St. Paul, MN 
Highland Park Share
Uploaded By: sunshay Hole #3 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 271ft.   3 / 271ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Nice for a warm up

1    9/6/2011   9/6/2011
Review By: frylock
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: ~Nice Baskets
~Easy beginner course
~Great for warming up or brushing up on your skills
Cons: ~Tee pads are just TOO short
~No signage
~No numbers on tee pads
Other Thoughts: Not a bad course if your looking to warm up before a big round. We hit this one up on our way out to Hyland. Unless your with someone who's been here before navigation can be a little confusing, but after one round through it's easy.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Recreational Nine Holer!

1    7/15/2011   7/23/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/8/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Highland Park plays in what seems to be a pretty much disc golf exclusive area of a large metro park. It's an excellent piece of land for a course with wide open expanses of rolling hills and mature trees. There are no signs but it was easy to navigate by just following the baskets to teepads. The baskets are DGA with the red numbers on top. That helped with the navigation. The pads are the large trapazoid shaped concrete ones. I like the # 4 hole the best, it's about 200' from the longs to a basket close to a fairly deep gorge to the right of the basket. Don't want to go right on this hole. This is a great little recreational course. Intermediate players should score well here but they might eventually get a little bored.
I like the old WPA building from 30's. Adds a bit of charactor to the park. I hope they can find a suitable use for it someday.
Cons: Lack of challenge for players intermediate and above. Other than that, this is just your basic little metro rec course. Enjoy it for what it is. I'd like to see add some very simple vandal proof signs or at least write some numbers on the pads.
Other Thoughts: I'm sure this course gets busy but isn't that what we're all about, promoting this game??? This is just an excellent place to introduce someone to our sport or bring your girlfriend for an enjoyable little throw. It's the perfect course for that quick little 30 minute round before work or when you're in a hurry.

I had a guy and his son stop and park his classic 1955 Chevy on the busy street next to the # 2 teepad and come over and ask me about the game. He and his son ended up throwing a few of my discs and vowing to buy some of their own and get started. I like it when the disc golf courses are visible from streets-more publicity for what we're doing out there.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Quick 9 holes of fun

1    7/10/2010   7/11/2010
Review By: Astus Vulpi
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course for beginners and warming up. very small range, and very easy to find discs.
Cons: it does have a few places that cut a bit too close to traffic for comfort, and some of the holes are absurdly easy.
Other Thoughts: I have only played this course once, but I did find it quite fun. If you are an beginner, this is a good course to start on.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable short nine

1    8/22/2009   8/22/2009
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 345  Reviewed: 342  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good chance for aces and deuces
-Nice tees and baskets.
-Easy to follow layout
-Locals are nice enough with the exception of a gang of 15 year olds hitting large sticks on trees and pulling down tree branches
-Clean and well kept, nice to look at
-Is fun for an advanced player trying to shoot a low score and is very fun for beginners because it is the appropriate amount of challenge
-Good place to teach new people the game
-Good parking and easy to find
-Very little chance to lose a disc
-A round can be played in 20-25 min if there is little traffic
Cons: -Tees could be labeled and distances would be nice too but its short enough that it doesn't matter a ton.
-Woods between 4 and 5 should be used for a few holes. Would make course more interesting.
-Not too challenging, little trees or elevation changes.
-Not a lot of distance.
Other Thoughts: Could (and should) be expanded into the area east of the disc course. Its a nice nine holer but with some holes in the woods between 4 and 5 and in that area mentioned above could be a nicer 12 or 18 holer!

Overall it is a nice course and I would recommend a quick round or two if you're in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Convenient course with potential

5+    7/26/2009   7/26/2009
Review By: jonathanwaldo
Played: 30  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Convenient location is what makes this course for me. It's definitely not challenging, but like others have said, is great for a warm up and testing new drivers. Also, it's clean and I like the character that the 1930's WPA buildings bring to the course.
Cons: I'd love it if they'd build this course out more, there's tons of room for it. I'd even be willing to pay if they added more and better holes.

Other Thoughts: I got a bounce in ace on 9 the other day... that was fun!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/1/2009   5/7/2009
Review By: kgibbs
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.5 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Good beginner course with most the holes being in clear sight and fairly short and many holes also have short tees. It's a quick play.
Cons: Relatively small course so if you're looking for long drives or more holes, this isn't it.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.