Disc Golf Center

Layout Extinct

Pelham, NH 
Muldoon Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: whitewaterhelix Hole #18 (Taken 11/2009)
3 / 235ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee: 320'



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Muldoon Park

1    7/26/2010   7/26/2010
Review By: eng2joe
Played: 12  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: My 9 year old son really enjoyed the front 9. We ripped through the front nine wicked fast. The course was very easy to follow.
Cons: Roots in some of the tee boxes. At least one box was on a slope.
Other Thoughts: For a course that is close to where I am staying this week, it was good. I appreciate towns that have these courses for free.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Jekyll and Hyde??

1    5/18/2010   6/12/2010
Review By: Hamilton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 6.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice park setting, well taken care of. Nice baskets (Innova) are always a big bonus. Front nine really pads your ego. I believe I took 5 deuces on the first 9 holes.

Very nice facilities available as this is also a little league complex, plenty of parking when there are no games going on.

All tees have a sign within plain sight marking the hole number.

My memorable holes:
10 - The first real challenge, down a hill and back up with a twist with trees lining both sides to ricochet you into the brush if you go off line.
11 - Wow. Where did this hole come from?? First 10 holes might fool you, but there IS some good disc golfing here. Clear some trees, over a path, then another 300 feet arcing left to the basket, deceivingly long.
13 - Watch your step, the tee pad is fairly treacherous with tree roots. The hole is quite challenging with thick rough though, as I went far left and never recovered.
15 - The "Signature Hole". Very neat, throwing down a hill, and over a pond, scenically beautiful.
Cons: As others have stated and is plainly obvious when you play here, the front nine is like disc golf preschool for the most part. I wouldn't be surprised if more than one person has recorded multiple aces in one round.
The tees are bad in places. They look like they were framed in for concrete and never completed. Some have eroded out to where tree roots are uncovered, making for trip hazards on several holes.

Signage is not the best, but adequate. There is a map of sorts on the kiosk, but a printed one (perhaps added to the course page) would work wonders for making out the spider web that is the front nine, and help with navigation on the back nine.

If you want to play while baseball games are going on, parking is going to be very tight, and you risk the chance of a foul ball leaving its signature on your car.
Not the easiest course to find for an out-of-towner.
Other Thoughts: In my travels I try to make sure I hit every state, and I am certainly not disappointed that I played this course, as there seems to be a distinct lack of DG courses in southern New Hampshire.

My rating of 2.5 is a reflection that the while the course is navigable, and the baskets are very nice, but the first half of the course is in dire need of a redesign. It really is a shame since the land appears to be available to do so, but there may be a lack of people's time to make it happen.

If you are looking for a course to hit up in southern NH, the appears to be the one to play, and it is definitely worth your time if you're in the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good Intro Course

5+    2/20/2010   2/20/2010
Review By: Smithcok
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/18/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Front 9 is especially good for beginners. Back 9 is harder, comparatively speaking. Back 9 has some tight fairways and requires well placed shots (10,11, etc). Definitely a course where will you will get the chance to throw a lot of midrange discs. (Front 9 is great putting/short game chance for more experienced players)
Cons: Could use a few more signs on the back 9 (but once you play the course once, it's not a big deal). If you aren't new to the game, the front 9 will be a little basic - but - a great short game practice in that respect.

If the back 9 tee boxes could be lengthened (and the nasty roots removed), the back 9 would improve significantly IMO.
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite short courses. You can play the course in very little time, and the change in scenery going from the front 9 (super short game practice) to the back 9 (longer, more technical shots) is a great change.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good Learning Course

1    5/9/2009   5/11/2009
Review By: NH Disc Dude
Played: 43  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great for beginners or teaching someone the ins & outs. First nine are perfect for warming up and fine tuning your putting. Once your in the woods its peacefull and quiet.
Cons: Not great for practicing your driving, short holes lots of trees. I used my Approach disc for all tees and used my putter all other throws. Fairways on back nine tight and blind basket location.
Other Thoughts: First hole is right outside a little league field and is distracting to ballplayers and golfers. I went on a Saturday and the park was PACKED, but only a few groups on dgc once you got into the woods. Later in day on Sat. probably better as I went at 1:30.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Different

1    4/12/2009   4/13/2009
Review By: shamroc333
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It is a very playable course. The front nine is great to improve anyones short game. The back nine then gets longer and alittle harder. Very good for beginers
Cons: They don't tell you the par of any of the holes or I couldn't find them. They could have marked every hole alittle better. You can find the front 9 no problem but after that it get hard.
Other Thoughts: After I made up my owe pars for the holes. Which was all par 3 execpt hole11. It was fun. Much better the second game.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Pitch and Putt then a solid back 9

5+    11/10/2009   10/15/2008
Review By: whitewaterhelix
Played: 30  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/23/2009
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Only course in the local area, quiet and uncrowded, good baskets, great to introduce beginners as front nine is pitch and putt 100-200ft holes, back nine is a reasonable challenge for most players with one par 4 (#11), some tight lanes and a few technical shots needed.
Cons: Teeboxes on back nine are way too short and are "boxed in", short holes for the most part but you can still use drivers on a few and reach the basket for birdie attempts (all except #11, unless you can throw 400ft down a dogleg), no signage for each hole except a small post indicating distance (some missing)
Other Thoughts: This is the closest course to Lowell, where I live so I play it often as a practice course. With some more development this could be a really nice course. In order of importance, here are the things I'd improve: 1) Signs for each hole at each tee, as well as some nicer directional signs. 2) Improved tee boxes on the back nine, coupled with some alternate tee placements throughout the course for a more challenging course would be a great upgrade. 3) Removal of some of the dense underbrush in some areas, but leaving it in others where it provides good risk/reward for good/errant shots.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 2 courses in one

1    8/13/2008   8/14/2008
Review By: Doktor John
Played: 415  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 25.8 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very wooded and technical
Good use of space
Nicely cleared fairways
Fairways/basket areas marked with orange tape
Accuracy rewarded--stray shots punished
Strategic shot selection required
A wide variety of shots is mandatory
Cons: Some natural tees very eroded and uneven
Fisrt 7 holes very short and criss-cross each other
No signage at tees
Other Thoughts: Despite some of the cons, I enjoyed playing this course. The first 7 holes are basically pitch and putt--uniquely set in a round clearing in the woods. If the course was crowded, you could be really frustrated on the first 7 holes because they are so close and the fairways cross each other.
The rest of the holes make up for the short/easy ones and some of the later holes are very long and involve some radical doglegs (left and right) and a couple of fun S curve type holes.
The fairways are very well kept and on holes 8-18, if you veer off the fairway you can be severly punished. We spotted each other on the blind holes and never lost a disc.
All in all, I think this is a course worth seeking out if you enjoy being forced to be accurate and use every shot you know--if you like a more wide open course then this course will frustrate you

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.