Layout Extinct

Pelham, NH 
Muldoon Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: whitewaterhelix Hole #6 (Taken 11/2009)
3 / 285ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee: 160'



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Like 2 Courses In One

1    9/12/2010   9/12/2010
Review By: sandford
Played: 25  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.7 Years
This review was updated on 3/11/2011
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: OVERALL FUN FACTOR (16% weight) - 3.5 - I had fun playing here, hadn't played a course as short as these front 9 so that was fun to mark some some nice low scores.
COURSE DESIGN (14% weight) - 4 - Variety from front 9 to back 9 is like playing two different courses. The back 9 holes are well layed out and long. It was fun to play. Easy front 9 builds your confidence go do well in the more challenging back 9.
SIGNS/MAPS/MARKERS (11% weight) - 3.5 - tees and baskets were marked and there's a map to help find the way, but I still got a little confused on the back nine finding the next holes
ELEVATION (8% weight) - 4 - Nice use of elevation
SCENIC BEAUTY (8% weight) - 2.5 - nothing too special
BASKETS (5% weight) - 4 - Nice yellow Innova baskets, all placed well for interesting putting
EPIC HOLES (5% weight) - 3 - All the font 9 holes are ace opportunities for sure
DISTANCE VARIETY (5% weight) - 5 - lots of short and long
FOLIAGE MAINTENANCE (3% weight) - 3 - Fairways were very well cleared and liked the wood chips, but if your disc lands off the fairway the woods are pretty thick to throw out of - lots of underbrush, etc.
CROWDED? (3% weight) - 4 - Not alot of people there when i went on a warm fall weekend afternoon
PARKING (2% weight) - 4 - tons of free parking
Cons: TEE PADS (8% weight) - 0.5 - The tee pads were too small and not level and I didn't like how they were boxed in - see pictures
SHOT VARIETY (5% weight) - 1 - no real variety on the front 9, back 9 has mostly open holes
BENCHES / TRASH BINS (3% weight) - 1.5 - Not much for sitting or recepticle-ing
MIX OF TIGHT AND OPEN (3% weight) - 2 - even though it's in the woods, most holes are still relatively open
OVERALL CHALLENGE (3% weight) - 2 - no real challenge on the front, moderate on the back.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I had a lot of fun playing here. I pushed my toddler through the course as I played in his jogging stroller without too much difficulty. The last hole dumps out next to a playground which he really liked.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Muldoon Park

1    7/26/2010   7/26/2010
Review By: eng2joe
Played: 12  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: My 9 year old son really enjoyed the front 9. We ripped through the front nine wicked fast. The course was very easy to follow.
Cons: Roots in some of the tee boxes. At least one box was on a slope.
Other Thoughts: For a course that is close to where I am staying this week, it was good. I appreciate towns that have these courses for free.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A little gem in Southern NH

2-4    7/17/2010   7/17/2010
Review By: Everett Evans
Played: 64  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 21.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great baskets
- Plays like two separate courses, as if it were designed that way
- Clear course markings, impossible to get lost the first time through
- Nice mix of holes on the back 9
- Front 9 great for beginners, or short game practice
- Front 9 ends at playground, so the young ones can be dropped off with a non-playing parent
- Other facilities at park are nice and do not interfere in any way with the course
- Stepping up to the tee on a 109' downhill hole causes a different, weird sort of pressure (how embarrased would I be to bogey?!?!)
- Course is in wonderful shape, groomed, woodchips everywhere, clear fairways
Cons: - Not sure how long it would be before the front 9 just got silly to play.
- Tees could be a couple of feet longer on the back 9, I usually take a three step "walk-up" and there wasn't enough room.
- A couple of holes are technically par 3s, but I would be hard-pressed to come up with the right shot to get there in one due to elevation change, curve and low ceiling (10, 17).
- A few of the distance signs are missing or beat up pretty badly
Other Thoughts: Wow, I had read the reviews and was very interested in this course, and am happy to say I was impressed. As you have already read, the front 9 is crazy short, by far the shortest holes I have played. Almost joke short. Until you get a three on one, then you realize that short may not mean instant deuce. I didn't deuce hole three either time I played, blowing by the hole both times, even though I threw a putter about as easily as I can (downhill, 109'). My putting was absolutely horrible, I never hit a putt over 20', but still shot -5 and -6 the two times I played the front 9. There are a couple of picturesque holes (9, 15) to keep your interest up, and a few holes that you would be psyched to deuce (10, 11!, 17, 18).
Hole 11 was great, definitely a legit par 4, requiring a 250' drive to the midpoint, middle of fairway, then a 200' approach for a 3. I was fine with the tee placement, it just makes a basic RHBH much harder. I threw RHFH and missed the fairway right.
How the heck do you play hole 17?? I was begging for a local route up through the trees, but decided to try the fairway. No luck, I don't have a 300' gentle, low, uphill, low ceiling, anhyzer RHBH in my arsenal. I'm not sure you can make a disc fly all the way around that low curve, I would love to see someone park it.
About the front 9: Yes it is short, yes the fairways are extremely close to each other, although not quite "crossing" and yes you can shoot a six under in 5 minutes 28 seconds while jogging and throwing only a Pro Rhyno (had to try it). But, you could also play it as a separate course, first driving RHBH, then RHFH, LHBH and finally LHFH, for 36 holes. You could do a lot with those 9 little holes. My three and a half year old son shot a 6 on hole three, and he can only throw about 20' max (haven't really taught him yet, he'll get there).
So, all in all, well worth the drive from Exeter and I will wander to Pelham again a few times, just for the course. Good job Mr. diBona!!

PS. My personal opinion would be to remove the Pro pars of 2, and leave the original pars "as is". There should never be a par of 2 on any legitimate hole, as this leaves no ability to shoot lower than par (an ace is NOT considered an "expected score", it is caused by a bit of luck, lots of skill and usually an overthrown drive which happens to be stopped by the chains). So par on this course, whether Pro or not, should be 55 (hole 11 is definitely a legit 4).

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A tale of Two Courses

1    7/6/2010   7/7/2010
Review By: solomon.trenton
Played: 75  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 6 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course itself is very fun. This is enhanced by the front nine holes being solid ace races. The kiosk on the way to hole one is a very informative and detailed hand painted map with GPS coordinates of the holes listed as well. The Disccatchers are in great shape and look almost brand new. There are distance markers on most of the holes along with large numbered signs by the tee and basket. There are next tee signs as well; although they really aren't needed as it is almost impossible to get lost on this course. The fairways are nice and open, sometimes so much so that a terrible tee shot still leaves you with an easy upshot. There is a small variance of shots needed (good if you only have a few discs with you). The back nine holes give you some pretty tricky basket positions. There is a playground, baseball and soccer fields, as well as a small nature walk available for your family; although they might want to play the front nine. Trash cans and parking are abundant.
Cons: While the tee boxes are framed in and good sized they arent very even and some have large roots and rocks jutting up. This could easily be solved by backfilling the frames with dirt. While the front nine are great fun ace races, holes two through seven are too compacted and you could easily get injured by a stray disc (one slid right in front of me from a group two holes back). Some of the distance markers are missing. Some of the tee box positions are just silly; most notably hole eleven. It's a fifty foot straight shot, then ninety degrees to the left uphill probably 300` or so with a slightly winding fairway. If the angle of the tee box was shifted fourty-five degrees and moved forward ten feet (two large roots prevent any kind of decent run up) the hole would play much smoother. The rough is super thick and dangerous to navigate at times. The fairways are super close to one another, even a few time on the back nine they are only seperated by twenty feet of thin tree line. There were no scorecards and/or maps to take from the kiosk. Hole 18 ends up near nine's basket: so you have a decent walk to your car.
Other Thoughts: There are GPS coordinates listed for all the hole on the tee sign. Another regional course done as an Eagle Scout project; Tully Lake Dam (front and back nine) and Pye Brook Park.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Jekyll and Hyde??

1    5/18/2010   6/12/2010
Review By: Hamilton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 6.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice park setting, well taken care of. Nice baskets (Innova) are always a big bonus. Front nine really pads your ego. I believe I took 5 deuces on the first 9 holes.

Very nice facilities available as this is also a little league complex, plenty of parking when there are no games going on.

All tees have a sign within plain sight marking the hole number.

My memorable holes:
10 - The first real challenge, down a hill and back up with a twist with trees lining both sides to ricochet you into the brush if you go off line.
11 - Wow. Where did this hole come from?? First 10 holes might fool you, but there IS some good disc golfing here. Clear some trees, over a path, then another 300 feet arcing left to the basket, deceivingly long.
13 - Watch your step, the tee pad is fairly treacherous with tree roots. The hole is quite challenging with thick rough though, as I went far left and never recovered.
15 - The "Signature Hole". Very neat, throwing down a hill, and over a pond, scenically beautiful.
Cons: As others have stated and is plainly obvious when you play here, the front nine is like disc golf preschool for the most part. I wouldn't be surprised if more than one person has recorded multiple aces in one round.
The tees are bad in places. They look like they were framed in for concrete and never completed. Some have eroded out to where tree roots are uncovered, making for trip hazards on several holes.

Signage is not the best, but adequate. There is a map of sorts on the kiosk, but a printed one (perhaps added to the course page) would work wonders for making out the spider web that is the front nine, and help with navigation on the back nine.

If you want to play while baseball games are going on, parking is going to be very tight, and you risk the chance of a foul ball leaving its signature on your car.
Not the easiest course to find for an out-of-towner.
Other Thoughts: In my travels I try to make sure I hit every state, and I am certainly not disappointed that I played this course, as there seems to be a distinct lack of DG courses in southern New Hampshire.

My rating of 2.5 is a reflection that the while the course is navigable, and the baskets are very nice, but the first half of the course is in dire need of a redesign. It really is a shame since the land appears to be available to do so, but there may be a lack of people's time to make it happen.

If you are looking for a course to hit up in southern NH, the appears to be the one to play, and it is definitely worth your time if you're in the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course, Especially for Beginners

1    5/1/2010   5/1/2010
Review By: rootcanalsarebad
Played: 21  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Great course for ace opportunities as the front 9 is very short.
-Back 9 is appealing to those who prefer the finesse game while still feeling challenged.
-Levels the playing field as no huge arm is required.
-Great course to practice your short game.
-Excellent training course for beginners.
-Free to play
-Actually has pretty decent signage throughout the course.
-Nice, pretty new DISCatcher baskets.
Cons:
-Natural teepads cause issues on the back 9, as many of them have roots and stumps within them.
-Parking is definitely an issue if baseball/soccer games are taking place
-Front 9 is almost silly for more advanced players.
-The fairways from holes 3-9 all criss-cross, so it would be difficult if crowded.
-Hole 18 isn't near where you're likely to park.
Other Thoughts: Muldoon Park is really a terrific course for new players. It's also a great course for introducing new people to the game, and the front 9 would be ideal for younger kids who are starting out.

Players looking for booming drives will not be satisfied, as there really aren't any holes to "let it rip." The natural teepads on the back 9 especially will cause issues, as there are often roots and stumps that will interfere with your throwing motion.

I would definitely return to Muldoon Park in the not too distant future. Even though the front 9 was almost silly, it was a lot of fun! The allure of a possible Ace is quite appealing, and the back 9 is difficult enough to challenge the "intermediate" disc golfer.

I can't really give it more than 3 discs, as it's such a strange "2 part" course. But that doesn't mean it's bad by any means. It's just....unique.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Two courses in one

1    5/1/2010   5/1/2010
Review By: andapos
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The front 9 offer plenty of birdie and ace opportunities, along with great practice for your short game. The back 9 is very tight and offers a good challenge with some narrow fairways. Interesting basket locations on a few holes make you think about putting angles.
Cons: Big arms need not apply. The only truely long hole is the par 4 11th, but its such a tight dogleg that you can't really let it rip. Short front 9 has several holes that criss cross each other, so if its crowded its tough to play. Boarders a park, so if there are games going on, its gonna be very crowded parking. Natural teepads have roots and stumps to trip you up.
Other Thoughts: This really is a unique course in that it has a split personality. The front 9 is extremely short and (aside from a few trees here and there) pretty open. The back 9 is very tight and wooded and plays like an entirely different course. I think if the front were similar to the back, this course would rate higher for me. Still, the front 9 is enjoyable.

Watch out for softball and baseball games, as those will make things pretty crowded for parking. The course is very easy to find and convenient for Massachusetts players as well as New Hampshire DGers. The course description says that the course starts between the baseball and soccer field, which is true, but its all the way in the back.

All in all a solid course, and worth a play.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good Intro Course

5+    2/20/2010   2/20/2010
Review By: Smithcok
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.8 Years
This review was updated on 5/18/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Front 9 is especially good for beginners. Back 9 is harder, comparatively speaking. Back 9 has some tight fairways and requires well placed shots (10,11, etc). Definitely a course where will you will get the chance to throw a lot of midrange discs. (Front 9 is great putting/short game chance for more experienced players)
Cons: Could use a few more signs on the back 9 (but once you play the course once, it's not a big deal). If you aren't new to the game, the front 9 will be a little basic - but - a great short game practice in that respect.

If the back 9 tee boxes could be lengthened (and the nasty roots removed), the back 9 would improve significantly IMO.
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite short courses. You can play the course in very little time, and the change in scenery going from the front 9 (super short game practice) to the back 9 (longer, more technical shots) is a great change.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    8/8/2009   8/19/2009
Review By: blakewlufburrow
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Quiet secluded course, typically not crowded
-Recent Maintenance- repairing of tee boxes and paths.
-Challenging Back 9 - Great warm up with Front 9
-Small crowds means its a great course to practice on.
-Great playground at 18
Cons: -Front 9 is very basic and criss-crosses other holes.
-Very thick brush/foliage in places (keep an eye on your disc after you throw it)
-Very basic signs and some tee boxes need some work.
Other Thoughts: If you want a relaxing day of disc golf this is a great course. Don't expect to be too challenged.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good Learning Course

1    5/9/2009   5/11/2009
Review By: NH Disc Dude
Played: 41  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great for beginners or teaching someone the ins & outs. First nine are perfect for warming up and fine tuning your putting. Once your in the woods its peacefull and quiet.
Cons: Not great for practicing your driving, short holes lots of trees. I used my Approach disc for all tees and used my putter all other throws. Fairways on back nine tight and blind basket location.
Other Thoughts: First hole is right outside a little league field and is distracting to ballplayers and golfers. I went on a Saturday and the park was PACKED, but only a few groups on dgc once you got into the woods. Later in day on Sat. probably better as I went at 1:30.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.