Grand Prairie, TX 
Mountain Creek Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #5 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 172ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Not bad for practice/beginners

5+    3/1/2014   3/8/2014
Review By: Tiffanyfox2009
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Baskets are in good shape
-Not a lot of heavy traffic with other players
-Safe Neighborhood
Cons: -Missing one basket
-No clear path direction
-Few tees but not enough for the baskets present
-Baskets not clearly numbered
-Walking path through most throwing zones
Other Thoughts: For a safari course, this is pretty average. Besides missing the one basket, the course is in good condition. No real fear of losing discs unless you throw WAY off the mark and make it to the lake!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

not as bad as I expected

1    7/6/2013   7/7/2013
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 207  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 7.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -nice, fairly clean park
-the baskets are in decent condition, a few a missing a couple chains
-the park has elevation, a pond, a fair amount of trees around 7-9, and a great view of the lake
-potential to play some really cool safari layouts
Cons: -basket 2 is missing
-no tee pads, not even worn dirt near tee areas
-pedestrian paths throughout, well-used by walkers and joggers
-obviously, navigation can be a problem
Other Thoughts: This is actually a pretty nice park and with a defined layout it could be a really fun 9 holer. As it is, it is a passable course with some decent looks if you play from basket to basket, or just look around for a fun place to tee off from after the last basket.

If you park on the south side of the park at the end of Lakeview Dr, basket 1 is the closest one just past the playground area. Hole 2 used to throw down the hill from there to a basket in the open field but now it is gone. Just turn to the right and shoot towards basket 3. The remainder of the course plays around the edge of the park, counterclockwise.

Holes 7 through 9 have a number of trees in play and can be pretty challenging depending on from where you tee off. A small pond is located in the middle of the park and could easily be brought into play if you make up your own layout.

This place is not worth going out of your way to play but it is not as bad as the rating would imply. Definitely a worthy place to practice if you live nearby or somewhere an adventurous group can go to play safari golf, especially if the other courses around town are crowded.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Make up your own course here.

2-4    4/20/2013   4/22/2013
Review By: UFOWTF
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wind Practice. Empty of golfers. Endless amount of possibilities. Lake Views. Military helicopters flying over.
Cons: No tees man. Not even worn path in the grass. Some woman laid a blanket down when I was trying to throw from #4 to #6 so I just turned and started throwing from some basket to some other basket. No problem ladies I don't have any tees anyway I don't know what I am doing.
Other Thoughts: We each are an architect of our own reality. A group or disc golf gang could easily turn this park into an awesome 9holes. They are numbered so you can figure something out for sure. I will go here again cause I liked to throw next to the lake without fear of losing discs.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Such Potential

1    6/1/2012   6/6/2012
Review By: Discengineer
Played: 65  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very good baskets, clean park that is well maintained, Great View of Mountain View Lake.
Cons: Some baskets are missing chains, No Tee Boxes, No Layout or Map.
Other Thoughts: Is a very nice park that could be very good but has not marked course layout and just random baskets out about.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not too good

1    10/22/2011   10/25/2011
Review By: Bmar04
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 12.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Practically no one there at the park. There is a very large open area there if you need a place to practice some long range throws, this would be the place for that. If you want to practice throwing in high wind, this is def the place for that too. View of of Mountain Creek Lake is okay.
Cons: There are no signs or distinct worn areas for tees. Have to pretty much make up your own course out of 9 baskets. Lots of broken beer bottles all over the park, it is in a pretty crap neighborhood. One basket had chains missing also.
Other Thoughts: I won't go back, I was just close to the area and went to check it out. I would only go there if you are setting some goal for yourself to play every course in Dallas or if you live near to the park.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 What an experience

1    11/6/2010   11/8/2010
Review By: emook
Played: 46  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great wind practice
Cons: Not a very great neighborhood
Lots of people wondering around
some baskets have no chains
no direction really mapped out
no signs
No tee pads
Other Thoughts: If it wasn't for someone on here posting how to play the course I wouldn't have had a clue how to navigate the place.

All you really need to know about this course is just look out low on my list of cons that tee pads and signs are. I honestly don't think this course is worth a play

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Mountain Creek Rundown!!!

1    8/16/2010   8/17/2010
Review By: TxDiscGolfBoy
Played: 34  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 8.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice view of lake and nice park
-Great course for roller and/ wind practice and accuracy.
-Well groomed
-Nice long shots
-Terrain is small trees and big sloping hills
-Nice cool breeze off the lake on warm days
Cons: -No pads....not even designated dirt pads
-Numerous baskets with missing chains...#2's basket actually had 2...2 CHAINS!!!
-Walking trails all throughout could lead to park traffic and human obsitcals.
-Extremely Hot in warm weather.
Other Thoughts: This course needs some work. Pads, signs, chains....the works.

They have enough room for what could be an 18, it just seems as though they didn't make great use of the land. Maybe their budget was to small.

All tees are played from the previous pin. (Tee #1 is #9's basket, #2 pad is #1's basket, etc)

Might have to walk around a bit to find your starting point, if you haven't been here.

If you're close, yeah, stop by. If you're more than 15 min. away, don't hesitate on not going.

Course was pretty weak overall, but with the right amount of effort and work, it could be a really nice little course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 What a waste!!

1    7/25/2010   7/25/2010
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.2 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: What an absolute waste! The park is amazing and the views of the lake are great as well making you get your hopes up for just enough time to break your heart. The park is taken care of very well for having no trashcans and for the traffic that is around here. There are baskets here and that is really about it.
Cons: The traffic is super heavy! The baskets are in poor shape and as said before there are no teepads. Watch out for dog poo.
Other Thoughts: I have never heard good things about this course and that is the reason I have never gone down here, the only reason I did today is I was super early for a round at Turner. I pulled into the parking lot and thought, "man it doesnt look bad at all, and just the park itself makes it look great.", then I got out and realized why I have hear no good things. I am really surprised they havent pulled it yet for someone getting hit and/ or no play. Safari golf is all this is good for and that is even a stretch. There are far better courses around here so dont waste your time!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 All Pins/No Tees

2-4    10/5/2009   10/5/2009
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.5 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is located in a beautiful park with a view of the lake. #5 has a great pin placement if you played it from basket #4. Hole #8 was a fun-tough tee shot if playing it from the right of #7 basket.
Cons: There are no tee pads. Some of the chains are missing from the baskets. There are many walking paths around this park with many walkers, even on weekdays in the middle of the day. There were no "on the course" trashcans or bathrooms.
Other Thoughts: I played this course and filled out the course info by playing on the right side of the previous basket to the next basket. This made for some good length hill and offered some unusual lines. The fun factor was nil. I won't be going back unless it is to enjoy some of the walking paths. Don't get me wrong; it is great that they put a course in this park and neighborhood. However, without a real starting point for each hole, a disc golf course, it does not make.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Backyard Course

2-4    12/6/2008   12/8/2008
Review By: gsw_03
Played: 76  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 14.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Baskets are nicer than those in most of the courses in the area. Very little danger of losing discs. Good roller terrain. Relatively safe neighborhood.
Cons: No tee boxes nor tee marker indications, making hole layout possibilities endless. Few natural hazards (trees, water, etc). Can get windy off the lake. Not much land to work with.
Other Thoughts: Would be worth practicing at if it were in my backyard. Considering there are several far superior courses within the same driving radius, I doubt I'll ever be back. It's a shame the locals (of which I found no evidence on the course) haven't made something of this course, as it could be a pretty decent little 9-hole.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.