical Course. The cedar trees are gorgeous. A few ace run holes are always fun. GPS took me right the the parking lot to hole one. Good signage and easy to find the next basket. There were trash cans at every tee pad and benches everywhere. Very well maintained.
Cons: It was pretty muddy when I played. I kept having to scrape mud off my boots. There were some construction areas that are eyesores now, but will be nice. I wish there were at least one long open hole to get a good rip on a disc.
Other Thoughts: Great course to visit while traveling through town.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Kiwanis/Morristown

1    2/20/2010   2/21/2010
Review By: rpitt08
Played: 95  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 16 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Definitely a must play. Shorter so you don't have to have a cannon arm to play the course. You can shoot a good score but the trees make it challenging. I swore I'd shoot even or better but I didn't. Nice elevation changes and nice mix of left, right and straight shots. Very well marked! Even has bricks with arrows pointing to the direction to the next tee at many of the baskets. Great baskets. No water. GPS gets you right to the park with no problem.
Cons: Just to fine-tooth knit-pick, devils-advocate style... Course is short. On some holes, like 18 on the left side leaves can get kind of high and you can loose your disc under them if you are not careful or are unlucky.
Other Thoughts: Play it! It's awesome! I'd love to take this one home with me.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A- = Almost As Good As It Gets

1    8/22/2009   9/19/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 368  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.6 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 18 hole courses:

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == B+
(Around half of the holes will make you pay for errant drives off the T. Only a few holes make you think any strategy though.)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == A-
(Other than a few holes that seem like unrewarding deuces, this course sets up great for a player of my length and skill)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == A
(This is the strength of this course. Lots of very interesting and challenging shaped holes. I particularly liked several holes that forced you to turn to soon forcing crazy/risky hyzer-flips and the like to get in putting range for a deuce. Good use is made of the limited terrain.)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == B-
(This course has a unique feel with lots of exposed rocks and bedrock, sink holes, and lots of cedars. Unfortunately, it has a really scruffy feel.....not so beautiful. You do feel nice and secluded in some areas, but a power line interrupts that on a lot of the interior holes.

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == N/A
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (149 18-hole, 91 9-hole as of late 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet

1    7/19/2009   7/19/2009
Review By: tnbruisers
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Course is very easy to navagate. Nice tee signs. Nice long, wide tee pads. Course was very clean. Nice technical course.
Cons: The only thing I could think of would be a couple of longer holes.
Other Thoughts: The course was designed by HB Clark. I will visit again.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Well Done

1    7/10/2009   7/15/2009
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 111  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 11.8 Years
This review was updated on 5/26/2011
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Beautiful and Clean Course
Many Shot Types Required
Large Concrete Tee Pads (Some of the best I have seen.)
Great Layout
Baskets Are in Great Shape
Very Clean Restrooms
Concession Stand w/Discs On-Site
Pratice Basket
Large Map Near Hole 1
Amazing Terrain
Cons:
No Long "Bomber" Holes
Other Thoughts:
We played this course as part of a weekend road trip to the Smokey Mountains. We were staying in the Gatlinburg/Pigeon Forge area so this course was a few minutes out of the way, but we were very glad that we made the little trip out to this course. It's located in a fairly decent sized city park and is very well-maintained. There is a concession stand and bathrooms, which were very clean, beside the parking lot. The park also has a couple of baseball diamonds and a playground, but the course is pretty secluded and other park users are not an issue.

Right from hole 1 you can see the type of course that this is going to be. It is mostly short, very technical shots, and even good shots can turn bad. While some people may find this very frustrating, it can really be an equalizer if you a beginner playing with a more advance player or vice versa. The terrain is pretty unique, dirt and what I think was limestone covering the ground. This can make for some bad skips, but in my opinion adds wonderful challenge and beauty to the course. The course plays through the woods and the only really open hole is 5, this is also one of the holes were you actually stand a chance to lose a disc, the other hole being 7. Both holes play around a very large sink hole in the only open area on the course, and if you go in, you most likely aren't coming back out, so throw with caution on these two holes.

One of the best things about this course is the ease at which you can navigate it. The designers must have really taken the time to make sure each tee was located within a fair proximity to the previous basket, so that you know exactly where to go next. As first timers we had no questions or issues navigating the course and no map was necessary, even though it is available.

Another great feature are the tee signs. They were very detailed and informative. The show you exactly where the basket is located as well as the direction of the next tee. There are also trashcans throughout, which seem to be used by everyone that plays because there was no litter on the course, I thought this was one of the best things about the course, the locals here must be very respectful and do a great job with the upkeep. One more thing that makes it extremely easy to navigate is the designers placed markers throughout, some on trees and some actually in the ground by the basket, pointing in the direction of the next tee.

The designers obviously knew what they were doing and in my opinion did an amazing job. Other designers, and anyone thinking of putting in a course should play here and take some ideas from this one. The tee signs and markings leading you to the next hole were a great touch and would be great on any course. Anyone in the area should make the short drive out to play this one. It can be great fun for everyone and the course itself would just make a wonderful hike through the woods. The course is pretty short and some may want longer holes, but they did great for the area they had to work with. Wear comfortable shoes with good traction, and remember to keep it as clean as it is when you get there.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 2nd ACE on 1st Game!

2-4    6/13/2009   6/13/2009
Review By: splatbaseball51
Played: 82  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 5.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is an excellent mix of technical right, left and straight shots through thin woods. The signs were very informative and navigation issues were the last thing i had to worry about. Seems to be a nice club going on there too as it turns out my playing time ran into their bi-montly singles match (which i participated in). This course is will be great with a little time if some specific things are fixed. Not a real big chance of loosing a disc.
Cons: Not as many open holes and also not as many elevation changes as i would like. To make this course excellent and in the four range it needs some longer shots as well as one or two more open holes. Not many memorable holes.
Other Thoughts: My 1st time playing this course i hit an ace on hole 16 with a champion beast with a little flick action. One of the only holes im sure to remember from this course as the years pass.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Wooden Leg

1    4/10/2009   4/12/2009
Review By: swatso
Played: 370  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Long, flat concrete teepads. Excellent signs at each tee, showing distance to basket, best flight path, location of next tee.

The next teepads were relatively close to the previous basket, and the flow was so natural, even a first-time visitor could probably get by without a map (and there is a map available online).

Wooded course, but minimal chance to lose a disc, due to lack of underbrush.

Two nine-hole loops. Practice basket. Large map at start.

Favourite hole #12: About 200' across open space, then subtle right turn after going through an opening through the trees into a small clearing.
Cons:
Not much - Single teepad/basket.
Other Thoughts:
Wooded course with very fair and defined throwing paths. Excellent mixture - about 1/3rd straight, 2/3rd doglegs, half of those to the right, half to the left. The sharpness of the turns also varied - some fairly sharp about halfway through the flight, others more subtle but closer to the basket. No overly guarded nor overly open basket locations - an excellent blend of features.

Holes range in distance from just under 200' to 333', with an average of ~265'.

About ten minutes from I81.

If you find yourself at a fork after entering the "park", with a business to your right, soccer fields ahead, and a large gravel parking lot to your left, you're 1/2 mile too far north. Go find the main parking lot, or park here, and start at #15.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good Appalachain Disc Golf

2-4    7/10/2007   2/3/2009
Review By: ThrowTennesseeDCM
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 8.7 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very technical, well maintained, good flow, Nice signs, some challenging and fun holes.
Cons: only a few big ripping drives. shorter course. sink holes, caves and such.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course. A good mix of shots, and a lot of fun.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Cristmas in Mo-Town

1    12/26/2008   12/28/2008
Review By: DiscChainBasket18
Played: 90  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 10.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Clean well laid out 18 hole course. Easy navagation. New Discatchers, tee signs & huge concrete pads. Beautiful trees & rock formations throughout. Practice basket next to new kids playground area. New trash cans everywhere. Next tee direction markers. Paved parking with large course map sign at entrance.
Cons: No benches. There are a couple sink holes on hole #7. One is filled with water. One is debri filled. These should be filled in with dirt or cleaned out. They could use a couple alternate pin & pad placements. There is a cave on hole #13. It could use a safety fence guarding the top to keep people from walking over the edge by mistake.
Other Thoughts: Loved the course. Will hit it again soon!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.