Harrison, OH 
Miami Whitewater Forest Share
Uploaded By: indianawolf Hole #5 (Taken 5/2010)
5 / 350ft.   3 / 350ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Great intermediate level / old school course.

1    8/27/2016   8/27/2016
Review By: ajbova
Played: 102  Reviewed: 86  Exp: 10.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beginner / intermediate level course set on the Northern part of a large park. Course does not interfere with any of the other park activities.

Baskets - 9 grippy baskets. Holes 1 and 9 have brand new DGA baskets that were great. 2-8 have the original single layer of chains baskets that caught great and gave off a historic vibe.

Tees - 1 long and narrow concrete tee per hole. Although uneven, they were not slick. Easy to spot.

Signs - Once you enter park, there are signs pointing you to the course. From there, there is a billboard that has rules of the game and a course map. It is starting to fade and could use an update. Each hole has a round sign in the ground next to the tee. It had a map, distance, par, and hole number.

Variety - Course starts off with 2 dog legs (#1 to the right and #2 to the left) that are surrounded by heavy woods. These are blind shots so you may want to play it safe. From there holes 3 and 4 are over rolling hills relatively in open Holes 4-9 play down and back until the start of the course. All courses have a few scattered mature trees (some pine) that create lines and provide challenge. Blind shots on 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, and 8 due to trees.

Course flows great. Never had to look more than 5 seconds for the next tee. Complete loop.

Clearly defined fairways gave this course a nice feel. The rough is rough. Be careful on 1, 2, behind basket on 3, 4, 6, and 8, as well as next to 9.

A few benches and trash cans near start of the course.

Discs for sale on site.

Very clean park.

Room to add 3 holes after 9 but not necessarily needed. Would take away from the 1978 vibe of the course.

Plenty of complimentary courses nearby. This course was within 10 minutes of the highway. If you are looking for food or beverage options, get it by the highway.
Cons: Biggest con I noticed were the original tees (or at least most recent) were uneven. Some may have an issue with this. if they don't trip me, I am fine.

I would have preferred to see 9 of the old rusted baskets or 9 of the brand new DGA. Not a mix. I am sure they are in the works with the $3 park fee.

Bugs! It's nature so I get it. Some people might not like it though.

Not much shade.

Par is is very forgiving.

Some may have an issue with a $3 park fee but it is worth it. The money is put to good use at the park.
Other Thoughts: I loved this course. It was better than I thought it would be. I have only played one other Steady Ed course (Honey Bear Hollow in Peru, IN) and this was extremely different. It is nice to see the variety/vision he had in mind. I would like to come back but there are so many courses in Cincy that I have not played.

Not much you can do to improve this course other than to replace the tees. Normally I would say added new tees would add to the playability of the course but there is no room for added tees.

I would recommend this course to anyone in the area or someone passing through. It was quick to play. Took me about 30 minutes to play. My wife came with me but she was scared away from the woods surrounding the holes.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great course to practice without losing a disc

5+    11/7/2014   11/11/2014
Review By: GMcAtee
Played: 342  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/17/2015
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I feel like for a really old 9 hole course, this is a good one to practice all aspects of your disc golf game. Hole 1 is the toughest hole. You need a long sidearm or anhyser to master this tricky hole. 2 is an uphill hyzer thru the woods. 3 a short ace run. 4 another short hole that turns to the right. The rest of the holes vary in length thru the mature pine trees and with great variety.

2 brand new baskets on hole 1 and 9.
One of the nicest and cleanest Hamilton County Parks.
Cons: The major cons on this course are the "penalty pads"-- the asphalt circles around the basket. Park your drive or upshot and it'll skip a mile away on the penalty pad!

The asphalt tee pads are usually pretty slick.

7 of the baskets are ancient! Really makes the weak minded worry about their putt!

Other Thoughts: This would be an amazing course if Hamilton County would upgrade it and add 9 more holes. I always enjoy playing here despite the cons. Good course to practice without the fear of losing discs.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Troll's Review

5+    4/13/2013   10/5/2013
Review By: Eric troll Biscuits
Played: 31  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 28.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Not much to say, stroller friendly, 9 holes... all shorties
Good for newbies and kids
Cons: it backs up on itself, kind of like woodland mound...
Crowded and pedestrian
Of course, you need a county park pass
Other Thoughts: Miami White Water is A super nice park. I think its a good idea for the Hamilton county park system to seriously install a whole new series of Disc Golf Courses,(and keep the old school Frisbee Golf Style ones too) It would be effective for annual pass sales.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Older Course

5+    7/5/2012   7/5/2012
Review By: Dettmerb
Played: 229  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 21.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful park with a lot to do in addition to disc golf. Ball golf course, large lake for paddle boating and fishing, 8 mile loop trail with shorter option of a mile and a half. Also a great kids playground area with a seasonal kids spray park. Course is easy to navigate and is well maintained. Man-made moguls line the fairways for holes 4-9. Older course but there aren't the ridiculously short 100-200 foot holes you see at other parks course (Winton Woods,Woodland Mound).
Cons: Baskets are probably the worst in the city. Single chain,rusted. Tough to hit a long distance shot (basket #9 being the exception, it is a new basket). Baskets have the annoying ring of concrete around them. The large pine trees that line fairways 4-9 swallow discs.
Other Thoughts: Tee signs are the white marker "discs" in the ground. For how old they are, they are in remarkably good shape. Only 9 holes, but not a simple nine. #1 is a sharp anhyzer 300+ footer that hugs the right tree-line. #2 is a narrow uphill 300 foot hyper tunnel shot. #5 plays slightly uphill and nearly 400 feet. #8 is 400 feet and guarded by pine trees. Holes # 3,4 and 6 are the simplest holes and most dueceable. I've heard talk of adding another nine holes, that would be welcomed.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Introductory

5+    6/8/2010   9/19/2010
Review By: CasualBrellow
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Many of the park courses in the area have much more enclosed courses. Miami Whitewater is more open than many of those and so finding a lost disc is much easier in most cases. It is a bit introductory compared to some other courses in our area and small being only 9 holes. However, they efficiently use that space and the latter half of them are enjoyable long distance back and forth. It isn't often too busy and can be a good place to relax and play a few quick games.
Cons: There aren't many obstacles to get in your way, which for some isn't a problem but I've come to enjoy trying to snake a disc through problematic trees and brush.

For those who enjoy technical difficulty, its on the rather low side of the scale.
Other Thoughts: This is a park i went to at least once a week for much of my life and I sentimentally enjoy it. It really is a pretty park and if you like to make a day of it the longer bike course takes about 35 minutes, they have hiking trails, a lake with canoe rental and paddleboat, and a few other common park staples. A yearly park pass is only 5 dollars and allows you access to Winton Woods my favorite disc course as well as Miami and two other decent disc parks.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 9 Open holes

1    8/8/2010   8/16/2010
Review By: jammydee
Played: 46  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The man-made mogul type things on this course add interest and make an otherwise boring course into something that can be pretty fun.

The wide-open fairways provide good opportunities to launch some bombs without fear of punishment.

I'd say this is a good course for beginners who want some longer throws but don't want to have to search through dense woods when they're slightly off-target.

Tees have discs in the ground with hole layouts on them.

Not too far from the main boathouse/marina area which has a snack bar and refreshments.
Cons: The baskets are old and only have one layer of chains. Many are rusted and or bent.

Not a lot of variety in the holes, as they basically go back and forth. It reminds me of Embschoff woods except flat and not hilly.
Other Thoughts: $2 per play may seem like a lot, but think of it this way: For $5, you can get a parks pass for a year. There are 4 disc golf courses in the park system: Miami Whitewater, Embschoff Woods, Winton Woods, and Woodland Mound. And the pass is good for the entire calendar year. I wouldn't pay to play just this course, but if you pay to play all these courses, it can be worthwhile.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Decent if you are around

5+    5/10/2010   5/10/2010
Review By: briguy
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a 9 hole, pretty short course. The posted par is pretty high so it can be played as a par 3 course. The tee signs are little plates in the ground that show distance and the layout of the hole. They are pretty helpful.

There are some decent, challenging shots with some holes that are fairly open so you can huck it fairly far. It's also away from the walking path so generally no people get in the way. The course is well kept (mowed grass and trimmed back woods when they need to be). Sometimes there are groups of girls that play! Good stuff! :D
Cons: The course is pay to play but this is only to get access to the entire park. It's $2 for the day or $5 for the whole year. It's also good for all the other Hamilton County parks in the area that are pay to enter. If you live around the area, I would suggest getting the season pass.

The baskets aren't the greatest at catching discs because there aren't many chains and they are pretty rusted. The tee pads are somewhat rough, short, and uneven even though they are asphalt.
Other Thoughts: The course is pretty easy so if you're looking for a challenge, stay away. But, if you are looking on improving that backhand or forehand throws, this is a good course that doesn't punish at all. Have fun!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 My home course

5+    6/15/2008   2/10/2009
Review By: eck_03
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 14.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 9 Holes with a decent distance between tee and basket.
Nice setting with enough traffic in the area to help find discs.
Quick to play with great facilities near by.
Well kept course that is great for beginners/intermediate.
Cons: The course is not heavily wooded, so be prepared with water or play in the morning/late evening.
Sometimes on hole 9 the grass on the right side can be high and full of thorns, be careful.
Other Thoughts: The course is great for beginners to start on, it is forgiving with a lot of buffer space between the obstacles and the fairway. I have never seen anyone lose a disc here.
I love to make a day out of this by taking my bike up to the 8 mile trail that is available and then stopping and discing in the afternoon.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Engraved Tee Maps

7/27/2008   7/30/2008
Review By: Joey
Played: 113  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 17.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Detailed engraved stone tee signs
The tee signs showed exactly where the basket is located with distinguishing landmarks.
Map at the beginning of course and tees easily located - good flow
Beginner friendly-one family of first time disc golfers followed me
Fairways mowed and well kept
Use of knolls and a few trees to partially conceal some baskets
Cons:
Must pay two dollars to enter the park . Park has lake with paddle boats and fishing boats that can be rented. It also has a playground, bike trail, and campground nearby which was full the last weekend in July.
The course was somewhat crowded with campers, but I was still able to complete the course in 45 minutes.
The baskets were surrounded with asphalt rather than mulch so you could possibly scuff a low grade disc.
May want to use a soft putter since the baskets are worn.
Some holes easily birdied
Other Thoughts: Overall, I enjoyed it for a nine hole course. It's a great place to introduce a beginner to the sport.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.