St. Paul, MN 
Highland Park Share
Uploaded By: sunshay Hole #8 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 341ft.   3 / 402ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 Next >
 Open park, old school course

1    12/21/2009   12/21/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 858  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Holes are just long enough for the average player to really make you work for your birdies. It takes a really good drive on most holes to get close enough to birdie.

2) Nice big grippy concrete teepads and are generally shovelled in winter.

3) Nice DGA baskets in very good shape especially considering the location of this course set in the heart of the metro area. I think my friend actually swung a deal to get one of the old baskets. I noticed it in his yard last year when I visited and I am pretty sure he said it was one of the old baskets from Highland.

4) Terrain is pretty nice in that it is gently rolling hills however they don't use the big elevation changes at all (and #1 is by far the hole with the biggest change from tee to basket, maybe 10-15' vertical).

5) Someone else said it in their review, and truthfully I thought I might be the first to mention it . . . but I love it when city parks leave those old building up. There is some mystique that goes with those buildings and the past stories they have been involved in. I can only imagine what happened inside of that old building back in the day. I just like to see those buildings maintained and left on site, maybe someday it could become a disc golf store!

6) Course is fairly isolated from any other activity areas which is nice. No worries about slamming a disc right into someone, except where #9 is someone who launches one that hyzers out badly could end up over near the pavilion.

7) Beginner friendly. This is a straight out course with minimal obstacles and perfect for a beginner to come out and learn the game.
Cons: 1) Because of location I can assume this course will be full all of the time. I played in winter and noone else was there, but it is in the heart of the metro area (probably closer to downtown St. Paul than any other course). This could all lead to slow rounds (again just an assumption from what other people have said and the location).

2) Map at the kiosk is a map of the whole park and all it says is "9 hole disc golf course". You would think that after 21 years in existence it would be nice to have a map of the layout of the holes, especially because I did not see any teesigns or posts or anything directing people through the course. As a traveller it might be hard to find the first tee, and the second tee is hidden behind some trees (and when I played it had also been plowed under with snow from the road). Fortunately, I had some previous tracks to follow.

3) The layout didn't use some of the best property into the design. Not sure if some of this was by direction of the city to leave the wooded areas alone, or if the designer just bypassed those areas. Since the entire course is virtually open park space with some spotty trees, some variety would have been nice.

4) #4 is one of the best 2 holes on the course in terms of challenge. It is fairly long and narrow (with the road) creeping into play ont he left. It will take a good straight shot with no skip to keep it straight at the basket. Plus if you get near the basket you have to worry about a gentle kiss off the basket or a tree that shoots you down the massive gulley on the right of the basket. A lefty drive will also risk going down the hill. There also is one side (left from the tee) that is virtually blocked by a half dozen branches from the boxelder and other trees that hang right over the basket. If you are 10' away from the basket you would think it is a guaranteed birdie, just don't throw over on the left side!

5) Sign would be helpful directing you to the next hole. #1 o #2 tee, #4 to #5 tee, and a sign that clearly stated where #8 basket was. I accidentally threw at the 9th basket because it was closer to the tee than the real 8th basket. I figured the 9th tee was just off to the side ad when I got up there I realized I had just thrown to the 9th basket instead of the 8th (further up and to the left in the corner of the property).

6) A few of the baskets (or more specifically the # plate) was facing the wrong direction. This can lead to some flow confusion when looking for the next tee and also the 8th/9th basket confuion I experienced. I know this will only be a problem once for each individual, but if you get behind people that dont know where they are going it can create a mess for everyone on the course at that time!
Other Thoughts: All in all this course is just plain. Nothing too exciting, nothing too challenging, just a nicely maintained open feel park with a selection of trees. The trees that are incorporated intot he holes do provide some obstacles and shot selection needs to be decided, but all in all there just isn't enough challenge here for me to love this course, especially considering that some of the best land for disc golf wasn't even used (for whatever reason).

For my Milwaukee readers, I would compare this course to Dineen (but much shorter). It is mostly open, some spotty trees, but just not a lot of challenge. No real hole stands out as a great hole (except maybe 5 because it is the most protected basket). 4 isn't bad because of the location of the basket but there are other issues with #4 as mentioned above.

This is just simply an average course. It has some of the amenities I come to appreciate like the teepads and nice baskets. It seems to be well manicured and taken care of and it even has a soda machine for your beverage of choice. The course doesn't present enough challenge, but it still could be a good course to bring new people. In general it flows pretty well (although signs for first timers would be nice for direction to the next tee. No teesigns or posts marking the next tee. I can't say anymore, it is just an average course.

WARNING: Please keep in mind I played this in winter. If anything I have stated is incorrect depending on season please let me know I can edit the review. I think I was accurate in my assumptions in a few places. I also cannot see the turf in the park or erosion/compaction issues because it is under 6 inches of snow, so if there are maintenance issues that I didnt comment on pleas emakeme aware of them so I can edit the review.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable short nine

1    8/22/2009   8/22/2009
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 357  Reviewed: 355  Exp: 7.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good chance for aces and deuces
-Nice tees and baskets.
-Easy to follow layout
-Locals are nice enough with the exception of a gang of 15 year olds hitting large sticks on trees and pulling down tree branches
-Clean and well kept, nice to look at
-Is fun for an advanced player trying to shoot a low score and is very fun for beginners because it is the appropriate amount of challenge
-Good place to teach new people the game
-Good parking and easy to find
-Very little chance to lose a disc
-A round can be played in 20-25 min if there is little traffic
Cons: -Tees could be labeled and distances would be nice too but its short enough that it doesn't matter a ton.
-Woods between 4 and 5 should be used for a few holes. Would make course more interesting.
-Not too challenging, little trees or elevation changes.
-Not a lot of distance.
Other Thoughts: Could (and should) be expanded into the area east of the disc course. Its a nice nine holer but with some holes in the woods between 4 and 5 and in that area mentioned above could be a nicer 12 or 18 holer!

Overall it is a nice course and I would recommend a quick round or two if you're in the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 fun, clean course

2-4    7/28/2009   7/28/2009
Review By: Mopbrothers
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: the grass is well groomed and it's easy to find your disc making this really convienent for beginners and intermediates. lots of great replay value
Cons: some of the holes (especially the last one) run right by the side of the road making it easy to hit a car parked on the side.
Other Thoughts: this course is definitely not for experts, but if you're below average like me, it's a lot of fun!

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Convenient course with potential

5+    7/26/2009   7/26/2009
Review By: jonathanwaldo
Played: 30  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Convenient location is what makes this course for me. It's definitely not challenging, but like others have said, is great for a warm up and testing new drivers. Also, it's clean and I like the character that the 1930's WPA buildings bring to the course.
Cons: I'd love it if they'd build this course out more, there's tons of room for it. I'd even be willing to pay if they added more and better holes.

Other Thoughts: I got a bounce in ace on 9 the other day... that was fun!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/14/2009   7/23/2009
Review By: krallbd
Played: 20  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very fun, relaxing course. It is a short 9 hole course with mostly open holes with an occasional tree to get in your way. Hole number two is in what used to be a community swimming pool, but all the is left is the building next to it. Still gives off a coll vibe.

The tee pads are in good condition, but slightly worn down. It is a fairly clean course. Altogether a good course to learn the game on.
Cons: Very short course. The 9 holes you have are not challenging to an experienced player. Generally is pretty busy, can lead to a backup at times. Lots of kids playing who don't know the sport and will generally become an annoyance. Hole 9 does not have a teepad, so only locals know where to tee off from.
Other Thoughts: Great for beginners, but don't expect an epic round

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/1/2009   5/7/2009
Review By: kgibbs
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.4 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Good beginner course with most the holes being in clear sight and fairly short and many holes also have short tees. It's a quick play.
Cons: Relatively small course so if you're looking for long drives or more holes, this isn't it.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/9/2008   2/9/2009
Review By: Guurn
Played: 85  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 29.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/30/2009
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Like others have said it is a great beginners course with a mostly sensible layout and good teeboxes. Baskets are in good shape and the city does pretty good maintenence on it. Good place to practice rollers which is unusual for Minn.

More of a field course with a good number of trees than a woods course. Fun and quick to play plus it is pretty easy to see everyone else on the course driving in many locations. The flow is pretty good.
Cons: No real open long holes to let one rip. Fairways, teeboxes and baskets are sometimes in the same area so bad drives could hit people. Figuring out which basket you are shooting for can be confusing towards the middle of the course. Pretty heavily used and some of the teeboxes are slippery because of it. Check the plant foot area before you drive. Roads are next to fairways in 2 locations.
Other Thoughts: The city has made a real commitment to it apparently because of the new construction they did at the same time as well as altering the road.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/8/2008   11/25/2008
Review By: Cradical
Played: 107  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 8.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice open fairways with some changes in elevation. Very good course for younger children or people who have just picked up the sport. Good for working on your driving accuracy, all but number 8 can be aced and even 8 can be aced with a killer shot. Street OB comes into play on 4, 7, and 8.
Cons: Does not supply too much of a challenge. Very little trees along with short holes make this course far too simple for anybody who has played for a few years.
Other Thoughts: There appears to be room to expand this course a little more although safety would be an issue as the open space is next to a playground as well as a picnic area.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/8/2008   9/9/2008
Review By: maeittreim
Played: 29  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great course for beginners our people looking for a quick play. Very open and no chances of loosing your disc which is a good thing for some of us. A good place to learn and develop your game.
Cons: Pretty short holes with only 2 longer holes if you modify the 9th hole. There is only 9 holes so you have to play twice if you want the full effect of 18. You would think they could have made a few more holes over by the playground but o well.
Other Thoughts: If your looking for a practice/starter course this is it.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Mini Disc Golf

7/3/2008   7/3/2008
Review By: sdwhatley
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Short, straight forward, conveniently located little course, great for testing new drivers, or getting in a warmup round before playing a tougher course
Cons: The city of St Paul severely butchered what used to be a decently fun little course with mando's and other tough shots. course is now only 9 holes that are very repetetive and very easy. All courses are doable in 2
Other Thoughts: Great location for a course if the city would just let the course be expanded. Worth playing if your up for a quick round

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.