Disc Golf Store
Muldraugh, KY 
Muldraugh DGC Share
Uploaded By: tamahawk Hole #4 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 308ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee: Downhill left to right fairway, ditch runs along right side.



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
I think I love this course!

2-4    11/4/2014   11/5/2014
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 177  Reviewed: 159  Exp: 3.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well, this baby's going on my Favorites list, and is my 150th review, so that's saying something! The wooded, hilly, 18 hole course in Muldraugh, KY starts and finishes with BANGs, and pleases my mediocre arm with a boatload of downhill fades. Granted, *you-have-to-hit-your-line* (!!), but it is SO rewarding when you do, it overcomes the handful of cons listed below.

Decently sized, level, boxed concrete tee pads work really well in these steep settings, and they're most often uphill from the previous (18 chain DGA) baskets. So on a huge number of holes, you trudge up a few steps and are rewarded with a downhill tee shot. I loved being able to drive past the second basket, after the unique (FUN! And I think unique?) road tunnel opener.

The course flow is really very intuitive, and you never feel like you're trying to pick out which target to throw to (even if some of the baskets play blind from the tee). Even so, I drew up a schematic map for first timers. There are plenty of benches and trash cans. The signage is adequate to the task, showing length and a hole overview. Hey, there's even a nice seat carved out of a log on hole 4 that sits up left of the tee with a great view down the fairway.

The difficulty is scaled to the Intermediate player with decent control but not necessarily a lot of need for distance. Quality tee shots can get a lot of deuces, and nice upshots and recoveries keep most errors to threes. This might not be so for casual to Rec players (who might be a little more frustrated). Advanced and Open players could come here and dazzle.

Anyway…after using almost all of the available space in the park, you round back to another nearly unique ( there's one like it at Iroquois, actually, but not with the steps…) ridge top 18th. With its teeny "green", and danger dropoffs on all sides, it's a thriller to deuce (I got lucky this time, with a Buzzz that stuck by the little tree at the top of the steps). Oh, you NEED to see the stairs here now. They've carved a set of steps out of one massive log, and engraved names on each tread (I'm guessing, of the guys who've worked the improvements out here? If the story is different, I'd love to hear it!)
Cons: The baskets actually could use a splash of bright colors (new reflectorized tape, flags, or powder coating…in order of cost), for newcomers to be able to spot them more easily. Though a huge amount of little bridges, steps, and logs have been placed where needed, the HUGE, DEEP ravine running through the middle of the course looks pretty treacherous , and you need to be wary of erosion undercutting a couple of the pathways, especially on holes 2 & 7. I would not recommend night golf here.

There isn't a lot of 'D' on this course, for those who really demand it. And it definitely favors RHBH tee shots. Neither is really a con for me, so it got a slightly inflated rating for suiting my game. Sorry! ;)

The course kiosk sign has nothing on it right now, and the little parking area is similarly dilapidated, but these don't affect the fun play.
Other Thoughts: I've come here twice over a 20 month span (constituting some growth in my game), but both times when the leaves were down, so I could spot and determine lines of flight fairly readily. I would say that a newcomer playing in full foliage may want a guide and some tips to hit the needed lines.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Spend your day in the shade

5+    7/8/2014   7/22/2014
Review By: MarcusGresham
Played: 43  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging without being ridiculously long. There's nothing here more than about 350', but every hole is wooded so the emphasis is on placement, not power. The fact that it's wooded means you aren't fighting the sunlight all day if that bothers you. You will have elevation change on just about every shot, so do be prepared to hike a bit.
You may well not see another human for however long you choose to be on the course, so (barring repeated throws into trees,) your day should be peaceful.

Not related to the course, but gas tends to be cheaper in the area around this course than it is just about anywhere else in the area.
Cons: Some of the baskets aren't in the greatest shape since this course is pretty old.
There are no amenities (water, bathrooms, etc.,) and the trash at hole one was overflowing--it also smelled fairly putrid.
Other Thoughts: 1. 210'. You're on the parking lot side of the road and the basket is on the other side of the road. There is a walkway under the road, and it plays as a mando. Your throw will be a downhill one (not steep,) and you have to hit that mando about 50-75' in front of you. It's only about 10' wide. There are two trees in front of the basket that protect it.

2. 320'. Your landing area is narrow. There is a hillside to the left and a stream bed down the center. There usually is no water in the stream but it's about 10' across and about 6-8' deep. Get right of it and you'll probably be in briers.

3. 208'. Short hole, but there are trees through which to navigate all the way to the basket. The fairway slopes from your left to your right and you'll probably have to come in from right to left.

4. 308'. Downhill. About 180-200' away your fairway turns to the right and it's a gradual curve all the way to the basket. Just past the curve there is a small ditch running across the fairway. After the turn, if you get too far right there is a hill that drops off.

5. 177. Downhill shot again. You throw from up on a hill and the basket is down at the bottom of the valley. You can choose to come in from either side, but you can't go straight at it. You also can't go too far, as there is a stream bed about 15 or 20 feet behind the basket.

6. 280'. This one plays uphill and fades off to the left, but the fairway is narrow. you have to split a couple of trees that sit about 50' in front of the tee and if your drive goes too far before turning you'll be in the trees and may not have a straight look at the basket.

7. 305' Your second shot will require a slight turn to the right. You also have to cross a ditch about 150' from the tee that is a monster. It's about 25 or 30' across and is a drop of 20 or 30', plus it slopes downhill from left to right. If you throw into it just getting to your disc will be a pain, much less throwing out of it.

8. 237'. This one turns to the left not far off the tee pad.

9. 205' Uphill, so it plays longer than it's listed but it's still reachable for an average or better arm. The fairway looks to be the remnants of an old road and the basket will be just off the left of it tucked behind a tree.

10. 211'. This is a narrow fairway that is a steady, gradual sweep to the left. The hill also slopes from right to left.

11. 190'. This one also curves to the left, but there is a much more forgiving landing area around the basket than the previous hole.

12. 355'. This is probably the most difficult hole on the course, especially after coming through "birdie alley" on the previous few holes. Your tee shot needs to be accurate, as you're splitting a couple of trees not far off the pad. There is a road that runs to the left if you get too far (but most times should not be an issue.) You are traversing a valley on this hole, and the incline back up to the basket is very steep.

14. 220' Uphill. It's a pretty straight shot, but the basket is right of center. Go too far right and you'll be in somewhat thick surroundings.

15. 210' downhill. The basket in the flat at the bottom of the hill, just a bit to the left.

16. 235. Plays right to left. The stream bed is to the right and it's thick to the left. The basket is tucked away up a small hill to the left.

17. 210' uphill. This is the closest thing to an open hole on the course but you have to avoid the trees directly in front of the teepad, which are only about 30 or 40 feet away. If you can get your disc to go left to right you should be in pretty good shape for a birdie chance, but you can't get too far right or you'll be in the trees.

18. 230' across a ravine. The basket is perched atop a small landing area. It's steep coming up at the front of the basket, and equally as steep if you overshoot on the backside.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Hidden slice of heaven

5+    2/21/2014   2/22/2014
Review By: bubjackson
Played: 18  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: The weather just broke for spring and that means many soggy courses here in Ky. Surprisingly this place drains amazing, so no mud as an issue. This place is tight and technical but in the spring and fall it's still a good place for a beginner. Many shots here are like no other.
Cons: The woods are thick and unforgiving in the summer.
Other Thoughts: Doesn't get played as much as it's worth. This place should have a higher review score and be sought out by any adventure seeker!

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Mando hole 1 is an incredible way to start

5+    11/7/2013   11/19/2013
Review By: KyHyzer
Played: 71  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 23.6 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The mando hole on hole 1 is a great way to start a fun round. Unlike any shot u will ever play. Triple mando tunnel shot. Some very unique holes playing through a small wooded area by Fort Knox tucked in an unknown park. Birdies and bogeys are all over this course. You want to stay on the fairways for sure! Tight fairways, hyzers shots and Annie shots with a mix of everything in between. Lots of 200 ft shots with danger and a few bombs through the woods. 18 is a sweet finishing hole with a 15 ft landing area on top of a huge natural made dirt mound. Either side leaves u with a putt unlike any per.
Cons: some dangerous areas to walk, bring your hiking boots. In the spring watch for ticks, hornets, bees and other critters, wear your bug spray. Other than those cons it's a great time.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/21/2012   9/21/2012
Review By: rww826
Played: 20  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I played this course when there were no pads and you couldnt find the baskets this course is in great shape and is very challenging whoever maintains this course does an excellent job one of my favorites
Cons: if you happen to land in one of the ravines you might have a tough time getting your disc bring a retreiver
Other Thoughts: I play this every year around sept cant wait for next year

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Noob Review

1    5/22/2012   5/23/2012
Review By: Redleg
Played: 40  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I know it has been said in almost every other review but #1 Mando Tunnel shot might be worth the whole trip. The rest of the course is good too! It has all the things you look for, good pole holes, and good tee signs (important since it is hard to see many of the pole holes from the tee pads). It has good use of natural features and a couple of manmade features (Tunnel on #1 and Mound on #18). There are lots of elevation changes hole to hole, and even though many of the holes are around the same length the changes have you doing different throws because of those changes. It has many good risk reward opportunities and good flow from hole to hole. Since I played in May the trees and undergrowth is full making it a beautiful walk also, which you don't get from the pictures uploaded here. If you were playing leagues or a tourney here the benches at almost every hole would be used a lot when a card is off looking for an errant throw which will be punished. The course was very clean which is surprising considering you don't have to go far from the course to find not so clean!
Cons: As others have stated you might not want to bring a beginner here. But if they have been playing any at all, the beauty of the forest will overshadow that. The way I counted it there were 3 straight on shots and 3 left to right shots, the rest played to a RHBH player (ok by me I am a RHBH player) so it could be a little repetitive. There were no facilities on sight, not a huge problem for pointers just find a big tree, but for the sitters could be an issue. If you throw like me shank one off into the woods be prepared to search unless you have a spotter with you (My wife was mine, Thank you Dear). The only other con I see is only one set of Pin and Tee Locations. This course could accommodate one or both and would give a whole new feel to the course. Parking looks like it would be tight during events.
Other Thoughts: There is obviously some very loyal players invested in maintaining this course. The community it is in does not look to have the resourses to maintain it at this level. If you like tight wooded corridors to throw down this is your course. On a open course it is easy to think a nice long drive a little off the line to a hole might be a good shot. This course shows you what a good shot feels like, cause if you don't make it you are most likely getting yourself out of trouble.

This was a really fun course for me.I am looking for an excuse to get sent back to Ft Knox just so I can play it again. If you are in the area it is a must play.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Manic Muldraugh

1    1/24/2012   1/26/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 740  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) What a wonderful way to start out this course but with a tunnel shot . . . literally! I was clean through the tunnel and within 20' but I had a weird stance and a tree forcing a slight anny putt and I missed, but I still thoroughly enjoyed the hole.

2) Nice concrete tees on this course. They are grippy consistent. I always appreciate a consistent surface and concrete is my favorite.

3) Engraved stump cutoffs attached to some trees mark the tees, they are hard to see unless you know to look for them. The numbers stand out because they are engraved and painted. Some of them are broken unfortunately, but replacement would be pretty easy and cheap.

4) This type of course is my absolute favorite type of course . . . tight wooded and relatively short. You can reach many of these holes with a good drive or a lucky kick on a bad shot.

5) The washouts and the drainageways create some interesting shots and perspectives.

6) There is pretty good variety of shot here. There are uphills, downhills, some straight shots, and some definite hyzer shots. The only thing missing is a couple more anny or flick shots (mentioned in the cons), but overall the elevation changes makes each shot fairly unique. Your recovery shots might simply be the annys you need to throw

7) Risk reward is somewhat of a factor here but simple line execution is more the premium. Sure you can choose to throw a putter or a mid-range down the fairway and not risk a big kick off a tree, or you can try to shoot the gap all the way down with a driver.

8) DGA Mach baskets in decent condition . . .except some of the S-hooks having some rust on them.

9) Hole #18 has one of the coolest greens on the course. There is an old stairway which looks like a diving board ladder laid on the edge of the green to get up and down to your disc 12' below the basket. I unfortunately landed here and missed the 20' putt that was 12' vertical and 8' sideways.

10) Benches available in a few spots to take a rest from all of the up and downs.

11) Nice tee signs with all the information, Hole #, Par, distance, and a decent map of the hole.

12) The leaves actually created a wonderful cover for what I can only assume is pure dirt/soil. I imagine it would be tough for a few weeks after the leaves all fall down because I can imagine they would be pretty deep, but even off the fairway the leaves were matted down enough that you wouldn't have to worry much about a disc going under the loose leaves.

13) The course seems like it is the only thing in this park so there should be no worries about any other park users interfering with your round.
Cons: 1) This course is not beginner friendly because of all of the chances to shoot off the fairway with a shot that isn't near perfect. Beginners will get frustrated and not enjoy this course.

2) I agree with what others say about the dominance of the right to left shots is true, but there are some shots that allow for you to pick your throw. Swap out a few of the right to lefts and make them left to right and this would be perfectly balanced.

3) Some slightly eroded areas on this course. I can see how it happens as this seems to be one of the lower spots in the area, you can actually see major drains entering this area from under the highway that borders the course.

4) Overall there is a little bit of a feel of repetetiveness . . .its hard to really dislike this because the repetetiveness is still fun shot making.
Other Thoughts: This is just a really solid course. You know I love tight wooded courses so this is my kind of course. Did I enjoy it like many of the 4 disc course I have reviewed . . . yes, but I cannot give it a 4 disc rating because of the lack of variety, the erosion and slightly messy areas on the course, and the dominance of the right to left drives. There is plenty of woods here and it could easily accommodate some remodeling of holes, if only just offering two lanes on some of the holes one hyzer and the other anhyzer. I had a ton of fun and I remember Hole #1 from my research last year and was mad I had to miss this course because of that hole. I would play here all the time if I lived nearby and it will remain a solid course in my books, but it just isn't quite top tier like the other 4 and 4.5 disc courses I have played.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Mud Season

1    9/24/2011   9/24/2011
Review By: frank11b
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 31.6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Challenging for a short course. Fairways are thin and easy to follow. Good flow. 18 is on an island, very cool.
Cons: The creeks should be O.B. Ugly parking lot.
Other Thoughts: First time to play this course. Fun and a little muddy.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun wooded course

1    4/16/2011   4/28/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 817  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 12.8 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through tight woods with limited underbrush, though it looked like the rough probably gets thicker later in the year. A couple holes bring some deep creek beds into play which make for really tough recovery shots if you end up down in them. There is a nice mix of hole lengths, no bombers but a good variety from ace runs to some that many players will want to pull out a driver on. The elevation is used well on most holes to add some fun and some challenges.

The first and last holes are the most memorable, though the rest of the course is solid. The opening shot is under the road with a mandatory through an underpass. It's an aceable hole, but you could easily end up hitting the side of the mando and having to throw a tricky upshot to save par. The last hole has the basket on a steep mound, it's another aceable hole that can get you in trouble if you go long or run at a putt. The signage is decent, with hole layouts and distances, and the flow is good with no navigation issues.
Cons: The course is a little heavy on RHBH hyzers, with such nice woods the hole shapes could have been a little more creative, especially with generally short holes adding to the repetitive feeling. There is a lot of poison ivy right next to the fairways, not an easy thing to remove but it could get pretty bad if you're allergic. There are some erosion issues on the hills, a wet day would get pretty slick.
Other Thoughts: Beginners might find the course pretty punishing and tight, though it's not too long. More experienced players will need a solid short game to score well, there's not a lot of distance but inaccurate shots are definitely punished here. We had a really good time playing here, it's a fun technical place to play and the first and last holes are fun and creative without feeling gimmicky.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Unique is an understatement!

1    8/9/2010   8/10/2010
Review By: absolutdork
Played: 33  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 15.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Where to start. I love wooded courses, so this was a must play from the start, and I live 2 hours away. You start out by shooting underneath the road through a tunnel! Such an awesome way to drop you in on a course! In my 12 years of playing disc golf, this is hands down the most scenic, unique and gorgeous course ever. Wow does it challenge you! Technical from the start, and it never lets up. It ends just as strong as it started with the basket placed on a crazy peninsula 30 or so feet up with drop offs on all sides! For such a remote course run and maintained by locals, it is truly a gem and a MUST play.
Cons: Other than favoring RHBH throwers, I can't think of much. This course was designed to be technical, and boy is it ever. Stay in the fairways as much as you possibly can because most of the rough is extremely unforgiving. Being remote, it was kinda difficult to locate.
Other Thoughts: We got lost driving to it, but we talked to the owner of RTS Liquors in Bradenburg KY, and inside his store he has 300 plus discs for sale! Very informative and friendly guy, if you have the time to talk disc golf, talk to him, he knows his stuff! I think we were meant to get lost, just so we could find out just how cool the locals are here!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.