Houghton, MI 
MTU Disc Golf Share
Uploaded By: apdrvya Hole #2 (Taken 6/2014)
3 / 230ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Better than expected

2-4    7/25/2014   7/25/2014
Review By: jeremyhilss
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Many short shots - basically a pitch and putt, save for the first hole, which is 340ish feet, but the rest are 150-250 feet approximately

Variety of ups, downs, open, wooded shots

Navigation while on the course was simple

Decent baskets
Cons: Getting to the course - it is hard to find the course - park at the Mineral Museum and first tee is next to a soccer field.
Two holes (1 and 7) use the same fairway, one each direction, which could create a safety hazard, although both tees have views of the other, so it shouldn't be much of a problem

Some of the baskets, while they caught great, were a little odd. A few had the chains deeper into the actual basket than normal, leaving a shorter window for your putts to hit.

Some of the tee mats are uneven and on sloped ground, but they happen to be on the short holes, where you won't need a run up - the longer ones are nice and flat
Other Thoughts: Judging by the reviews here I thought this wouldn't be worth my time, but I was pleasantly surprised. Lots of fun tree lanes to shape some fun shots - I played with a Roc that I purchased last minute because I didn't have my discs with me when I was in Houghton, but it was all I needed really.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

ugh...

1    6/23/2014   6/23/2014
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 245  Reviewed: 238  Exp: 4.4 Years
Pros:
Aesthetic-- plays through a forgettable portion of the Michigan Tech campus near the football stadium and other sports fields. Not thinking you'll see anyone else out here.

Routing and nav-- once you get going, it's not too bad... Follows a natual flow #6 from #5's basket is a bit of a stretch but it's there. (we missed it)

Cons:
Finding the first tee-- no matter where you come from, finding #1 is impossible. We parked at the dead end of Hickory and walked down the hill and to the right. There is a kiosk of sorts there. #1's tee backs up to a creek with rapids that you have to cross to get to #8-9.

Teepads-- flypads. slick with any wetness and sandy.

Baskets-- same as Mt Zion. Traveller baskets with single chains. Portable to be moved for the harsh winters.

Woods holes-- impossible rough, narrow fairways, standing water and much along with nonsensical lanes. just very poor design.

#5 comes out or thick woods and takes a 90 degree turn to the right.
Other Thoughts:
I kind of knew this would be a bit of a throw away but was surprised how forgettable it truly was.

Forgettable

1    4/29/2012   11/12/2012
Review By: nyrblue2
Played: 28  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Played 2 rounds for a total of 18 with my dad as a time killer after my sister's MTU graduation.
- Not crowded - maybe 2 other groups came during our second lap)
- Beginner friendly - not very difficult, mostly open holes
- Hole 9 (I think?) gave a few different drive options (hyzer, anny, OH, open, window, etc.)
- Simple navigation (once you get going)
- Tee signs and (rough) course map
Cons: - Nothing memorable (at least nothing positive) about the course- Not much thought has to go into your play - very few decisions to make - most holes were pretty much play it as you see it (except hole 9 - see above)
- Poor tee pads - hole 4 (I think) was probably on a 45 degree incline - many were uneven/bumpy and/or slippery
- Muddy back in the woods and near the pin on hole 9
- Tee for hole 7 is kind of in the crossfire of the fairway for hole 1 and pin backstop of hole 6 - keep your eyes open
- Lots of beer cans and garbage littered the course when we were there
- I think the only parking puts you at hole 8, with no real indication of how to find hole 1 - we played 8, 9, 1, 2, etc.
Other Thoughts: Designers probably did the best they could with the (assumingly) poor land they were given. However, the course lacks anything to keep you going back (expect maybe being one of the only courses around).

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Not Horrible

1    8/13/2010   9/8/2010
Review By: donnie
Played: 13  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 11 Years
Pros: Some of the holes are pretty decent, although not challenging. A couple wide open to start out with, the middle is mostly wooded, and the last few are open. The basket anchored in the stump on the 9th hole is a nice touch.
Cons: No memorable holes. The wide open holes were way too open with no obsticles, all easily driveable for an experienced player. All of the wooded holes didn't seem very well planned out.
Other Thoughts: Fun for a nine holes, but playing again would be boring. There is great potential for disc golf in this area, and this may be the starting point.

 Good short course

5+    4/25/2010   4/25/2010
Review By: swanston
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.3 Years
Pros: Good layout. 300-ft drives cross prevailing winds or enter trees, making them a bit more difficult than they first appear. Generally not crowded, but good folks when it is busy.
Cons: Short. Could be more difficult, including more wooded holes. The course is super easy on calm days.
Other Thoughts: The designers did the best they could with the land provided, and it's a good course overall. I would love it if this course were longer and in/around the MTU trails.

 not bad considering where it is

5+    8/8/2009   4/6/2010
Review By: mtuboarder
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
Pros: close to campus for quick games, its a good beginner course to teach your friends, makes you think you are awesome.
Cons: reality hits when you play other courses downstate MI, SHORT holes!, not alot of variety
Other Thoughts: They should use the "tech trails" land to make a nice 18 hole course, the mountain bikers have plenty of space, disc golf is a rapidly growing sport and deserves more space at tech!

 Ride the AWESOME montain bike trails instead!

2-4    5/11/2007   9/11/2009
Review By: superberry
Played: 168  Reviewed: 92  Exp: 16.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The only pro is that the area/houghton is gorgeous and there are some of the finest mountain bike trails arround, right across the street.
Cons: Most holes are wide open. The design is fairly poor also, and the use of the land is a poor choice. This course is sandwiched between a football field and campus buildings. An AWESOME disc golf course could have been built on all the cross country ski trails. There is not much elevation, no water hazards, and not very good balance either considering only 9 holes won't yield great balance. The few holes that use some wooded patches are just a couple baskets perched in next to a bunch of shrubs - unimaginative and not well designed as a green. No real risk/reward designed into the holes or forced skill required - overall poor design and bad location.
Other Thoughts: The cross country ski trail area across the road would yield 1 (and more) AWESOME 18 hole course. I'm talking the kind of course or disc golf complex that could draw players from all around to make the trip all the way up to houghton. The course as it stands is poorly designed and the land it sits on is a poor choice (someone must have said "fine, you can build a course, but only in this small area between buildings that we don't use for anything else").

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Short but kinda fun

1    8/31/2009   9/8/2009
Review By: setebos
Played: 21  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The holes around/through the woods were kind of fun. Very easy to figure out where to go; in terms of ease of finding the next hole it was laid out well.
Cons: VERY short course, I think the longest hole was around 300 feet. A little on the boring side; no tee pads.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Decent

5+    4/28/2009   6/18/2009
Review By: flaglefrag
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Almost no waiting for other players, located near town, Clean
Cons: Short, Too compact
Other Thoughts: While I enjoy throwing a few rounds with some friends, this course is not exactly what I would call a good course. Its located on some of the worst land that MTU has and there is not much variation in the holes. I would like to see MTU improve or move the course back into some of the Tech trial's woods.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.