Grand Prairie, TX 
Mountain Creek Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #3 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 360ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
what could of been

1    10/17/2014   10/18/2014
Review By: texhop58
Played: 52  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 12.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This review is pretty simple because there is not much to talk about-Its an average course.

*great layout kind of. Since you are playing the tee as if its right of previous basket, the course is actually put together well
*nice clean park-mowed well
*Great lake view over Dallas
*couple of park lots
*good use of tree obstacles
*since no teeboxes, safari golf is an easy option
*good set up for the area they were given
*great potential
Cons: *No teeboxes- not even a worn piece of grass by teeboxes
*no tee signs
*no course map
-honestly these above is what kills this course
*people have started taking chains from basket
*missing basket
*walking path through course- was not very active though when i was there. It probably comes into play 4 or 5 times on this 9, i mean 8 hole course)
*would of liked to seen a few holes moved closer to water just to add the element in

Other Thoughts: This course could get a 2.5 to 3 for a 9 hole course, if it just had something missing for guiding. Maps, Teeboxes, signs, painted arrows on trees, Anything. The course design and set up plays better then the 1.5 i gave it, But since you really have no clue where you are going, where you are throwing, It gets bumped down. With a little TLC, this course would be a nice little 9. I truely hate giving this course this score, but under the current playing conditions, it is what it is.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

not as bad as I expected

1    7/6/2013   7/7/2013
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 214  Reviewed: 164  Exp: 7.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -nice, fairly clean park
-the baskets are in decent condition, a few a missing a couple chains
-the park has elevation, a pond, a fair amount of trees around 7-9, and a great view of the lake
-potential to play some really cool safari layouts
Cons: -basket 2 is missing
-no tee pads, not even worn dirt near tee areas
-pedestrian paths throughout, well-used by walkers and joggers
-obviously, navigation can be a problem
Other Thoughts: This is actually a pretty nice park and with a defined layout it could be a really fun 9 holer. As it is, it is a passable course with some decent looks if you play from basket to basket, or just look around for a fun place to tee off from after the last basket.

If you park on the south side of the park at the end of Lakeview Dr, basket 1 is the closest one just past the playground area. Hole 2 used to throw down the hill from there to a basket in the open field but now it is gone. Just turn to the right and shoot towards basket 3. The remainder of the course plays around the edge of the park, counterclockwise.

Holes 7 through 9 have a number of trees in play and can be pretty challenging depending on from where you tee off. A small pond is located in the middle of the park and could easily be brought into play if you make up your own layout.

This place is not worth going out of your way to play but it is not as bad as the rating would imply. Definitely a worthy place to practice if you live nearby or somewhere an adventurous group can go to play safari golf, especially if the other courses around town are crowded.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Mountain Creek Rundown!!!

1    8/16/2010   8/17/2010
Review By: TxDiscGolfBoy
Played: 34  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 8.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice view of lake and nice park
-Great course for roller and/ wind practice and accuracy.
-Well groomed
-Nice long shots
-Terrain is small trees and big sloping hills
-Nice cool breeze off the lake on warm days
Cons: -No pads....not even designated dirt pads
-Numerous baskets with missing chains...#2's basket actually had 2...2 CHAINS!!!
-Walking trails all throughout could lead to park traffic and human obsitcals.
-Extremely Hot in warm weather.
Other Thoughts: This course needs some work. Pads, signs, chains....the works.

They have enough room for what could be an 18, it just seems as though they didn't make great use of the land. Maybe their budget was to small.

All tees are played from the previous pin. (Tee #1 is #9's basket, #2 pad is #1's basket, etc)

Might have to walk around a bit to find your starting point, if you haven't been here.

If you're close, yeah, stop by. If you're more than 15 min. away, don't hesitate on not going.

Course was pretty weak overall, but with the right amount of effort and work, it could be a really nice little course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Backyard Course

2-4    12/6/2008   12/8/2008
Review By: gsw_03
Played: 76  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 14.6 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Baskets are nicer than those in most of the courses in the area. Very little danger of losing discs. Good roller terrain. Relatively safe neighborhood.
Cons: No tee boxes nor tee marker indications, making hole layout possibilities endless. Few natural hazards (trees, water, etc). Can get windy off the lake. Not much land to work with.
Other Thoughts: Would be worth practicing at if it were in my backyard. Considering there are several far superior courses within the same driving radius, I doubt I'll ever be back. It's a shame the locals (of which I found no evidence on the course) haven't made something of this course, as it could be a pretty decent little 9-hole.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center