Disc Golf Store
New Haven, IN 
Moser Park Share
Uploaded By: discflinger Hole #8
3 / 125ft.   3 / 205ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Short Tee



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
better options in the area

1    8/30/2013   9/1/2013
Review By: smoothie
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Its a disc golf course
In a wooded setting
Cons: completely overgrown with weeds and poison ivy. not well marked, hard to play with the amount of trees and brush in the way
Other Thoughts: We left after 9 holes and went to another course where we were told its basically a winter course

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Never play in the Summer!!!

2-4    7/15/2011   7/17/2011
Review By: yoshi_jockey
Played: 23  Reviewed: 3
Pros: I am rating this "reasonable" simply because of the enjoyment you can have playing this course in the FALL or SPRING; however, this is NOT a course to play in the summer.

Tight shots force you to work on your accuracy. Shorter lengths make this course less daunting for newer players.
Cons: A few of the long tees are ridiculous shots in which you would have to hit about a five foot gap multiple times.

Undergrowth in summer can make it difficult to find even the best shots, leading to frustration

Hole 5 is a gimmicky shot with a raised basket, maybe 6-7 feet off the ground. Although, it is only a 150 foot (ish) shot, so that is its only defense
Other Thoughts: This is the worst course I would ever conceive if played in the summer! There are not just mosquitoes, there are mosquitoes hyped up on steroids who have come to destroy all that lingers within their forest. They are so numerous, operating in a herd-like seek & destroy fashion, that you end up throwing your disk as fast as you possibly can, simply to move away from the black cloud that is the mosquito infestation. Then, once you have successfully thrown your disc, you are faced with the nearly impossible task of locating it among the dense undergrowth, thick greenery, and water hazards, where, again, you are being attacked by mosquitoes the whole time!!

 A Perfect compliment to the other Ft. Wayne Courses

1    7/4/2011   7/8/2011
Review By: Matthew boals
Played: 189  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 20.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Terrain-Thick Woods,short and technical with water,when there. Three Elavated Baskets,one natural,two man-made. One with a 6' center pole!? First time I've ever played a hole like that. All baskets are in great shape and catch well. 2 or 3 different styles DGA? & Spiderweb? Signage; All tees have signs with basic information.....hole number,par,distance. Color coated Directional signs painted yellow for short tees and black long tees. They are 3' tall post throughout the wooded area of the course. A TRUE TEST of anyone's short technical game! On a few holes the "Fairway" is so tight I thought about throwing my mini for my drive,just for fun.
Cons: The Terrian-Built on a flood plain. Recent Flooding has large Logs and branches throughout the course. Some of the Footbridges have been washed out of place. The baskets are a little hard to find,Especially for first timers. Yellow paint will go a long way. No numbers on the baskets,but being a short course it's easy to figure out.
Other Thoughts: The TItle says it all...A perfect compliment to Fort Waynes other courses. Shoaff Park being the longest and most open,and both Sweeney courses coming between Shoaff and Moser,not only in hole distance,but variety. Plenty of parking with a shelter. Timing is everything to enjoy this course. Spring time; after the leaves are in,but not after a spring storm. Fall time; before the leaves fall. Winter time; Frozen ground with no snow. Summer time; A cool and windy day with long pants and DEEP woods off! The Maintenance and up-keep on this course must be on- going,more so than any other course. To everyone involved THANK YOU! One last thing.....print a map!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 It's OK

5+    5/9/2011   5/25/2011
Review By: Zigzaggler
Played: 42  Reviewed: 14
Pros: LOTS of chances for an ace!!!!!!! A good park for short game practice !! Most holes are reachable with a putter or a mid range at most..The course is tucked away nicely so not a lot of traffic other than other huckers.
Cons: Most of the course is in low ground beside the railroad tracks making it playable on mostly dry days stray shots seem to find their way into the mass amounts of poison ivy or mystery ponds of black water from railroad run-off....so be careful!!!

 A little silly

1    10/9/2010   10/19/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 817  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 12.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays mostly through dense woods with lots of small trees and punishing brushy rough. A couple holes play a little more open, with a water hazard on the first hole.This is a course that makes you hit your lines, or you'll find lots of trouble and some high scores.

There are dual tees to offer a couple different levels of challenge, most of the long tees add length and an extra bend or two in the fairway. There is a good mix of holes with right or left curves, it's a short course but it has some different lines to hit. The layout is pretty easy to follow, with signs where multiple paths are present to follow.
Cons: The course is wooded to the point of absurdity at times. A few of the holes from the short tees, and many of them from the longs offer no real line to the hole. When a large portion of the course is poke n pray, it loses a lot of fun factor, and gets really repetitive. The course is really short, so there isn't enough length variety to really keep the holes from feeling very much the same. There are lots of mucky and wet areas in the woods.
Other Thoughts: This is a short, technical course with punishing rough and tight lines. Beginners will find it pretty punitive, and might be frustrated. More experienced players will find it too luck based, with lots of clearing needed to make real lines on many holes. The long tees are a good thought, but the execution leaves a lot to be desired. A narrow fairway that bends 3 or more times in under 200' doesn't allow for real disc flight. This isn't the course I would recommend in this area, there are more fun places to play that offer a more skill based disc golf test and have more variety.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Muddy but Unique

1    5/15/2010   5/17/2010
Review By: jammydee
Played: 46  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is one of the most unique courses I've ever played. You're literally teeing out of a pond on hole number 8, and water is everywhere. There's even an elevated hole that provides some fun ace opportunities. This course makes excellent use of trees and water.
Cons: It's very muddy. The bridges are sometimes just pieces of wood you have to cross (balance beam style), and mosquitos and poison ivy were rampant. If you aren't at a level where you're pretty sure the direction your disc goes when it leaves your hand, steer clear: you WILL lose one in the water.
Other Thoughts: Playing it safe from the short tees I didn't lose any discs, and only one of mine got wet. People knock this course for being tight and unimaginative hole-wise, but it's one that's worth playing if you like technical shots and fun ace-opportunities.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    1/25/2010   1/26/2010
Review By: Chaincrowder
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you like getting aces, this course is for you! Short tees are very beginner friendly but also teaches to throw a straight shot. Also offers a second set of tees that are A LOT tougher! par is 58 from the long tees.
Cons: Not much fun in the summer time due to all the mosquitos and poison ivy. Natural tees get muddy.
Other Thoughts: Scorecards and maps are located on the side of the building next to the sign board. My personal favorite course in our county.(Xcept in summer!!)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 It's not all luck

5+    1/14/2010   1/15/2010
Review By: supernaut
Played: 91  Reviewed: 5
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: New baskets in place of old homemade ones; Chainstars. Great course for learning to weave through trees and throwing straight shots. Only playable course in the area when snow or cold temps are around because majority is in woods. Short holes make for more ace opportunities.
Cons: Unplayable most of the year due to thick brush, poison ivy, and lots of mosquitoes. You'll spend more time looking for your disc than actually playing during the leaf months. A few holes need a tree or two cut for realistic windows.
Other Thoughts: This course is great in the winter, even with snow on the ground. The holes are short enough where concrete pads aren't necessary for good drives. Don't expect to shoot well the first time you play because many of the windows are small but definitely not impossible even though it may seem that way.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    11/28/2009   11/30/2009
Review By: bilemshious
Played: 26  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 7.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Interesting course. Uses unique landscape well - water, woods, slight elevation changes. It even has an elevated hole - the basket is about 6ft above the ground. Very technical. The course is easily navigated. There are arrow signs leading you to both the short and long tees. Requires variety of shots. Good for winter/leaf-less months. Has benches throughout the course. That certainly is appreciated. Local players at the course were exceptionally helpful (letting me play through, guiding me when I looked lost, asking if I was finding my way around).
Cons: Having no tee pads whatsoever is a real downer for this course. Since it's basically a swamp, that means that it is always wet. Everyone I was with slipped at least once either teeing off or walking to the next hole.

I normally use all 8 of my discs on a good course. I used 3 here. That includes my putter.

Most baskets are very, very old and rusted.

Shorter people would have a tough time getting their disc out of the elevated basket. Maybe provide some stairs?

Most holes seem unimagined and uncreative. This course leans so heavily on it's trees to make the course difficult and interesting without taking into consideration how impossible it is to throw through a solid tree. I love courses through woods - trees spice things up from those open, boring holes/courses. But this was just downright frustrating.
Other Thoughts: Being a very technical, tight course, this is not for the beginner. Don't even think about it. Go to Shoaff Park in Fort Wayne if you are looking to learn.

A favorite hole is #14. You throw from an elevated tee through a slightly open area, over a stream and to a sort of island green.

I'm glad I played this course without leaves on the trees. I can only imagine how absurdly difficult this course can be in the summer and fall.

I would not say that this course should be avoided necessarily. But there are certainly better courses in the area to choose over this one.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/13/2009   6/14/2009
Review By: danhyzer
Played: 1205  Reviewed: 87  Exp: 26.7 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well marked, Alternate tee positions, basket (#12) located on a island surrounded by a swamp. good dormat season course to play.
Cons: fairways as wide a a foot, over grown in the warmer months, strange looking baskets, some of them very rusty. hand made bridges that weren't stable and we're only 8 inches wide, course built in a swamp, thus lots of mosquito's, # 3 faiway adjacent to a very active train track
Other Thoughts: I'd suggest using only one disc in the warmer weather months (so if you lose it you wouldn't feel as bad as if you lost more on this course). #18 basket well was atleast 6 feet tall. If your a short player, find a stick.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.