West Memphis, AR 
Mid-South Community College Share
Uploaded By: Cerealman Hole #10 (Taken 9/2016)
3 / 257ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Confining campus

1    9/29/2016   10/7/2016
Review By: Cerealman
Played: 72  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 8.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: New baskets and excellent signs at each tee.

The water holes (#7 and #8) are picturesque.

Fairly easy to navigate and find each hole (as long as participants are aware that the front nine and back nine are separate).

Plenty of parking available.
Cons: This course is literally ON a college campus. Hole #18 requires throwing across a campus green that may be frequented by students hustling to class. In addition, other holes may require throwing near college students depending on the time of day. Also, several of the baskets are located within 20 feet of parking lots, vehicles and other obstacles.

This course feels cramped. The holes are shoehorned into the not-so-available space.

Hole #8 doesn't have much of a fairway. Your options are likely an anhyzer over the edge of the pond and trees or trying to squeeze a hyzer in between trees and lampposts.
Not much variety on the front nine. Most of the holes are fairly open.

Very windy. Throwing might be challenging due to the unpredictable breezes and the claustrophobic design on several of the holes.
Other Thoughts: Mid-South Community College is near the interstate and the location offers an opportunity to snag an additional state if you're passing by Memphis. However, the course could be a frustrating play with the wind and frustrating proximity to roads, parking lots and vehicles. This course would likely be more enjoyable on a calm day during college break.

While several reviewers mentioned the road dividing the front and back halves, there is plenty of parking available near the #1 and #10 tees, so a 30-second drive is the safer option.

Mid-South Community College has several amenities, including new signs and good baskets. But despite these niceties, the course design is poor and confined, hence my rating. Avoiding the many surrounding obstacles will require extreme caution and plenty of luck. Establishing a disc golf course in an area that can endanger autos and academics is a recipe for disaster.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Hmmm...

1    5/18/2016   5/18/2016
Review By: mrbro855
Played: 150  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads, great signage. Manageable water holes.
Liked the back nine better than the front- better use of trees. Shorter but more challenging.
Liked the two water holes on the front nine- both very manageable even for shorter throwers off the tee.
Cons: Seven of the 9 front nine holes seemed liked the same throw off the tee. Kinda boring....
Crossing the main street (twice- no matter where you park) - lot of traffic!!
No elevation to speak of....
Other Thoughts: Like the previous reviewer- seemed like two nine's.
Without the two water holes, I'd give it 1.5. The back nine rates rates a 3 in my book and the two water holes bring the whole course to the 2.5 that I rated it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Two 9-hole courses?

1    11/22/2015   12/4/2015
Review By: aclay
Played: 114  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 32.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The front nine has two water holes (both fairly easy carries but with obstacles, so there is some challenge). It also brings out of bounds into play to make shorter holes challenging. One hole has out of bounds within 20-25 feet on three sides, and two of those are less than 15 feet. Trees, although not abundant, are used well, particularly on the back nine. The course maps are very helpful.
Cons: A four-lane U.S. Highway runs through the middle of the course. Open flat terrain and limited trees can make some holes feel repetitive. Holes 1 & 2 are listed as par 4, but both are under 400 feet with no significant obstacle. There appears to be room to make one of them (probably 2) 50-75 feet longer and make it more of a legitimate par-4.
Other Thoughts: While this is officially an 18-hole course, it really plays like two nearby 9-hole courses. I don't know of many people who would walk across four lanes of traffic on a busy road and think they were on the same course. The front 9 is definitely better than the back 9 with slightly longer holes, both water holes, and more/better use of O.B. The front 9 is on the north side of U.S. 70, and the back nine is directly across the highway on the south side.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 unique signs and tees

1    2/1/2014   3/31/2014
Review By: Memphis Newbie
Played: 33  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cool looking Faux stone tee signs
tees have been painted green-nice touch
nice course map in the parking lot helping you navigate
the designers have tried to maximize the use of foliage which is difficult since most the trees are bordering large grass ball fields.
The water shots are scenic and manageable for most players.
Good hole variety
Cons: unfortunately, the terrain is mostly flat and open.
Other Thoughts: When I played this course there was extreme wind, stronger than any wind I have ever played in. I used a firebird on almost every hole. The previous review also mentioned strong winds every time he has played. I would put this in the cons if I could confirm that these are normal conditions for the course. Great design work on a property with a lot of limitations. I would have loved to have a course like this available in college. It is a convenient stop off the freeway if you are passing through.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 new improved 18 hole course

2-4    1/22/2013   3/22/2013
Review By: DiscoBriscoe
Played: 169  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/5/2014
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -new design has fewer open holes, used more of the trees, etc.
-added 2 water carry holes.
-much improvement over the old design
Cons: -still can have ankle deep standing water in a few places in the fairways and even "greens".
-although when we played the campus was empty, 2 or 3 of the holes seemed to be where people would be present when school is open. I could be wrong.
-not really a con, but the flat openess of the area helps the wind be a real force to be reckoned with all 3 times I've played there. [helps you learn but can ruin your score]
Other Thoughts: The pictures are from the old design and are no longer accurate.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.