Morristown, TN 
Morristown Kiwanis DGC Share
Uploaded By: Baysinger Hole #9 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 220ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee Sign



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Morristown technical short course

5+    6/11/2012   6/18/2012
Review By: doctorgrainger
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.3 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Playability:
-great course for beginners and intermediate
-great layout and easy to follow
-a nice balance of straight and dogleg throws
-sinkholes add a nice potential psych-out
-defined fairways

Upkeep
-Great Signage post for everyhole
-Trash cans almost on everyhole
-Random benches
-Clean bathrooms
-Drink vending machines in parking lot
-pins are moved around
Cons: Playability
-mud on 5&7
-hole 9 has "a rope" to help you go down & up
-no grip & rip holes
-one bad shot will make you pay; trees or sinkhole
-random powerlines in middle of course
-no secondary tees
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a great and fun course to play. I highly recommend it if you are in the knoxville/bristol area. It is a nice balanced short technical course. The pros outweigh the cons byfar. The signature hole to me would be 9.

Random fun-
I like to change up the hole numbers to have an outside and inside set. Outside: 3,4,5,6,14,15,16,17,18. Inside 10,11,12,13,7,8,9,1,2.
Some holes can be linked well for additional fun.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Morristown: home of the white rocks

1    5/20/2012   5/29/2012
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 173  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/1/2013
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Morristown Kiwanis is a unique course to say the least. The course can be summed up by three things: trees, valleys and rocks. If you avoid those, you'll be in good shape.
- Very interesting piece of land. Looking at the online pictures, I always envisioned this course to be in a hilly, more mountainous region. Nope. You pull into the parking lot, and it looks like a regular, run-of-the-mill park with no visible elevation. You walk to hole #1, and you feel like you've crossed over into somewhere else.
- Due in part to the terrain, there are some very interesting hole layouts here. There aren't any overly difficult or long holes on the course, rather a bunch of solid to above average holes.
- This course belongs to the dog(legs). On the front nine alone, #2, 3, 4, 6, 7 & 8 are doglegs. On one hand it gives you plenty of practice, on the other, it can get old pretty quickly.
- The other major obstacle the course uses is heavy tree coverage. The four hole stretch of #9 - 12 are on the extreme end of being challenging, teetering on the edge of being unfair. #11, especially might have too much luck factor in it. At least it's a short hole, so If you hit a tree, you should still have a good chance to salvage par.
- The course places all of its emphasis on accuracy. Only six holes are longer than 300 feet, the longest is the downhill 333 foot #8, so if you can control your shots, you will be seeing a lot of birdie putts. The front nine generally is a little more open with wider fairways than the back nine. So, you better get your birdies early because they're a lot harder to get on the back nine.
- Very good tee signs and tee pads. Course also has a great flow to it, with short walks between holes. As a first-time player, I had printed out a map, but never needed it. The only slightly confusing part would be the quagmire where the tees for #8 & 13 are right next to each other, so if you can't/don't read the signs, you could easily go from #7 to 13 without noticing it. Also, the front nine and back nine both wind up back at the parking lot, so you can start on either #1 or 10, or only play nine holes if desired.
- The rock formations are pretty cool. On some holes they take up a big chunk of the fairway, so be careful about scraping up your discs. Also, a couple of the valleys are pretty cool. There's a huge hole on the right side of #7, which might be 20 feet deep. My tee shot landed on a rock ledge in this hole, which is about 50 - 75 feet from the basket, and I was below ground throwing my second shot.
Cons: The biggest issue I noticed here is that the course is very repetitive. The trees, valleys and rocks can be a good thing, but it also gets very redundant by the time you're on the back nine.
- The lack of variety goes beyond the terrain. The hole lengths are all between 200 and 333 feet, with an average length of 270. Throw in the amount of doglegs, and yes, you do feel like you're throwing the same shot the whole time.
- There could be some safety concerns with all the rocks. The walk downhill on #9 is kind of steep and rock-laden, and the only aid you have is a rope. It doesn't seem like that's enough of a precaution to prevent injuries. All, the rocks appear like they could be very slick when the course is wet. There should be better signage in some of the valleys/holes, especially the deep hole I mentioned above on #7.
- On the Sunday afternoon I played this course, there were three groups of people using the course as a walking trail. There is also a walking path that comes into play on some holes on the back nine, so be alert to that.
Other Thoughts: Seeing this piece of land, one thought came to my mind. I could just see the Parks & Rec department trying to decide what to do with this piece of land, seeing the potential safety concerns (we can't have walkers/kids on here, they'll get hurt), and deciding to put a disc golf on the land (DGers don't care, they'll play anywhere). So, yes, even though you're right in the middle of the park, you're almost isolated from everyone else.
- The repetitiveness of the course is a definite love/hate aspect of the course. A little more variety would have made the course even better. By hole #15, I was wishing for something different. At least you end with a tight, rock-free hole on #18.
- I could see this course appealing to beginners to experienced players. Newcomers and regular players will like the challenge. Pros, on the other hand, will probably have a field day.
- Unique courses always are appealing to me. It's part of the draw that will bring players back for more.
- This is a solid course within the Knoxville area. If you've only got time for one or two courses in the area, there are better ones to play. If you live in the area, or have the time, you'll like the variety this course has to offer.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Morristown Kiwanis

2-4    4/30/2011   1/28/2012
Review By: 3OrangeWhips
Played: 96  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 5.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- One of the most unique pieces of land you will ever find for a disc golf course
- Very hilly with lots of rocky outcroppings; like playing on the surface of the moon
- Giant concrete tee pads, great signage and like-new DISCatchers on every hole
- Excellent course flow keeps disc golfers away from other park users with a few exceptions
- Tightly wooded requiring a variety of technical shots
- Lots of elevation and plenty of turns that demand the ability to throw a hyzer/anhyzer
- The sinkholes scattered about make you choose your shots wisely
- Fun and challenging for all levels of players
- Nice clean community park with clean restrooms and ample parking near hole #1
Cons:
- Stay out of the sinkholes--a bad throw into one probably means a lost disc
- The orange clay gets real slimy/sticky and is hard to avoid when it is wet
- Some of the steeper areas appear a little dangerous--use caution when tracking down an errant disc
- Be aware of walkers/joggers where the course plays near the trail
- Anyone looking for long boomer holes will not find any at this course
Other Thoughts: I have played this course two times when visiting the Knoxville area and had a blast both times. It's hard to explain the rocky terrain and the photos don't really do justice. In person, the smooth white stone surface with all of its small craters really does look like the surface of the moon. The fairways are challenging but fair, and there is no shule to contend with if you uncork a bad throw. Do be careful when throwing around the sinkholes, since they are usually filled with water or brush that makes disc retrieval problematic at best and not worth it most of the time. You will rarely be making a straight throw at this course; most of the holes require the ability to throw hyzers and anhyzers, sometimes sharp ones. There is a good variety of uphill/downhill throws and even a few where you are going across a ravine. The park overall is clean and well maintained. Although Morristown is about 30 mile drive from Knoxville, the side trip is well worth it if you are in the area.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/16/2011   10/16/2011
Review By: DBdiscgolf
Played: 12  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First off this is without a doubt the most well kept up course I have played. The woods were thick but the rough was just right. Pretty technical course. Holes were fun and not frusterating. Many holes had a TON of rocks in the fairway, which was both scenic and it made your lie challenging in some situations. Trash cans at almost every hole. The course is not too crowded. Best holes were: 6,9,12,15, and 18.
Cons: The type of holes got a little repetitive. Too many SHORT wooded holes, and not enough long holes. The course could have a lot more distance and difficulty. As a very average player I scored 3 under par. Numbers 4 and 14 seemed like filler holes.
Other Thoughts: Very fun course in the sense that it was not frusterating at all. You need to watch your footing because there is a lot of uneven and rock covered ground. If no one is around, we found out that you can throw off of the back of #8's tee to #15's basket for a fun extra hole.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/17/2010   2/11/2011
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18.2 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is a very well-designed 18-hole course. The holes are mostly wooded with rocky terrain that will test the technical aspects of your game. There is also elevation incorporated on several holes, as well as a couple of large sink holes you have to avoid. The nice concrete tee pads, informative color signs, and baskets are all in excellent shape. All the holes are interesting, non-repetitive, and flow well from one to the next with easy navigation. There are a couple of very memorable holes here- #5 over the large brush-filled sink hole and #9 straight across a steep rocky ravine.
Cons: Many parts of the course are on ugly land, but this is not the courses fault, that is just what was given. There are power lines running through a clearing in the middle of it. There is a lot of red clay here, which is a special kind of mud if you play here when it is wet- very thick, hard to get off your shoes, and gets on everything else like your pants, socks, car seats, etc.
Other Thoughts: Overall the average hole length is 270', not real long, but not a pitch and putt either. Long distance throwers may get bored, but this a great place to work on the technical side of your game. It is also a fantastic course for players of all skill levels as it will challenge, but not destroy you. There are many birdie opportunities here for everyone, but there are plenty of trees on most holes that can deflect your disc into a bogey as well.

I have played here a couple of times and really enjoy it. It is nice for a fun, leisurely round whenever I am here. It is close to scenic Cherokee Lake if you are looking for something else to do while here like swimming, fishing, boating, camping, etc. It is also not too far from the I-81 and the only good 18-hole course for miles.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 unique course

5+    4/2/2010   2/2/2011
Review By: stitt32009
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: good mix of holes left and right. like that the course demands accuracy and different types of shots to get close to basket. love the tee pads
Cons: can get muddy. course doesn't offer much distance or any grip it and rip it holes, but well built with the amount of land available
Other Thoughts: funny story...on hole 6 or 7 i think (dogleg right) some how i hit a tree off to the right and ended up at the bottom of the entrace to a cave

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Got Accuracy?

1    10/23/2010   10/23/2010
Review By: curveball4
Played: 31  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Big tees, well marked, short walks between most holes. Awesome layout, holes go left, right, a few straight, rewarded for accuracy & not arm strength. Played on a Saturday morning & only saw 3-4 other people the whole day. Great scenery, VERY clean, lots of trash cans & benches. Very fun to play, you get to use every shot in your bag & probably invent some new ones!
Cons: If you like long holes you're out of luck, most are less than 350'. There would definitely be a lot of mud if it rains.
Other Thoughts: This is a great technical course. That being said it is very fair. I killed more than my share of trees but still had chances at par with good approach shots, playing everything as a par 3. But accurate drives will lead to good birdie chances. This course is a good 30 minute drive for me but definitely worth it & I recommend it to anybody in the M-town/Knoxville area

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

2-4    8/3/2010   8/22/2010
Review By: gcanter2376
Played: 34  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Great variety of holes. Some technical, good use of elevation changes and wooded areas.
-Good course signage. Very easy to navigate.
-Beautiful park.
-
Cons: Only con I can think of is when it rains it turns into a mud bog.
Other Thoughts: Great course. Love playing it. Its challenging enough for skilled players and friendly enough for beginners.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Rockin' and Rollin'

2-4    5/31/2010   6/2/2010
Review By: maynes35
Played: 25  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 4.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a gorgeous course. I loved the huge rocks throughout the course. Being from SC, I'm not used to seeing that and it really added a fun new view for me. All concrete tee boxes, and they were all large. Great hole lay out signs at each tee box. This was a huge plus for me. Even if you weren't totally sure where the basket was, you had a good idea on the first time through. I liked the holes they played as par 4's as they required skilled shots to get in position. Baskets were all in great shape. Some holes had arrows under the basket when it wasn't obvious where to go next. Lots of elevation change. Good variety of holes; left and right, kind of short and kind of long. The upkeep was wonderful, I saw almost no trash or littering on the course. They have a nice practice basket set up at the front, with a big sign showing the course layout and distances... and there were even scorecards! Hole 1 and Hole 10 are both at the front so you can start on either side (there was a huge group on 1 so we went to 10 instead).
Cons: I can't think of any real "Cons" at all. Anything named here is just to put something in the section. No water fountain (although I always bring a bottle or water). No really long holes that I can recall. Huge pits here and there, but I never was in them so I didn't care.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite courses, and I'll play it every single time I'm in the area. I wasn't sure whether to give it a 4.5 or not. My wife convinced me that the lack of long holes and that it seemed to favor dogleg right holes should stop it from being that high. So my score is somewhere between a 4 or a 4.5

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Course of dreams...and a few nightmares

5+    4/29/2010   5/1/2010
Review By: odimus prime
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course, amazing mix of open and technical shots; little margin for error as each shot sets up the difficulty and number of trees involved in the next. Great curving shots and plenty of opportunities to test your skills at the sport.
Cons: Can be a miserable experience if it has rained recently; puddles stay for a long time. The only unsettling part of the course is the two "pits of despair" in a large gaping hole in the middle of the #7 fairway, and the cave to the right of the #12 tee.
Other Thoughts: Overall a great course. My friends and I play it quite often and it is usually a great experience.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.