East Lansing, MI 
MSU DGC Share
Uploaded By: nojjjj Hole #15 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 285ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee Sign



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Good enough for what it's worth

1    12/3/2012   12/3/2012
Review By: Hfactor
Played: 38  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/19/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The land is all really open so it would be very hard to lose a disc except in the bit of water that is on a few of the holes. They have a good range of shots from 250ft to ~400ft.
The couple holes that are in the woods are shorter but interesting enough. There is 1 hole that is up on a small platform and has Pinetrees on either side, you can either go straight up the middle or try to anhyzer or hyzer behind the basket, probably my favorite hole on the course.
This course is great for beginners and MSU students can get there in 5 minutes or less.
Cons: No signs, Astroturf pads, a couple of the holes feel like they play into each other.

I've read that some people have been charged parking tickets when they park here during the week before 6pm which is retarded because the parking lot is GIGANTIC and is only close to a couple buildings that students even need to go to.

It's the worst 18 hole course in Lansing.

Felt similar to practicing in a field with my practice basket except they have real chainstar baskets... could be a pro for practicing.
Other Thoughts: I guess they plan on putting the other 3 baskets in soon. Right now there are only 15 baskets. Considering the land this course has to work with it is designed fairly well. If you live in East Lansing it is the only course that is within ~10 minutes. Every other course is 25 minutes+ away from East Lansing. If you want a quick round then this is a good course for that.

MSU has two A or B rated Ball golf courses right next to this C or C- rated Disc golf course. With how much land and money MSU has you think they could find a spot to throw some money into a B rated Disc golf course. This course could be B rated but they would have to bring in a lot of trees and that would probably take more time and money than just using some of their already available land.

This course is probably glow friendly, many different places to park and get on the course. Bonus for me.

Updated 12/10/12
I paced out the holes today and made a map. It is available in links / files.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Windy/Rainy

1    10/23/2009   10/23/2009
Review By: discinboogs
Played: 110  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 13.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Chainstars, elevation change, and the average hole distance give this course interest. I really like Chainstar baskets beacuse they have a great chime and they catch good putts. The elevation changes are fun to judge in high winds and difficult to work around. One truly blind pin that plays over a hill to a pin with OB behind it. I like throwing drives and this place gives plenty of room to air out some good looking shots. NO PETS. So someones dog isn't barking while I'm shooting or eating my disc when I'm throwing.
Cons: Dirt tee pads that are eroded badly. Had to play those liberal on almost every one of them. Basket missing on 4, not really the courses fault, but it was an ace run and it would've been nice to have that tunnel shot on this windy day. Repetitive design plays back and forth and back and forth for easy hyzers all day. A sign at the entrance states that the course is closed for an EXPO for a duration during the year. Lots of signs are missing.
Other Thoughts: Concrete would get in the way I understand that but the tees are always going to become ruts, LONG mud puddle ruts. The course is wide open except for 2 shots along the north edge of the property. Simple course. I played it in 45 minutes in 30-40mph winds and heavy rain and shot a 53. 18 holes it's somewhere to throw a quickie.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nothing special but still something

10/6/2007   11/7/2007
Review By: rootc
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Convenient. Hard place to lose a disk
Cons: Awkward tees - tees aren't well marked. Windy day makes for a long day.
Other Thoughts: Just a standard course. Nothing special. Lots of holes are in a wide open grass area. Would be a much better course of the tees were more official. Currently they are vary from grass to gravel to dirt.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.