Course Extinct
Traverse City, MI 
Mt. Holiday Share
Uploaded By: volklgirl   (Taken 9/2008)
Hunting for a disc on the ridge at dusk (#7 or #8?).



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Up up up

1    8/8/2010   8/23/2010
Review By: sorotan
Played: 28  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Baskets are in decent shape.
Pro-Am Tees.
Fairly linear route (not to hard to find next Tee).
Not waiting.
Decent length fairways.
Beautiful view of East Bay from 8 & 9
Cons: Dirt Tees
Insane Hill climb from Basket 7 to Tee 8
Tee 4 and 5 are the never ending turn to the right along 2 track.
Other Thoughts: I've only played this course since it was redone. I didn't have trouble finding the next Tees on my own. For a quick 9 baskets, it's not bad... but the climb mentioned above (B7 to T8) is insane and not for the faint of heart.

I typically shoot a "10th" basket from Basket 9 as the Tee, to Basket #1 since I already am heading that way to get back to the parking lot.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Worth a look

1    4/11/2010   4/14/2010
Review By: deBebbler
Played: 72  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 19.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has been redesigned taking a much more gentle ascent up the outside right-hand side of the hill. This is, until you reach #7 basket, where you must climb a sheer hill face to the next tee.

Course starts open, then tightens up in trees, then finishes wide open with a big bomber down the hill. It wisely uses elevation changes and was surprisingly varied for a nine hole course.

There are amateur and pro tees, with independent signage including separate distance measurements.
Cons: Well, the available map was totally useless, as it hasn't been updated since the redesign.

No concrete tees, nor even mats. Au natural.

Hole #5 is a LONG woods hole with a tight lane uphill beginning with a hard left, curving hard right, cresting and then dropping off significantly to a valley where the basket is on the far side. This hole, even before the dense foliage grows in, pushes the bounds of what an experienced amateur can expect a par performance from, even with brilliant shots and draining a long putt.

There is no next tee signage for #8, and the only reason I found it was by looking for previous hole locations on the old map.

The redesign keeps you exclusively on the right side of the hill. There seems to be enough room now for another 9 holes on the left side. Indeed, this may be one of the plans of the redesign.
Other Thoughts: We played this on a day that started with a morning round at Hayo-Went-Ha, an afternoon round at Hickory Hills (after a mando stop at Tilley's Party Store) and then a "quick" 9 here before the long drive home. Had I been thinking, we wouldn't have played this last, as it is a workout. Not a course for those worried about aggravating knee/ankle injuries, or for those who only play in Tevas.

For all we knew there WERE 9 more holes, but as DGCR said 9 holes, and there were no next tee signs, and we were dead tired, we didn't even look!!

When we played Hickory Hills, it was packed, and we routinely waited for 2 groups at each hole.Everyone we spoke to vocally disdained this course when we mentioned we were playing it next. This probably explains why we were the only ones on the course THE VERY SAME beautiful day we played Hickory.

If you want the whole place to yourself, play this course twice for 18. I agree it is a nice complement to Hickory Hills.

Will get a 4 rating from me if they install another 9 holes on the left and add concrete tees.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Mt. holiday

1    6/15/2009   10/15/2009
Review By: tccrapsdealer
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The 1st tee is pretty easy to find.
Cons: I've played this course 3 or 4 times, and I don't think I've found all 9 holes yet. Very few directions. I like hiking around the area, but it's very hard to figure out where to go. If you're in Traverse City, pick ANY other course.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Mt. Holiday

1    7/20/2009   10/9/2009
Review By: DirtyMittenDG
Played: 108  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/3/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
--The layout at this course is very fun, for sure a hike though! The way the design is setup, you pretty much play up and down the hill twice. Mt. Holiday is very challenging, elevation is a major factor on all nine holes.

--Hole #9 is exactly how you would want the last hole on the course to look like. An 865 ft. bomber down a cut ski run, from the peak of the hill to the bottom! The view from the top really is great too, we had to sit for a couple minutes and take in the scenery, especially after that hike though the first 8 holes.

--I heard they have maps now which should be very helpful with navigation, they didn't have any when I played though.
Cons:
--Navigating here can be an issue if you don't know the course. When I went there were a couple times we couldn't find the basket at first, and we went to the am tees a couple times on accident. Overall though we found all the right tees and baskets in out first try.

--There's really not the best maintenance here, there were no signs and inconsistant tee pads. Even some arrows pointing to the right tee would be very nice.

-9 Holes
Other Thoughts:
--When we pulled in the parking lot the place looked liked it was abandoned, and the entire time playing we didn't see one person on the property for any reason, let alone disc golfing. We were there at about 6:30 too, lol.

--Overall it's a challenging course with a pretty high fun factor. Mt. Holiday nicely compliments neighboring Hickory Hills on the other side of town.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Map & Hiking Boots Suggested

2-4    9/17/2008   9/28/2008
Review By: volklgirl
Played: 76  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/11/2011
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Stunning view of Lake Michigan from the top of the mountain (#4 & #9)! Nice tee platforms constructed where footing is an issue. Good use of elevation and terrain features. Loved the long downhill shot on #9!
Cons: NO signage except very short tee # markers that are easily missed in the grass. Baskets not marked with hole # and are not always obvious - print and take the map (on the Files/Links tab) for best navigation. Hole #4 is long and over a heavily covered and fenced pond - really not beginner friendly!
Other Thoughts: This course had a great variety of holes and shots and was fun and interesting to play, but the lack of signage gave us a headache! Multiple baskets in view without numbers, tee markers with no indication of distance or direction, and the absence of any "Next Tee" signs made navigation difficult. Elevation and sandy terrain means a good workout - hiking boots suggested for good ankle support on the side-hill holes.
Update from 2nd outing: The map made playing here a much more pleasant experience. We loved the variety of uphill, downhill, and crosshill shots required.

** Update after playing redesigned version **
This course went from 9 holes of "Holy Crap!" followed by "Wow!" to 9 holes of "really?" followed by "meh." The only reason to play this course was for the workout, the creative basket and tee placements, and the amazing downhill shots, but all of that is gone now with the exception of one short jaunt straight up the face of an intermediate hill. Basket placement is now open and obvious and fairways merely follow the groomers' cat track up the side of the hill to a shorter downhill shot on #9, leaving a long uphill hike back to your car. This course now feels very much like Crystal Mountain, but much shorter and even less creative. The wood chip dual tees are now nicely marked with hole number and distance signs, though they're oddly placed on a few holes. The only place navigation wasn't obvious was the climb straight up the hill which is marked with a Next Tee sign that's still not really clear. This course now fits very well with Mt. Holiday's "family friendly fun" agenda, and maybe that was the intent. Still, I was very disappointed by all the changes except the addition of actual signage.

*** Update a year later (7/9/11) ***
I still don't like the new layout and the tee pads are now loose, tilted, and way too short. I was told that there is another redesign coming shortly and that an additional 9 baskets have been purchased. I'll update again as things change. As it is, don't bother with the map as none of them have been updated and the only place navigation isn't obvious is the right turn and hike directly up the hill between #7 and #8. Oh, and all the hole info on the course page are still from the original lay out.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.