Gunnison, CO
Mountaineer DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7
3 / 150ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Mountain desert challenge

1    7/24/2013   7/27/2013
Review By: getchofil
Played: 28  Reviewed: 6
Pros: Up, up, up, blind shot, across a ravine, down, down. These are the first seven holes. This course has a lot of sage brush an rocks but was fun. The elevation made many shots difficult to gauge how far to throw and how close you actually got until you were up on it. Three of the back nine incorporated what few real obstacles were really there, three large water storage containers. 18 was a fun downhill conclusion to the course.
Cons: Cactus and generally rugged terrain, but what is expected from of a mountain desert course, so I guess no really a con for me but my bro came in flip flops not doing his homework on the course.
Other Thoughts: Play it early or late in the day to avoid el scorcho, cause we played in the dead middle and caught fire for playing at that time of day. Best of the three we played in the area.

Different, but Enjoyable

1    7/26/2013   7/26/2013
Review By: markmcc
Played: 45  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There were zero trees to work with when designing this course, but they had a giant hillside and made the most of it.

This course has more uphill, downhill, and sidehill shots than any other that I have played. Every single hole has an element of elevation change, some quite extreme. That alone was enough to make the course interesting and different from most.

The course is covered in short brush, so tracking shots wasn't an issue. In many cases the brush will "hold" a disc and keep it from rolling away down the hill.

Tee Signs gave only the hole number and distance, but that is all that is needed here. Though it would be interesting to add vertical elevation as well. A large number of additional signs were in place pointing the way to the next hole.
Cons: The tee pads are uneven dirt bordered with timbers or rock. They were adequate for me since I don't use a run-up, but players that rely on a run-up delivery will likely not appreciate these pads.

No obstacles or variety except for the uphill/downhill aspect of the holes.
Other Thoughts: Great views of WSU stadium and campus, as well as all of Gunnison. This is a multi-use area and we saw a number of walkers/joggers the morning we played. I delayed my drive at a couple of holes to wait for joggers to clear the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good Course, Great Views

1    9/15/2012   9/16/2012
Review By: nabernathy
Played: 26  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -On a giant hill
-Great Views!
-Perfect hole lengths for beginners
-Right by a college campus (WSCU)
-Easy to get to
-Fun, Challenging shots to maybe ace
Cons: -Dirt tee pads(fell on a couple)
-Slipped on pads(Rugged and Uneven)
-A couple of pads hard to find
-Not challenging holes for advanced players
Other Thoughts: -Arrows to pads 5 feet in front of you,
-No arrows to far pads
-less reviewed course than usual

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 2012 - Sweet 18

5+    6/30/2012   7/2/2012
Review By: gordonhicksiii
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 13.9 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well laid out - good mix of "right handed" and "left handed" holes, good use of the topography, and the holes flow very well together. Not difficult to track your disc's flight as the shrub is not too thick and most holes are not too "blind." Not much crossover on fairways from nearby holes (the only true crossover is holes 15 and 16).

Good length - the even split on par for the front and back 9s makes it easy to keep track! I love the long #9 hole.

The first hole tee is now ~50 feet from the parking area. The first hole is no long set up on top of the hill as others have mentioned. Now it is: get out of car, start throwing.

Baskets are all in great shape.
Cons: There are not concrete tee pads, just dirt ones, which of course get rutted out/eroded/rocky. It's easy to throw off to the side. Besides, the way the course is laid out I never really felt like I need to get a full ~6 step running drive, as topography, wind, and the hole length doesn't necessitate it. This is not Pebble Beach...

Some of the signs were down (6-2012), but I was still able to find all the tee boxes and holes as a first time player to the course. Now that I've played it a few times, the few downed signs are a non-issue.

No shade. Again, this is not Pebble Beach, and that is understood. I throw the course with a hydration bladder..

Other Thoughts: I'm from Minneapolis, where we have a lot of courses but nothing that feels like this course. I love the high desert feel and the length of this course. Chris did a nice job. Future developments might see more permanent signs and concrete tees, but the minimalist feel is a nice change from many of the "manicured" courses that I've played in Minneapolis.

Wear closed toed shoes, because the cacti are out!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Course Updated!!!

5+    9/22/2011   9/22/2011
Review By: throwadisc
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: With the updates that the course has it is greatly improved. New signage, New baskets, New tee boxes. 200% better than it was. Full 18 with elevation changes.
Cons: Tee boxes are limited by terrain. Light colored discs get eaten by sage.
Other Thoughts: Local beta has been updated on the site. All sports replay has inside beta as well.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Get a map, and enjoy the view!

1    7/22/2010   7/23/2010
Review By: jsaturley1
Played: 27  Reviewed: 6
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a mountain course with a few decent elevations and fantastic views of the campus and mountains. When you're standing at tee #1, you can see the whole town and surrounding mountain range from above. Even if you don't want to play the course, it makes for a nice hike. While playing the course, I saw a few deer and a fox curiously watched me play hole #6 near the water tanks.
Tee #1, or at least what I think was Tee #1, has great elevation and I couldn't help throwing a few discs down the mountain. Some of the baskets are brand new. There are individual baskets for each hole.
Cons: The course is only marked with a few stakes; some of which are missing. I don't believe there's formalized 'throwing' pads for each hole. If there is, I wasn't able to find about 4 of them. You have to have a map to play this course. The condition of the baskets was inconsistent - some of them looked brand new, and a couple were literally falling apart.
Other Thoughts: Markings and basket condition don't bother me very much. I'll take a poorly marked, open-range mountain course like this over a well-marked, congested city course anytime. If I was stuck in Gunnison for another week, I would definitely play this course again - it will be much easier now that I know where the tees are located. If you're willing to use a map and not concerned about formalized tee pads, you'll find this to be a sweet hike with great views, and a nice little course that's worth a quick play if you're in the area.
Before visiting this course, I went to All Sports Replay in Gunnison to buy a few discs. They gave me a map and the employee gave me some tips on navigating the course, which helped immensely.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Worst Course in the State

2-4    6/18/2010   7/2/2010
Review By: trenken0103
Played: 25  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 13.1 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nothing no signage, Like 3 baskets and One of the baskets in broken, couldn't find tee pads.
Cons: Everything this course is awful, I was stuck in Gunnison for a week and didn't even want to go back.No tee pads, Broken baskets and missing baskets.
Other Thoughts: This course sucks don't waste your time. Western could make it a decent course but looks like there is no intrest in doing so.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Download the Map!

2-4    7/4/2010   7/8/2009
Review By: Shieldwolf
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/9/2010
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A decent course with variety in elevation, and hole length.
Cons: No signage at all. Some of the baskets are in need of repair or replacement. Very, very long uphill hike to the #1 Tee. Impossible to play the first time without a guide or map.
Other Thoughts: I added a Course Map to the file section to make this course playable for first timers. Could be a nice course if some work were put into it.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.