St. Paul, MN 
Highland Park Share
Uploaded By: sunshay Hole #6 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 214ft.   3 / 248ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Nicely Extended for the NSG

1    7/11/2015   7/16/2015
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 225  Reviewed: 211  Exp: 3.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: ***Important: this review is based on having just played the Highland "Extended" 18 hole course set up for the National Senior Games on 7/11/15***

The Highland Park disc golf course (not to be confused with Hyland, also in the Twin Cities) boasts large, level, concrete tee pads on every one of its nine holes (numbers 4, 5, 6 & 8 with multiple tees), and quality DGA baskets (multiple positions on holes 1, 3, 5 & 7). It plays through a well-maintained, and low undergrowth park, using mature trees and slightly rolling elevation to pose a decent challenge for Recreational players. The permanent holes range from 173 to 402 feet in length, and require control on holes 4 (do NOT get to the right, where the steep, wooded slope, and sometimes wet conditions will ruin your day), 5 (tourney 9: left to right with some ceiling to play through), and 8 (tourney 12: don't confuse the basket out in line with the tee: your target is around left, by the HUGE tree, roadside).

The added holes (three on the other side of Edgcumbe Road, an island hole in the driveway turnaround by the shelter, two below that lot, and two out past the playground) were cleverly set up to challenge Advanced Grandmasters, yet playable from modified, shorter tees, for a couple of more 'experienced' players in their 80's.

The disc golf community is clearly supportive and broad-based, as they were able to provide a mix of donated temporary baskets from a Prodigy to a Mach X, and everything in between. There were young folks helping out with spotting for our event, which suggests that the Minneapolis - St Paul - Bloomington (etc.) clubs are there to help and would be a good place for visitors to touch base.
Cons: The fact that it's only nine holes, and the lack of big distance (or, on the flip side, even tight lines) probably deters Intermediate, Advanced and Open players from playing here too often. As it is, I doubt folks find too much of a thrill in re-playing it. If it were expanded to something like the 18 we played, that would be a really different story. I'm told that the low area after hole four can really stay muddy. It's apparently a little difficult to determine the tee area (along the walking path) for hole 9 (tourney 13). And I was a little concerned that the long basket on hole 7 (tourney 11) plays so close to the long tee on 5 (9).
Other Thoughts: As far as nine hole courses go, Highland is better than average, and the hosts and the park did a great job of getting 90% of it really well mown and freshly mulched for the big event (odd that our 17th fairway and 18th basket was in the leftover tall stuff, but I still appreciated all the rest of the effort. Historically, it was neat to see the old pool building and pump house (built by the WPA during the Great Depression) are still features of the park. One of the local players noted how cool it would be if the pool building could be remade into a 'clubhouse' for the course!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A fun, popular little coarse.

2-4    6/30/2014   7/30/2014
Review By: Barefooter
Played: 70  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well groomed park.
Fine tee pads and baskets.
Friendly locals, casual crowd.
2 miles from my Aunts house.
Cons: No tee signs,
It's a newbie crowd so sometimes they are in weird places not paying attention, so look twice.
Can get crowded quickly.
Other Thoughts: This was my daily player while visiting my wife's Aunt in St. Paul. To that end it preforms perfectly.
It plays quickly if the traffic is light. I mostly played it on weekday mornings in the summer, not too bad. I will play this coarse every time I am in town.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nothing Special

2-4    9/7/2011   9/8/2011
Review By: ElectricBoogaloo
Played: 55  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 7.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This course has wide-open fairways and no underbrush to speak of. No lost discs!

-Well worn paths lead you to the next tee immediately (except for 9).

-More than just a pitch and putt. Some holes require a big arm, or a good approach game.

-Great grass all over the course. Well mowed with no rough to speak of. This allows for nice casual barefoot rounds, which I really enjoy on a nice summer day.

-The WPA building is a pretty cool course feature.

-Nice trapezodial teepads. Run-ups aren't really necessary, but some players might find them a bit short.

-The people playing here are pretty friendly. Not the greatest players, but I've never seen a roaming pack of 6 players that slow the whole round down.

-#4 is a fun little hole. It's a short hole, but there is a large drop-off immediately to the right of the basket. It makes you think about your shot, which doesn't happen often at this course.

-This is a great course to take a beginner to. It's easy enough for learning, a beautiful city park, and you can't lose discs.

-Decent baskets
Cons: -Wide-open fairways mean little to no shot shaping is required.

-CAUTION: There must be a hornets nest in the trees on the walk from five to six. I nearly got swarmed.

-I still haven't found #9's teepad, but I usually just tee from the walking path.

-#8 can be a bit confusing at first. You can easily think that you are shooting straight ahead at #9's basket. Just remember that 8 is the long hole that follows the road turning left.

-No trash cans on any holes, but the litter wasn't too bad so it's not a big deal.
Other Thoughts: The wide-open nature of this course allows for a great opportunity to learn a disc. If a have a new disc, I often come here to learn how it flies. Much more entertaining than field practice.

This is a great course to go to if you don't have 2 hours to play a round, but it doesn't offer much for repeat players. I've only played here 3 or 4 times, but I feel like thats all I need to play here before I get totally bored with it.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice for a warm up

1    9/6/2011   9/6/2011
Review By: frylock
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: ~Nice Baskets
~Easy beginner course
~Great for warming up or brushing up on your skills
Cons: ~Tee pads are just TOO short
~No signage
~No numbers on tee pads
Other Thoughts: Not a bad course if your looking to warm up before a big round. We hit this one up on our way out to Hyland. Unless your with someone who's been here before navigation can be a little confusing, but after one round through it's easy.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good but unspectacular

5+    2/7/2012   8/19/2011
Review By: bigbeano
Played: 22  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/7/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If played as an all par 3 it is a decent length, fairways are well kept, nice bathrooms on site. A quick play for those in search of a faster round.
Cons: Extremely busy, cement tee off locations seemed to be a little bit shorter than usual, no signage.
Other Thoughts: The course was pretty well maintained. Some more experienced players would think that it's too short, but for the casual player it's okay. There is a section of woods that really only comes into play for one hole; this is a wasted opportunity to add some new elements and difficulty to the course. The tee off for hole 9 can be difficult to find as it is a painted (and badly faded) line on a pedestrian walkway, I would've never found it if I wasn't golfing with somebody who had been there before.

UPDATE: This erosion at this course around the tee pads and baskets has become quite bad. Avoid this course during the spring thaw or after rains as these areas of the course essentially become giant swamps. Several baskets will puddle up to the point where you can't finish the hole unless you're willing to get your feet wet up past your ankles. This significant problem forces me to knock the course rating down from a 3.0 to 2.5. Once this is fixed I will feel comfortable moving my rating back up to 3.0.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Recreational Nine Holer!

1    7/15/2011   7/23/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 731  Reviewed: 682  Exp: 37.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/8/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Highland Park plays in what seems to be a pretty much disc golf exclusive area of a large metro park. It's an excellent piece of land for a course with wide open expanses of rolling hills and mature trees. There are no signs but it was easy to navigate by just following the baskets to teepads. The baskets are DGA with the red numbers on top. That helped with the navigation. The pads are the large trapazoid shaped concrete ones. I like the # 4 hole the best, it's about 200' from the longs to a basket close to a fairly deep gorge to the right of the basket. Don't want to go right on this hole. This is a great little recreational course. Intermediate players should score well here but they might eventually get a little bored.
I like the old WPA building from 30's. Adds a bit of charactor to the park. I hope they can find a suitable use for it someday.
Cons: Lack of challenge for players intermediate and above. Other than that, this is just your basic little metro rec course. Enjoy it for what it is. I'd like to see add some very simple vandal proof signs or at least write some numbers on the pads.
Other Thoughts: I'm sure this course gets busy but isn't that what we're all about, promoting this game??? This is just an excellent place to introduce someone to our sport or bring your girlfriend for an enjoyable little throw. It's the perfect course for that quick little 30 minute round before work or when you're in a hurry.

I had a guy and his son stop and park his classic 1955 Chevy on the busy street next to the # 2 teepad and come over and ask me about the game. He and his son ended up throwing a few of my discs and vowing to buy some of their own and get started. I like it when the disc golf courses are visible from streets-more publicity for what we're doing out there.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/6/2010   9/6/2010
Review By: E_Rock25
Played: 75  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Easy & open. Great for beginners. Nice tee pads and well kept. Can be played in 30 min with no problem. good for working on your short game.
Cons: Short and no imaginative. This course is easy. Watch out for hoodlums on the road trying to steal you disks. I got one stolen on hole 7 and the same kids were there the next day. I got my disk back and gave them a scare maybe it wont be a problem after I talked to them.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Quick 9 holes of fun

1    7/10/2010   7/11/2010
Review By: Astus Vulpi
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course for beginners and warming up. very small range, and very easy to find discs.
Cons: it does have a few places that cut a bit too close to traffic for comfort, and some of the holes are absurdly easy.
Other Thoughts: I have only played this course once, but I did find it quite fun. If you are an beginner, this is a good course to start on.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/25/2010   4/27/2010
Review By: Rentadot
Played: 60  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of players to follow for 1st timers, only 1 blind basket (#8)
Cons: Lots of 1st timers/beginners make for slower play. Watch for traffic on #'s 4 & 8 - parallel to the road.
Other Thoughts: It would be nice if the city updated the park map on the kiosk with the course layout rather than just a vague "9 hole DGC" statement.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice

5+    11/15/2009   1/21/2010
Review By: ChillyWilly
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Almost all terrain is grassy so it's hard to lose discs. If you throw your disc in a tree, grab one of the big fallen branches from the creek to knock it out.
-It's pretty balanced in terms of handedness advantage
Cons: -Highland get's very crowded in the summer, especially on the weekends or after work. People tend to be pretty considerate of singletons though.
Other Thoughts: -It's my "home" course and I've probably played it over 100 times. Definitely not the hardest course, but you're close to Kaposia, Acorn, etc. There are still a few good challenges though. I've never birdied #8. I've seen very few righties who can consistently stick their drive on #5 to set up a birdy. The wall of trees forces a sharp right at the end so you either have to throw forehand with accuracy or a turnover backhand. At the same time, there are a lot of holes where you just have to throw a nice straight 250ft drive. So overall, a lot of opportunities to practice your fundamentals.
-On #8, the sign no longer exists, but the street is OB.
-You can expand #1 by driving from up near the little building where the bathrooms are.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.