East Lansing, MI 
MSU DGC Share
Uploaded By: nojjjj Hole #16 (Taken 5/2010)
-- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Approach



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2

5+    4/20/2014   4/22/2014
Review By: RyanF
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3
Pros: The park is well manicured, it's close to town and not nearly as busy as other local courses.

A fair variety of holes, some play through trees, with a few obstacles on most. Some of the tees have cloth pads. The baskets are grabby, with 2 layers of chains.

Little pink flags are currently marking somewhere close to the next tee. They even have arrows that blow in the wind to point the next direction.
Cons: They recently changed the layout and as of today it's nearly indecipherable, and I haven't found any maps.

Some pads have cloth markers. Most have nothing at all.

Half the year the course is taken down without notice so unless you're in the area driving to it can be a bit of a gamble.
Other Thoughts: The course could be decent, but the campus doesn't want to commit to this course so it's stuck as just mediocre.

There just isn't a lot to say about this course, it's alright for a quick fix.

New Layout--still questionable design flaws

1    10/21/2013   10/21/2013
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 243  Reviewed: 236  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Aesthetic-- plays through a rarely used (except for the ag expo) piece of property on the MSU campus. walkers and runners may pass through but it's not all too common.

Baskets--where there are baskets (15 of 18) they are chainstars and in good repair. easy to see but flags or reflective tape could help in some spots.

Originality-- some good some bad. the shots through the "roof over" and out of the "roof over" are interesting. the shot out of the roof over is kind of ruined by the fact that there is no basket on this hole. the "island" green (with no basket) is an interesting concept but I think about anyone could get an ace here as the point of the hole is to land on the island. there are rocks on some tees that spell out the tee number which is a nice touch.

Elevation- what little elevation there is here is used well...

Routing and navigation-- there are not really any tricky spots here. the flags on the tees have a little map on them which is nice and shows where the next tee is.

Teesigns--though there are not actual tee signs here, the flags that mark the tees are nicer than most teesigns I have seen. there are extra flags when there is no basket present.
Cons: Teepads-- mixed for sure. some are turf, some are grass, some are wood chips, some are dirt. I kind of wish the turf pads weren't there. they are "mushy" where there are dips in the terrain and are more distracting than grass pads.

Challenge/variety-- not a ton of variety here. most shots are wide open with light trees to guard the basket. the roads as OB is interesting but not overly well used.

Danger-- the complex of 1, 2, 18 is so dangerously close together and actually the fairways cross. the potential danger outweighs the fun factor here.

Map-- the map that was posted is an old map from last year. the current course is laid out way differently and I posted a map to reflect this.
Other Thoughts: Finishing up Lansing area and this course doesn't really break the top 50% of Lansing courses...

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good enough for what it's worth

1    12/3/2012   12/3/2012
Review By: Hfactor
Played: 38  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/19/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The land is all really open so it would be very hard to lose a disc except in the bit of water that is on a few of the holes. They have a good range of shots from 250ft to ~400ft.
The couple holes that are in the woods are shorter but interesting enough. There is 1 hole that is up on a small platform and has Pinetrees on either side, you can either go straight up the middle or try to anhyzer or hyzer behind the basket, probably my favorite hole on the course.
This course is great for beginners and MSU students can get there in 5 minutes or less.
Cons: No signs, Astroturf pads, a couple of the holes feel like they play into each other.

I've read that some people have been charged parking tickets when they park here during the week before 6pm which is retarded because the parking lot is GIGANTIC and is only close to a couple buildings that students even need to go to.

It's the worst 18 hole course in Lansing.

Felt similar to practicing in a field with my practice basket except they have real chainstar baskets... could be a pro for practicing.
Other Thoughts: I guess they plan on putting the other 3 baskets in soon. Right now there are only 15 baskets. Considering the land this course has to work with it is designed fairly well. If you live in East Lansing it is the only course that is within ~10 minutes. Every other course is 25 minutes+ away from East Lansing. If you want a quick round then this is a good course for that.

MSU has two A or B rated Ball golf courses right next to this C or C- rated Disc golf course. With how much land and money MSU has you think they could find a spot to throw some money into a B rated Disc golf course. This course could be B rated but they would have to bring in a lot of trees and that would probably take more time and money than just using some of their already available land.

This course is probably glow friendly, many different places to park and get on the course. Bonus for me.

Updated 12/10/12
I paced out the holes today and made a map. It is available in links / files.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  worst course ever

1    5/17/2011   5/17/2011
Review By: PoX_
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: almost impossible to lose a disc, room to drive far
Cons: always windy, very open, course closed from may- sept, baskets missing, GRAVEL ROADS EVERYWHERE TO RUIN YOUR DISCS
Other Thoughts: i hate this course with a passion, only play here if it is a last resort

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Snore

1    9/14/2010   9/15/2010
Review By: gmalsparty
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's hard to lose a disc here.
Convenient for MSU students, especially undergrads without cars.
Cons: I'm a freshmen MSU student and it's disappointing knowing the only course I can easily reach without a car is also the most boring course I've ever played. There are 3 holes that are wooded, and even those are just straight shot fairways with trees on each side. There's absolutely no variety. Elevation is about the same, pretty much no doglegs whatsoever, every hole is a par 3. A huge lack of signs is extremely annoying if you don't know the layout of the course. I found the tees by finding a big pile of wood chips that apparently means 'shoot from behind here'. Overall not really a course worth playing with so many better courses only a half hour drive away at most in the Lansing area.
Other Thoughts: Students without cars seems to be the only players this course should really appeal to. It is nice having a place to play whenever I want, I'll give it that. Otherwise, totally forgettable course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    5/11/2010   5/12/2010
Review By: nojjjj
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/4/2010
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Except for hole #4 the baskets are nice and in good condition
-Grass is maintained (most of course is grass)
-Normally not that busy/ polite people for the most part playing otherwise
-Great rip-it-and-grip-it course
-Interesting use of highway dividers/miscellaneous concrete structures for obstacles
Cons: -Sans the 3 wooded holes everything else is wide open
-Hole #4 is a 50gallon drum with sharpie written on the top 1/3rd for "chains"
-Teepads are natural
-Lack of signs could confuse some.. maybe
Other Thoughts: This was the first course I ever played on. It's a GREAT course to bring a beginner out, few chances to lose discs. Wide open.

For MSU students or anyone in the area, great course to play quickly, confidence booster

Teepads are natural, but if its dry there is hardly ever an issue

There aren't signs, but the course itself is pretty well laid out. Definitely a course you could go out to alone if you are experienced and have little to no problems.

Trash is an issue because there aren't garbage cans at every hole, but hey, do your part and pick up a piece if you see it (no matter where you're dg'ing at)!

*Lowered my rating from 3.0 to 2.5. If there were a 2.75 I would have picked it. If more care was given to the course it would be a 3 easy, but until then...


10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Frustrating because there is a lot of potential.

1    3/13/2010   3/14/2010
Review By: landon77
Played: 49  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 14.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -
-Decent baskets
-Good design, utilizes the area and with a few signs (hole 15 to 16) would be hard to get lost in.
-Decent variety, a few wooded holes, a few water holes, and some minor elevation shifts.
-Great grip and rip course, good mixture of long and short holes, some nice wooded holes.
-Hole 13 is over a lake!
Cons: -
-Signs are missing and horrible
-Tee pads are natural, slippery, and dangerous
-Repetitive
-Windy and wet conditions make it a lot more challenging, wind can be a huge factor especially for putting (This Brewer Park Red in Grand Rapids)
-Hole 4 is missing the basket
-Lots of trash, no signs to the course, not very easy to find
Other Thoughts: -
-I had trouble rating this course because it has more potential if the upkeep was better. Terrible signs and tee pads made for dangerous play in wet weather. I took my dog and had no problems at all. Locals seemed and were friendly. A few holes really stand out, hole 13 is over a lake and you have to throw it at least 330' to clear it otherwise you have to lay it up. Hole 14 is a 400+ drive that has a slight down hill elevation and can be driven very close to the basket.
If the upkeep was better, signs were made, and tee pads were cement I would have no problem rating this course a 3 or better, but as of now it is an average course and there are better options around the Lansing area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Windy/Rainy

1    10/23/2009   10/23/2009
Review By: discinboogs
Played: 110  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 13.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Chainstars, elevation change, and the average hole distance give this course interest. I really like Chainstar baskets beacuse they have a great chime and they catch good putts. The elevation changes are fun to judge in high winds and difficult to work around. One truly blind pin that plays over a hill to a pin with OB behind it. I like throwing drives and this place gives plenty of room to air out some good looking shots. NO PETS. So someones dog isn't barking while I'm shooting or eating my disc when I'm throwing.
Cons: Dirt tee pads that are eroded badly. Had to play those liberal on almost every one of them. Basket missing on 4, not really the courses fault, but it was an ace run and it would've been nice to have that tunnel shot on this windy day. Repetitive design plays back and forth and back and forth for easy hyzers all day. A sign at the entrance states that the course is closed for an EXPO for a duration during the year. Lots of signs are missing.
Other Thoughts: Concrete would get in the way I understand that but the tees are always going to become ruts, LONG mud puddle ruts. The course is wide open except for 2 shots along the north edge of the property. Simple course. I played it in 45 minutes in 30-40mph winds and heavy rain and shot a 53. 18 holes it's somewhere to throw a quickie.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Really Nice Course to relax on

5+    10/20/2009   10/21/2009
Review By: pjveltri
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is very wide open and flat and is awesome for ams. I really enjoy playing on it as the atmosphere is very relaxed.
The course is in a really great location for MSU students, and it is very very hard to lose a disc, although I have lost two on it, the water on 13 is a pain and the woods on 11 are very thick.
The course is very clean and well maintained, the grass is never too long.

Cons: The course is very wide open and flat, and requires very little skill to get a somewhat good score on the course, it is great to introduce people to the sport, but there is little want to get better once you are getting par on each hole.

The tees are not even and I have rolled my ankle on a few of them.

The length of holes is not very staggered, the front nine contain all of the short holes and the back nine just hurt with long hole after long hole.
Other Thoughts: It would be nice if all of the tees and all of the baskets were on the course.

Watch out for 17, it is a really long par 3.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Night and Day

5+    8/4/2009   8/7/2009
Review By: Jim Play Two
Played: 26  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 36.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/11/2009
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great coarse to AIR IT OUT !! Most holes require a long wide open drive. Park is usually neat and well kept.
Cons: All holes effected a great deal by the wind except the three holes along the tree line..
Other Thoughts: Very rarely have to wait at this coarse and the people playing are very helpful.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.