Muldraugh, KY
Muldraugh DGC Share
Uploaded By: tamahawk Hole #9 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 205ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee Sign



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Noob Review

1    5/22/2012   5/23/2012
Review By: Redleg
Played: 35  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 2.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I know it has been said in almost every other review but #1 Mando Tunnel shot might be worth the whole trip. The rest of the course is good too! It has all the things you look for, good pole holes, and good tee signs (important since it is hard to see many of the pole holes from the tee pads). It has good use of natural features and a couple of manmade features (Tunnel on #1 and Mound on #18). There are lots of elevation changes hole to hole, and even though many of the holes are around the same length the changes have you doing different throws because of those changes. It has many good risk reward opportunities and good flow from hole to hole. Since I played in May the trees and undergrowth is full making it a beautiful walk also, which you don't get from the pictures uploaded here. If you were playing leagues or a tourney here the benches at almost every hole would be used a lot when a card is off looking for an errant throw which will be punished. The course was very clean which is surprising considering you don't have to go far from the course to find not so clean!
Cons: As others have stated you might not want to bring a beginner here. But if they have been playing any at all, the beauty of the forest will overshadow that. The way I counted it there were 3 straight on shots and 3 left to right shots, the rest played to a RHBH player (ok by me I am a RHBH player) so it could be a little repetitive. There were no facilities on sight, not a huge problem for pointers just find a big tree, but for the sitters could be an issue. If you throw like me shank one off into the woods be prepared to search unless you have a spotter with you (My wife was mine, Thank you Dear). The only other con I see is only one set of Pin and Tee Locations. This course could accommodate one or both and would give a whole new feel to the course. Parking looks like it would be tight during events.
Other Thoughts: There is obviously some very loyal players invested in maintaining this course. The community it is in does not look to have the resourses to maintain it at this level. If you like tight wooded corridors to throw down this is your course. On a open course it is easy to think a nice long drive a little off the line to a hole might be a good shot. This course shows you what a good shot feels like, cause if you don't make it you are most likely getting yourself out of trouble.

This was a really fun course for me.I am looking for an excuse to get sent back to Ft Knox just so I can play it again. If you are in the area it is a must play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Manic Muldraugh

1    1/24/2012   1/26/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 682  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) What a wonderful way to start out this course but with a tunnel shot . . . literally! I was clean through the tunnel and within 20' but I had a weird stance and a tree forcing a slight anny putt and I missed, but I still thoroughly enjoyed the hole.

2) Nice concrete tees on this course. They are grippy consistent. I always appreciate a consistent surface and concrete is my favorite.

3) Engraved stump cutoffs attached to some trees mark the tees, they are hard to see unless you know to look for them. The numbers stand out because they are engraved and painted. Some of them are broken unfortunately, but replacement would be pretty easy and cheap.

4) This type of course is my absolute favorite type of course . . . tight wooded and relatively short. You can reach many of these holes with a good drive or a lucky kick on a bad shot.

5) The washouts and the drainageways create some interesting shots and perspectives.

6) There is pretty good variety of shot here. There are uphills, downhills, some straight shots, and some definite hyzer shots. The only thing missing is a couple more anny or flick shots (mentioned in the cons), but overall the elevation changes makes each shot fairly unique. Your recovery shots might simply be the annys you need to throw

7) Risk reward is somewhat of a factor here but simple line execution is more the premium. Sure you can choose to throw a putter or a mid-range down the fairway and not risk a big kick off a tree, or you can try to shoot the gap all the way down with a driver.

8) DGA Mach baskets in decent condition . . .except some of the S-hooks having some rust on them.

9) Hole #18 has one of the coolest greens on the course. There is an old stairway which looks like a diving board ladder laid on the edge of the green to get up and down to your disc 12' below the basket. I unfortunately landed here and missed the 20' putt that was 12' vertical and 8' sideways.

10) Benches available in a few spots to take a rest from all of the up and downs.

11) Nice tee signs with all the information, Hole #, Par, distance, and a decent map of the hole.

12) The leaves actually created a wonderful cover for what I can only assume is pure dirt/soil. I imagine it would be tough for a few weeks after the leaves all fall down because I can imagine they would be pretty deep, but even off the fairway the leaves were matted down enough that you wouldn't have to worry much about a disc going under the loose leaves.

13) The course seems like it is the only thing in this park so there should be no worries about any other park users interfering with your round.
Cons: 1) This course is not beginner friendly because of all of the chances to shoot off the fairway with a shot that isn't near perfect. Beginners will get frustrated and not enjoy this course.

2) I agree with what others say about the dominance of the right to left shots is true, but there are some shots that allow for you to pick your throw. Swap out a few of the right to lefts and make them left to right and this would be perfectly balanced.

3) Some slightly eroded areas on this course. I can see how it happens as this seems to be one of the lower spots in the area, you can actually see major drains entering this area from under the highway that borders the course.

4) Overall there is a little bit of a feel of repetetiveness . . .its hard to really dislike this because the repetetiveness is still fun shot making.
Other Thoughts: This is just a really solid course. You know I love tight wooded courses so this is my kind of course. Did I enjoy it like many of the 4 disc course I have reviewed . . . yes, but I cannot give it a 4 disc rating because of the lack of variety, the erosion and slightly messy areas on the course, and the dominance of the right to left drives. There is plenty of woods here and it could easily accommodate some remodeling of holes, if only just offering two lanes on some of the holes one hyzer and the other anhyzer. I had a ton of fun and I remember Hole #1 from my research last year and was mad I had to miss this course because of that hole. I would play here all the time if I lived nearby and it will remain a solid course in my books, but it just isn't quite top tier like the other 4 and 4.5 disc courses I have played.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Mud Season

1    9/24/2011   9/24/2011
Review By: frank11b
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 30.9 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Challenging for a short course. Fairways are thin and easy to follow. Good flow. 18 is on an island, very cool.
Cons: The creeks should be O.B. Ugly parking lot.
Other Thoughts: First time to play this course. Fun and a little muddy.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun wooded course

1    4/16/2011   4/28/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through tight woods with limited underbrush, though it looked like the rough probably gets thicker later in the year. A couple holes bring some deep creek beds into play which make for really tough recovery shots if you end up down in them. There is a nice mix of hole lengths, no bombers but a good variety from ace runs to some that many players will want to pull out a driver on. The elevation is used well on most holes to add some fun and some challenges.

The first and last holes are the most memorable, though the rest of the course is solid. The opening shot is under the road with a mandatory through an underpass. It's an aceable hole, but you could easily end up hitting the side of the mando and having to throw a tricky upshot to save par. The last hole has the basket on a steep mound, it's another aceable hole that can get you in trouble if you go long or run at a putt. The signage is decent, with hole layouts and distances, and the flow is good with no navigation issues.
Cons: The course is a little heavy on RHBH hyzers, with such nice woods the hole shapes could have been a little more creative, especially with generally short holes adding to the repetitive feeling. There is a lot of poison ivy right next to the fairways, not an easy thing to remove but it could get pretty bad if you're allergic. There are some erosion issues on the hills, a wet day would get pretty slick.
Other Thoughts: Beginners might find the course pretty punishing and tight, though it's not too long. More experienced players will need a solid short game to score well, there's not a lot of distance but inaccurate shots are definitely punished here. We had a really good time playing here, it's a fun technical place to play and the first and last holes are fun and creative without feeling gimmicky.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 One of a kind

5+    10/17/2009   12/2/2009
Review By: skottyb
Played: 47  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 15 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I had been to muldraugh before and after it had gone and come back. From the first time I have played this course I have loved it. A lot of the locals seem to think its hyzer city, I for one am not on the bandwagon. It is only "Hyzer City" if you hit every gap on the course. If you miss your line there is a good chance you will hit a tree making a difficult upshot to save par. I love for one how this course is the pride and joy of the locals, I understand what it takes to maintain and work so hard for a course. My hats off to them. Now my review of the course.

Hole 1 - What else is there to say, you get too shoot under the road, how cool is that? Very.
Hole 2 - You shoot over a creek, heck I'd even call it a ravine. I love this shot!
Hole 18 - It is on a mound that you shoot too, its not very long to say the least but if you dont land it on the mound there is a good chance it is rollng to the bottom. Can we say 3 putt??
Cons: The only con I have on this course is the stray stumps.. every time I go there I seem to stub my toe on a stump that had been cut about 2 inches from the ground. Or maybe it just grew 2 inches from the last time it was cut. Maybe I should be a little more cautious.
Other Thoughts: Maintained by the locals, does it get better than that! NO! Hats off again to these guys, it takes a community too keep disc golf going. Glad to see it is back in the ground, it is truly a must see/play type of course. If hole 1 doesn't draw you into playing it then I don't know what to say.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/14/2009   8/16/2009
Review By: tamahawk
Played: 50  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/10/2010
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Muldraugh is the Louisville area technical course. The course offers a great and challenging layout through dense woods. Muldraugh is relatively short and will give up some low scores, but don't be deceived by the distance, the fairways and pins are well guarded by mature trees and require the player to navigate some tight gaps and narrow fairways to reach the hole. Miss the fairway on this course, and you will find yourself having to use some creative shot making to save par.

Course Essentials:
The course uses mostly DGA baskets, there are a couple of older baskets (model unknown) that are a little rough and worn, but all other baskets are in great shape. Concrete tees on all holes, a little short, but more than adequate for the course length. New tee signs located at each hole that define hole layout, distance, mando's, and location of the next tee.

General Course Design:
Muldraugh makes one big loop start to finish, Hole 9 does not return back to the parking area. The course flows well from hole to hole with tee markers visible from each basket, so the course is very easy to navigate . The fairways are clearly visible and well-defined. The rough is thick and full of dense foliage and lots of things to watch out for (poison ivy, mosquitos, ticks, spiders, etc.-repellant advised). Moderate elevations are present throughout the course, and utilized effectively to present a variety of uphill, downhill and sidehill lies.

The course has a lot of right to left shots which seems to cater more toward the RHBH player who would definitely have an advantage on this course. There are nine holes with defined hyzer routes, three holes with defined anhyzer routes, and the remaining six holes are relatively straight (relative to RHBH).

Muldraugh has a very technical course layout, there are no wide open holes, period. This course will challenge even the veteran players to hit some of the tight gaps and narrow fairways present throughout the course. This course is all about precision and control, not length. An accurate, well-placed tee shot will leave you with a good look at a duece, but miss the lines, and you may find yourself struggling for par.
Cons: A couple things to mention: Most pins are visible from the box, but several holes have pins that are hidden making it difficult to know where to throw. If you are playing for the first time, you will most likely be walking several of the fairways to scout out the pin position before throwing your tee shot.

The foliage is a factor, miss the fairways and you are in the thick rough searching for your disc. I will not derate the course because of this, only mention it so you can be prepared and bring repellants! I don't consider this a maintenance issue, it's the rough, it isn't suppose to be easy to get out of, but be prepared for it.

There are several large trenches that are a factor, mostly holes 2 and 7. If you throw into one of these you are looking at climbing down steep banks into a ravine full of dead trees/limbs, mud and thick vegatation.

10/30/09 Update:
There are leaves on the ground everywhere, and they tend to be very slick. Use caution when trying to navigate the course, the slopes and leaves are a bad combination.
Other Thoughts: Muldraugh has a great layout that is very challenging for any skill level, but fair, and a lot of fun to play. New players with limited experience will find this course extremely difficult and very unforgiving. I played the front 9 as a new player (2 months experience), and that was all I wanted of the course. Now that I have been playing for almost 3yrs, I can better appreciate the challenge and beauty that is offered with this course. Another review mentioned that Muldraugh is a longer version of Otter Creek, which was exactly what I was thinking as I played through the course. Definitely longer and more challenging than Otter Creek, but very similar in style. A really great course that is going on my favorites list!

UPDATE (10/30/09):
Most all of the excess debris from the ice storms has been cleared and tee signs have been installed. The course is in fantastic shape, probably the best shape it's ever been!!!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Technical Wooded Fun!

1    8/14/2009   8/15/2009
Review By: Hamilton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Solid, great, concrete tee pads. Each tee clearly numbered with a cool carved tree trunk section. Baskets all present and in great shape (mostly mach, couple of oddballs in there). Fairways are clear and well defined. Some holes have stairs/ladders to help up slippery slopes. Very challenging, tight and technical, just how I llike it.

My memorable holes:
1 - Mando through a culvert UNDER the road. Way cool, and I almost aced it! doinked off the front of the basket
4 - Throwing down a big hill, narrow fairway, loooonnggg anhyzer shot, very tough to hit.
7 - Lost my disc down a monster ditch, tough hazard halfway down a tight anhyzer line.
12 - Over a ravine, have to fly left then back right, and avoid a dozen trees to have a shot a par. Basket up the hill on the left, probably the longest hole on the course.
13 - My nemesis. Deceptively simple tight-alley hyzer. Kicked my but with a 6.
18 - Clear a low ditch, basket mounted on a ridge, and a dropoff waits behind the basket for a long drive (like mine). Very difficult to deuce without a lucky drive.
Cons: Number one complaint is if you get off the fairway you better have had someone watching for you on most holes. The rough is very dense in most areas. There is also a HUGE drainage ditch on 7, which is also a hazard and very likely place your disc can land, as mine did. Had to hike down the hill to where it wasn't 30 feet deep, then follow it back up.
Another complaint is NO maps available. Luckily it is easy to find the next tee from each basket, and none are very far from the previous. You will need to walk most holes to have an accurate drive though.
There are also no facilities to speak of, other than a parking lot, garbage cans, and several benches (one is a van bench seat).
A little monotonous in that several holes are variations of a long slow hyzer (RHBH). Also, I'd be surprised if any of the holes were over 350 feet.
Other Thoughts: Overall I loved this course. It is a little rough around the edges, but it is layed out very well, and will challenge even experienced players. I wish that it had one or two holes you could rip it on, but I won't complain since it has awesome risk/reward factor.
Also, if I go again soon, I'm going to try to get pictures, as I think this is a grossly under-appreciated and unknown course.
If you have the time, it is well worth a trip to muldraugh, but bring your bug spray!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Tough But Unique Course

4/7/2008   4/7/2008
Review By: Noah Karnes
Played: 39  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 10.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Unique holes and shots that you probably won't see anywhere else. For example, the first hole goes through a tunnel under the road and hole 18 is set up on a little plateau with steep slopes on both sides of the basket. Lots of elevation and beautiful sights.
Cons: Beginners will be frustrated. This is a very challenging course with very tight fairways and thick rough. The whole course is in THICK woods and can feel like you are playing in a rain forest at times. Bugs and poison ivy can be a problem.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Stay on the Fairway!!!

1    2/25/2008   2/25/2008
Review By: tenWatts
Played: 50  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 11.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/9/2009
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very unique course with tight fairways, beautiful sights, and ROUGH rough. This is a short course that has a ton more right to left shots than it does left to right shots but you are forced to be accurate or expect some strokes if you get in the rough. Hole one throws through a concrete tunnel under the road while #18 plays on a spine that could quickly stack strokes on to your score.
Cons: Ticks and poison ivy are abundant during the summer months. Where some DEET and Ivy Off.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.