Grand Prairie, TX 
Mountain Creek Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #1 (Taken 10/2009)
4 / 531ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Very Nice

1    6/3/2015   6/3/2015
Review By: mavsfan0434
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9
Pros: - New concrete tee pads are awesome
- Course is nicely, recently mowed
- Baskets are easy to see and high quality
Cons: - A couple of holes are hard to find after the last basket, just keep the map open on the phone
Other Thoughts: I REALLY enjoyed this course, not sure why the poor reviews. The course is perfect for beginners. It's fairly open, nowhere to really lose a disc. I can see where this could be difficult on the weekends because of pedestrians, but it's a perfect after work course on weekdays.

No mountain, no creek, just danger

1    4/7/2015   4/14/2015
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 139  Reviewed: 135  Exp: 7.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are concrete pads and real, actual baskets.

There is a pretty lake nearby.

The only other pro is that the risk of hitting someone is mitigated by the fact that you'll never want to play this course a second time.
Cons: This is one of the worst ideas for a course I've seen. I was in Central Park in NYC a few weeks ago, and this felt every bit as busy. On a Tuesday evening. The park was humming with walkers, pick up basketball games, soccer practices, dog walkers, and people just standing around conversing.

If you're going to be in a park with this many people, it's probably a good idea to be well out of the way and have pretty short holes. Nope. Most of the holes here were bombers, and other than maybe the first hole, they were plenty close to park users. I was really nervous about throwing, and eventually I stopped and just walked the holes. I know you're not supposed to review a course where you didn't play all the holes, but I assume I get a dispensation when there are 10 people in the fairway. That isn't an exaggeration.

Even if the course were empty, it wouldn't get a high mark. It's mostly open with long walks between holes and pretty uninteresting lines and throws.
Other Thoughts: Dallas is maybe the best disc golf city in the country. There are plenty of great courses. This one does not fill a niche or serve any area lacking in courses. Best case, you have a crappy option when other great courses are nearby. Worst case, someone gets hit. I've never seen a course with a greater chance of hurting a bystander. No need for this.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

fund during the week

1    3/27/2015   3/27/2015
Review By: ericb45696
Played: 38  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 26.2 Years
Pros: Some nice open long shots.
Nice view of the lake.
Nice new baskets and great new tee pads.
Easy to follow with map and probably not too hard without, I believe Jim is working on signage.
Cons: Not sure what the layout was before, but pedestrians WILL come into play on a few .
Lot's of trash when I was there.
Other Thoughts: Nice little 9 hole but I would not want to play on a weekend in good weather as the pedestrians there will have no clue and not understand your yelling "fore" or waving around at all.
It's super close to my house so I'd probably come out here to practice during the week if low on gas. Watch the ant hills around 2-4. Not flat, minor elevation but not hilly.

Nicely Refurbished

1    2/20/2015   2/20/2015
Review By: Jim Dart
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course layout has been improved by reducing the intersection of disc golfers with others in the park, and offering some new very scenic and fun holes. New Mach 5 baskets have been installed. Tee pads have been installed also.
Cons: Still only 9 holes. But, you can play the course twice. Signage is yet to come.
Other Thoughts: If land north and south of park, adjacent to the lake is made available, the course could be expanded to 18 holes.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.